MamaJ in the Bay!

13Aug09

Buongiorno! MamaJ is HERE!!!! That means I’ll do my best to give you the important info about today, but I have a mommy to hang out with, so it’s going to be speedy!

I woke up after getting four hours of sleep, ran four miles, showered, made a greenie:

PopChips ad in the background.

PopChips ad in the background.

In the greenie: banana, spinach, almond butter, water, pumpkin pie spice and peanut butter.

Work was insane in the membrane, and I tried to stay focused. All I could think about was, “when is MamaJ going to arrive?” Around 11am I had the other half of a Clif Builder Bar. Peanut buttery candiness:

Delicious.

Delicious.

Eventually there was lunch, complete with hand-made tortillas because Abby’s a boss! Love:

Salad, tortilla with beans, broc and zucchini, a dab of brown rice with sweet taters. Wholesome.

Salad, tortilla with beans, broc and zucchini, a dab of brown rice with sweet taters. Wholesome.

The afternoon was eventful. Guess what we got in today? The Sept+Oct issue of VegNews!!!! It’s absolutely gorgeous! I actually teared up because I couldn’t believe I was blessed enough to fact check, edit and have my hands all over that baby from start to finish. Please check it out later this month when it hits news stands!

I got so excited that I sniffed the paper. Originally, I did it to mock someone, but then my sass came back and bit me in the ass. I got a papercut on my nose. That’s right, ladies and gents. I got a papercut on my nose from sniffing VegNews. Ain’t no shame in this game.

I did have to hold tissue to my nose for almost an hour, though. Glamour.

MamaJ had a series of unfortunate events that led to her somewhat late arrival of 6pm. I screamed when I saw her and nearly knocked her over when we reunited! Mommy’s here and it feels so good!

We chatted and then ran up to Walgreens to get some thangs, then went to this awesome Pizza Place (I swear that’s the name) on Noriega, ordered some brews andย asked forย a large vegan pizza. We laughed our asses off when this monstrous beast landed on our table:

Enormous thin-crust vegan delight!

Enormous thin-crust vegan delight!

This must have been enough for four people. I had 2 1/2 slices because I’ma grown ass woman with a grown ass appetite (can we please picture for a moment what an appetite with a grown hiney would actually look like?). The perfectly thin crust was topped with: vegan pesto, mushrooms, potato, roasted red pepper, cherry tomatoes and olive oil. Holy shhh this was good!

After dinner, MamaJ and I walked the mile or so back to mi casa and settled in for the night. “I have no energy left. And my hair smells like Chinese food,” MamaJ said as she made her new bed on the couch. “Mom, I don’t know how that’s possible. We had pizza for dinner.” I’m not going to argue with this woman:

Kitty blanket! It came with the apartment, I swear.

Kitty blanket! It came with the apartment, I swear.

Is she not the best? MamaJ’s Guinesses may or may not have affected her tonight. I’ll leave that to you.

So, I must say that I’m not sure how often I’ll be posting while mumsy is here. I have a feeling we’ll be rambunctious and all over the city, but I am going to try my best to keep you all posted! Also, sorry for the overusage of “ass” in this post. Is that a Freudian slip of some sort? Mind, what are you telling me? OK, bedtime for moi! I send my love!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What is the most bizarre injury (big or small) you’ve incurred on yourself?
I’d have to say papercuts to the nose are up there. Additionally, does anyone else know what a Thera Band is? A large rubber-bandy thing you can use as resistance for stretching or working out? Well, in 8th grade I had horrific shin splints and sat on my couch, stretching my legs with the Thera Bands while watching a dog show. Next thing I know, the band flaps up into my eye and I have to go to the ER to make sure the eyeball is OK. Today’s moral? I’m a klutz. I get it from my momma.

32 Responses to “MamaJ in the Bay!”

  1. 1 WholeBodyLove

    Hooray for vegan pizzas that cover the whole table top!! Lovin’ the blankie, I’m sure the landlord threw it in with the apartment just for kicks!!

