Friday Night In

25Jul09

Happy weekend, doves! Can you even believe I’m staying in on a Friday night? I can’t. Well, maybe. I’m just resting up for tomorrow 😉

Once again, I chose sleep over running this morning. With neither my heart nor head in it, I just couldn’t force myself. The only good thing about this is that I know my non-working out mood isn’t going to last long. I worked out Monday and Tuesday, have done arm and ab workouts and plan to have a liesurely long run tomorrow. I love, love, love Saturday runs. Everyone is outside and being fit. Motivation!

Anyway, this morning I realized I wasn’t in the mood for toast or Shredded Spoonfuls, and needed to get rid of half a cantaloupe before the weekend. My thought when putting breakfast together was not, “oooh that sounds delicious.” It was, “aw that will be so pretty! Such a girl sometimes. Gag. But this wasn’t gaggy:

Sunkist orange, lipstick red, and margarita lime colors. Gorgeous.

Sunkist orange, lipstick red, and margarita lime colors. Gorgeous.

From afar:

Cantaloupe, strawberries, half a kiwi- the other half ended up on the floor. Whoops!

Cantaloupe, strawberries, half a kiwi- the other half ended up on the floor. Whoops!

Because that breakfast was so watery, I was stuffed immediately, but starving two hours later. That’s when I broke into a Chocolate Chip Z-Bar that tasted like Play-doh upon first bite. Thank goodness it was only the first bite that tasted like first grade.

Work was pretty chill and fun today. Everyone was in a fabulous mood, the sort of thing Fridays naturally welcome. Abby whipped up lunch today, and I thoroughly enjoyed it:

The Brunch Collection

The Brunch Collection

On the plate: tofu baked in a toasted coconut-chile simmer sauce, collard salad with raw corn and tomato, roasted garlic and onion potatoes and kamut baby pancakes. Have I told you that I love eating? ‘Cause I do. It’s amazing.

The afternoon consisted of more writing and editing, some peanut butter-filled pretzels, a nectarine and a strong desire to take a nap. I didn’t indulge in that last bit.

When I got home I needed a snackadoo, so I had a baby bowl of Shredded Spoonfuls with almond milk. I wanted more and more and realized: Well hells bells! I’ll just make dinner! So as I chatted with MamaJ, I sliced and diced my too-big-to-finish dinner. Of course, it wasn’t until 7pm that I sat down to eat it, as chopping and chatting is somewhat dangerous. First up:

A big floor salad

A big floor salad

In the salad: romaine, cucumber, red bell pepper, broccoli, 1/2 a teeny tiny avocado mashed with hot sauce and pepper, TJ’s pineapple salsa and balsamic. It was too much leafiness for me. Shocking. I had to throw the last 1/2 cup-ish of lettuce away. Sorry, Earth! Somewhere in-between the salad and the next course, I had three TJ’s balls with ketchup. I wanted them, but not on the salad. I’m nutty today. The second dinner component was fabulous and reminded me of this past winter:

Butternut squash fries. The ketchup needed a plate of its own.

Butternut squash fries. The ketchup needed a plate of its own.

Wow, you can’t go wrong with butternut squash. I especially loved the burnt edges! I was stuffed after that, but really wanted a piece of chocolate. I searched. I found:

Vegan peanut butter cup? Ummm, yes please.

Vegan peanut butter cup? Ummm, yes please.

That dark chocolate peanut butter cup was perfection. Too bad that was the only one in the apartment. Oh, and sorry about the hand close-up. Try not to look too closely.

Tomorrow is going to be a return of the greats: Irish lads, hurling, Irish pubs, but most importantly…the Chick Mafia is reuniting. Brooke and Britt, I cannot wait. Be ready for a bossy recap. Until then, I’m going to get down with my bad self and have a Weeds marathon.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Who else is staying in tonight or any day this weekend? Hollaaaa.

37 Responses to “Friday Night In”

  1. i am! and hitting the sack early since i have a race in the morning!

  2. 2 dorothy

    hey! love your blog 🙂

    i was wondering how you make the bnut fries? cause whenever i do they get kinda mushhy and stuck to the foil.. not pretty

    thanks and sounds like your weekend’s gonna be great- have fun!

    • 3 snackface

      dorothy – Hey beauty! Thanks so much for reading and enjoying! For the b-nut fries, all I did was heat the oven to 450* while I sliced away. I sprayed the baking sheet with non-stick, evenly spread out the squash, sprayed them again, and popped them in the oven. I didn’t time it, but I’m estimating about 15 minutes in, then flip, then 5-10 minutes. You can smell them when they’re ready- the air is sweet. I also peek in and if they are starting to get black spots, I know they’re good! I hope that helps!

