Raw Can Never Be Right…For Me

02Jul09

OH MY GOODNESS! Hello beautiful people who have made my Wednesday absolutely wonderful! I never could have imagined people would want any part of my giveaway. Then again, VegNews is a truly amazing magazine. And all you readers who have de-lurked: WELCOME and thank you, thank you, thank you! You all mean the world to me. And killah snacks!

Anyway, back to regular musings. You know how Kath sometimes refers to a “food hangover”? Well, I never knew exactly how that felt until this morning. The twelve pounds of Stacy’s Pita chips with Sabra Roasted Garlic hummus was sitting in my stomach horribly, and hanging out in the back of my throat uncomfortably. I love me some pita chips, but I know tooΒ many chipsΒ hurt me. Shame, shame.

Thankfully, this morning’s run helped digest. The whole time I was running I thought of the one thing I was craving for breakfast. Kombucha. A new favorite luxury that I’ll try my hardest not to buy regularly:

Drank my purple drank from 7:30-8 am, ate the Pure Bar at 9:30 ish

Drank my purple drank from 7:30-8 am, ate the Pure Bar at 9:30 ish

I’m a walking campaign for overpriced health food. It was just what the bod was craving, though. That Pure bar was one of my favorite flavors of the company’s. I’ve decided that when raw bars try to do chocolate, I’m not even going to go for it because it usually disappoints. They know how to do fruit, though.

Work was a little rough today. I just felt as though I was doing everything wrong. Had to correct a story of mine, be reminded to make water (make=purify), be reminded to send things to the right email accounts, had issues getting in contact with people…nothing big, but it made me feel like an awful intern. Must snap out of it! Sh!t happens.

On top of that, my stomach was going nuts. I made the mistake of drinking an Emergen-C. These packets of wonder murder my stomach. I know this. Why did I drink some?

I headed home for lunch (to moderate comments πŸ™‚ ) and tried to stick with the raw for lunch. Here is course one:

Um, sad-looking, but tasted fab!

Um, sad-looking, but tasted fab!

In two romaine leaves, I placed a chunky guacamole of 1/2 an avocado, 1/2 roma tomato, lime juice, chili powder, salt and pepper. Finished it in 30 seconds and then moved on to this:

Broccoli slaw with green beans

Broccoli slaw with green beans

Why raw will never be right for me: the second I start to eat something that isn’t, I feel dirty. The last thing I want to do is feel guilty for salad dressing, which is how I felt at first. ABSURD! My half raw days are over now. To those of you who love it, I commend you and admire you.

After lunch, I headed back to the office and quickly said, “F-it,” to myself. I had a few peanut-butter filled pretzels and felt better. For an afternoon snack, I had a pretty sliced apple:

Snapple= snack + apple

Snapple= snack + apple

The afternoon was rough as well. My stomach felt as though it was going to explode. I eagerly awaited 5:30 pm to roll around so I could run home and lie on my left side. You know that trick, right? Lie on the left and things start to flow (and maybe get a little noisy)!

I was somewhat ravenous for dinner and made something new:

Baby's First Curry

Baby's First Curry

I’m starting to like rice and we have a rice cooker, so that’s why it’s there. The curry was PHENOMENAL. With the help of TJ’s Thai Yellow Curry Sauce, sauteed tofu, kabocha, green beans, broccoli and celery melded together and made a beautiful and scrumptious cooked dinner:

So damn good! And easy to make!

So damn good! And easy to make!

I forewent some of the rice for more kabocha. The rice is still coming around. We are working things out, but at the moment things are complicated.

Let me remind you before I forget: You have until next Wednesday to enter my supahΒ GIVEAWAY! For an extra shot, vote in the 2009 Veggie Awards, and report back to tell me on the giveaway post which was your favorite category!

Now that that’s out of the way, it may be time for a snack. What shall it be? Oh I dunno…cereal? Crackers? Who knows. I do know, however, that it won’t be raw.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

36 Responses to “Raw Can Never Be Right…For Me”

  1. that curry looks outstanding. seriously have me hungry K-dawg!!

  2. 2 emma k.

    Just did the VegNews ballot, fav category: Nut Butter by far! Such a simple food but so many amazing nominees! It was super hard to choose, but I put Maranath (sp?) Almond Butter. yum.

    I’ve never eaten a curry before, but your gorgeous dinner is making me think I should try it!

  3. 3 randomlymikey

    agreed your curry look fab! now i want some. maybe tomorrows dinner!

  4. 4 Bec

    Sorry work was rough, we all have those days sometimes πŸ™‚

  5. 5 Anna

    I feel you on the no good work days. Today I came home to an email from work that was about a ‘miscommunication that will have to be dealt with tomorrow’ – AKA I effed up filing something and need to spend some quality time redoing it. Oh well.

    Sorry about the runbly tummy of a day. I guess there can be too much of a good thing!

