11-Hour Workday? 11 Minute Post.

16Jul09

Hello gorgeous people! So, I just came home from an 11-hour workday, and I still didn’t finish everything! I brought my work home, and need to get to it before I leave for LA TOMORROW!!! Woopwoop! My friends, this post’s gonna be fast n’ dirty.

I woke up at 5:45am and ran my tiny hiney four– albeit painful–ย miles. The foot was killing me, but after my run I stretched for a solid ten minutes and now it feels significantly better!

I had the most insanely delicious Muffin Cereal Fruit Nut Butter Salad for breakfast:

Can't-even-stand-it delicious

Can't-even-stand-it delicious

You wanna know what’s in there? 1/4 TJ’s Blueberry Bran muffin, 1/2 C Shredded Spoonfuls, blackberries, mango, almond milk and topped with an almond butter drizzle. In. Sane.

Isn't that gorgeous?

Isn't that gorgeous?

I packed some snacklettes:

Apple and a Z-bar

Apple and a Z-bar

I ate the apple somewhere in between writing about VegJobs and organizing the pages of all versions of our upcoming issue. The Z was saved for the afternoon, but I never ate it. Peanut butter-filled pretzels were a much better choice ๐Ÿ™‚

Poor Elizabeth had to make lunch today. I say poor because we haven’t had fresh groceries for two weeks. She managed to whip up a soup and burnt toast:

Potato-corn chowdah with collard greens

Potato-corn chowdah with collard greens

Unpictured, I had two pieces of cinnamon-raisin toast. It’s clear we needed groceries.

Here’s a summary of the hours from 2 pm to 8 pm:
-edit the book for Sept+Oct
-design meeting
-write news story
-finish writing about jobs
-edit two news stories
-post news story
-write featurette

And I’m sure I’m missing stuff, and I have more to do tonight. Hollaaaa.

I came home ravenous and to few veggies. Enter a Sweet Strawberry Sprout Spinach Salad (ridiculous names today):

S.Ton of spinach, sprouts, strawberries and balsamic

S.Ton of spinach, sprouts, strawberries and balsamic

Alongside, I ate some balls with my fingers:

TJ's Meatless Meatballs with ketchup. Also by TJ's.

TJ's Meatless Meatballs with ketchup. Also by TJ's.

I felt so empty afterย “dinner” thatย I had a phatty bowl of cereal, followed by several bites of pesto pasta and a banana. With almond butter. I feel much better now.

Well kidlettes, I have to pack and write some more! I’m going to try to blog while in LA, but if I don’t have internet I can’t guarantee anything. But I seriously can’t imagine not being able to blog until Monday night, so sistah will see what she can do.

Okay, back to work! Love you all!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What are your thoughts on the ever-popular LA?
I have stereotypical images running through my mind: tall,ย thin, expensively peroxidedย blondes with plastic tots and faces to match. However, I know this can’t be true. That’s what growing up in the Midwest would have one think, but I know better. I mean, come on, if Laguna Beach and The Hills taught me anything, it’s that brunettes exist there too. Right?

41 Responses to “11-Hour Workday? 11 Minute Post.”

  1. 1 Amy

    Have an amazing time in LA! Your food looks quite delicious, particularly that breakfast salad. V. Creative for sure, especially for being such a busy working girl.

    SAN FRAN ๐Ÿ˜€ 15 days.

  2. 2 lora

    amazing job on getting ur bum running so early! how do u find the motivation? and LA? i have a feeling its “sink or swim” there…u will be totz fine! just be urself!

  3. have fun in LA! i just read on jess’s blog that she is going there too.. what is with the LA trips! you sound damn busy.. hope you have fun fun funnnn in the LA!

  4. 4 Brooke

    OOhhh LA is an interesting place. DEF diff than NorCal, fasho. There are a bitchload of thin blondes and bruns running all ova they place in designer clothes. But then again, you are going to be at a Vegan/animal rights convention…so I’m guessing you won’t be seeing the celeb-like peeps! But maybe you’ll see Alicia Silverstone or Pam Anderson!

    Looooord I can’t believe you worked that long and ain’t getting paid! You will just have to be rewarded by the luck of the Irish. ๐Ÿ˜‰ JAYKAY! Kinda.

    I miss you already… Monday too far… ESPESH if you can’t blog! Bring the lappytop and find some free wifi!!!

    TEXT ME LOVA
    LOVA YOU

  5. *points to self* Brunettes do exist in L.A.!!!!

  6. 6 rediscoveringlauren

    everything looks delicious ๐Ÿ™‚
    your awesome getting up so early to run!
    have a nice thursday sweetheart
    xxx

  7. Have a great time in LA:)

  8. Miss K,

    Watch that foot… you do not want a stress fracture to interrupt your carousing activities with Irish lads. You cannot wear heels with a cast. I’m just sayin’.

