French Toast Friday

27Jun09

Hello gorgeous people! It is Friday night and I am pooped. Completely wiped, huge shadows under my eyes, hair as drab and stringy as Britney Spears’ post-shave extensions. But I’m excited for what’s to come tomorrow and Sunday. Watch out.

The day started with a lovely run, followed by stretching and some planks. A shower and robing later, I made another raw breakfast. The only raw meal of the day. I swear. It’s not going to be my thing. However, I will take this bowl any day:

Pear Berry Butter Bowl

Pear Berry Butter Bowl

In the bowl: 1 chopped juicy pear, several candy-sweet strawberries, a handful of poppable bloobs and a drizzle of almond butter-almond milk-pumpkin pie spice sauce. Molto benne:

Beautiful

Beautiful

Work was insanely busy today. We have five billion things going on at once, and I can’t even begin to recall everything that was done today. Other than the eating, of course πŸ™‚ I had some snacklettes to get me through:

Ate the Bumble in the morning, green beans in the noon

Ate the Bumble in the morning, green beans in the noon

After a brainstorming session for the September+October issue, we dined:

French Toast Friday, baby!

French Toast Friday, baby!

We had the amazing french toast from last week! This wasn’t my plate, but I had 1 and 1/2 pieces french toast, topped with luscious berries, a dusting of powdered sugar and cocoa-cinnamon mixture. Alongside, I had roasted kobocha. Insane:

There are no words

There are no words

I love eating french toast that I know doesn’t have cholesterol, ridiculous amounts of fat, egg (always has made me gaggy) or whole milk. I’m fine with knowing it just has loads of sugar and sugar and sugar and love.

I was at work until 6ish, fact-checking, researching, writing, everything! I snacked on an unpictured macaroon (so frickin’ good) and a few Dr. Krackers Cherry Semolina crackers. Clearly, raw has gone out the window.

After work I ventured a mile or so away to get some produce. My cupboard and fridge looked sad. On the walk there I chatted with MamaJ (which made me miss her more), and on the walk back I snacked on Veggie Pirate’s Booty. Have you ever had that? MamaJ, you’ll love it. Go find it!

I came home very ready for dinner:

Preggers salad with Hummus-covered pita

Preggers salad with Hummus-covered pita

In the salad: romaine, spinach, 1/2 roma tomato, cucumber, green beans, Preggers, pineapple salsa and balsamic vinaigrette. That’s a local brand of hummus on half a whole wheat pita. The hummus is a bit watery, but I kind of love that.

For dessert I had the most divine mango:

Succulent and sweet

Succulent and sweet

I’m so SnackFacey today and had more Pirate’s Booty after dinner. Then I wanted just a bite of a White Chocolate Macadamia Luna. Yeah, that’s going to be gone by the end of the night.

Okay pudding pops, I just thought I’d give you a day of normal eats before a weekend of debauchery. Holla Gay Pride weekend!!! And I cannot wait to wear my new freakum’ dress tomorrow! You best be ready for may-juh pictures! I hope you’ve all had magnificent weeks. Please have the times of your lives this weekend! LOVE YOU!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What’s your favorite song to dance to while in your freakum’ dress?
Oh lordy, another tough question. Mrs. Officer, Lollipop, Diva (Beyonce), anything I can sing/rap/act/perform to. Preferably rap. Duh.

29 Responses to “French Toast Friday”

  1. 1 lora

    ugh im jeal u get to celebrate pride! im working all weekend..boo. I am even missing the Queens Of the Beach volleyball tourney 😦

  2. Ah I love TJ’s product names! Just the Pirate Booty name makes me want to snack on it. Have fun at the parade, be sure to show lots of pride!

  3. I love anything Beyonce too! AND old school Britney Spears (I know, embarassing haha) like Toxic or Boys. I am more likely to get down and dirtaaay with something from like 5 years ago, I am not into most of the music I hear now.

  4. Have I ever mentioned how jealous I am that they feed you that at work? I get pizza (and by pizza I mean a Larabar because holmes don’t do pizza)!

    HAVE FUN AT THE PARADE!!! I can’t wait for pictures! When I have my dancing shoes on I’m all about songs like Fire Burning, Poker Face, you know how I do πŸ˜‰

  5. Veggie Pirate’s Booty is the best.thing.ever.

    Have fun at Pride! Best dancing music for me = Lady Gaga. Love her so much!

  6. 6 tessa

    Hey lady! I just got myself a blog and your taste in food is prettttty much spot on with mine. I mean almond butta plus fruit… a quality choice indeed!
    OH and my dance song would fo sho be any Girl Talk track πŸ™‚

    • 7 snackface

      tessa – Ah! Welcome to blogging! It’s the best thing. You best believe I’m hoppin’ over to yours right now!

  7. Love the juicy pear action! I’ve got to find some around here, I’ve missed them! haha

    French Toast with kabocha?! Thats got to be the best meal ever!

    That fresh mango looks so delicious! My mouth is watering!