  3. im going out….but i dont know where yet!! ill do a sassy sasha fierce dance for you Kailey!! i doubt it will be nearly as good as you in that black and white get up! that was just BOSSY.

    love the breakfast fruit bowl and the tofu action!! delishhhhhhh

    HAVE A GREAT NIGHT AND HAPPY WEEKEND!!!

  4. Hey Baby Cakes! I am finishing a Hugh Jass salad with pineapple salsa right now, to be followed by my bnut squash fries that are in the oven. I tell no lies.

    We are staying in to finish our SLOOOW flu recovery process here. Bring on the Lysol!

    Have a good weekend, hon!

  5. I didn’t workout this morning either because I have been ‘blessed’ with having mono. I didn’t know you could be THIS tired! lol. Have a fantastic time tomorrow night, and I can’t wait to read all about it. I love your blog! It’s so down to earth and enjoyable! I recommended this to other bloggers, but try Calabaza squash one of these days. So sweet! Also, Sweet Dumpling squash and Honey Boat Delicata squashes are the sweetest! If you have a good fruit selection, check out the Mamey Sapote! It’s been described as a mix between sweet potato, avocado and honey!! Some ppl say there is a hint of marzipan.
    White Sapote has been described as ‘creamy smooth’ with a orange sherbet, blend of mango, coconut, caramel/vanilla taste. Black Sapote (aka persimmon) tastes kind of like chocolate pudding.

    • 7 snackface

      ProteinGirl – Wow! Thank you so much for enjoying the blog, and thank you SO much for those incredible squash recommendations! I haven’t heard of any of those! I’ll definitely be on the look-out! And oh my gosh, I’m so sorry about the mono! I hope you feel better soon. Is that even possible with mono? The “soon” part? No clue!

  6. 8 Megan

    hahaha girl you are NOT alone… i have chosen sleep over working out 4 out of 6 days this week and it sucks but i neeeeed at least 4 hours of sleep with this job! and i am totally NOT going out tonight.. despite the fact that i’m living in NYC! i did go out last night … until 3am … haha so my body needs a little breakie! i’m glad you’re having a blast in cali!!

  7. im staying in tonight 🙂 heheh! girlll so glad that you listened to your bod again– i look up to you so much for your ability to be so in tune with how you are feeling 🙂 and you will have SUCH a great run tomorrow i know it!!!!

    LOVE the fruit! i totally know what you mean about being stuffed immediately from the fruit and hungry soon after! i hate that!

    the vegan choc pb cup sounds so yummy! 🙂

    love you lots xoxoxo

  8. 10 Anna

    I’m being a bum myself tonight and spending it in my giant sweatshirt and PJ shorts. I even have tomorrow off, but I’m really enjoying a night of peace and quiet. This way I’m all ready for plenty of rowdy fun tomorrow, too!

    Have a fabulous time with your pack of crazy girls. I can’t wait to hear what crazy shenanigans you get up to!

  9. 11 lowandbhold

    I’m totally staying in tonight! I need a break, and to recharge for the craziness coming up for the next month!

    I had a Hugh Jass today. No butternut squash fries though, and now I’m kicking myself.

    Have a good night!

  10. 12 homegirlcaneat

    SUGAMAMA! I am BEEEYYOONNNDDD EXCITED TO REUNITE!!!!!!!! I am going to check the time of the hurling short shorts match and text yo a$$!YAYAYAYAYAYA…I can’t hold in chick mafia/IRISH HAPPINESS!

    So I didn’t end up getting da cookie from WF which just means we need to go to WF soon because we’ve been on TJ dates a lot..BUT NEVER WF! CRAZINESS!

    K I’M JUST GETTING EXCITED THINKING ABOUT GOSSIPING, BABY, AND BOYS. AND BEER. IN THAT ORDER.

    LOVE LVOEUU

  11. 13 homegirlcaneat

    Wait….beer might come before baby and boys. A girl needs a lil’ confidence to be in the same room as two possible lovers…JAYKAY SORTA.

  12. 14 WholeBodyLove

    After that juice fast, I imagine you DO remember how much you love food! It’s like being away from a boyfriend…absence makes the heart grow fonder…even fonder of squash lol. The tofu that your co-worker made does look delish

  13. hey!

    good call on listening to your body! i have trouble doing that sometimes, haha. also, that tofu looks way yum 🙂

    i actually haven’t been going out much this summer. when i do though, it’s on the weekends and it’s never as crazy as the san fran night scene (from what i’ve read of your posts)!

  14. Yum, B-nut squash fries are the best! Have a great weekend:)

  15. I’m staying in! Especially since it’s all rainy and gloomy out. 🙂 Love roasted potatoes! Easily one of my fav things to eat!