  2. oh, that pizza looks delicious ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    I gave myself a fairly bizarre injury earlier this week… I was throwing something in the trash can under my desk and leaned over to do do, somehow hitting my upper lip on a bar which supports my loft bed (which I suppose is located about as high up as the bottom of my hip while I am standing, haha). Said injury drew a couple of involuntary tears, required immediate ice, and left a visible mark for a day or two. These things take skill ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Anyway, I recently found your blog and really enjoy it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 3 homegirlcaneat

    OMG I CAN’T WAIT TO MEET MAMAJ FIRST OFF BECAUSE OF HOW YOU TALK HER UP AND SECOND OFF, BECAUSE OF THAT PICTURE!!!! MEOW

    Vegan pizza looks KILLA! Need. to. get.

    Loves!

  4. hahaha theraband slingshot, watch out! Those are dangerous. Have so much fun with mamaJ she is a hoot ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Oooooo wow. That pizza looks awesome. I’m not vegan, but I’ve had some vegan pizzas in my past and boooyyyyyy sometimes their better than the regular thing!!! I love pesto and that pizza sounds fab! I hope you have a great time with your mommaa!
    The weirdest, worst thing I ever did to myself was think it would be a good idea to stick my kilt pin through my lip and give myself a lip ring while I was at all girls Catholic boarding school in Monterey, CA. Ridiculous idea and I ended up taking it out 2 days later. hahah

  6. Glad you’re having fun with MamaJ!

    A few days ago I was making banana softserve, and when I tried to empty the food processor into a bowl the blade fell out and landed on my foot. Klutzy much?

  7. I hope you have a great time with your mommy–makes me miss mine too! I am pretty klutzy, so injuries for me occur on a daily basis, but the most bizarre thing that ever happened to me was way back in the day when I used to run track. I was racing hurdles and the very last, like centimeter of my shoe snagged the top of the hurdle I was passing over. I didn’t just fall, i did a glorious somersault mid-air and then proceeded to land directly on my face and skid on the track for about four feet.I have no recollection of all this since I hit my head super hard, but according to my coach, it was quite the sight! I remember waking up and thinking, oh crap, I ripped my face off! But luckily I just broke my nose and had gravel embedded in my hands and knees for three years. What a ridiculous way to break you nose, of all things! Ha Ha!

  8. Your mom looks so incredibly young and full of life! You must be so lucky to have her! She sounds like a blast to hang out with =)

    I need pizza!! That vegan one is making my mouth water!

    Biggest injury…attacked by a pitbull and had to get stitches. I still have a huge scar on my left arm.

  9. Glad you and MamaJ are paintin’ the town! ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. The most bizarre recent ‘accident’ involved 3 protein tubs randomly falling off a shelf in a store and deciding to all land on my head. In Public! And we are NOT talking 908g or 2lbs. We are talking 5lbs. The first one hit me in the forhead, and yes, I was bruised. The next two then decided to ‘rain’ down on me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have fun with your moms! You are so lucky that you have a mom that loves you! And that you can talk to and have in your life. Because of ‘food’ issues and events in the past, I barely talk with my mom and we don’t see each other. It’s so hard. I’d love to have someone to confide in, and talk to…

  11. 11 lookingforserenity

    ?That pizza looks really good!!! Is your mom vegan too?

    • 12 snackface

      lookingforserenity – Hola chica! MamaJ is not vegan, but she’ll try anything! But she feels as though meat and dairy isn’t necessary to make something a meal, as so many people believe. Fruits and veggies have always been her focus. And she just said she’s a “coffee-tarian.” True dat.

  12. AWWW yay MamaJ finally arrived. I bet you are so excited! you lovely ladies have a wonderful time! can’t wait for a recap!

  13. have SO much fun this weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

    I get paper cuts all the time, but your cracked me up ๐Ÿ™‚ totally something I would do!

  14. YAY MAMA J!!!! Have a blasty!!

    I can’t wait to see your little baby in at the grocery check out of my WFs ๐Ÿ™‚ You KNOW I’ll be picking up a copy (and possibly framing it, just sayin’)! HAH to your paper cut – sorry, boo!

