Blueprint Cleanse: Day 1

22Jul09

Hello party people! Today has been…challenging. In order to fully capture what it’s like for me to be on an all-liquidย cleanse, I am going to write this in present tense with my honest thoughts/feelings/emotions.

5:45 am- Why am I up this early? Oh, that’s right. I’ve got to get this bod moving. And I need to pee.

6:08 am- The left foot doesn’t hurt too badly! I so can’t breathe right now. Wind, stop being a beezy.

6:38 am- Okay, I need to switch to intervals because the foot is acting up.

7:08 am- What am I going to have for breakfast? F. I can’t eat. Instead, I’ll drink ginger tea.

8:55 am- (Two cups of tea later) I can’t take this anymore. My stomach is completely empty and hates me. I’ll defrost this baby chunk of a banana. Much better.

9:01 am- Must make tea water immediately.

9:15 am- My dranks are here! Woopwoop! The beautiful Blueprint box is here and I can juice my day away. I’ll start with the adorably-labeled juice No.1:

Mmm green!

Mmm green!

Wow, not bad at all. This might be better without the apple, actually. I don’t like apple juice, and it makes it a tad too sweet. I wouldn’t mind tasting more of the green.

10:30 am- Someone please remove the peanut butter-filled pretzels from our meeting room. Please. It’s killing me.

11:08 am- It’s two hours later, which is when they recommend people drink their next juice. Will do because I’m getting hungry:

Another delicious concoction, yet again, maybe too sweet

Another delicious concoction, yet again, maybe too sweet

Why on Earth must I start a cleanse on the day I have to make lunch? WHY!? It’s okay, I’ll just make everyone else what I wish I were eating: brown rice pasta with a tomato-basil-roasted zucchini sauce and a big salad. Damn it. Ignore your growling stomach.

2 pm- It’s been more than two hours, therefore go get another juice. Also make your fifth cup of hot tea for the day. Also pee for your 20th time today.

The same green drink as No.1. Significantly better when icy cold.

The same green drink as No.1. Significantly better when icy cold.

Halfway through the juice, hunger goes away. And for some reason, I have loads of energy and don’t feel like I want to fall asleep on my keyboard. But I still want something more! Distract yourself with writing.

4:30 pm- I’m ravenous. What the f*&k am I doing? Do people really do this voluntarily? YES, you did, your freak. Get another drank:

FAVORITE!

FAVORITE!

This drink has the perfect blend of sweet, tart and heat. I need to replicate this! So freaking delicious! And I like having my Comfort and Joy tea to balance this. But what is this headache around the crown of my head? That’s normally a hunger headache in my book.

6 pm- I have to leave work and stop looking at food photos. It’s driving me insane. No more product research! I’ll go get quarters and do laundry to distract myself from my pain. Stop being dramatic.

6:30 pm- Alright, I may have to break down eat something solid. Soup? Rice? Tofu? Oatmeal? No, you have to give this cleanse a go. Get another juice:

Uhhh, another green juice.

Uhhh, another green juice.

At least I finally like these now. It certainly doesn’t measure up to the rice+tofu+greens concoction Charlotte is cooking, but it’s good.

7 pm- Stop reading food blogs. Just stop. You’re being mean to yourself.

7:49 pm- I need something! I’ll just have my last juice a bit earlier:

Dessert-like and decadent. Wonderful end to the watery day.

Dessert-like and decadent. Wonderful end to the watery day.

And now as I type this, I’ve had only half of that juice and feel stuffed. I think the two hours in-between each juice is key. As soon as my stomach empties, though, I really feel like I’m going to eat the next thing I see.

Blueprint Cleanse makes it unbelievably easy for busy people to cleanse their bodies. I’m currently on the Founder’s plan, as I told the PR contact that I love my sugar. And my weekends. All you do is order your cleanse on-line, decide which day you’d like to start, and then the company overnights fresh, labeled juices for you to drink throughout the day. It’s super simple, all vegan and rather tasty.

Day One Summary:
CONS: I want real food. I’ve felt really cold all day. I’ve peed countless times. I had a bit of a headache. My stomach empties in no time and leaves me very, very hungry. This would probably be better if I didn’t have to look at food all day.
PROS: It’s easy! The juices are simple and delicious. It takes me an hour to drink one juice. At some points during the day, I was surprised at how energetic I felt. It’s almost as though the lightness of everything kept me awake. Sick? Maybe.ย  I’m not bloated or gassy at the end of the day.