  16. I definitely stayed in last night. My cousin is staying with me for the weekend and she went out with some of her friends but I stayed home cuz I am on deadline (boo!). Anyways, I was beyond tired, my eyelids were burning and I couldnt stay awake any longer. The problem was I had to wait up for my cousin so when she got back I could buzz and let her in. At 11 I decided to set my alarm for midnight so I could at least get a cat nap in. Too bad I slept through it!! At 2am I finally woke up on my own and I was freaking out that she had prob come home and that I was just a horrible host, but alas, she returned home 30 minutes later and all was good and we went to bed.Wow this is sad, I’m only 20 and living in nyc and yet I spent the night as an old granny. Oh well, I loved every moment of it!

  17. 19 Tina

    I stayed in last night and I’m staying in tonight too. I kind of like having lazy evenings to myself to catch up on blog reading or watching movies or TV. I need to stop being so lazy though and do some exercise! Love the fruit salad you made, so pretty and I love that you used the melon as a bowl!

  18. Definitely don’t make yourself run if you’re not 100% into it – otherwise it’s such a chore! Boo!!

    Hell’s bells!! That vegan PB cup is sounding swell 🙂

    I stayed in last night! Gotta save up the energy (and my liver) for tonight, ma! Have a blasty blast, lovebug!!

  19. Since the weather SUCKS here, I’ll be staying in 😀

  20. I’ll be staying in! The weather is anything but summery =(

    “Have I told you that I love eating? ‘Cause I do. It’s amazing.”
    This is my favorite quote of all time.

    B-Nut fries!!! Reminds me of winter.

  21. I bought butternut squash for the first time this past week and had no idea how to cut it up… I tried and ended up throwing it away cuz I messed the whole thing us. How do you peel it… mine was rock solid.

  22. 24 lookingforserenity

    I love staying in! sometimes you just need a day to yourself 🙂

  23. 25 Whit

    Nothing wrong with a night in! Hope you enjoyed it!

  24. 26 april

    That breakfast is beautiful! It reminds me of my peanut butter/blueberry/butternut squash creation.. kinda!

    I always stay in on the weekends.. I’m such a grandma!

  25. 27 gfeveryday

    I made a recipe from VegNews the other day and thought of you…! We stayed in last night too. Oh, except for a trip to the GROCERY STORE. We are just cosmo like that.

  26. That cantaloupe bowl looks marvelous!

    I love a nice quiet Friday night in every now and again, but I spent this Friday driving across state lines to meet up with old friends. Nothing like brews and chatting next to the ocean!

  27. Kailes!! I’m glad you had a relaxing night in!! A girl needs it when she has the chick mafia, irish boys, bar-hopping and lots of brew ahead of her!!!

    Cannot WAIT for the recap, I hope you girls have the most fab time and take lots of glamorousss pictures!!

    Would I like b nut squash fries?? I know i’m making some ch ch ch cheetahs tonight!! With a huge salad. Only way to do it!

    And yum, that breakfast is beautiful……and YES!..for weeds!! Such an addicting show, do you like it??

    xooooo love you!!!!

  28. 30 randomlymikey

    you eat your kiwi with the fuzzy skin on?
    i am staying in tonight but bussaaayyy day tomorrow 🙂

  29. I went out last night, and spent most of the day out today. Tonight is definitely a night in, I’m about to make a huge bowl of veggies and quinoa for dinner and curl up with my boyfriend for the weekend (big brown tabby cat) and watch whatever Netflix sent me!

  30. i stayed in last night. obviously.

  31. I love peanut butter filled pretzels–they can be dangerous around me! 🙂

  32. those pancakes you had for lunch sound delicious! i love savory pancakes, like zucchini ones (and potato of course!!)

  33. I just did a bunch of cupboard cleaning and discovered a bnut squash I didn’t know I had! Excitement beyond belief. It’s been much too long since I’ve had any butternut at all. It’s practically a crime.

    I stayed in ALL weekend, both Friday AND Saturday night. I’m pretty sure I haven’t done that all summer. I guess it was just break time! And sometimes staying in is just NICE and needed. But I’ve had enough so I think I needed to get some dancing in tonight. 🙂 I hope your weekend was fabuloso!

  34. 36 elise

    mellow weekend, yes plz. btw, in response to your last post, im currently in a mega workout slump…still no sign of turnin tides either…whatevs, not gonna force it. il hit the gym when i feel like it. im with you – extra sleep is a ok as backup 🙂

    have fun with the chick mafia!

  35. 37 Anna

    I ADORE your blog! I’m adding you to my reader!!! Keep up the yummy work! I would love to see what tips etc. you’ve got instore/recipes!!!
    -Anna
    http://www.lovejoyhealth.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

