BPC Summary & SnackFace Skincare

23Jul09

Hello pudding pops! Well, it’s the end of Cleanse Day 2, and I thought because the pictures of the bottles aren’t the most interesting, I would combine a summary of the Blueprint Cleanse with a little insight on my skincare. I don’t think I have awesome skin, but I’ve received many questions regarding this for months. But first…

BPC SUMMARY
I woke up today no hungrier than I normally do. Not running this morning, I hopped into the shower after an ab routine. Hunger definitely struck while showering, but I actually craved the first green juice!

At work, I felt energized and awake. This is saying a lot, as I normally drink cups of coffee each day. I’ve consumed no caffeine while on the cleanse. I also slept like a baby Tuesday night and woke up naturally at 6:45 am. Amazing and unlike my normal sleeping patterns.

All of the juices tasted spectacular today. They were the exact same ones as yesterday, and the flavors grew on me even more. In the afternoon we had a Kombucha taste test, which I figured fits the cleanse: raw, fermented tea. Only having sips of each, I became slightly nauseated by the end of the tasting. Flushing with water helped, though.

True, I-need-food-now hunger hit at 5:30 pm. Surriously, I was losing focus and still had work to do. Juice number five helped me through.

After work, I picked up produce for tomorrow. TORTURE. SHEER TORTURE. I’m really thinking I might have a carrot or something before the end of the night, as I’ve already finished my last juice and can’t stop thinking about eating. Lame.

All in all, I felt energetic, light and awake all day. This cleanse has made me re-evaluate my hunger cues, which I think I’ve gotten out of touch with a bit. Just a bit πŸ˜‰ Like, maybe I don’t really need 1/3 box of Puffins before bed. Maybe. I was also afraid that today I wouldn’t be able to, ahem, shadoobie, but that wasn’t an issue at all! And the peeing was just as frequent as yesterday.

I would recommend this to people who want to create a clean slate in an easy, delicious way. It’s a bit pricey, and there’s no way I could afford it, but I do recommend it. And for those lucky Californian’s, Blueprint Cleanse is offering free shipping from August 1 through September 7. The code is GOLDEN. Do it if you can! It was only two tiny days out of the whole year. That’s not long at all.

SnackFace Skincare
Here’s my skin stash:

Pardon the microwave background and dirty counter. Oops.

Pardon the microwave background and dirty counter. Oops.

Cleanser: Aveeno Clear Complexion Cream Cleanser
Toner: Witch Hazel
Daytime Moisturizer: Cetaphil Daily Facial Moisturizer with SPF 15
Night moisturizer/ treatment: leftover Proactiv– I will be switching to Aveeno Clear Complexion Moisturizer when I run out of this!

The routine: Every morning I wash with Aveeno, tone with Witch Hazel, then moisturize with Cetaphil. Every night I wash with Aveeno, tone with Witch Hazel, then put on the Proactiv.

Blemish tricks: Every few days I use that little silver tool that has a loop at either end. This is MAGICAL. I’ve had it for years; one end is for blackheads, the other whiteheads or big ass zits. Don’t overdo it with this though! And when I have a doozie, I use (some of you know this) hemorrhoid gel. Yep. It reduces swelling and eliminates zits after a couple days. Thanks to MamaJ and her modeling days for that one!

Where to buy: After using Proactiv for years and years, I wanted to switch to something right for my sensitive skin, but affordable and easy to find. Everything pictured (other than Proactiv)Β was purchased at Target. The blackhead tool can be found in beauty supply stores and Sephora.

If you have any questions, please feel free to ask and I’ll try to answer in the comments! I hope this helps some of you!

Tomorrow I’ll be back with beautiful FOOD PICTURES!!! Gahhh I can’t wait. I’ve been dreaming of oatmeal for days. Mother f-er. I just checked my pantry. I got no oat love. But I do have Shredded Spoonfuls. Yessss. Love you all!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Anyone know how to upload more space on wordpress for my pictures? I’m running out of memory or whatever!

ALSO: Like ice cream? Check out a lil’ something I wrote!

