My Body Is a Wonderland

25Jun09

What up, boos? Oh don’t you worry about that title. I’m not going to show you a picture of me in a bikini or anything. I’m merely saying that my body is a wonder in that…I feel FABULOUS again! What, what! The magic combination: plenty of fruits and veggies and Puffins, no caffeine, no running, lots of tea and water and love. Seriously, I no longer feel like the bottom of a shoe. I feel like a beautiful, shining Manolo Blahnik.

This morning, I sprang out of bed and immediately put on a sports bra I’d worn twice before and my other running gear. The run felt so good that I ran for 35 minutes straight, which I realize isn’t that incredible compared to some, but for me it’s bossy. This body is a wonderland, furreal. I ran longer than normal, distance-wise, and returned earlier than usual. Killah.

Naturally, the tum was starving after I showered. Breakfast was a scrumptious repeat:

English muffin with strawberry fruit spread and almond milk-almond butter mix, bowl of berries!

English muffin with strawberry fruit spread and almond milk-almond butter mix, bowl of berries!

I skipped into the office and my usual chattiness and laughter and joy returned. Thank goodness, because I had a billion things to do today! One of the pieces I had to fact check was a book review, so I got to look at some incredible new vegan books. If you don’t have it yet, buy The Vegan Scoop! If I had an ice cream maker, I’d be all over that.

At 11ish I broke for some carrots with mustard and BBQ sauce. I was ravenous by lunch time, which was delicious, but a little light:

Le salad, toast points that were eaten with a kidney bean spread, roasted squash things, bean spread-filled phyllo cups

Le salad, toast points that were eaten with a kidney bean spread, roasted squash things, bean spread-filled phyllo cups

Lunch was lovely and I had one more phyllo cup than pictured. After lunch, though, came a sweet delicacy made by a new staffer, Laura. VegNews recently acquired VegWeb, and she is now running that. Anyway, she made vegan peanut butter chocolate chocolate chip with peanut brittle ice cream. RIDICULOUS! It was a teeny serving, and lemme tell ya, I could have eaten bowls and bowls.

It was back to business after lunch, and I wrote, edited, fact-checked and even modeled. Please click over to check out a funny picture of me and to check out the bomb packages we get in the office every single day!

For an even more hilarious picture, click here to see my official blurb on the VegNews site! AHH!!!!! I’m beyond excited to be on the site, but that picture is so funny! It’s from my freshman year in college and I was modeling for a student. Bahaha!

We stayed at work until 6:20 pm, and I was so hungry I had what felt like a migraine. Thankfully, it was a hunger headache that was helped with this:

Meaty

Meaty

On the plate: spinach, carrots, broccoli, green beans, celery, balls, chickenless chicken, sesame sticks, pineapple salsa, hummus and balsamic vinaigrette. So scrumptious, but I needed somethin’ else after, thus I ate half a pita.

I went on a whee adventure to get $5 worth of quarters for laundry and transportation. I’ve never needed so many quarters in my life! I also tried to stop by the Asian supermarket for super cheap kabocha, but it closed at 7:30 pm and I got there at 7:34. Bummer!

I came home, took over my laundry and then had dessert:

That's a teeny bowl of Shredded Spoonfuls with bloobs and almond milk

That's a teeny bowl of Shredded Spoonfuls with bloobs and almond milk

Multiply that by two and add a few Puffins and you’ll get what I really ate 🙂 And as I’ve been typing I’ve been eating pita chip crumbs. Yessss.

And because I know he’s reading, I just want to say Happy Fathers Day AGAIN! I know, I know, it’s like three/four days later, but I say that phone call was not enough. Popsicle, I won’t make you cry this year, but I just want to say thank you, as I owe you everything in the world, and thank you for loving me more than I could ever know. Look at my adorable Popsicle:

Dad lookin' like a stud in shades, Matty Rich being the absolute goof ball that he is.

Dad lookin' like a stud in shades, Matty Rich being the absolute goof ball that he is.