  6. 6 homegirlcaneat

    YO HOEmie, I am currently texting you but let me comment this badboy too.

    I am thinking this weekend we make some tasty light meals before going out and not eat shitloads of pita chips because I was hungry like an hour afta! However, crackers and hummus can be an appetizer πŸ™‚

    aahhahaha I LOVE how the curry sauce was bossy!!! Just because of the state you were in at TJs I was cracking up when you saw the pile of yellow jars and was like, “Well f*ck, I’ll get one of these because I feel like it”

    kkkkk THIS WEEKEND IS GONNA BE OFF DA HOOK. WHEN IS IT NOT THOUGH?

    L O V E Y O U

  7. 7 Sarah

    I want to lay on my left side after this post. It made me sad. I’m going to email you and explain. Wait and see. πŸ˜‰

  8. 8 catherine

    I know what you wrote but make an exception for the Pure bar Chocolate Brownie flavor. do it!

  9. 9 jaime

    hi babes!!!

    omg HATE the food hangover– my acid reflux DEFINITELY does not help when i eat a little extra (or a lot extra) one day! i usually feel soo icky all night and can definitely relate to feeling things in my throat -yicks!!
    i really need to try that pure bar flavor now that it has my snackbaby’s seal of approval πŸ™‚ !!!! i have it lurking around somewhere in my stash ehhe πŸ™‚

    i think you have made some great realizations in your 1/2 raw days– its not for everyone and i cna definitely understand how it would bring about some guilt. all in all– i’m just glad you have found what is best for YOU– because that is the MOSt important thing πŸ™‚

    have a lovely night doll!!!! xoxoxoxo

  10. 10 jaime

    *i meant to say a little or a lot extra IN one day lol!

  11. Aww Kailes, i’m glad that you gave up the raw deal, after noticing some bad habits a-formin’! I really look up to you, and the way you listen to your bodyyyyy….and make sure that you’re always doing what’s best for it! πŸ™‚

    You are becoming a little chef my dearrrr, that tj’s inspired kabocha/rice-y/curry dinner looks amazing! And that apple IS sliced in such a pretty way, but the kombuchaaaa…MMMM, grape is good, but I loved the strawberry and gingerade flavor more (so far).

    So I just got home from a friend’s casita……which means that although I want to read blogs alll night, I need to hit THE SHEETS! Had to check in with you first though!! Love you!

    PSSSSSS, I bought the tj’s pineapple salsa, and had it tonight in a salad topped with avocado, a sunshine burger and other goodies (that you’ll see in my next postieee poo) !

  12. “postie poo?”
    …….weirdo.

  13. 13 rediscoveringlauren

    that curry looks delish πŸ™‚
    i hope the food hangovers gone now girlie!
    have a great thursday!!
    xxxx

  14. That curry looks delish! I must make a trip to TJ’s soon πŸ™‚

  15. 15 Abby

    I think it’s great you were able to listen to your body (and mind) and make the decision that raw just wasn’t for you. Guilt, much like pita chips and tubs of hummus, is not good in large doses (although I tend to test the hummus theory over and over…)

    It doesn’t mean your habits aren’t healthy or that you can’t incorporate parts or the raw mentality into your meals. As for the tummy issues, i had the same exact thing yesterday. I couldn’t WAIT to get home from work, make my tea and hope to feel better (never heard the “left side” thing…) Hmmm.

  16. 16 Susan

    My tummy doesn’t digest raw vegetables or high fat foods very well, so a raw diet is the last thing I’d ever be able to do! Every body is different, it’s all about experimenting to find what works and what doesn’t. I think it’s the intention behind the things we eat that matters, not always the final outcome.

    Sorry you had a sucky day at work 😦 I hate those days where it feels like I’m not doing anything right. Hope your thursday is better!

  17. 17 Tina

    I won a box of those pure bars a few months back in a giveaway! I’ve only had about one or two of them so far, holding out on eating them and having them for special occassions (like outings or picknicks) or as treats. The first one I tried I believe was the Choc Brownie one, which was really good. And speaking of raw chocolate, there IS good raw chocolate – check out http://moodfoods.biz I came across their little chocolate bars at the local organic shop I usually go to and picked up a Goji & Lucuma Chocolate, they’re really good! I have yet to try the other flavors because the bars are rather expensive. They’re not energy bars with dates and stuff in them, they’re just raw chocolate with pieces of blueberry or gojiberry in them. Super yum.

    Your curry looks amazing! What a lovely dish! And I think you are being very wise about the whole raw food stuff. The most important thing is to just listen to your own body and do what is best for it.

  18. 18 Whit

    Kudos for at least TRYING the raw thing. I just say f-it and don’t even try. πŸ˜€

  19. 19 gina (fitnessista)

    that curry looks incredible! i probably smell like curry from all the indian food i eat πŸ˜‰
    you’re totally right about the raw thing– it’s great for some people but definitely not for everyone
    hope you have a great day!