27 Responses to “BPC Summary & SnackFace Skincare”

  1. 1 Whit

    You have gorgeous skin girl! Who are you kidding?!?!?! I love Aveeno products, but proactive is too harsh for my skin. I have never tried witch hazel, nor hemorrhoid cream, perhaps I should stock up? Oh, and I LOVE ICE CREAM. Ok, I am going now. Off to read the article. bye-bye.

  2. Nice job making it through the cleanse! I’m intrigued by the idea of resetting hunger cues, but there’s no way I can afford this. Or, you know, drink only juice for two days… πŸ˜‰

  3. 3 homegirlcaneat

    WOOP! Congrats on da cleanse! I just ate a bitchload of sushi and a vegan cookie..maybe I need to cleanse? Idk!

    You do have beaut skin! I believe it’s all genetics but of course, taking care of skin is KEY! Is that witch hazel stuff supa intense?? I may need to try!!!

    lovoelvoevoeo

  4. 4 Sarah

    Do you feel detoxified, though? It definitely sounds like an interesting experiment.
    I’ve always meant to get one of those blackhead doodads… hmm…

    • 5 snackface

      Sarah – You know, that’s a great question. Do I feel detoxified? I honestly don’t know what that’s supposed to feel like. I kinda feel the same, but a bit emptier. I feel great, energized, and mentally cleansed after eating some junk over the weekend. But really, I don’t know if that’s feeling “detoxified.” Sorry about the odd answer!

  5. Create a photo bucket account for your pictures. Then upload photos using their HTML codes or links

  6. 7 randomlymikey

    hhhmmm…i’ve never seen or heard about that zit tool. i would be weary about picking my face. my skin is pretty sensitive. i love aveeno though. their products have always done me good. congrats on finishing the cleanse πŸ™‚

  7. 8 lora

    i need a cleanse after eating a shit ton of sweets this week..my cleanse it no dessert (gasp!) for a few weeks to just get back on track…ur inspiring for doing this! id eat my arm rather than drink juice tho for 2 days straight lol You have more will power than me mama!

    xoxo
    lo

    • 9 snackface

      lora – Aww thanks for the support. But…UPDATE EVERYONE: I caved! I just had a carrot with some almond butter! I was feeling a little queezy and recognized the feeling. It happens when I don’t eat enough. So, not wanting to deprive myself, I ate something. Something delicious! Need more almond butter, pronto.

  8. i bet you will be stoked to eat! yeah i checked that cleanse out, super pricey! i would try it if it wasn’t so much. thanks for the blemish tips! oh and i use windows live writer~no photo uploading necessary!!

    • 11 snackface

      janetha – Oooh thanks for the tip! I don’t even know what Windows Live Writer is or how it works, though! Must research!

  9. I’m definitely detoxified after this stomach flu. Cleared me right out! Raw has been by the wayside, and like you I’d kill for a bowl of oatmeal, of only my stomach (and bowel) would let me.

    Here’s to solids!!!!

  10. Thanks for the skin tips! I love finding out all the little beauty secrets that people have (witch hazel? hemhrroid cream??). My roommate in college taught me how great baby oil is at removing eye make up! love it.

    good job with the cleanse!! you made it through all the juices without eating that’s IMPRESSIVE! I think the carrot + AB was just a lil deserved celebration πŸ˜‰

  11. 14 Lizzy

    Congrats on the cleanse Kailey. I know that take dedication for sure!

    Your skin care routine is amazing. Ive always had bad ache so i know how important to wash morning and eveing. i’ve never heard of witch hazel, what is it, and is it really harsh on the skin? and that tool you can get at sephora, that looks interesting and i think i want to try it! thanks for the tips

    • 15 snackface

      Lizzy – Hello darling! Witch Hazel is a 100% natural toner. I honestly don’t know exactly what that means, but it sweeps all the leftover dead skin, makeup and grime after I wash my face. It feels amazing. If it were super harsh on skin, I wouldn’t be able to use it, as my skin is rather sensitive. The smell of it is strong, and may throw you for a loop, but there are rose witch hazels that smell a bit better. I don’t like rose scented so I stick with the original, and it’s not like it makes my face smell like that for the rest of the day. At least, I haven’t noticed!

