Like a Fish to Water

20Jun09

Happy weekend, doves! I hope everyone has had the most fabulous week and you only topย it off with an even more fabulous weekend! Whoah, too much fabulous going on there.

So I figured out what my tummy issue was: too much processed soy! I am fine with a Boca or some tofu here and there, but the tempeh-tofu scramble? And tofu four days in a row? No, no. SnackFace can’t do it.

Thursday, after my banana-almond butter bites in a bath of coconut slush, I dashed off to work. My mid-morning snack was hardcore raw:

Carrots, cherry toms and an apple that was never consumed. Same goes for the purse strap.

Carrots, cherry toms and an apple that was never consumed. Same goes for the purse strap.

Do you really want to see pictures of carrots? I mean, I like to give an idea of what I eat (though I never could snap pictures ofย everything), but after I took this one, I was like, “I’m an idiot. They’re just carrots and cherry toms.”

Idiocracy aside, the carrots and toms were lovely. They don’t look as lovely as lunch, though:

Vegan omelette with pineapple

Vegan omelette with pineapple

Alright, I don’t wanna say it, but that was not good. It was bland and, well, omelettey, which freaked me out! I’ve always been iffy with eggs and their texture, so to know this was made of tofu and chickpea flour and still was eggy was bizarre. But, that’s the goal of the recipe! I slathered it in ketchup and ate it all, though ๐Ÿ™‚ So pretty:

Just spinach and shrooms chillin there

Just spinach and shrooms chillin there

Have I shared yet that I received an EMAIL from a Bryce?!! Another person to whom I handed my business card. Ladies, just don’t do it. Guys, you can hand out your business cards safely. We most likely won’t use them. Just sayin’.

After work we met back up at 6:30 and went to this incredible sandwich shop, Ike’s Place, for vegan sammiches. They have meat as well, but they have a huge vegan menu. I’m not one for sandwiches, so I thought, “how good can this really be?” Un-frickin-believable. I ordered something called a Backstabber. I thought the name most reflected me (sarcasm, obviously). Please look at this:

Looks like real meat and cheese, right?

Looks like real meat and cheese, right?

On Dutch Crunch bread (no clue what that is, but it was fantastic): vegan turkey, soy cheese, marinated atrichokes, dirty sauce, garlic and herb sauce, pickles, onions, lettuce, pepperocinis. It was enormous. I ate it all. I burped it up all night. Worth it, though.

Being vegan is so easy with places like that. It’s when you’re in, oh I dunno, Ohio, that it’s a teeny bit more challenging. It can be done, though.

We then headed to the karaoke bar to strip me of my karaoke virginity. I get a little freaked to sing in front of people solo, but after one minute of being in there I had to sing. I took to karaoke like a fish to water:

Dark, but know that I was singing my heart out

Dark, but know that I was singing my heart out

What did this musical, drama, choir nerd choose to sing? “All That Jazz” from Chicago. Duh. And the glorious gays loved it! They are my perfect audience! Also know that I was dancing. It was a full-on performance. Can’t help myself.

We got home after midnight and I was pooped. And still burbing up my sandwich.

That didn’t stop me from rolling out of bed at 5:45 a.m. for a run, though. I love how alive it makes me feel! I think I ran three of the four miles today! Hollaaaaa!!!

Still feeling a tad queezy from the night before and the tofu-heavy week, I didn’t have much for breakfast. This bar is amazing, but it isn’t vegan. Bees, I’m sorry I exploited you today!

Almond+ Coconut Kind Bar

Almond+ Coconut Kind Bar

Seriously, Kind. Can we work something out? Can agave be used in place of honey? Because I’d eat these all the time. That’d be super, thanks.

Work was even more fun today merely because we got to bond outside the office and realize that we can be amazing friends, not just amazing co-workers. It was also more fun because we finished off Brunch Week with a bang:

French Frickin' Fabulous Toast!

French Frickin' Fabulous Toast!

French toast is my absolute favorite breakfast food. Seriously. Bread was dipped in a banana-almond milk custard, then griddled to caramelized perfection and topped with a cocoa-cinnamon mixture and powdered sugar. Holy monkeys. Go buy Vegan Brunch. Do it. On the side we had smoky potatoes (just had a few bites), strawberry-mint salad and honeydew melon slices. Perfection:

Words cannot express how divine that was. Oh and that's an edible flower filled with guac!

Words cannot express how divine that was. Oh and that's an edible flower filled with guac!

Have I reminded you all lately that I love my internship? Cause I do. And not just for the food, I swear ๐Ÿ˜‰

After work I had one mission. Scratch that. I had two missions. One: quietย your rumbling tummy with green beans and hummus. Two: BUY YOURSELF SOME DAMN RUNNING SHOES!!!