I’m hoping I’ll be able to fall asleep easily, then wake up and the day will fly by. I’m not running tomorrow for a couple reasons. I don’t want to re-injure my left foot and I don’t and I don’t want to faint. Good enough, right? To be honest, if I’m feeling really really hungry, I’ll probably eat a little something. I don’t do well with depravation. Does anyone, though? Okay, must fetch my laundry and hit the hay!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Would you ever try this? Why or why not?

48 Responses to “Blueprint Cleanse: Day 1”

  1. Wow I’m so proud of you for trying this! I did a water fast for a day and while it went fine, the next morning went horribly. I was dizzy and could barely stand and was sick for the whole day.

  2. 2 Lindsey

    haha hilarious.. don’t do well with deprevation.

    I am snacky all the time, but despite that I would absolutely try this!! In fact, I’ve already clicked the link you attached and will read about it a little more to see what it takes.

    As we all know you’re a pb puffin fanatic, i sincerely wish you good luck ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 3 randomlymikey

    wow, you’re tough. the drinks actually sound pretty good. but i would need at least 1 solid meal.

  4. my life!! just catching up now! i am so glad you are having such a great time working for VEGNEWS seriously that is just the coolest thing ever– and im drooling over EVERY food pic in your last post!!

    im not sure i could ever do an all liquid ‘cleanse’ but i think you are pretty damn ballsy for doin it ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for the review!!

    love you lots xoxoxox

  5. You are one tough cookie not to cave in to those temptations! I really feel lighter physically and mentally when I stick to juice in the morning. When I have oats, I just want to go back to bed.

    I’m intrigued by that lemon/cayenne/agave flavor. Let me know if you come up with a good replica.

    Your comment made me cry tonight. I just started a Facebook page, so if you have one, maybe we can keep in touch there too! And I’ll happily share pictures and stories of your two favorite LovINs. And the girls too ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. 7 WholeBodyLove

    I like that they send the juices to you on the day you deem as the beginning date of your cleanse. I also think it’s awesome that they number the juices and the ingredient lists look solid! However, I would have trouble with the hunger as well! Stick it out, girl! You can do it!

  7. Wow…. a really interesting company. Perfect for those busy people.

  8. 9 Sue Mulholland

    You shoulda bought the cleanse for everyone at lunch. LOL
    I am with your mother . Eat if you are jogging as you are running on empty no gas in your tank so to speak.
    Did you meet Betty White? at the AR convention?

    • 10 snackface

      Sue Mulholland – Snooze! No, I didn’t meet Betty White!! I didn’t even know she was there! I love her; I would have flipped out. For some reason (I think the way she talks), she reminds me of Nanny!

  9. Keep it up girl! The first day is the hardest!

    I did a 22 day juice cleanse a few years ago (it was supposed to be 28 days, but day 23 marked the start of PMS and I needed to CHEW). I would totally do a cleanse like this because juicing your juices for 22 days is a PITA. And cleaning the juicer. Gar.

    I’ve wanted to do another cleanse for awhile, I loved how I felt after.

  10. I don’t know if I could do it. How many days are you supposed to do it?

    • 13 snackface

      inmytummy – You can choose how long you’d like to do the cleanse! You can even do just one day. The average suggested length is three days, but any length of time you can do it is perfect. That’s what’s great about the BPC is that you can choose.

  11. Its not something I would do all the time but maybe once a month. It looks very interesting and I love me some green juice!

  12. I would never do this. I am of the school of thought that believes that healthy food is detox enough. Hope your day goes quickly and good luck!

  13. i don’t think i could do it girl! i would miss chewing far too much. i’m totally impressed by you and love the timeline commentary. it’s so refreshing to hear how people actually feel when they’re on a liquid cleanse as opposed to what the commercials tell you…

  14. You are one tough girl. As a supplement and nutrition consultant, I deal with myriads of different cleanses, detoxes, and products on a daily basis. Just make sure you take a PROPER multi and get your protein in somehow. I would recommend adding a scoop of Isolate to your juices (otherwise you can burn your muscles for energy, as we are catabolic by nature). I’m interested in how you feel today. Good luck and go celebrate after!!!

    • 18 snackface

      ProteinGirl – I always love the knowledge you bestow upon me. I don’t even know what Isolate is, but I already know you’re right in that I need it. And I already have a date set up for Thursday night at a wine bar. Talk about extremes!

