In the Raw

26Jun09

Hey beauties! I hope everyone had a fabulous Thursday. Wasn’t it a bizarre day? Farrah and M.J.? I mean, pure shock! You can bet this weekend will be full of men in mirrors, thrillers and not stopping because I never get enough. I was pleased to see people biking downtown, trailing behind a man blaring M.J. classics.

Anyway, back to regular programming. I woke up this morning, went for a tired run, showered and ate le breakfast. Okay, so I’ve been tempted by this raw thing. I just know I’d start to label foods, which is no good, but I thought breakfast could be a raw start:

Breakfast in the raw...sorta

Breakfast in the raw...sorta

In the bowl: 1/2 chopped apple, blueberries, strawberries, covered in a raw almond butter-almond milk-pumpkin pie spice sauce. This was delicious:

Divine

Divine

I don’t know anything about these proper raw combinations or whatnot, but this combination was spot-on.

For morning snackage, I packed these treats:

Raw Revolution Tropical bar with 1/2 apple

Raw Revolution Tropical bar with 1/2 apple

So I went to work, was slammed with very exciting work (get ready for the Veggie Awards–you get to vote starting July 1 !!! And there are new categories, several of which ya’ll will LOVE), but I had barrels of energy. However, at 10:30 I couldn’t take it anymore. I was starving! So I broke into the bar, which wowed me, then had the apple in the afternoon. But anyway, seriously, that bar was fantastic, and I don’t even like fruit-flavored things.

Charlotte made lunch today and though the soup and chips weren’t raw, the salad with dressing was (ha! of course). And it was all scrumptious:

Vegan chili, few veggie flax corn chips, salad with live salsa :)

Vegan chili, few veggie flax corn chips, salad with live salsa 🙂

Oh how I loved that lunch! Alright kids, I’m about to get graphic. When am I not, though? Usually after lunch, I get a little to very…noisy? Okay I’m a big GasFace after lunch. I said it. However, today, even though I had beans for lunch, my stomach was fine! I’m not sure exactly what it was, but I think the raw-by-my-standards breakfast may have had something to do with it.

We were all working so intensely in the afternoon that by the time we had to leave for Vegan Dranks, our brains were toast. One way to fix that:

Honeydew Canteloupe Martini!

Honeydew Canteloupe Martini!

That’s raw, right? Holy shhh this was delicious! The crowd at Vegan Dranks was, in a word, interesting. Some men have no idea how to socialize, and it’s terrifying. One way NOT to win me over: accuse me of not eating to stay thin. Um, buddy, I don’t think so. I just laughed it off at the time, but furreal?

Actually, I suppose I hadn’t eaten dinner yet, and when we got home at 9 I was ravenous:

That's not appealing, is it? Too brown and green. Tasted wonderful!

That's not appealing, is it? Too brown and green. Tasted wonderful!

On the plate: spinach, green beans, celery, Trader Joe’s Meatless Meatballs (because a darling reader didn’t know what I meant by balls- whoops!), pineapple salsa, sesame sticks, hummus and balsamic. Okay, I have almost zero groceries, so that was puny. To fix that, I had about three servings of Peanut Butter Puffins and finished the box. And I swear I’m still hungry.

I clearly didn’t eat raw today, but incorporated more raw foods into my regimine. Or did I really? I always feel as though I eat raw enough for me anyway. That breakfast, though, has me thinking. My stomach wasn’t nearly as icky as normal. Hmmm…

It’s bedtime for bonzo, and I have a HUGE weekend to gear up for!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

BIG QUESTION: What is your favorite nut butter? I want full details, yo.
That’s nearly impossible, right? I’d say PB& Co’s White Chocolate Wonderful for something sweet and Blue Diamond Crunchy Almond Butter for savory. Too good!

34 Responses to “In the Raw”

  1. 1 homegirlcaneat

    I wish you saw me leaving this comment right now because you would laugh out loud..then run. It has to do with something we do best. No, not winning over Irish hearts or comsuming liquids at 4pm. It has to do with the next day after all of that. Do you know what I am talking about yet? Or should I keep explainin?

    Anyways…VEGAN DRANKS! I was with Britt tonight (duh) and I was like, shiiiiit I haven’t texted wackass all day! And then we remembered…vegan drankage was happening. How was it? Other than the strange vegan SF men? Can’t wait to hear all aboutz it.

    We do dinna tomorrow togetha with B-ritt. Hugh jasses and cheetah fries? Then bitchloads of snacks? Hokay!

    To keep this post going, we went to the other hurling house tonight and watched Family Guy. All the LADS were hilarious and super fun. I see de craic in the near future. AKA: Saturday.

    TGIF BEEZY! LOVES YOU AND CAN’T WAIT TO GET OUR FREAK ON THIS WEEEKND!

    • 2 snackface

      homegirl – I CANNOT WAIT for tonight, tomorrow, Sunday. Like, I’m bursting. I totes thought it was odd I didn’t text you at all yesterday! But we be textin’ today. I have may-juh groceries I need to get because my fridge is saaaad. And when you wrote this comment, I know exactly what you were doing. Glad you comment no matter what else is going on. Love you!