    New thing to try from TJs… they have these little maple leaf shaped cookies and in the middle is a lightly sweet maple frosting. AWESOME. I don’t know if they have them in Cali because I’m living in the land of maple, so it could be a regional thing.

    I think you’ll like. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Have fun in LA! You deserve it after 11 hour workdays!!

    I loved LA when I visited. It definitely fulfilled some of my expectations in terms of plastic people, but there was more to it than that. I did get in some good celebrity sightings – Mary Kate Olsen and Brenden Fraser. Random!

  10. 10 hopeinpeanutbutterandoats

    LA—oohhh LA. Such a different world out there than what my life entails over here on the east coast.
    i’m sure you will have a great time, prob see some celeb action goin on
    my advice to you—always were underwear..those paparazzis are EVEERRYWHERE!!
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. I think LA is so much fun! The traffic sucks but the weather is beautiful.

    Have a great time love! โค

  12. 12 Anna

    I had my first experience with those balls last night. Tasty and mushy, not quite like a meatball but not too bad either. I was finishing off my roomies leftovers, so no harm to my bank account means that I’m happy to have tried them out!

    I know a lot of people from LA here in Pittsburgh, and they are surprisingly much different than I had thought they would be. One girl I know is an art major and a soccer goalie. She may have blond hair and speak with the airiest voice in the world, but she frowns upon those peroxided b!tches like no one else. I am actually living with a boy this summer from the OC, and he is one of the nicest, most down to Earth guys in the whole world (too bad he’s dating my BFF), and then I have a neighbor from LA. He drives a huge white pick up truck and pays people to do things for him, so he’s kind of a stereotypical LA prick. But we love him for it.

    Have an absolutely amazing time out there! Pick up some surfers or something while you’re at it!

  13. 13 Whit

    My vision of LA is gorgeous people and gorgeous houses + bars. Yes I watch the Hills. ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. Your balls look delicious – I haven’t had them in so long ๐Ÿ˜‰ I need to pick up a package!! That breakfast is pure genius! I love the sounds of it!!

    You are one busy working woman! I like LA, it’s not my favorite but I don’t hate it. I was surprised at how spread out everything is! I hope you have a blasty blast while you’re there! I can’t wait to hear all about it ๐Ÿ˜€

  15. have a great time in LA! I’ve never been, but it should be v. exciting ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Have an AWESOME time! One of my favorite places to visit ๐Ÿ˜‰

    If you have time, check out the Santa Monica Peir (about 30 minutes away) but lots of fun shopping and fantastic restaurants!

    Although there is PLENTY to do in LA, too!

    can’t wait to hear about it ๐Ÿ˜‰

  17. you’re going to be in LA, like los angeles? i’m soooooo close to you!

    hope you enjoy it!

  18. 18 Bec

    have fun in LA girl!

  19. 19 april

    What a yummy breakfast! Hope your foot aches go away!

  20. I was out in LA a couple months ago visiting a friend (actually a 38 year old bartender I met on Spring Break – same thing, right?) – I thought it totally wouldn’t be my scene, but I LOVED it! It was so beautiful and so much fun! I especially loved Santa Monica. It’s my new life goal to live there someday! Check out Rodeo Drive if you can, and of course head into Hollywood if you get the chance!

  21. 21 foodnfit

    That breakfast looks amazing!

  22. Well, I’m biased. I live the slow life in San Diego, just south of LA… But… LA makes me crazy!!! I hate even driving through it. It’s ridiculously busy all the time. I can’t handle it. My hubs and I are a wreck the whole time we’re there. So many people everywhere. Ugh! And it’s dirty, not like San Diego. BUT, for a vacation or a situation where you don’t have to deal w/traffic, I’m sure it’s fun stuffs. Dunno.

    You work HARD! Your job sounds like so much fun tho!

  23. 23 Lyss

    LA is an interesting place… you’ll meet some of the most superficial people in the world and some of the sweetest! (i mean, come on, I’M here, don’t forget!!) you probs won’t see any of the thin, blonde, spray-tan LA since you’re coming for a veggie convention and you’re staying wayyy outside hollywood, but if you worked here i think it’d drive you up the wall! gotta be easy going and not take things too seriously to survive here, fo sho!!!!!!!

    HOPEFULLY I’LL SEE YOU THIS WEEKEND XOXOXOXOXOXOXO

  24. good luck finding the brunettes! just kidding ๐Ÿ™‚ i have brunette friends. well, one brunette friend. LOL, kidding again! there are plenty o’plastics and also some of the best girlfriends ive ever had in my whole life out here in la la land, so you will probably run into all types! and if the CA sun and palm trees dont have you sighing with happiness and secretly falling in love with LA, well then you’re just crazyyy ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. I lived there for 4 1/2 years while going to school (UCLA) and while it is pretty cool temporarily, it gets old so fast. I got tired of the rude people, smoggy air (no outdoor running there!), traffic, crammed living space, and basically dirty feel of the city.