  15. 19 Jen

    I don’t really believe in cleanses. Your body does a great job on its own cleansing out the toxins if you eat a healthy diet and get plenty of water.

    And I just read in Self not too long ago about how cleansing diets can knock off your electrolyte balance and can cause health problems like heart problems and other organ damage — especially if done for long periods of time.

    It’s just not worth the risk and the suffering imho. I’d rather eat healthy diet of solid food in moderation.

    • 20 snackface

      Jen – Hey boo! I’ve read that article, actually, and found comfort in it because it justified my normal eating habits (i.e. never cleansing). However, I’m only doing this cleanse for two days, and I think, “well hell, it’s only two days out of the whole year.” I don’t think it’s going to do much damage, and with the Blueprint Cleanse, you still get your full servings of fruits and veggies!

  16. I’m impressed with your willpower. I think I would have caved immediately. I can barely even do smoothies for breakfast – I just like food too much.

  17. 22 Whit

    Ugh, a cleanse! I have done countless cleanses, and decided they are not for me. Girl’s gotta have some chew in her life, ya know? Good luck!

  18. Wow, I’m impressed by your will power, I don’t think I could ever do this! The last juice sounds amazing though;)

  19. this is so neat that you are reviewing this. i’ve heard tons of things about this company. Its only for 3 days and is actually juiced from veggie and fruits so i do think this would be really awesome to try. I’ve actually looked it up before but its just so expensive. If i could afford it I would definitely LOVE to try it! I esp would want that end of the day drink.YUM can’t wait to hear more girl. keepin rockin in san fran

  20. 25 gina (fitnessista)

    i’m so intrigued by the cleanse! do you know how the juice is made? is it chopped up or pressed?? because if it’s pressed the enzymes are still active
    i LOVE having juice in the morning, but would have to wait to do a juice fast until i’m not teaching aerobics every day. otherwise, i’d probably pass out.
    loved reading about the conference- it looked like a blasty! we have an AWESOME westin in tucson that i would go to and roast by the pool, drink pina coladas and eat tortilla chips at ๐Ÿ˜‰
    hope you’re having a great day โค

    • 26 snackface

      gina (fitnessista) – Hey Gina! The juices are pressed, and I was reassured that I’m getting all the nutrients and the full servings of fruits and veggies that one needs in a day. And that Westin you’re talking about sounds INSANE and much better than the LAX Westin. Where were my chips and salsa and margaritas? It’s probably for the best, as I was working the whole time! ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. I’m SO interested in the Blueprint Cleanse. I first heard about it when my former life idol Julia Allison was all about it, but it was only available in NY then. I REALLY want to try it, but I’ve heard it can do bad things to your metabolism. No idea if there’s any truth in that though – I’m really curious to see how it works out for you!

  22. 28 Kate

    Wow! Way to go with the cleanse! I’ve never officially done a cleanse, jut inflicted my own versions of them (ie eating nooothing for several days. Yikes! what was I thinking?) But I’m glad they supply you with a juice every 2ish hours! Some of those juices sound pretty YUM!
    Anyways, have an awesome day and keep us posted!

  23. 29 Katharina

    I think I would just try the drinks… but I’d still eat. Which I guess would defeat the purpose lol. I’d just get sooo frustrated. I need to chew on something!!! Maybe if I had a lot of pencils it would work.. because then I could chew on those.

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  24. I am so impressed! I don’t know if I would be able to handle it! I would have to be really busy with a other stuff to distract myself from my stomach. I would love to try it though!!

  25. You are one tough cookie! I don’t think I could do with out real food, for at least one meal. But I bet doing a cleanse leaves you feeling somewhat “refreshed”? I would become a ravenous animal tho if I didn’t have one solid meal! Can’t wait to hear about it tomorrow!

  26. 32 Tina

    I think I would definitely try this since I find cleanses/detoxes very interesting. I did a one month detox/clense in the form of a raw food diet. It wasn’t only to cleanse, it was also to try being on a raw food diet. It went alright, I mostly felt hungry all the time but that was because I didn’t have the proper kitchen supplies to make anything other than fruit salad and green salads. It got really boring, really quick and only made me more hungry but I did it. I can totally feel the hunger you’re describing, I know just what you mean and I am sure I would have the same reaction to this cleanse. I’m also sure that is exactly what is SUPPOSED to happen to you from doing this cleanse, you’re supposed to feel a little nauseous, a little headache-y and a little sick (and supah dupah hungry), that’s what it’s all about – eating these pure things in liquid form is allowin your body to detoxify, in other words you’re experiencing all these unpleasant things because your body is trying to get rid of toxins in your body in different ways (nausea, headaches, weird poo… etc.) Can you tell I’ve read a lot about this? Hahah…

  27. i would love to try this bc it is like a challenge and after some summer partying this would be perfect to start over for the fall. it would be difficult to do but possibly fun. have a great day girl!

