Vegan Drink Drank Drunks

31Jul09

Yo! Alright, I couldn’t blog when I returned to mi casa past midnight last night– lo siento! I was busy at Vegan Drinks, which turned into Vegan After Hours. We didn’t drink anymore, but we got drunk off fries and salad. Anyway, this is going to be a speed round while I get ready for work!

I woke up, ran, got ready and drank swamp ass:

Getting the Glow with a Green Monster

Getting the Glow with a Green Monster

My greenie is sitting on the proof of Sarma’s book, which I hope to get the real copy of someday. In the smoothie: 1 large banana, 1/2 bag of spinach, 1 1/2 cups liquid (mix of almond milk and water), pumpkin pie spice and a spoon of raw almond butter. So. F*ing. Good.

Work was nutty because we we received the proofs for Sept+Oct and were doing our very final, very thorough edits. I had no time to think about food, and though I was hungry, no morning snackage was done! Insane. I think dealing with a cover that doesn’t look the way you thought it would is more important.

Lunch was thanks to El Burrito Express and Colleen and Joe:

Amazingly delicious.

Amazingly delicious.

In the whole wheat tortilla: rice, black beans, avocado, lettuce, salsa. I ate an entire one half and then just the innards of the second half. This was not to cut carbs. This was so that I had mroe room to eat El Burrito Express’ bossy chips.

The afternoon was more insanity of going through the proofs with a fine comb. I got nothing that was due yesterday finished. BAD INTERN!

Before we knew it, it was time to leave for Vegan Drunks Drinks. None of us had had anything to eat since noon, so those two martinis hit me like the bus that hits Regina at the end of Mean Girls. Like, whoah. What happened to any tolerance?

Some of us went to another bar afterward, but only sat and chatted and danced to the twirling disco ball. The bar was in the Castro, which is incredibly frustrating. Why must all gorgeous men be gay? Why?

I needed some food, so we went to a dingy diner named Sparky’s. I love this name, though, as it’s MamaJ’s nickname for my dad. LOVE YOU BOTH AND MISS YOU!!! So, I tried to get a non-blurry picture of the vegan salad I ordered, but after five attempts, I gave up:

Salad with vegan patty. I made sure to ask :)

Salad with vegan patty. I made sure to ask πŸ™‚

Eventually I made it home, had some Shredded Spoonfuls and went to bed. That, my friends, concludes Vegan Drink Drank Drunks:

Ha! Sober, I swear.

Ha! Sober, I swear.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What are you doing this weekend?
I am going to some birthday thing tonight and then out with Abby, but I don’t know about the rest of the weekend. Laundry? Brooke and Britt will be out of town, so I may be at a bit of a loss.

OBSESSION: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NoTrgDRnxfY

FOLLOW SnackFace on Twitter!

LOVE YOU!

31 Responses to “Vegan Drink Drank Drunks”

  1. 1 bananasun

    Hey,
    love the blog πŸ™‚
    More and more I think I need to try making a green monster. They always look kinda nastaayy, but all you bloggies just love em’ So maybe one day soooonn πŸ™‚

    p.s that tortilla looks ahhh-mazing.

  2. Love ya and miss ya, girl!!

  3. Burrito’s looking tasty!

  4. 4 elise

    hopefully your drinkage doesnt end up spiraling out of control a la Lohan post Mean Girls.

    that burrito is calling my name.
    the castro has so amazing men (err…i mean vegan restaurants…)

    work weekend BLAH!

  5. 5 Whit

    haha, so funny. I love the serious red-eye in the last pic. You look like a Cullen.

  6. oh man that wrap! yum yum!

    are you @snackface?

  7. 7 tessa

    swamp drank, i like.
    hope you have a lovely weekend girl. sorry yo boo’s are going out of town, i’m sure you’ll do it up right snackface style though!

  8. at least the blurry salad is probably what it looked like to you after all the vegan drankin πŸ˜‰ the burrito is dank, i love a good burrito, it is actually in my top 5 fave foods. this weekend foodbuzz is sending me to a charitable food event to eat mounds of glorious food and then write about it! holler! have fun this weekend πŸ™‚

  9. OH question for you, i see your comments are moderated now. does it, by chance, have anything to do with wordpress not notifying you via email when you get comments?