  26. i live in LA and it’s such a diverse city – so depending on where you go it’ll be a totally different feel from another neighborhood…. if you need any advice, just let me know!

  27. hmm, what do i think of whenever i hear LA? LAX? the hollywood sign? no.. i think of Lauren Conrad which is a pretty accurate reflection of how much trash reality TV i watch.. embarassing!

    good luck pack-a-lackin’ and safe travels girl-frannn โค

  28. 28 Jennifer

    I liked LA for the weekend but as a born and bred NYC girl (and now living in DC), I can’t live without public transportation.

  29. I just love your blog–I actually just found it tonight! I especially love your “cheetahs” that you make–so cute & it seems like your a super fun girl! Looking forward to reading more ๐Ÿ™‚

  30. Hey, have a great time in L.A. So I checked up on the Almond Milk in regards to alykaline/acid levels. THe sweetened almond milk is LOW acidic to low alkaline, and the unsweetened is considered a ‘low alkaline’. Soy is acidic. Hope that clarifies some things for you! Can’t wait to hear about your trip!

  31. hey love! aww i hope you have an amazing time in LA– personally i love it there– it has such a different vibe unlike anywhere else i’ve ever been! im sure you’ll have fun!

    so sorry the foot is bothering you still! have you considered orthotics? i think they could really help! where the the pain exactly?!?

    LOVE the TJ meatless meatballs– seriously drooling! and mango and almond butter seriously just sounds divine!

    love you lots xoxoxox j

  32. 32 LIzzy

    Kailey,
    My name is lizzy and i just wanted to let you know i’m one of your new readers, and i just had to leave you a post. I am so enthralled with your blog is makes me happy! i caught myself up with the past couple months but i’m all caught up to speed now. You are such an inspiration to me, and i feel like we have SO much in common!!!! anyhoots tho, as for your question of the day i myself have been to LA and i really think your going to love it! so much to do and so much to see, especially through a tourists eyes! Have an obnoxious amount of fun and let us know how it goes!!!!

    can’t wait to hear from u soon,
    Lizzy!

  33. You’ll have a blasty here ๐Ÿ˜€ It is soo sunny and hot and joyous, i hope u can make it to the beach!

  34. 34 Katharina

    You should try to stretch before and after you run. A lot of people skimp out on stretching, but it’s so important! It’ll help keep your body in good condition to continue to let you do what you enjoy so much ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have fun in LA! Personally I prefer northern Cali to southern. Last time I went I was like… ehhhh definitely couldn’t see myself living there.

  35. 35 eatlivelovedream

    hah you crack me up! are you going to LA or Orange County????? There’s tons of different people there. Its a melting pot. But LA is for sure a little dirty. The actual city I mean, but I’m sure you will like it:)

  36. 36 WholeBodyLove

    What a fab cereal bowl of delicias!

  37. have SO much fun in lalaland. since i went to ucla, i have a biased opinion on your Q. its fabby for a short amount of time, but gets old (and fake) after 4 years ๐Ÿ™‚

    where exactly are you going? santa monica is awesome, but i hope you arent going into downtown. stick to the beach towns and the ‘wood (west hollywood has a TJs PLUS all the fun gays)!

  38. Ohhh my gosh, if my very last bran muffin half isn’t moldy by the time I get home from la….i’m MAKINGGG that breakfast!! It looks absolutely delicious, gorgeous, mouthgasmic…everything!! haha…..

    Are you loving LA?! I ammm, except everyone is working today so I am on my own! Just walked around and picked up some iced tea and now i’m back at their house relaxinggg…You totally wanted to know all that? Right!? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Oh, and supposedly one of my bros lives like 10 mins (if that) from LAX so shoooo baby whether I see you or not we are sooooo close to each other, it’s crazy!!!!

    I hope you are having an amazing, enlightening time at the animal rights convention!! I’m sure it’s a bit depressing too, I always get so emotional over that kinda stuff! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    PS Did you get my texty yesterday!?! You were in my dreammmmm!!!! hahahah…ok HOPE YOU’RE LOVIN’ LA!! xooxoxooo, 2 weeks until I REALLY see you for sureeee!!

  39. 39 Megan

    Have fun in LA!! I LOVE LA! haha, it’s seriously been my DREAM to live there ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t wait to read all about your trip down there!!! Ahhh have a BLASTIE!!!

  40. 40 Tina

    Hmm… never been to LA, would like to go though because it seems cool. I kind of just imagine quite a few rich girls with fancy cars and designer bags. Right now that’s probably one of the last places I’d want to go to, I’m sick of the big cities and rich people, I need to go somewhere nice like a small city in France.

  41. 41 lowandbhold

    Wow, what a working woman you are! Hope LA was fun and can’t wait to hear about it. I sure hope there were some brunettes there!


Leave a Reply