  28. Number 6 does sound good! Ummm you are a stronger lady than I!! Could you spike it with something – you know what I mean ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Keep on truckin’ today, girlfran! Goooooood luck! Don’t worry, I’ll eat extra carbs today in your memory – gotta keep things balanced, right?!

  29. all liquid cleanse?! i couldn’t. well i probably could but it would be real real hard. i did a 9 day isagenix cleanse once.. the first 2 days and the last 2 days is all liquid, i honestly thought i was going to eat my arm or kick my boyfriend’s ass for eating in front of me. but it was cleansing, i guess that is the point. i was DYING over your play by play though, you have a way with words ๐Ÿ™‚ how long is the cleanse for? well i will just click on the link after this and find out for myself actually. but it must be ROUGH to not eat and work at vegnews.. and read food blogs! torture indeed. now i am all sorts of curious about this cleanse, off i go to read about it! hang in there xo.

  30. 36 Jess

    I love the way you wrote this post. Thanks for your honesty. I actually am more intrigued by this product line now, since I envisioned some nasty powered mix you were going to have to make for this cleanse. I love juice, so this might be fun for a out body experience or something, haha.

  31. 37 Bec

    wow they definitely make it easy though I dont know if I could give up food!

  32. Just be careful! Several commenters have offered great advice. Detoxes often eliminate many necessary nutrients, that’s why they can be dangerous long term. They are also extremely low in calories, so exercise is usually not recommended. Listen to your body!

  33. 39 elise

    its definitely intriguing…but whats the $$ like? if it were offered to me to sample for free, id be all over it, but i dont have the cash flow to voluntarily live on pricey liquids. rock it if you can girl!

  34. Aw Kailes! Sounds like the day went really well but was also pretty rough!!! The juices all sound really delicious though, especially the one you had for dessert! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    But you know what’s best for you, so if you can make it another day….props to you, but if not…..you still cleansed for a full day and that’s a major accomplishment right thurrrrrr!!! LOVE YOU!! Don’t read the blogs tonight, it’ll be pure torture! xooooooooo

  35. 41 Jessica

    Lovin’ the review of this! I saw this cleanse a few days ago and was wondering about it. The cashew juice looks delish. A bit pricey for living in hunger but it does look amazing.

  36. 42 lookingforserenity

    aah, i dont think that i could do that- I need my food!!!! but congrats on getting through your first day! ๐Ÿ™‚

  37. 43 homegirlcaneat

    SHOOOO GIRRL! I can’t believe you survived a day of just JUICE! I would actually love to try it….minus spending the money for it and I would purposely sleep until noon so I could drink more juice in less amount of time.

    I CAN’T WAIT to hear about THURSDAY! YAY! And I miss you tons and tons…one week feels like a month ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    LoVe YoU

  38. 44 Jennifer

    Are you people kidding? You would love to try a day or two of just juice? Give me a BREAK. Sad to see you fell into the Hollywoodish fad but I have notice fads are huge on the food bloggie world.

    • 45 snackface

      Jennifer – I’m not sure whether this was clear, but this is something I tried for work purposes. While I completely agree that there are huge fads going on in the blog world, this was something I volunteered to do in order to give the product a review. It was only TWO days out of the entire year. I got right back into my normal eating habits this morning: bowl of oats with banana, strawberries, coconut and almond butter. There’s really no harm in trying something for a short period of time, especially when the products have loads of testing and science behind them. They’re safe. It’s nothing I would do longer for two days, and I probably won’t do it again, but it was interesting while it lasted.

  39. 46 Jennifer

    I didn’t realize you tried it for work. I find it incredulous though when others want to try it for non-work related reasons. Cwazy.

  40. 47 Jennifer

    I also find it amusing that the company touts “unpasteurized for your protection” when pasteurization is intended to mitigate the effects of foordborne bacteria.

  41. WEllllllll I think it’s COOL that you tried it ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m so glad u enjoyed your whirlwind LA tour lovie, I think the WC is your futa home!!!


Leave a Reply

