Gone

19Aug09

Buongiorno, bellas! The truth remains, MamaJ is gone. And I am actually a bit sad. I get this way whenever we part. But we’ve had an incredible time together!

Monday started with a four-miler and a green smoothie, as is the standard these days. When lunch came around, MamaJ joined us. It was a killer meal:

Enchilada bake, salad and a MamaJ specialty.

Enchilada bake, salad and a MamaJ specialty.

The enchilada bake was unlike anything I’ve ever eaten. It was a veganized version of a Frito pie or something, chock full of tortillas, ground “beef,” beans, “cheese” and topped with none other than Fritos. I’m not afraid to say I loved it. But my body probably loved MamaJ’s gazpacho a bit more:

Mmm! So refreshing.

Mmm! So refreshing.

I work, work, worked all afternoon and then met up with me mumsy. Not wanting to roam around in the cold in search of a divine dining establishment, we went back to Bursa for Medi food and white wine:

Cannot get enough of it!

Cannot get enough of it!

Isn’t that gorgeous? I scooped that up with 2,309 pita wedges and washed it down with a couple glasses of wine. I had another Greek salad and MamaJ had pretty lentil soup:

With a mommy background.

With a mommy background.

Naturally, we laughed our way through dinner and the Muni ride home. It wasn’t much longer until we crashed for the night.

I woke up early again Tuesday morning for a lovely run. You know what’s tough? Sprint one minute, jog one minute, speed walk two minutes. OK, maybe that’s not tough for a lot of people, but it made for a challenging last two miles!

AfterΒ I showered, I made sure to wake up MamaJ while making my best green smoothie to date:

Fab green thang.

Fab green thang.

An accidental dump of a ton of pumpkin pie spice made the spinach+banana+peanut butter combo really sing. Lick.

I was a tad sad all day because I knew Mama Bear had to leave. I get so anxious when family members and friends fly, too. I’m going to be the most paranoid parent someday. Anyway, I snacked on a few peanut butter-filled pretzels in the morning, then went to the airport with MamaJ and Colleen, who was super sweet to drive! When Colleen and I returned to the office, we all sat down to a phenomenal coconut curry that Charlotte made:

Curry with brown basmati rice and salad. YUM!

Curry with brown basmati rice and salad. YUM!

I may have gone back for a teeny bit more πŸ˜€

I was definitely in a funk all afternoon, but I’m feeling much better now! Laundry is being washed while I type this, drink a Diet Hansen’s Tangerine Lime soda (so bad and so good), contemplate dinner and snack on this (so bad and so good):

Furky-faux cheese roll-up. A protein fix. OK, a sodium fix.

Furky-faux cheese roll-up. A protein fix. OK, a sodium fix.

Dinner is most likely going to be a salad, which I’m really craving! I love eating out, but getting back to making my own food sounds really fab right about now.

Alright, sugarplums! I’m off to go put my laundry into the dryer. Have I mentioned I’ve been hand-washing my undies in my bathroom sink for a couple days? I’m such a lady.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

PREGUNTA: What do you think about this: Baby Debate. And on a lighter note, have you washed your undies in a sink lately?
Well we all know my answer to pregunta dos, but the baby debate is a bit hairier. ICK! Just grossed myself out. Anyway, I’m not really sure what I think yet. While I see both sides, I also know that I want to create a relationship like the one I have with MamaJ. Nothing is like that, the bond between a mother and her child; Mom is my rock, best friend, advisor, comedic relief–my everything. I have to know what it’s like to be on her side. At least, that’s where I stand for now.

23 Responses to “Gone”

  1. Hang in there!! You’ll see MamaJ again soon πŸ™‚

  2. 2 Tra

    sorry you miss your mommy! that enchilada bake looks scrumptious! recipe?

  3. awe, sorry your momma left you, glad you guys got to spend some QT together though. loving the med plate, i too cannot get enough of seeing it, i can only imagine eating it would be eighteen zillion times better than looking at it. no sink washing of the undies as of late.. or ever come to think of it! xo

  4. 4 WholeBodyLove

    I think we should definitly be conscious of how many children we are having. I think it may be a little extreme to insist that people avoid having children all together. But, I think that the rapid growth of our human population is a real strain on the planet and it is not necessary to have a litter of children. Plus, things have changed from 100 years ago when parents needed more children to helpp out on the homestead. Now, more children mean more financial strain as well.

  5. Your posts always make me so happy! I actually have washed my undies in the sink before lol. My mom came to visit for Spring Break and it was lovely,but I was a big baby when she left wa wa. Mamas are the best.

  6. 6 Lizzy

    aw girl don’t worry you’ll be seein mamaj in no time! πŸ™‚ you girl sound like you had alot of fun! and good meals πŸ™‚ total yum!!!!!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  7. I went out for Medi food Monday and I swear I had like 4 pitas!!! What is it about hummus + pita that makes me a bottomless pit?!

    I don’t like babies so I guess I’ll be good for the enviornment!