  20. Sorry you OD’d on the pita chips!! They’re dangerous little buggers – have you had the cinnamon variety? Those are bad news as well!

    I couldn’t do all raw either! Your girl needs her cooked carbs aka bread products πŸ˜‰ Otherwise the world would be a scary place!

    I’m sending you lots and lots of positive vibes in hopes that today is a little bit better! If not, crack open a brewki and unwind!

  21. yay for at least trying the raw thing, you cant knock it till you try it! i love apples and PB

  22. Interesting about the raw diet for you! Guilt= no bueno for sure….It’s cool that you gave it a fair shot. That yellow curry sauce is soo good- I tried it at TJ’s as a sample one time! Good luck at work today, I’m sure you’ll remember to make water today πŸ˜€

  23. I love the Cherry Cashew PureBar! Its my favorite!

    I feel the same way about raw sometimes. Like I feel guilty for eating something not raw on my salads. Oh well, sometimes raw is just not for everyone. I don’t think I could ever go high-raw. I love me some oatmeal too much!

    Snapple- haha love this!

    Now I want some curry…holy yum!

  24. Glad you are figuring out what works for you nutrition-wise, there’s NO shame in that my dear πŸ˜‰ Love the looks of that curry, even though I’ve never tried curry before!!

    Have a great Thursday!

  25. 25 april

    I’m glad to see someone else who couldn’t be raw! It’s pretty popular in the blogworld and sometimes it makes me feel guilty for certain foods but I really shouldnt.. everyone is different!

  26. hi lover! can i just tell you IMMENSELY proud i was to read that you immediately cut back on the raw thing when the stupid guilt monster crept in? seriously, i was blown away by your honesty and really touched by it — you know i’m all about eliminating guilt forever, and im just so glad you shut it down in your life too, it really inspires me to continue to do the same! thank ya thank ya!

    currry = love. come cook for me? thaaaat’d be great!

    happy almost weekend! xoxox

  27. 27 lowandbhold

    Raw is not for me either! Maybe some day wayyyyy in the future, but I’m not even vegan yet, so I’ve got a long way to go!

    The curry look scrum diddly umptious! I’ve been toying with the idea of making some Indian delights next week and you just settled it!

    Sorry for the bad day! I feel like that at work too sometimes, but we all know you’re a bad ass!!

  28. 28 elise

    girllllll, you and i are food twins. food hangover from stacys amazing chips and pounds of hummus? – been there, LIVE that.

    overpriced food is the ONLY way to recover. you know everytime i go (nongrocery) shopping im like, hmmm, but that top costs the same as 2 WF hot bar visits…i never end up getting things bc i always rationalize that the (food) alternative is WAY better. which it usually is…I’m not sure if it’s normal, but I’m ok with it.

    curry!!!!! mmm. how big is your place in SF? how about the kitch? just wondering since you have a rice cooker…i was wondering (aka enviously admiring) how much room you have for fun cooking appliances.

  29. mmm that curry looks so good!! TJ’s wins again!

    I didn’t know about that left side trick..must try that out soon!

  30. I never comment, but I do read πŸ˜€ I can’t do raw and can relate to the feelings of guilt- I LOVE your blog but admit that I’ve stopped reading as closely because I don’t want to go down the path of feeling bad about myself for not going raw. It’s so easy to fall into the trap of comparison when reading a lot of blogs- NOBODY I know in real life is raw, a few vegans, a lot of vegetarians but for the most part, are all healthy. Different strokes for different folks, eh? πŸ™‚ I didn’t enter the giveaway, but looks great! Do you know if Vegnews is distributed in the UK at all?

  31. congrats on your first curry dish! yum, curry is one of my faves. i LOVE the curry sauces TJ’s stocks, both the indian and thai varieties!

  32. I keep having peanut butter food hangovers. Love it out of the jar.

    Don’t think I could do raw all the way because I love cooking up a hot dinner or baking some warm goodies!! Curry looks delicious!

  33. 33 Sara

    Hi Kailey!
    I have been reading your blog for a while, and just started my own! I just wanted to stop on by and introduce myself! πŸ™‚

    Btw…that curry looks SOOOO good. I really want to try that for dinner..mmMMmm

  34. 34 tessa

    over priced health food? i hear ya sista. my friends go out and buy new clothes, while i’m busy buying up some fancy new goods from the co-op or tj’s. at school i had a serious problem of buying organic slices of cake at least twice a week. man shooo it was delicious though!

    haha felt kind of ridic putting those pics up, and those are the tame ones haha! yeeaa girl that would be amazing to go to san fran… i have family there so ya never know, if i visit there we fo sho would have to tear up the town πŸ™‚

  35. 35 Tra

    i just had that same bar today! yum-o

  36. mmm that curry looks delicious!!!! and i am right there with you on the raw eats. yum at times, but so is everything else that you would have to give up!!!! hope you had a great 4th girlie!


Leave a Reply

