Rebound

07Jul09

Hi beauties! Oh my goodness has my weekend ever caught up with me. I have been fighting sleep all day and the puffiness is not yet gone. Sexy.

I slept for a bit longer than five hours last night, then set out for a run– in clothes that are simply filthy.Β It was a little rough, but of the four miles, I only walked for five-ish minutes. When I returned home I did ab work and some arm stuff. Working out is amazing. I felt like an actual person after that.

Trying to help my body return to homeostasis, I consumed relatively simple foods today. I had a severe craving for basic oatbran. I rolled with it:

Simple. Delicious.

Simple. Delicious.

In the bowl: 1/3 C oat bran, 1 C water, 1/2 naner, pumpkin pie spice, pinch o’ coconut and a spoon of raw almond butter.

The morning was very hard to get through. My eyes felt so heavy, but I had a million things to do. That was the only thing keeping me going. Well, that and some much-needed coffee. For a mid-morning snack I had an apple and some carrots. Trying to rebound from the weekend’s damage, clearly.

Lunch may not look pretty, but it was bomb:

Allow me to explain...

Allow me to explain...

Elizabeth made a divine lunch that was intended to be in sandwich form. I didn’t want a gigantic bun, so I did that lettuce thing I see so often. Here we have a salad of lettuce, raw corn and avocado. The two blobs are an olive tapenade (amazing) and hummus (amazinger). In the lettuce leaves are vegan ribs- BBQ seitan. (You can get the recipe for them in the Sept+Oct issue of VegNews!! They are incredible!) I loved everything so much I went back for seconds. Wait, I do that every single lunch, I’m just not sure if I ever share that.

I thought the morning was bad, but then the afternoon hours happened. Whoah GasFace plus cramps. Hell. Add two news stories, a blog post and cataloguing articles and you get an unbelievably uncomfortable me. Needless to say, I was more than ready to finish up my work and head home.

I caught up on blogs for a while and then realized the hands were starting to get shaky. Knowing exactly what I wanted, I skipped to the kitchen and assembled dinner:

Guac-ey Salad. Love of my life.

Guac-ey Salad. Love of my life.

In the mix: romaine, baby romaine, spinach, broccoli slaw, broccoli, green beans, 1/2 avocado mashed with salt, pepper and TJ’s Chili Sauce, balls, pineapple salsa and TJ’s Spicy Peanut Orgasm dressing. I wanted ten of these salads, but settled for one and some extra slaw at the end.

I thought a nice ending to dinner would be raspberries. They were fab, but I had a hankering for Gena’s banana magic. Hm, banana magic could be something very naughty. I may have seen some of that over the weekend.Β Anyway, I don’t have a food processor. The blender probably didn’t give me the amazing results everyone else has been experiencing, but it was divine enough for me:

I had to dress it up!

I had to dress it up!

To my whipped banana I added a broken-up piece of TJ’s dark chocolate with almonds and raisins, a drizzle of raw almond butter and a sprinkle of unsweetened coconut. I can has more?

Pure love.

Pure love.

That banana magic serving was not big enough. Do with that line what you will. I’m getting hungry again, and know in my heart that I will probably have cereal. No need to try to avoid it.

Brooke and Britt are on their way soon to fetch me for a movie. I suppose laundry is going to have to wait another day, and I’ll have to wear diseased clothing for my run tomorrow. I’ll be able to rebound from that, too.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What is the one food, no matter what, you could never give up?
Cereal. Never, ever, ever.

40 Responses to “Rebound”

  1. 1 Sarah

    Now that I’m into all this food combining shizz, I’m looking at your lunch and trying to piece together what made you gassy. Sick? Maybe. But I still haven’t figured it out.

    I thought my one food was hummus, but I had it tonight for the first time in a week and I think I actually like guac better. I know!

    So almond butter is the winner my friend. I wouldn’t want to live without almond butter.

    Hope your movie was great!!!

