Green Overload?

12Aug09

Hello gorgeous people! Is there such a thing as eating too much green in a day? I feel as though I’ve hit my limit.

The day started with me promptly springing out of bed as soon as my alarm went off. I learned from yesterday. Perhaps I’ll never sleep through an alarm again. I washed my face, changed into warmer clothing (i.e. more sweats) and made a greenie:

Frothy and blurry.

Frothy and blurry.

Green dose numba one of the day: 1 banana, pumpkin pie spice, water+almond milk mixture, scoop of crunchy peanut butterΒ and at least 2 or 3 cups of spinach. Delightful. It is essential to have crunchy nut butter in a smoothie. It’s what I hope for with every sip: will there be crunchy bits in this one? OK, a little odd. Moving on.

Work is just insane right now, so that’s the summary for the ongoings of the VegNews office for now. I snacked on an apple in the morning, right before I made lunch!

I decided to work with a recipe today, and selected Sweet Potato Falafel from Fat Free Vegan Kitchen. The recipe calls for chickpea flour, which we didn’t have on hand, so I used whole wheat flour. I am positive that these would have been significantly better with chickpea flour, but I had to make do. They’re super easy to throw together, so make them if you have a chance! I flattened mine for a pancake-ish shape. And so they’d cook faster. Pretty:

Sweet tater falafel-ish, salad and very burnt tofu. I fed everyone else the "good" pieces.

Sweet tater falafel-ish, salad and very burnt tofu. I fed everyone else the "good" pieces.

Green dose numba two (and yes, I went back for more salad). See that dark spot on my plate? That’s super burnt Gliding Calm tofu. It’s still delicious when burnt! I also had to make changes to the recipe, replacing ginger with garam masala, honey with agave and sesame oil with olive oil, but it’s all basically the same. Right? It was all tasty!

Afternoon snacks were a bite of a ginger cookie and two bites of CoconutBliss bars. Oh my gosh, these bars are divine (chocolate was my favorite over the coconut flavor). Absolutely incredible. They helped me get through an afternoon of a lot of writing. It was a bit stressful, actually, and I started to feel that my writing was poo. I had to get up and walk around/go to the bathroom/ grab a peanut butter-filled pretzel to clear my head at some points.

Because I didn’t have much of a snack, and the lunch I made left me hungry three hours later, I had a bitchy headache by 6 pm, when I finally called it quits. As soon as I came home, I had a few pumpernickel pretzels dipped in hummus. When I didn’t want to stop eating and was still hungry, I realized, “hell, it’s dinner time!” I didn’t know what else to make, so I went for salad:

Green and brown salad.

Green and brown salad.

Green dose numba three: about 3 cups of spinach, broccoli, broccoli slaw, cucumber, green beans, mushrooms, 1/4 avocado mashed with Tapatio and pepper, balls and TJ’s Spicy Peanut Vinaigrette. Buy that dressing. You’ll want to eat salad for breakfast.

Alongside I had some carbage:

Faux cheddar and triple layer hummus wrap.

Faux cheddar and triple layer hummus wrap.

In half a lavash wrap, I rolled up soy cheddar with hummus and thoroughly enjoyed it. Though both entrees were fantastic, I still felt empty after I ate, so I went right for the animal crackers with Better n’ Peanut Butter. Wow. Those two items are never going to last long around me. What I’m saying is that the crackers are almost gone, and half the jar of Better n’ PB is gone. Nothing stops this appetite. Just balancing out the greens, yaaa mean?

Well, sugar plums, I have to tidy up this apartment because MAMAJ IS COMING TO TOWN. You know what I realized? Ma-ma-J and San-ta-Claus have the same number of syllables, therefore I can say “MamaJ” in just about any Christmas song. Ooh! Popsicle works too! And Matty Rich! OK, I’ll sign off now before I scare all of you away.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What song are you in love with right now?
I have three this week, none of which are brand new. I’m so behind in my music:
-Kid Cudi, “Day and Night” (been dancing to this all summer): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VkSq2Zn2XoY
-Jay-Z, “D.O.A.” (although I love the artists he’s dissing): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aMuf_ekJhOs
-Keri Hilson, “Knock You Down” (because I’m such a girl, but I really love the Kanye break down): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FF5Q1jr28PM

23 Responses to “Green Overload?”

  1. 1 Lizzy

    I always say there are never to many greens! hahaha. You salad looked so delish! yumm!!!!!! How exciting that MamaJ is comin into town. you girlies are gonna have so much fun. currently i’m listening tot he JayZ song you linked too! So good πŸ™‚ i love him!