    That pizza is large and in charge and I like it! I always hurt myself in the most stupid way possible – I poked myself in the eye with my toothbrush and once I almost had to get stitches because I tripped and split my knee open ๐Ÿ™‚ So talented!

  15. LOL – love the kitty blanket ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. 17 Marisa

    So glad your mom is home & wishing you amazing times! The weirdest injury I’ve ever got was…well it’s not too weird, but I wil proceed to tell the story. In second grade I was writing an essay and couldn’t figure out how exactly to word it so I got all frustrated and somehow I stabbed my thumb with my pencil. I had major anger issues going on back then. There is still the teeniest sliver of pencil below the skin on my thumb. Yup, there’s a lovely gray dot on my thumb.

  17. oh how i would love to spend an entire day with the woman who birthed the infamous snackface — enjoy your time with the madre!

    that vegan may have just convinced me to convert — looks delishhh โค

    love to you babyboo โค

  18. 19 Michal Mymo

    A big yum for vegan pizzas! I cant wait until I can go pick up the new issue of Vegnews! I was wondering when the next one was going to come out. HAVE FUN ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Damnnn that pizza looks faaaaabulous. And I will now spend the rest of my life picturing a large hineyed appetite whenever someone mentions the word.

  20. hooooray for your momma being in town! i bet you are so stoked, i am sure you missed her mucho. my mom is my bestest friend so ya know. haha, papercut on the nose, instant karma? love the kitty blanket and the pizza looks bangin. well you see, i threw myself off a 65 foot jump snowboarding and broke my humerus. but i landed it the first time around, it was the second that left me in the hospital. have fun!!!!!!!!!

  21. 22 lowandbhold

    Oh three cheers for vegan pizza and mother/daughter Snackface reunion! I can’t wait to hear how truly fabby it is!

    I jumped of a 50-foot cliff (into the water) last summer and sprained my sternum… how does that even happen?

  22. I love your blog! That vegan pizza looks bomb diggity. Want.
    So cute your mumsy is in town – I miss mine so much! Enjoy her!

  23. Holy HUGH JASS PIZZA. I don’t think I’m ever ordering a normal pizza again after feasting my eyes on that vegan delight. MMMM.

    PARTY it Up with Mama J and have a wonderful time doing so! You two better be getting into some craaaazy adventures while she’s in town. Looks like you’ve already gotten started on the right foot!

  24. aww your posts always brighten my day!

  25. MAMAJ! So happy ya’ll are reunited ๐Ÿ™‚
    That is def one of the more craze boo boos that I’ve heard of! The question is…was it worth it? ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I have a scar on my knee from getting my dad a beer from the fridge. True story!

  26. HAVE FUN WITH MAMAJ!!!!!!!!! I send all my love! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I want everything in this post. From the pizza to vegnews lunch to the gm filled with almond butta deliciousness, I want it all! Including you and mamaj adopted into my family!

    LOVE YOU! HAVE FUN!

  27. 28 Cassie

    I LOVE mom visits. Such a good excuse to get out, eat actual meals, and enjoy a break!

    Congrats on the magazine, I cannot wait to pick up a copy!

  28. 29 Susan

    hope you have a fantastic time with your mum! it’s so sweet that you guys are so close. =) love the kitty blanket!! i have to admit that i have my own and sleep with it every day in the winter… and congratulations on all that hard work you put in to the next issue!!!

  29. 30 gina (fitnessista)

    that pizza looks like heaven!
    i was actually looking for vegnews last night so i could pick up a copy! ๐Ÿ˜€
    i’m not sure what my weirdest iinjury is but last night i did manage to get jalapeno in BOTH of my eyes. i had my head over the sink and the pilot was rinsing my eyes out. lovely, no?
    have a happy friday! โค

  30. i’ve had so many injuries it’s not even funny…breaking fingers when i hit a tree, breaking fingers at disneyland, breaking foot ligaments in a sprinkler hole, breaking toes when i ran around a corner in a house…awesome.

  31. 32 Clover

    Your mom looks so young! She looks like a college girl.


Leave a Reply