  2. 3 homegirlcaneat

    I wish you saw me leaving this comment right now because you would laugh out loud..then run. It has to do with something we do best. No, not winning over Irish hearts or comsuming liquids at 4pm. It has to do with the next day after all of that. Do you know what I am talking about yet? Or should I keep explainin?

    Anyways…VEGAN DRANKS! I was with Britt tonight (duh) and I was like, shiiiiit I haven’t texted wackass all day! And then we remembered…vegan drankage was happening. How was it? Other than the strange vegan SF men? Can’t wait to hear all aboutz it.

    We do dinna tomorrow togetha with B-ritt. Hugh jasses and cheetah fries? Then bitchloads of snacks? Hokay!

    To keep this post going, we went to the other hurling house tonight and watched Family Guy. All the LADS were hilarious and super fun. I see de craic in the near future. AKA: Saturday.

    TGIF BEEZY! LOVES YOU AND CAN’T WAIT TO GET OUR FREAK ON THIS WEEEKND!

  3. 4 homegirlcaneat

    Sh!!!!t, that didn’t mean to post twice. Oh well..HERE’S A THIRD!

  4. 5 Tina

    Looks like you did good! Awesome breakfast idea there! And that vegan drank looks soooo tasty! I know what you mean about guys trying to “hit on you” by saying you stay skinny by not eating. Urgh, I hate hearing comments like that. I don’t get comments like that much though, for some reason guys mostly tell me I need to go to the gym or should work out. Which makes me even MORE angry! It kills the little bit of confidence I have when some guy thinks he’s making conversation by asking if I go to the gym or workout and then saying that I should. Geee, thanks!

    My favorite nut butter is one of the only good ones available here, an organic creamy peanut butter. The same brand does however offer the same creamy pb with choc pieces in it. I have yet to try it. Might be a new favorite. I wish we had PB&Co. here!

  5. That Vegan Drank sounds maaaarvelous darling!!!
    My fav nut-butters are def Maranatha Raw Crunchy AB and their No-Stir Crunchy AB. For smooth I would have to go with Naturally more AB. I need to try some PBs too though.
    Have a great Friday Night!!!!

  6. I would agree with you on the PB and Co White Chocolate Wonderful! In second place would be Whole Foods freshly ground almond butter. Have a nice weekend 🙂

  7. Hahah – I commend you for announcing your post lunch digestive woes! That’s why I’ve got mad love for the SnackFace (no, not because your gassy but because your honest 😉 )!

    That martini sounds bangin’! I love the honey dew!! Downgrade to the guy at the drankfest though – that’s always annoying. If only they knew!!

    My fav nut butter – crunchy Barney Butter or smooth TJs PB! Have a FANTASTIC FRIDAY!!!

  8. 9 Katharina

    Boo on that guy making lousy conversation! Someone should tell him that’s no way to treat a lady.

    Thanks for filling me in on what those balls are! lol

    My favorite nut butter… well I’m not so keen on the brands, but my favorite variation is the almond kind! I think I got the Maranatha brand once and it was so. freaking. yummy – but it was so. freaking. expensive!

  9. 10 Whit

    Vegan drank looks so supa yum! Get your drank on, girlie!

  10. That fruit bowl looks divine! I just got some organic strawberries on sale, maybe I’ll whip up a bowl of my own.

    My favorite nut butter is Maranatha no-stir almond butter – it’s got a little bit of sugar in it so it’s sweet and creamy and heaven. Too bad it’s $9 a jar! Just like Cookie Monster’s cookies, it’s a sometimes food.

  11. dont you just LOVE dudes who know how to strike up a conversation about your appearance? gets me every time. and by gets me i means bugs the SHIT out of me, so i don’t blame you for your reaction! but vegan drinks look prettyyy, i likeyyy, i would join you for one in a heartbeat!

    umm YUM to that lunch and interesting take on eating raw for breakfast — maybe keep trying it out and see if it actually does make a difference or if it was some other factor that day???

    UGH PEANUT BUTTER. you know i adore dark chocolate dreams…i am betrothed to it. and i LOVE crunchy barney butter but i’m straying from topic so that can be discounted if need be.

    ha! happy friday boo! xoxo

  12. 13 april

    I get digestive issues too 😉 I think that’s just life though! lol

    My favorite nut butter is organic peanut butter from costco actually! It’s the best tasting natural peanut butter by far!

  13. TJ’s unsalted crunchy for suure! It’s so cheap foo!

  14. MMM favorite PB!? Mighty Maple is DEFINITELY my favorite for sweet, and for a different twist I like my local market’s freshly ground Honey Roasted PB! Mmm! Have a great weekend girl!

  15. That dude soudns whack. Wish I had a comment on the PB front, in Belgium I can only get plain and i didn’t realize the broad world of nut butters until I started creeping around blogworld. I’ll have to do some nut butter investigating when I get back to the states!