I love you, DaddyPants! Awww looking through family pictures makes me miss everyone so much!

Which is why I’m moving right on to remind anyone in the San Fran area that tomorrow night it’s time to get your Vegan Drank on! Seriously, Martuni’s, 6-8 pm, be there.

I just re-read this post and to recap how loony I am, we went from body as a wonderland to new books to light food to ice cream to ridic pictures of me to headache to dinner to quarters to Popsicle to drankin’. Just imagine what it’s like to be inside this head. Scary, huh? Well, now it’s time to put my laundry in the drier!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What do you make of the raw food trend???
I’m fascinated, but think some of it’s kind of gaggy. I know I have a certain tolerance for only so much raw food. I also can’t see myself making rice and pasta out of cauliflower and zucchini. Yes, this works for some people, but I love me my grains! Please, share what you think!

29 Responses to “My Body Is a Wonderland”

  1. 1 homegirlcaneat

    I love the title of diz post because weren’t we talking about John Mayer and J.Aniston and how much they confused us? ahahaha but his body does not confuse me.

    I LOVE/DIED at the purse modeling. You SO fioooone!
    I LOVE/LOVED at the VegNews website. Hells yes!

    I got more shredded spoonfuls today. And my store didn’t have pb puffins (wtf?) so I got cinnamon?? I am hoping they just as fab. Or at least close to it.

    G.PRIDE.SO.SOON

  2. 2 Sarah

    I clicked on your man purse modeling and your fist to chin action, and can’t decide which was more adorable!!!

    I know, the Matty Rich straw buckteeth is my fave!

    You know how I feel about the raw thing. I was a HUUUUUUUGE skeptic, but the past few day have been really amazing for me. I’m not mad at ya though, I felt exactly the same way!!!

  3. The food I eat makes me happy and I love me some of what others consider “health” food, and when I indulge I do moderately. Since I enjoy my diet I don’t see myself becoming a raw foodist anytime soon, but I’d still love to incorporate some of raw food ideas, such as deydrating fruits/veggies and raw meals I’ve seen floating around the blogworld (most recently pumpkin pie in a bowl and creamy salad dressings).

    Glad you’re feeling better!

  4. 4 rediscoveringlauren

    hi hun
    the eats look delish 🙂 especially dinner!
    i love that section about you on the website, so cool!!
    glad your feelin better, its amazing what rest and good food does for ya 🙂
    have a nice night girlie
    xxxx

  5. 5 Lesie

    I don’t know about the raw food thing either. I definitely know it has some benefits, but restrictive diets tend to have a way of cheating you out of some kind of nutrient or another. It would take alot of work!

  6. Haha your posts always make me crack up! I totally agree with you about the raw foods diet, I think it is good up to a certain point, but beyond that point it’s not so great.

  7. I love your pictures on VegNews! Both are freakin gorgeous!

    I’m the same with raw foods. I can do it occationally but never all the time. I too, love grains wayyy too much! haha

  8. you need to be close to the washroom for the raw food diet or wear a diaper

  9. 9 Daria

    Glad you’re feeling better! Good long runs are about the best thing ever.

    I’m intrigued by the raw trend, but I don’t think I could ever do 100% raw. Morning isn’t morning without steamy, chocolatey oatmeal!!

  10. 10 Bec

    Some my parents friends eat raw and while it can be tasty i couldnt do it all the time

  11. 11 annaalstondonnelly

    Kailey- your modeling the bag is fabulous- you are adorable!!! And love your frosh year photo on Vegnews- what a hottie.

    Raw Food Craze- NOT for this chicka. I actually experimented with a year ago when I was still a little underweight (for me). Read my review here:
    http://mealsfromthegirlinthelittleblackdress.wordpress.com/2008/07/02/july-2-2008-thursday-and-raw-review/

    The thing is, whenever I toy with this restrictive diet, I tend to develop very orthorexic tendencies, that in my and my doctors’ opinions, are not healthy. I think the raw food craze (or any restrictive diet craze) can be a dangerous thing for people who are recovering from or have eating disorders, and to young girls. People like this may be more impressionable when it comes to research about diets, and participating in some of this or other diet’s rituals could potentially be triggering.