    • 10 snackface

      janetha – I have no idea why it made me approve your comments! I don’t know what the deal is because I definitely to get wordpress emails when I get comments. Bizarre! Sorry about that!

  10. 11 randomlymikey

    are you suuuuurreee you’re sober. lol. that burrito looks freakin amazing!

  11. That burrito is AYE-MAZE! My tolerance for alcohol went out the window too but that just means I save money?! πŸ˜‰

    I wish you could board a plane to MI because it will be a crazy craze Friday night here! Expect drunk texts πŸ˜€

  12. this weekend my BF is going to san Fran with the band Hey monday and they are performing somewhere if you are really bored check it out!

  13. Haha love the title of your post! So cute your mom calls your dad Sparky- hmmmm wonder why?

    This weekend I’m going bowling and playing laser tag with my boyfriend and friends πŸ™‚ And possibly some laundry in there

  14. MMM that burrito looks awesome! Thats a great pic! πŸ™‚

  15. Love that picture! And that book! haha

  16. 17 lookingforserenity

    you make those green monsters look so good! I really want to try one..

  17. Glad you had a fun night! This weekend I must unfortunately work:( Hope you have a great one!

  18. 19 rediscoveringlauren

    haha love the post title πŸ™‚ your green monster looks so fresh and green (obv..) i really need to try make one soon!
    Enjoy your weekend sweetheart,
    xxxx

  19. omg i LOVE EGO. and the video is bombin. Don’t we all wish we could dance like beyonceeeeee? i want to wear a shimmery jump suit and have that be just fine. Let’s go out tonight and rock them together, wana? We’ll give out autographs too, and carry long satin gloves and canes . πŸ™‚

    happy friday girl.

    and yes, you don’t look sober, but I believeeeeeeeeee you!

  20. UM..
    1. Thank for ruining Mean Girls for me..
    2. Love that sultry sign-off πŸ˜€

    YAYYAAA friday!! Perhaps a date with mystery man is in store!?

  21. 22 lowandbhold

    That burrito makes me sad, because I’m not eating it! Glad you had fun at Vegan Dranks. Sad you won’t be partying with the Chick Mafia this weekend 😦

  22. “FOLLOW SNACKFACE ON TWITTER” !! Haha, so demanding….i like it! πŸ˜‰

    PS you’re such a b!tch for choosing beer and dranks over meeeeeee. just kidding, i totally understand! it shall be a mellow weekend for us all, you’ll just be up in sf doing laundry (maybe) OR going on dates with gorg men!

    How amazing are GM’S!? The classic is the best, and the almond butter is suchhhhh a perfect addition. And that burrito?! Get in meh belly, furrr real. Eatin’ half and saving room for the chips was a good move, love the way you think!

    Hope you’re having an amazing day darling, love you!!

  23. Hello Green Drink! it’s pretty πŸ™‚ and yum, that burrito looks tasty!

  24. 25 Jenny

    amen girl all the hottiez are totally gay — exhibit A.. Davis from the real world. I WILL convert him — he’s bangin’

    happy friday snackey ❀

  25. You look amazing in that picture!!! Have a great weekend

  26. 27 WholeBodyLove

    So, that burrito looks so delish! Hmmm…this weekend, we are going on a “date” to see The Hangover and then to Abuelo’s for trans fat -free Mexican!

  27. 28 Anna

    I’m off to a free outdoor concert downtown. I feel ya on the “where did my tolerance go?” I couldn’t drink for a month because of antibiotics and now i’m a one-drink wonder. Its great though. I have no money to spend on drinks anyway!

  28. lol! I loved that you added that you’re not trying to skimp on carbs, just making room for chips πŸ™‚ Love a blogger who really knows how to eat well!

  29. Ahhhhhhh!
    No time to think abt food?
    That’s just crazy talk!

  30. I have yet to try these green monsters… where is everyone getting them from?


Leave a Reply