  12. 16 hopeinpeanutbutterandoats

    what an interesting recap of your cleanse! i would def get woozy and bitchy if i couldn’t eat i think haha BUT i guess i can’t knock it until i try it ( which wont be happening haha)
    and i’ve def ALWAYS wanted to try one of those metal weapons to battle the little buggers on my face! hmm curious..maybe need to go to target RIGHT NOW!

    have a lovely dy!

  13. Your skin is freaking amazing girl!
    I used to have one of those tools but now I need to buy another. I have no idea where the last one went or how to use it. How do you use it?

    Witch Hazel= My savior! I use this stuff all the time! I love using it after working out to get all the sweat off my face. Good Stuff!

    PS. Don’t deny the Puffins if you really want them girl! If I allowed myself to buy them, I would totally go for it. Except I don’t trust myself around them to even stop at 1/3 of the box! I would do the damn thing!

    • 18 snackface

      Shelby – Babygirrrl! Here’s the deal with the tool: I use it after I wash my face, but before I tone. The warm water+ washing the face clears off any debris that may get clogged while using the tool, and it allows pores to loosen up a bit and breathe. Then, I use the small loop for tiny blackheads/clogged pores around my chin, nose and anything else that needs attention. All you do is place the loop around the pore and press. Sometimes the pores don’t give, but most times they do. If you have a big ol bertha zit on your face, run a cotton pad/towlette under super hot water and place over the zit. Hold it for a while, and then use the larger loop to press out the gunk. This is such a yummy convo! I hope this helps! OH! And be sure to clean that tool or else you’ll create more problems!

  14. 19 eatlivelovedream

    great job with the cleanse! I’m too wimpy to try that out. I was for sure getting out of touch with my hunger cues. I couldn’t believe how so much of my eating was out of habit!

  15. 20 MamaJ

    I am seriously thinking on taking a small roadtrip to Columbus and ckeck out Pattycake Bakery. ( You know me I just might have to mention you.) Welcome back to solid food. Keep chewing ……XOXO Mom.

  16. BIG Kudos to you for trying out the cleanse Kailey! That’s amazing! I bet you can’t wait for some real eats again! πŸ™‚

    And great article by the way!!

  17. 22 Bec

    wow that cleanse sounds pretty good but you are right as a college student its way to pricey!

  18. 23 Marisa

    Ohmigosh! Thanks so much for the info about your skincare. I’ve heard about using witch hazel as a toner but never really considered it before. Now that you’ve brought it up I’m definitely going to have to try some! Aveeno also seems like a natural, trusted skincare line and I’m going to have to buy some soon as well. Hopefully it won’t rip my sensitive skin to shreds like Proactiv so kindly did. I’m also headed to Ulta this weekend and I’m hoping to find one of those ‘magical’ silver tools. I’m sure Ulta (if you don’t know what Ulta is it’s essentially just a huge store filled with makeup and beauty products) will have some magical silver tools waiting for me. Thanks Kailey πŸ™‚

  19. 24 peanutbutterandjenny

    no way i could do the cleanse thang — more power to ya, girl.. you are a stronger woman than my self ❀

    thanks for the face tips — now maybe i can glow like you πŸ˜‰

  20. I think I need that little silver tool. I’ll have to practice moderation though, hahaha..I can see myself goin’ a little overboard!

    And ahh, that day sounds all too tortorous but exhilarating (??!?!!) at the same time!!! That’s great that you actually had a glorious nights sleep, but the lack of caffeine probably had something to do with it!! Did you give into the carrot?! Probs not, I know my girl’s got SOME willpower! πŸ˜‰

    xoooo

  21. Gosh, I sound like such a bitch in my last 2 comments. You know I got serioussss LOVE for you!!!!

  22. You have to upgrade your account and pay for the extra space on wordpress…pretty sure :} Also, I tryed proactive for a few months. It turned my face into a complete pizza face. It was the nastiest decision of my life. But on the other hand, I hear it works wonders for some people! Strange!


Leave a Reply