    • 2 snackface

      Sarah – Haha I love that you were trying to figure out what made me gassy– I was doing the same thing! I read Gena’s Food Combination post yesterday and literally took notes. Like, in a notebook. I’m so tired of having tummy issues every single afternoon, and what she was saying just seemed SO right. I’m still puzzled as to what’s OK to combine. Spinach+banana+almond butter smoothie? Is it OK to use almond milk in that? That’s where I get thrown is the milk and flesh substitutes. But anyway, back to my main point. Thanks for trying to figure it out! I obviously have a lot on my mind πŸ™‚

  2. Laundry can definitely wait for a night out with the girls. As long as your running it doesn’t matter what your wearing my dear! The Guac-ey salad looks so yummy…

  3. watermelon.
    can not live without my melons

  4. 5 fruitsveggieslife

    Clean running clothes are over rated. You are just going to get them sweaty and stinky again, right? πŸ™‚

  5. 6 Alison

    I LOVE banana whip! (Look that up in the urban dictionary for a fun time!) One food I couldn’t give up? I think I have to say that chocolate will probably always be a part of my life!

  6. Mine would be nut butter/seed butter.

  7. 8 Sweet and Fit

    i really really really need to try some banana magic soon!

    one food thingy i couldn’t live without: chocolate!

  8. 9 gina (fitnessista)

    i totally need to make some of that banana magic!
    one thing i could never ever give up: SALSA
    have a wonderful day ❀

  9. I could never give up nut butters. No way, ever!

  10. 11 Whit

    I love the banana magic. SO GOOD!

    I could not live without chocolate. Just chocolate. Dark, preferably.

  11. 12 lookingforserenity

    I love your blog! Its so neat to see someone going through the process of becoming a vegan. I’m a vegetarian! Anyways, I could prob. never give up cheese :/ sadly enough, I wish I could! its tooo hard! Im sorry you weren’t feelin so hot!

    • 13 snackface

      lookingforserenity – Thank you so much for enjoying SnackFace! I’m sorry to hear about the not being able to give up cheese! I never ate much of it, so it was easy to give up. Plus, there are some fabulous non-dairy cheeses. The only cheeses I’ll miss are smoked ghouda around Christmastime, goat cheese on flatbread pizzas and feta in whatevah because it’s amazing. I really don’t think about it much though!

  12. Only one food?! Oh boy….hm….it would have to probably be hummus! Shocker there! That was tough. I can’t take these hard questions this early in the morning πŸ˜‰

    Hope your weekend bloat is gone! Mine is for the most part but I over did it on the fiber – oy!

    Banana magic – that could definitely be misinterpreted but you know I like that kind of thing. Hope you had fun at the movie!! I think that Britt should start a blog – just a suggestion πŸ˜€

    • 15 snackface

      ksgoodeats – We talk about Britt starting a blog all the time! She says she’ll be really into it for a month or so, and then give up. We also joke that hers will be the tell-all version of our weekends. Now that would be fab.

  13. eh, clean running clothes aren’t necessary πŸ™‚

    i could never live without chocolate. Ever.

  14. 17 elise

    hummus, never ever ever! life without chickpea lovin is not worth living. does that make me sound pathetic? (dont deny it, i know you feel the same way!)

    vegnews is out of control. they are seriously the HOOK up. oh and btw, i totally saw your meal that you made last week featured on the website. you are a stud.

    i currently have sliced nanners in the freezer awaiting a similar fate πŸ™‚

  15. ice cream. it will always have a piece of my heart for as long as i live.

  16. 19 Katharina

    Something I could never give up?? I think… bananas

  17. 20 Marisa

    The one thing I could NEVER give up…ice cream. Spoonfuls of heaven. I used to binge on ice cream constantly but now I find it’s much more rewarding and enjoyable if I work for it and eat it in moderation. I’m with you on the cereal thinkg too. My favs aren’t exactly the picture of health, but they are sure delicious: Raisin Bran Crunch, Maple & Brown Sugar Frosted Mini Wheats, Honey Nut Cheerios…the list goes on. I’m also one of those chocolate girls too. I love my dark chocolate. I better stop before I make myself sound like I eat every junk food known to man. Although, if there is one thing my binge eating taught me it’s that eating ‘junk’ foods in moderation is SO much more beneficial and healthier than eating them uncontrollably.

    • 21 snackface

      Marisa – Oh honey, you definitely don’t sound like you eat every junk food known to man. What you listed isn’t junk food in my book, anyway! Hell, I love (loved- in the non-vegan days) Doritos and veggie chili fries every now and then. So delicious!

  18. 22 Stacy

    What a coincidence that you posted your banana magic, because bananas are the one food I’d never give up ever. I could live on bananas alone if needed. New to the blog, love it! I can’t get enough of Gena’s whipped bananas either, wonderful dessert!