  8. I love the color of that hummus!

    I’m all about some old school Beyonce- “Check Up On It” CLASSIC! Have fun this weekend! πŸ™‚

  9. 10 gina (fitnessista)

    i love that breakfast! what a great idea πŸ˜€
    and i loooooove mangoes…so good
    hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  10. all your food looks fantastic! mango are my fav fruit

  11. Amazing eats!

  12. Your bumble bar looks great. I haven’t hear of that brand. Where do you get it?

    • 14 snackface

      Mrs Myers – The Bumble bar really is delicious! It’s chock full of sesame seeds, coconut, almonds and this one had apricot, too! I actually received it in a gift basket from VegNews, but I’ve seen them at Whole Foods before. They may have them at TJ’s, but I’m not 100% sure!

  13. 15 Tina

    Loveliness! Sounds like you are going to have a wonderful weekend!! I love the packaging on that bumble bar! And what oh what is veggie pirate’s booty? I’m so intrigued! Pictures please! πŸ™‚ Cannot wait to see your frekum dress! I am loooving the new Pitbull song called “I know you want me”. It’s aweesome to dance to! Check it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E2tMV96xULk&feature=fvst

  14. 16 april

    cant wait to see the pictures! How long did that breakfast hold you? it looks pretty darn good!

    • 17 snackface

      april – Hey chicquita! That breakfast held me for almost three hours, which is pretty standard. The only difference is that when it’s just a fruit+nut butter breakfast, the hunger hits harder than it would if I had eaten oats or something. But I’m always ready with snacks in-hand!

  15. french toast looks soooooooooooooo good..looks like a fab day of eats! I couldn’t do totally raw either :}
    Near to me (toronto) has the largest gay pride parade in the world this weekend.. I’m sure Ill be seeing tons of leather, thongs and rainbows all over! πŸ™‚ lol

  16. sugar and love, what more do you need in a meal? nadda. cute mango. adorable really. have fun at the gayrade! cant wait for the photo recap. xo

  17. i know just what you mean on the crazy work week thing! i definitely relaxed last night & it was amazing. perfect before a big weekend, right?? have so much fun at pride today!!! cant wait to see the pic recaps and ur zexxxy new dress from forever

  18. how do you make your french toast?

  19. Snackface!! Hello babayy! Once again, gorgeous breakfast you got there…..glad you’re enjoying your raw mornings! πŸ˜‰

    How was the apricot bumble bar?? I’ve tried the original and almond flavor ( i think?) and loveddd them! I really like the texture and size (twss, kinda sorta) !

    And i’m with you girl, gimmeee sugar sugar sugar (as in ANY vegan dessert….umm helllo vegan carrot cake) anyday….over those desserts filled with all the other crap (that can still be good …..but not always ma style) !!

    I know you and brookie booo are getting downnnn at the bars tonight, and partying in the streets of SF tomorrow! So have fun my lova! Can’t wait for the recap, enjoy those pita chips! πŸ™‚

    ps-Give me any song that is some sort of rap or hip-hop, and i’m dancing….just like you! Lately, pokerfaceeee (lady gaga) & any lil’ jon/usher/50 cent song gets me groooooovin’.

  20. 23 Megan

    so jealous of your amazing eats!! everything looks sooo good..

    and sorry i’ve been mia for the past week– work is a killer! but i’m glad to see you’re loving it!

  21. 24 Maya

    how long have you been a vegan for/ why did you decide to become vegan?
    i’m thinking of becoming one myself, and any advice would be helpful! (knowing that you’re with all the experts daily!)

    visit me at:

    http://perpetualmusings.wordpress.com/

    • 25 snackface

      Maya – Oooh great questions! I decided to become vegan at the beginning of June. I’d always toyed with the idea, as I’ve never liked meat and had digestive issues with dairy. Then, when I moved out here to San Fran and started working with the lovely people of VegNews, I decided it was time! It’s a very accomodating city and I have all the help and support of my co-workers. Reading a ton for news stories and fact-checking and editing articles also made me realize the effects meat-eating has on the body and environment, so veganism fits my morals and beliefs. The only part that’s really changed in my diet is that I don’t buy yogurt anymore, and the little cheese I ate regularly (Laughing Cows) got the axe. I don’t miss these things at all! I also have to read labels more closely, but it makes me feel better knowing I’m not harming animals and not putting things into my body it doesn’t like. Sorry for the spastic, long-winded answer!

  22. delicious breakfast πŸ™‚ LOVE it!!! and that french toast looks DIVINE!!!!

    LOVE veggie pirates booty– soo yumz!!!!

    rest of my love– hope you can try to get some relaxation time in!!! you deserve it!!! xoxoxox j

  23. i meant “rest up” not “rest of” lol!

  24. I am eatttting frenchy toast right now.. mmm… mmm.. almond milk heaven.

  25. 29 Jess

    I really dig Pirate’s Booty too! One of my co-workers bought it on a whim and when he realized it was “healthy” he goes, “oh gross (after about 1 bite)-Give it to Jessica!” So funny. But Yummmmmy.


Leave a Reply

