Never Have I Ever…

11Aug09

Hello beauties! I hope everyone’s week is off to a fabulous start! My Monday was certainly busy and it’s only going to get busier. Read: project deadlines, may-juh fact checking deadlines, normal weekly deadlines. Ahhh! It’s alright, though, because all of it is so much fun. YES! That’s always been my goal: work shouldn’t feel like work. Too bad it’s just an internship. Oh, another thing to look forward to this week? MamaJ’s Wednesday arrival! Hollaaa.

So this post is inspired by a little game some of you may or may not have played at some point in your life. I’ll refrain from overusing the phrase “never have I ever,” but it’s been two days of firsts for me.

Sunday was truly a day of rest for me. I had no urge to run or do any sort of physical activity. I awoke around 11 am, chatted with MamaJ for a while, watched Sex and the City, blogged and then finally ate at noon. That’s not a “never have I ever,” but it’s a rarity. I also headed straight for the lunch fare:

Wrapple! A favorite combo.

Wrapple! A favorite combo.

In the wrap: 1/8 avocado, pickled ginger, cucumber, kale and sesame miso dressing. It was just what I wanted.

After that I chilled for a couple hours and watched more SATC, as though I don’t know what’s going to happen. It has a hold on me! Eventually I got myself together and looked presentable, then I ventured out into the wild. By wild, I mean Trader Joe’s.

It was rather busy, but perusing the aisles made me so happy. I walked out a bit poorer, but with plenty of goodies to fill my fridge and cupboard.

My appetite was whackadoodle yesterday (like, almost missing) and by the time I got home and unpacked, it was already 5:30 pm. I knew I should have a little something, so I made a delightful snack plate:

Beautiful colors.

Beautiful colors.

I like my veggies raw and my faux-meats and cheese processed. That’s just my style. The salsa is TJ’s Habanero Lime (don’t know how to get a tilde over the n–lo siento), and the Midwest roll-up is Smoked Tofurkey with soy cheddar. I say Midwest because, really, how Midwest is turkey and cheese? Loved it.

After that I couldn’t help but want to take advantage of the glorious sunshine. Never have I ever sprawled on the beach just to read for an hour or so…until Sunday evening:

Me and my knees, reading on le beach. Breathtaking.

Me and my knees, reading on le beach. Breathtaking.

This was absolutely divine…for about 30 minutes. I realized I was really hungry (AKA my stomach was rumbling), so I had to pack up and heave-ho. I’m still so glad I went, though. The beach is literally across the street and it just would be inhumane not to take advantage at all this summer.

Dinner was easy. I knew exactly how I wanted to feed myΒ smallish jass:

with a Hugh Jass. On the floor.

with a Hugh Jass. On the floor.

In the mix: butter lettuce, raddichio, kale, mushrooms, 1/2 red bell pepper, broccoli, broccoli slaw, cherry toms, balls and Spicy Peanut Vinaigrette. Perfect. That’s exactly what I wanted.

Sometimes when I see certain products floating about blogland, I think, “never will I ever buy that.” Well, I caved at TJ’s today and bought something that has already turned into a slight addiction. Better n’ Peanut Butter, I welcome you into my life with my long, lanky arms:

Animal creckers (yes! vegan!) and Better n' Peanut Butter

Animal crackers (yes! vegan!) and Better n' Peanut Butter

Let me be clear: I would never think to use this as an actual peanut butter substitute, but I think it’s a delicious treat to have with certain things. To me, it’s like a beautiful marriage of peanut butter and caramel. MamaJ used to give us apples with Marzetti’s caramel sauce for snacks, and this takes me back there!

Also know that what’s plated is a serving size of animal crackers. I actually counted them out. Well, I thought that was phooey, grabbed the tub, grabbed the jar of Better n’ PB and had myself a real SnackFace time. Much better. I vote no on counting and measuring, and that’s about all the politics I have in me.

I had a rough night’s sleep that I believe led me to do something I’ve never done before: I slept through my alarms. Plural. I swear, I have never, ever done that before. First, the 5:45 am went off. I vetoed that, set it for 6:45 and then didn’t wake up until 7:45. Son of a nutcracker! What happened to me?

I sprang out of bed, hopped in the shower, threw on my clothes and made a greenie:

Oooh frothy.