  19. 23 Mama J

    There was a time that I would have said, chocolate was my food for the soul . Now that menopause is here to stay that monthly fix is not needed. Sixteen oz. of coffee is, but thats a drink……. You know me best, what do you think would be the hardest food for me to give up?…..P.S. Stop being so mean to your body and try to sleep more.

  20. 24 Shayne

    *love* this blog! I got it from the Cafe VegNews blog and love reading about all the interesting vegan concoctions you come up with!

    I could absolutely, positively not live without nut butters.

    • 25 snackface

      Shayne – Thank you so much for stopping by! I’m so surprised (/ I so LOVE) that Cafe VegNews is what led you here! You’ll be seeing my lunch twice then!

  21. aint nothin wrong with a little stinky workout clothing! especially if you are swapping laundry out for a movie with friends. much better option. i had a rough time getting through the post so i am sure you had a rough time living it. i hope you got some ZZZs and feel refreshed!

  22. 27 fearlessfabulousfulloflife

    oh god oh god– whipped banana- i am DROOLING!

    sorry you werent feelin too good earlier– i hope my snackbaby is all better now!!
    love uuu

  23. 28 Brooke

    Wassup shawty! Just commentin from da park where I am watching two adorable girls run and play like there’s no tomorrow! Kind of sounds like us urry weekend. I like it.

    I want to be a guest for lunch at vegnews headquarters. I want some tasty soy products and delicious greens. Which reminds me, what did you make today?! I’m tres excited to find out!

    Couldn’t live without hummus (ummm you know that), avocados, meatless balls, and things that come in flasks.

    Love you guuuuurl!!!

  24. 29 april

    Sorry about your tummy issues.. I know the feeling! πŸ˜‰ lol.

    I could never give up oatmeal or peanut butter.. or carbs for that matter!

  25. I couldn’t live without chocolate…it just makes every day that much better!

  26. Look at that gorgeoussss dessert!! I don’t have a food processor either, so I’ve been trying to decide if I wanted to make the banana soft-serve with a regular blender or not….but, now that you’ve done it, maybe I will! πŸ™‚

    I’m sorry about the cramps & gasFACE, that’s no fun! But i’m sure you’re feeling better today??? Hopefully!

    Thanks for the baked tofu help, I just slathered that ‘fu in a bowl of probably 1/4 a cup bbq sauce for the mama drama and I! Pshhh, maybe that’s a lot of sauce, but I’m feeling it….it coated the entire block perfectly! Just letting it soak up right nowwwww…

    I love you miss snackface, thanks for texting me back on your POTTY break!

  27. 32 Tra

    i could never give up fruit. or yogurt. i’m experimenting with decreasing the amount of processed food i eat, like CEREAL! so it’s hard. maybe i have an addiction. how you doing? is it okay if i friend you on f book?

  28. MMMM that salad looks DELISHIOUS!!!!! πŸ™‚

    Hope you can get over this no sleeping thing soon 😦 Maybe try melatonin if it doesnt get better..it works wonders for me!!

  29. I could NEVER give up my veggies!!! or nut butter. I love steamed veggies!!!! : )

    P.S. I’m on vacation in San Fran right now. is there any special restaurants you think i should visit while I’m here? i would greatly appreciate your suggestions!!!

    • 35 snackface

      Kasondra – Ahhh! oh my gosh you’re here! Well, I haven’t really eaten anywhere, but here are the names that keep popping up: Ike’s (BOMB sandwiches-I have eaten there), The Crepery, Judahlicious, Cafe Gratitude, Millenium, Cafe M de Chaya (I think that’s the name), Weird Fish, Herbivore, Maggie Mudd’s (vegan ice cream- amazing)…I’m not sure if you’re looking for veg food, but you won’t have a problem at those places! I wish I could be of more help!

      • thanks! yeah i’m a veg head. we went to bstar for Burmese food. it was very good! i really want to try the herbivore! i’ll have to let you know where i end up going

  30. 37 Jenny

    dang mustand that nana ice cream looks like a dream ❀ esp. with the choc. addition — you are a girl after my own heart πŸ™‚

  31. 38 Tay

    I’ve seen that banana goodness on so many blogs lately, I need to try it out!! I’m sure it’d be bomb with PB drizzled on top….HOLY.

  32. Almond butter. Take it away and I die.

  33. Raw cake batter. I’m disgusting. Whatevs.


Leave a Reply