    I will never do the raw thing because there are two many things I am trying to relearn to enjoy in life- fancy and smelly cheeses, delicious meals at fancy restaurants, desserts, etc. I think the raw food diet appeals to my tendency to “be afraid” of certain foods, and making certain foods “unsafe,” to me, is damaging.

    I am going to Italy next week, and of course, I am terribly excited about the art, but drinking a strong espresso with a dolce in the morning in my hotel with my fiance, indulging in an afternoon gelato while sitting on the ledge of a fountain and people watching, or digging in to a savory plate of pillowy gnocchi (my favorite)- these are experiences I want to enjoy next week and remember for the rest of my life.

    That being said, I do think there is some merit to people incorporating more fresh, raw produce into their life, and I am a huge fan of doing that! I eat salads, fruit, and raw veggies like it’s my job, and I do think that the more I eat, the better I feel (as long as I can also have a luscious piece of bread, too).

    I think there is no one diet for anyone- some people thrive on eating tons of grilled meats and egg whites (my fiance), some eat lightly throughout the day then have a ginormous dinner, some only eat vegetables when they are cooked, some do great with veganism, some are euphorically raw. We can only know what works best for ourselves, respect those around us who are happy and healthy with their diets, and stay true to our bodies- I think they know what’s best for us.

    Ew, sorry for the sermon. I’m such a tool.

    Keep up the good work lady! xoxo

  12. Girl, you are fierce in your pictures!! That ice cream sounds INNNNNN-cred! I would like it now. Seriously, right now!

    Glad you’re feeling more like the old SnackFace!! A SickFace isn’t as fun! 35 minutes? Das gut!!

    The raw food thing – Have you read the latest issue of Self? Regardless of that, I admit that the zucchini pasta and cauli rice intrigues me but at the same time, Mama needs her hearty carbs (veggies don’t count)!

  13. 13 april

    Love the model picture of you!

    The raw food diet- I like the idea of eating more fruits and vegetables but the rest sounds a bit silly to me. Why would you want to give up oatmeal?? haha. There is too many good non-raw foods out there that I don’t think I could go on an all raw diet.

  14. 14 Nadia

    Cute bag and great model shot! I used to do some modelling and miss it so much!

    I think the raw food trend is “silly” on so many levels. Yes, eating more fresh produce is very good for you BUT that’s just called having a balanced diet. Oatmeal, whole wheat bread, etc. etc. have long been recognized as beneficial in one’s diet. Limiting yourself to a few food groups and constantly worrying about eating only raw is not healthy. I also think that it makes food a central part of your life and can definitely lead to disordered eating. Plus if you don’t live in a place like new york or san francisco or anywhere else where raw food is readily available then the diet is inconvenient. I equate it with the Atkins diet trend in the sense that it’s SO restrictive, built on faulty principles and in the end is just that, a trend. Ok, rant over

  15. that peanut brittle icecream sounds soooooooooooo good

    I’m not sure what to make of the raw food movement …I love raw veggies obviously and even raw desserts..but not sure I could be one of those steadfast followers…

  16. 16 Katharina

    Hey Kailey!!

    What are those balls in your salad? Oh man I couldn’t help but giggle a little when I typed that out.

    As far as the raw food thing, I don’t mind it, but I know for myself I wouldn’t be able to go completely raw.

    p.s. when you mentioned cauliflower I thought of this vegan recipe that you could try out in the VegNews kitchen next time it’s your time to cook. I’m seriously SERIOUSLY SERIOUSLY recommending this:

    Mashed Cauliflower

    vegan cream cheese, vegan butter (or EVOO), salt, pepper

    Boil cauliflower in water until very tender, about 10 minutes. Drain and place in a blender or food processor. Add “butter” + “cream cheese” and water, one tablespoon at a time until a smooth consistency, similar to mashed potatoes, is reached. Season with salt and pepper and serve immediately.