Oooh frothy.

This morning taught me that maybe I don’t need to get up so early after all. I do like to take my time, though, and ease into the day. Oh well.

The morning was crazy at work and I forgot to snap a picture of the half a Clif Builder bar I had. It was peanut butter with a chocolate coating and it was fabulous.

Lunch was cooked up by Lyndsay, who tested out Match Meat products. Here is the assortment:

Faux meat, a bit of pasta and salad.

Faux meat, a bit of pasta and salad.

I personally do not find these faux-meats to be that great. They remind be of bland, mushy cafeteria food. The two brown-whitish lumps are stuffed chicken and a portion of a crabcake. In with the brown rice pasta was ground beef, which reminded me of some killer sauces MamaJ used to make.

We had fabulous lunch guests who came bearing dessert again. Spoiled:

Luscious!

Luscious!

Rotten:

The best of both dessert worlds.

The best of both dessert worlds.

I had 1/4 a chocolate cupcake with about two tablespoons of each Muddslinger’s Peanut Butter Palooka and Mudpie. Those could be the wrong names, but I’m going with it.

I have to say, the desserts were delicious, but they aren’t as special when you’ve just had intense cupcakage less than a week ago. You eat, you learn.

I left a busy day at work at 6ish, ate some raw green beans, checked Google Reader and changed for a killer run. I told myself it was going to be a great run, and it really was! I felt powerful the whole time and knocked out four miles in 42 minutes (that includes a little walk break). Once home, I did major ab work and not-so-major arm work. My push-ups are weak at the moment, but we’re getting there.

Dinner should come as no surprise. If it ain’t broke:

Awful picture--couldn't use natural lighting because there wasn't any at the time!

Awful picture--couldn't use natural lighting because there wasn't any at the time!

In the mix: butter lettuce, raddichio, broccoli slaw, broccoli, mushrooms, 1/2 red bell pepper, cucumber, 1/8 avocado and Spicy Peanut Vinaigrette. So f-ing good. On the side is another Furkey-soy cheese roll-up. Also delicious in its fakeness.

I finally showered after that and then sat down to blog. The damn internet is not working, so I’m writing this Monday night, saving it, and hoping the internet is working in the morning! Anyway, as a dessert-ey snack I had zeese:

Fuji, animal crackers, Better n' PB. Yum.

Fuji, animal crackers, Better n' PB. Yum.

I really ate the whole Fuji, more Better n’ PB and a few more animal crackers. The picture is merely representative of the total consumption.

Well loves, I must be off for another joyous day in San Fran! Countdown to MamaJ: 31 hours!!!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION/DEMAND: Finish the phrase: “Never have I ever…”
Well, there are a lot of things. Never have I ever…
-gone camping (Janetha, I know! Crazy, right?)
-colored my hair/gotten anything pierced/gone to the tanning bed/had fake nails…au natural, kidlets.
-peed in anything but a toilet or port-a-potty
…and a lot more πŸ˜‰

36 Responses to “Never Have I Ever…”

  1. 1 April (Foods of April)

    I agree with you on the better than pb.. no way does it replace the real stuff but it tastes good as a dessert!

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  2. 2 Marisa

    I’ve never…

    -gone camping either…not a big fan of the outdoors (apart from jogging in a civilized community…, let’s just say I don’t do forests/jungles)

    -gone to bed without taking off my makeup, I seriously probably wouldn’t be able to fall asleep because the guilt would be too intense. Me leaving makeup on when I go to bed = me most likely waking up with numerous zits. Ick.

    -done anything daring. Seriously. I’m one to play it safe.

    Oh by the way, since you were busy blogging I’m assuming you didn’t watch the TCA’s but I HAVE to share this with you. So since it’s the Teen Choice Awards the awards aren’t statues, they are surfbaords. Giant surfboards. So when Rob went up to accept his surf board he apparently didn’t know what to do with it so he totally straddled it. Right in the middle of the stage. Full on mounting. It was hilarious/ kind of alluring. Made my day.

    • 3 snackface

      Marisa – Hahaha thank you so much for the TCA updates! I actually don’t have any TV channels this summer (I guess that digital thing happened and we don’t have cable), so I’m livin’ off DVDs and never watch TV. As a TV lover, I do kinda miss it, so any update makes me happy! Beautiful man straddling surfboard? Yum. I’ll take it.