  2. 2 Megan

    Girl we were twins today because..

    1. I also had a salad + greenie today
    2. I was a majorrr snackface today!

    My fav song.. right now is “I Got a Feeling” by the Black Eyed Peas! During my internship, we would always blast that song in the office right before we went out for drinks… and it was always a fun night!

  3. I’m so happy MamaJ is going to come visit you!!!

    I’m also going to be thinking of you when Chris and I watch Anthony Bourdain SF in a few minutes.

    I think the LovINs need another road trip, don’t you?

  4. so i dont think you want 2 novel comments from me in a night πŸ˜› i will spare you! but haha, now i am trying out diff xmas songs with mamaj instead of s claus! it is highly entertaining and i love your imagination! HOORAY FOR MAMA J COMIN TO TOWN!

  5. love that kanye song! and kelly clarkson i do not hook up…and everything LMFAO…and we run LA by ya boy…haha okay ill stop πŸ™‚

  6. 6 Tay

    YESSS I am completely in LOVE with that dressing. Sooo good. Have you tried the Cranberry Walnut Gorgonzola one they sell right next to the peanut one? OMG amazing. Drool.

    Currently I’m loving Slow Down Sister by Lady Antebellum and Alright by Darius!

  7. thank you so much for the shout out!!!!!!!! πŸ™‚

  8. I had a huge salad last night too! My most recent song obsession is Spaceman by the Killers.

  9. 9 rediscoveringlauren

    enjoy the time with mamaj girlie πŸ™‚
    that wrap looks delicious!!
    xxxx

  10. mmmm green monster, good salads, and that faux cheese wrap sound delish. I’ve always resisted buying Better n’ PB at TJ, but now that your making it look so good with those animal crackers I may have to succumb and buy me a jar. Is the PB taste good?
    My fav song right now is Just like Music by Eric Sermon and Marvin Gaye!

  11. I’m pleased to know that that recipe can be made with whole wheat flour because homes doesn’t have chickpea flour.

    I plan on going to TJs today so I basically just made my shopping list reading this post. Spicy peanut vin and balls are in my future!

    I LOVE that Keri Hilson song! I’m also loving The Day I Died – Just Jack, Daylight – Matt and Kim, and Never Forget You – The Noisettes πŸ™‚

  12. 12 gina (fitnessista)

    so exciting mama j is coming to visit!
    i LOVE “knock you down”… the pimpship part rocks my face off
    hope you have a wonderful day !

  13. 13 lookingforserenity

    yum! your food looks so good πŸ™‚

  14. 14 hopeinpeanutbutterandoats

    i’m obsessed with Jay-Z, Rihanna and Kanye’s song “run this town” it’s the last song i listen to on my runs and i own that sh*t straight up when i hear it pumpin’ through the ear buds!
    never too much green girl πŸ™‚

  15. ha, I’m the same way with crunchy pb or ab in green smoothies! I love randomly finding the little crunchies πŸ™‚

  16. Sorry to hear work’s stressful…you can do it! I bet you’re excited for Mama J to visit! HAVE FUN! I love Knock You Down and Day and Night too! I’m also kinda addicted to Boom Boom Pow by the Black Eyed Peas!

  17. 17 Marisa

    The song of the moment for me would have to be Red Morning Light by Kings of Leon. It’s been out for years and after listening to some of the more recent work of KOL I found this song, which I am almost positive I have heard before but I guess I just wasn’t aware that it was a KOL song. Anyways, I love it, and I love me some Kanye too.

  18. OMG BABY!! I FEEL AWFUL!!!!! why have i not been reading your blog??!?!?!? so so sorry about that!!!! my bad!!!

    im just catchin up now– you have had some AMAZING eats and experiences!! those cupcakes a few posts ago look INCRED!!!!! i hope you have an amazing time with mama j! i want pics! πŸ™‚ LOVE YOU!

    XOXOXOXOX

  19. 19 lowandbhold

    As long as you’re not turning green yet, you can eat greens until your heart is content. But when it is content it’s an absolute must that you eat animal crackers and better’n pb. A must!

    Yay for MamaJ arriving today!

  20. I love all the greens! I think I need to be like you and eat more. I haven’t been eating much lately =(

  21. haha wow that is a lot of green!

  22. No such thing as too much green πŸ™‚

  23. animal crackers with a pb/caramel-esque dip? sounds beyond amazing. have fun with your mom πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