  8. Aw looks like you had such a great time with MamaJ. I hate it when it’s time to say goodbye. That hummus and pita plate looks so effin good I’ve never seen one like that before!!! wine, wine, wine, always more wine is good. I love wine!!!!
    Hahah I remember the last time I was washing my undies in the sink on the reg was in India. I got into the habit of it, but boy it was so nice to finally see a washer and dryer again!

  9. 9 gina (fitnessista)

    the enchilada bake looks glorious!
    sorry your madre left but i’m so glad you had such a wonderful time with her
    ‘m totally NOT ready for a baby but the pilot wants one, um, yesterday. it will probably happen within the next couple of years πŸ˜‰
    have a great day!

  10. Aww, that must have been sad when Mama J left:( Her gazspacho looks so delish, that’s one of my favorite foods!

  11. 11 Marisa

    So sorry you mama left! Keep thinking of the amazing times you had with her these past days! I’m sure you’ll see her again soon!

    So, I have a couple things to tell you.

    1. Since you are a Beyonce fan I thought I’d tell you about her latest song. You might have heard it already, or you might have not, but lets hope its the latter so I can be the first one to tell you about it. It’s called Sweet Dreams and the music vid is awesome! I saw it the other day on MTV while getting ready in the morning. B rocks it!

    2. I found two new products that I am in LOVE with! First off, I wanted to work an exfoliator into my morning routine. I asked around and Clinique seemed to be on the top of everyone’s list. So I went to the Clinique counter at the mall and purchased this stuff. I think it was $18.50 for a relatively decent sized bottle. When you use it you can actually see the pieces of dead skin lifting off of your face. It has menthol too so you feel a tingly/cooling sensation when you use it. I would totally reccomend it. Secondly, I went to the mall this weekend with my girls and while shopping around we somehow ended up in a Hollister store. I’m not usually one to shop at Hollister but I decided to give it a go, and I am SURE glad I did. I found the most amazing pair of jeans that I have ever owned. I believe they are called Laguna Skinny jeans. They are not too tight around the ankles and calves so they almost appear to look like boot cut jeans. Plus they are made from this amazing material that feels stretchy but yet they don’t stretch out. Love em’. I only bought one pair but on Thursday I’m going to the mall closest to my home and buying 2 or 3 more. Hopefully one of every color because these jeans are literally a perfect fit.

  12. hey girl! sorry about your mom leaving but its great you have such a close relasionship with her. you are very lucky and that lunch looks superb!

  13. 13 lowandbhold

    Sorry MamaJ is gone 😦

    What an interesting article! I’ve never really seen myself having children until this past year, and I’ve always been up for the idea of adoption. I can’t really say where I’ll end up though. But I totally agree with the person who said that if all the ethical people don’t have kids and all the unethical ones do, we will be no better off than we are now. At least I know that if I do have kids I will raise them to respect the earth.

    Thanks for bringing up the issue!

    And no, I haven’t washed my undies in the sink lately. I should though!

  14. sounds like you two had a great time while she was there! and fab food, too.

    I get the debate, but that won’t keep me from having kids. I want to be a mom someday and can’t wait for it. I want the relationship I have with my mom now with my kids.

  15. 15 Food n Fitness

    YUM! Everything looks delicious!

  16. Frito pie? That reminds me of those walking tacos they used to sell at football games. Please tell me you know what I’m talking about because they made my freshman year of high school πŸ˜€

    Sorry your mommasita returned to the great Midwest! You’ll be reunited (and it feels so good) soon!!

    I understand where people are coming from with the baby debate but I want a family so my carbon footprint is going to grow!

  17. Glad you got some stellar mamaj time in – so good for the soul. As is that medi plate of love that I want to shove into my face! Girl! Whatcha doing to me?!
    Coconut curry also just made me nearly lose it – love!

  18. do i spy a fabulously chic and gorgeous baby blue scarf on mamaJ in that soup pic?! she’s such a fashionista.

    i used to eat cheese roll ups like it was my job when i was a youngin’.. dipped in mayo and mustard.. le sigh, those were the days.

    have a good hump day my darling! ❀

  19. Sorry to hear lovely MamaJ has taken off but I’m glad you had such a fabulous time with her! She truly does sound like one very incredible lady.

    I’m with you on getting back to eating your own foods at home. Even a couple days with meals eaten out feels so weird to me. I’m SO bound to my kitchen and the foods in it, eating out is practically foreign territory for me. Then again I’m a weirdo. Eating out is definitely fun too haha.

  20. Aw Mama J! At least you’ll be seeing her shortly! πŸ™‚

    I thought that was an interesting concept…less kids, less carbon footprint. Eh. I’m with you, I definitely want to experience motherhood!! Sorry Veg News! As for the undies…I haven’t lately, but I’m certainly not above it! πŸ™‚

  21. Yay gazpacho! I’ve always wanted to adopt.

  22. 22 randomlymikey

    yummy eats fo sho! you always have the greatest meals at work. i usually wash my bras by hand, they fall apart too easily in the wash.

  23. 23 MamaJ

    What is it that snackface and Justin T. have in common? .. . . . They could be cousins for all we know. I am not gone I’m just home. Luv Ya Pink.


Leave a Reply