  3. Um, I’ve done ALL those things that you haven’t done, haha!! πŸ˜€

    Hang in there with the project deadlines!!

    Question: is that ice cream soy-free by any chance?? I’d love to be able to try some!!

  4. 6 thedallasceliac

    Never have I ever…
    … watched American Idol
    … eaten tempeh

  5. 7 Amanda

    I agree with you on the BnPB .. in fact, I may need to go grab some of that from TJs today!

    Hmmm, never have I ever …

    – gotten anything waxed (pluck/shave it mahself)
    – shotgunned a beer (have funneled and kegstood (ha), but the whole keying of a beer freaks me out)

  6. 8 Lizzy

    Your posts make me smile so huge! i love reading!!!!! Your trip to TJ’s sounded amazing. I need to make my way to my local one asap!!!!

    Never have i ever…..
    hmmm
    -had a twinkie(and i never will total ew)
    -been camping (just like you)
    -been to mexico.

    haha. Hope ur having a great day! πŸ™‚

  7. never have I ever…

    bunjee jumped
    learned to love raw carrots or applesauce

  8. Never have I ever eaten tofu.

  9. 11 lowandbhold

    Never have I ever… colored my hair… read a single line of Harry Potter or Twilight… broken/sprained anything.

    I slept through my alarms for the first time ever a few weeks ago. Crazy!

  10. 12 elise

    ok, i confess, i saw better’n pb last week in the store and NEARLY bought it…but then i backed away. now im wondering if ill have the same strength next trip after reading your review…i used to have those same caramel dips with apple slices in my lunches too! oh momz. what a fab yum-filled childhood…

    never have i ever wanted to lick my screen so badly. that dessert spread?!? get.the.eff.out!!

  11. I used to LOVE Better n’ PB…but I broke out so much because of it. Too bad!

    Mmm all the veggies are making me super hungry! And that beach picture is just gorgeous!

    Never have I ever…
    -broken a bone
    -been out of the country
    -gone hiking

  12. Yum, you really made me crave animal crackers! Never have I ever done a triathlon.

  13. Never have I ever broken a bone or gotten stitches. Despite numerous trips to the ER and many tumbles, I seem to have bones of steel!

    Better’n PB is one of those things that I’m a little embarrassed to love as much as I do. It’s most definitely NOT better than peanut butter, but it’s a delicious (chemical laden) treat unto itself!

  14. Gone tanning or seen Lord of the Rings.

  15. Oh gosh I have done all of your never have I ever! I feel sortof like a rebel, haha! Yeah right, I’m play things pretty safe too!

    Never have I ever:
    -skydived (which I do want to do!)
    -Gotten a tattoo

  16. things i need to get: better n’ pb… thanks for the reminder m’dear! shoot lady sounds like you have a busy week ahead of you. exciting that the ma is coming to town!
    OH and i hope you’ll be in san fran the first weekend in october… cause guess who’s road trippin’ down? my friend guy is turning 22 and to celebrate were going to a free music festival there, so i’m thinking a meet up is ESSENTIAL!!

  17. Never have I ever… been to a beach with no one on it. YOU LUCKY DUCK!
    Beachs in SD are crowded always, even in the winter, it seems like.

    Love your animal crackers. I’ve got the itch now. Animal crackers coming to a blog near you… soon!

  18. Midwest is the best πŸ™‚ By the way, I have to email you something in regards to our lovely spot in America!

    Is that Spicy Peanut Vinaigrette from TJs? I need to make my way over there one of these days. I’m out of balls and it’s not a good thing. Not gonna lie, I was totally craving some animal cracks last night – needs to be added to my shopping list.

    Peanut Butter Palooka? You’re speaking my language, lady!

    I’ve done all of those that you haven’t done (hey – the last one was DIRE, I may have broken the seal way to early if you catch my drift) but never have I ever….been to NYC (although it shall be soon!), gotten stitches even though I REALLY should have one time (eh..slap a band-aid on it, I’ll live!), andddddd I’ve never had those childhood illnesses like strep or bronchitis πŸ™‚

  19. I have been eye-ing that pb lately…so I have now decided that I will actually buy it next time I see it!!

  20. 22 homegirlcaneat

    First off, how do you even cut out 1/8 of an avocado? I always thought even 1/4 was hard to cut! So I thought go for the whole 1/2 and make it easier on myself.