  16. i love it when bfasts look more like desserts! and that one does, for real. why is it that cereal is soo delicious but you can eat bowl after bowl and still eat more? ohh cereal, i shake my fist at you. nut butters? naturally more PB is my current jam. err.. my current peanut butter, i suppose. xo.

  17. Loving your lunches, the vegan chili looks so yums!

  18. That breakfast is GENIUS! I must re-create it =)

    My fav PB is White Chocolate Wonderful. My fav AB is Vanilla. I guess I like the sweet stuff =)

  19. 20 Jennifer

    Are you going vegan now? Sheesh

    • 21 snackface

      Jennifer – I am, actually. I’ve never been one for meat, and dairy killed the tum anyway, so that combined with ethics and beliefs have made me make the incredible choice to be vegan. And it couldn’t be more perfect timing, as I am working at VegNews and surrounded by people who can fully educate, support and help me. I say everyone do yo’ thang, though. This is what’s best for me, my body and my morals.

  20. That little cantalope garnish is toot!

  21. Maranatha roasted almond butter. I just can’t get into the sweetened or flavoured stuff, I want my nut butter to taste like nuts, not icing! 😛

    Melon martini sounds yummmmm. I had a brief vegan stint in my first year of university after finding out my favourite beer was vegan. Apparently, that alone wasn’t enough for me to hold it out though.

    • 24 snackface

      Susan – I love you. You are absolutely killing me with your comments. First the whiskey and water, now the beer. You my girl.

  22. Oh honey pie. Do what makes YOU feel good! I promise to do the same. All the haters can keep on hatin’ and I’ll keep on smiling.

    That being said, I’m not a big raw nut fan, but I LOOOOOOOVE Trader Joe’s raw almond butter, creamy OR crunchy. It no matter. Have a GREAT weekend, Love!

    • 26 caitlin

      I second this! I LOVE TJ’s raw almond butter. It is the most indescribably buttery, warm flavor

  23. hmm any of pbloco..the white chocolate pb loco…is soo soo SO GOOD
    as well as maranatha no stir almond butter

  24. Now you’re going semi-raw on me?!?! Ohhh Kailes, if raw keep the gasface at bay I may need to incorporate a little more raw-ness into my days. You and i are both know that we couldn’t go full-blown raw though, since we’re major carb hoesssss. It keeps us smart! 😀

    How amazing are pb puffins?! I’m digging Charlotte’s chili soup, vegetarian/vegan chili is THE BEST…especially when mixed up with some hot saucee….ohhhh spicy! Me likey!

    Your breakfast shots are always so pretty. I gotta try one of those raw revolution bars, but they’re like, 2 bucks more expensive than all the other raw ones!! Whattt the?!

    And to answer the q….my favorite pb changes daily. I go through the same 3 most days though, maranthana crunchy pb OR WCW, maranthana creamy almond butter, and tj’s sunflower seed butter! yumyumyummm!

    Have fun with Brookie this weekend! Wish I could be there too!!

    • 29 snackface

      Jessica – I wish I had money to fly you up here! Anyway, don’t you worry your pretty little head. I’m not going semi-raw. I like to give things a go every now and then, though, so I was testing it out. I think I eat plenty of raw fruits and veggies normally, but I wanted to see what it was like to try raw for at least half the day. I know that I’d start to label anything cooked as “bad,” and create food rules, etc., and sistah doesn’t need to do that. Plus, I just LOVELOVELOVE cereal and crackers and pitas, and a huge part my food philosophy is eating what you love. I couldn’t abandon any of my loves 🙂

  25. Fruits covered in nut butter/almond milk “sauce” are the best. I used to eat that all the time… I don’t know why I haven’t lately! DUR. I need to start it up again.

    MELON martini?! YES PLEASE. Sounds fab. What an idiot though. I hate when people accuse you of not eating. I’ve gotten that a couple times before and I’m like, ummm excuse me? I probably eat DOUBLE what you do! It’s called NOT eating Mickie Ds.

    Have an awesome weekend girlie!

    As for the nut butter, a fav, seriously? Well I’m with you on the White Chocolate Wonderful being straight towards the top in terms of desserty goodness. I also like Peabutter for stick to your mouth fun. Other than that everything I’ve tried so far is pretty on par. Although homemade almond butter has a slight lead!

  26. 31 frenchybelle

    WOW that “sauce” over the fruit this morning… totally rocks!!! Im trying to eat wayyyy more raw too!
    That Martini… yummo!!

    Hmmm homemade vanilla almond butter! But PB&CO Dark Chocolate dreams is a fab treat!! I love it on cinnamon raisin ezekiel toast with banana!

  27. let me get a swig of that martinti! sounds so delish!

  28. 33 Sweet and Fit

    ewwwwwww, what werid creepy guys! thats seriously no way to get on a girls good side (by telling them they basically starve themselves!)

    my fav nut butter??? PB & Co’s mighty maple – I DIE and go to heaven!


  1. 1 Morning pick-me-ups « Summer of the CSAs

Leave a Reply