  17. Funny that I just visited your blog as I am researching the whole raw food thing. I am trying to eat more “raw” foods, but I can’t worry myself when I crave bread or something warm and comforting! I am trying to follow a “rawish” diet with a lot of fruits and veggies and stick to more natuaral foods overall. But realistically, being completely raw would never work for me.

    Great blog!

  18. I think the raw food trend is, well, a trend. But not to say it isn’t great. There are just a lot of trends that come and go over the years. I think society as a whole is moving more and more toward true health and wellness. And, while I’m not a raw foodie, I’m completely behind a healthier community/country/whatever and I believe an awareness of how to truly be healthy is key. So, I’m all for a little raw food action in the mix. (But ya, I love my grains, too.)

  19. I love your blurb on the VegNews page!! So cute!

  20. oh i loved the little bio on you! haha turning orange is A-OK!

    i couldnt do raw food, well i could, but i don’t have the desire to. i love to bake and cook, they are two of my PASSIONS in life.. plus i think i get by pretty healthy as it is, the raw thang just isnt for me.

    glad you feel better dudette!

  21. I would love to try and go all raw, but I don’t think I can!! A few things I for sure do love that fall under the category raw, but to go completely 100%. I do give props to all you out there that do, and wish I had the self power to do it!

  22. Go you for loving your body!

    Re: raw; my body does better on the total opposite diet – macrobiotic. I need my veggies cooked!

  23. i love the blurb and purse modeling!!

    seriously. so jealz of your job!!!!!!!!!!

    so happy you had a pain free fantastic run too!

  24. Yayy, i’m so glad that you’re feeling better today Kailes!!! Ma baby can’t be running around SF all tired with the nose a-runnin’…..no wayyyy, she needs to be at maximum health so that all the creepers can lurk on her and get the “rejection” business card! 😉

    And ahhh, you’re breakfast is so beautiful. I mean, ya can’t go wrong with peanut butter and english muffins, am I right!?

    BUT furrr real, you are SUCH a stunna!!!! That frosh picture of you is gorggg, so dainty and cute with your little hand resting below the chin!!!!

    Ps- you’re dad’s a fox! hahahhaha…..

  25. ******your, not you’re….silly jess.

  26. 26 Tina

    Your photos are soo pretty lookin’! So colorful and nice! The raw food diet is something I’ve touched on a bit in the past. Sometime last fall/winter I discovered it and started reading up on it everywhere online and was very fascinated by it. I decided to try to be raw for 1 month as a new years challenge/resolution. And I did it! For about 28-30 days in January I was raw! It kind of failed though and I didn’t feel all too great on the raw diet because I didn’t have the proper equipment to make good raw foods so I mostly ended up eating lots of only-veg salads and fruit salad. Not completely healthy. It was an interesting experience though and I still eat a lot of raw foods and incorporate a lot of raw stuff into my diet. Without a dehydrator and other eqipment it’s not as much fun though…

  27. Pbu!!! I saw that on Curlytop and have been meaning to try it, but haven’t gotten around to it yet! Soooo does it taste everything as good as it looks?!? 🙂 You’re master of photographing food…oh, and of course assembling it to make it gorgeous!!

  28. haha oo you are NOT propping that chin up with your fist, LOVE IT Poodle!!!!

  29. Hi

    Nice Title, very catchy to the eyes! Haha.., Upon reading your blog I felt the same way you feel. Yes you are exactly right. Our body is indeed a wonderland! This is the gretest gift that we have. That’s why I have been also promoting Raw diet to my students. I am glad that I have a great response. Keep up the good work on your Body Wonderland! You can also check my blog about my reformation. http://www.whyraw.wordpress.com

    Thanks


Leave a Reply