    I tried better n pb once! It kind of has a coffee taste, does it not? It’s creamy and delish…might get it for the dorm room! WOOP Hopefully my TWO ROOMMATES don’t steal it. And that reminds me, you are going to die with my roommates. Get ready. It’s the same situation your brother is in basically aahahahhahahaha

    MAMA J!!!! CAN’T WAIT TO MEET HER!!!!!!! πŸ™‚

    LOVE YOU

  21. All of your meals look great!

  22. 24 lookingforserenity

    Never have I ever… hmm… left the country?
    im not too creative :/ Those animal crackers look good though!

  23. Ahh I love Clif Builder Bars…especially the Peanut Butter ones…no surprise there! πŸ™‚
    How is that Better Than PB anyway?

    Let’s see..
    Never have I ever…

    –done any illegal drugs
    –eaten lamb
    –broken any bones
    –had a cavity! πŸ™‚

    • 26 snackface

      Michelle – I am in love with the Better n’ PB. Half the jar is already gone. That’s gross, isn’t it? Oh well. But if you try it, don’t expect it to taste like peanut butter. It’s a wonderful mix of pb essence and caramel. YUM!

  24. Never have i ever….tried Better N’ Peanut Butter! I’ve only heard bad things about it so I never thought of buying it! But animal crackers and PB sound delish to me right now

  25. never have I ever
    ~dyed my hair

    that’s all I got for now πŸ˜‰

  26. 29 Food n Fitness

    Ahh those desserts look so delicious! πŸ™‚

  27. Wow this post was loaded with good food!! Except I have to admit I hate Better n’ PB–I used to be a fan until I discovered the less fake-tasting and less-caloric PB2..have you tried it?!

    • 31 snackface

      CaSaundra – Hello darling! You know, I haven’t been able to get my hands on the PB2!! I’ve desperately wanted to try it for months now, but haven’t mustured up the courage to just go ahead and order it online. Maybe when I get back to Ohio I’ll finally do it. I know I’m missing out!

  28. haha. i love your title because i love that game!! can you just buy bottles of pickled ginger? i love it but have only had it in restaurants. that beach shot is stunning, i got real relaxed just looking at it! lucky for you to live so close to the ocean. i guess all that reading and animal cracker (how ironic that the animals are vegan BTW) snacking took it out of you to sleep through your alarms! i set 3 alarms and sleep through all of them every damn day. no never have i ever in that category for me. i would be drinking on that one fo sho. i love that you plate things for us then tell us you just grabbed the whole shabang and went to town. that is usually what i do too, but it is also how i got myself into trouble so i am being a lil more cautious of inviting the whole boxes and jars to my party. ohh and good stuff when you say “it is exactly what i wanted” yes! ima drag you into the rockies sometime and throw you in a tent. please tell me you have at least hung out around a campfire? and the second one you mentioned? MAD PROPS to that business! and the third one.. well you just sometimes have to pee in the gutter in wales on halloween in a witch costume.. so i will drink to that one as well.
    hmmm..i have done a LOT in these 26 years.. let me think.
    never have i ever..
    1. been on TV
    2. oh, eaten chia seeds because i cant freaking find them! looked again today.

    basically anything else i have to drink to. that game gets me wastey face. and this comment is looooong. love you!

  29. those desserts look awesome. i want to eat my screen!

    and never have i ever…

    -jumped off a waterfall
    -been on tv
    -met a celebrity
    -eaten fake pb. hahaha

  30. First off, I love your blog!! I have done all of your never have I ever’s, granted 1 and 3 probably occurred at the same time. My suggestion for better n pb, for what it’s worth… I microwave a bit of it so it stir-able and then mix in some cocoa powder. Let it cool and portion it into chocolaty delish treats! Anyways, In the spirit… Never have I ever Eaten a twinkie (I’m not alone!), prepared my taxes (thanks dad!), asked a guy out on a date!!!!

  31. im with you on number 2! minus that my ears are pierced!! πŸ™‚

  32. 36 randomlymikey

    never have i ever……
    been outside the country
    had shittake noodles


Leave a Reply