I hopped on a Muni and was downtown within 30 minutes. I knew exactly where I was headed: Nike Town. The patient woman who helped me sat through my attempts with six or seven or eight different pairs of shoes. In less than half hour, though, I found my perfect match. For my feet, that is.

When I galloped into my front door I was ravenous after my shopping success. Of course, I had my go-to meal:

Floor Salad... because that's where it was.

Floor Salad... because that's where it was.

In le salad: spinach, broccoli, green beans, tomato, sesame sticks, balls, peach salsa and balsamic vinaigrette. That’s not all I had, though. I’ve been eating Shredded Spoonfuls while writing this. Like, maybe four or so servings? Mmm!

Do you want to see my new babies? First and foremost, THANK YOU MamaJ and Popsicle! I really needed them!

Old versus new. Saucony versus Nike. Pain versus euphoria. I hope.

Old versus new. Saucony versus Nike. Pain versus euphoria. I hope.

The good ol’ Saucony’s have been around since I was a junior in high school. I am now going to be a senior in college. Let me get over how scary that is for a second….. Okay I’m good. But anyway, don’t let yourself go that long without new running shoes. Hereย is one halfย of the beautiful newbies:

Nike Women's Air Spans + 6. No clue what that means. But it has a special thing for arch support, too!

Nike Women's Air Spans + 6. No clue what that means. But it has a special thing for arch support, too!

I am so stoked to take them out for a spin tomorrow morning! Again, thank you Mumsy and PapaBear!

On this wild and crazy Friday night I am staying in, fixing my claw-like toenails, painting my boyish fingernails and watching Food, Inc.! I most definitely need to rest up for this weekend. Because Saturday? It’s goin’ down (meet me at the mall…or is it bar?)! Alright pudding pops, be ready for a weekend recap of insanity when I return!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What is your favorite weekend drink?
Muhaha I love this question. Blue Moon, Summer Brew and/or Leinenkugel. I won’t hate if you say something like “water.” I just won’t believe you ๐Ÿ˜‰

45 Responses to “Like a Fish to Water”

  1. 1 homegirlcaneat

    YA GURL! DO DA DAMN THANG AT KARAOKE! I actually CAN’T WAIT to go to this place called Encore Karaoke Lounge with you. It is full of CRAZY PEEPS! I funkin’ love it and it’s ridicness.

    Hmmm…we texting…I still need to leave you a comment because I feel like my day ain’t right without it.

    TJOEHOEYO tomorrow! I don’t know what to buy but it has to be snazzy! I need good eats up in my life. I need more almond milk and need to exchange my accidental cinnamon buy into pumpkinpie spice buy. Ya dig?

    Then..WE TAN! So we look DIMEY for DA DANCE PARTAY OF A LIFETIME! HOLLLLAAAAAAA

    Oh yes, to the TJ list..SUMMER BREW. AND LOTS OF IT. My new goal is only buying $10 worth of brew or less when I am out and about. So I better be a) drunk before or b) have men buy my a draaank.

    LoVe YoUuuU jazzy lady!

  2. 2 Sarah

    Oh my stars, I think your running shoes are older than me! I’m so glad you got a new pair!

    I want your job, and your French Toast, and your karaoke skills.

    Your go to is my go to, just about every meal, and I’m totally good with that.

    Don’t forget to call your Pops on Sunday!

    Love ya, Kale Chips!

  3. An edible flower filled with guacomole is adorable!

    Glad to hear it about the running shoes–according to my x country coach new shoes should be bought every year, but that’s only if you’re pounding out a lot of miles. But still, six years sounds like just a little too long. Hope they work for you!

  4. 4 rediscoveringlauren

    hi hun
    i bet you kicked ass at karaoke ๐Ÿ™‚ you danced too?your freaking awesome!!
    all of the eats look delicous…but that french toast? thats a whole differnt level of delcious…wow is all i can say!
    yay for new running shoes ๐Ÿ™‚ im sure theyll feel great!
    have a great night girlie
    xxxx

  5. Fab song to sing for Karaoke!!!!! That frenchy toast looks amazing as welllll. I would have to say my weekend drink of choice is either corona light, or blueberry vodka with lemonade. Soooo yummy. Love mojitos as well.

  6. All of those brunch meals look heavenly! I really like your sneaks too, Nikes are SO comfortable for running.

  7. 7 Tina

    Ah yes, I know! Our blog layouts are the same. I hope you don’t take me for some freak copycat/stalker-ish or something but when WordPress only allows you such a limited amount of layouts, what can you do?

    Loving your new shoes girl! They look fabulous. Nike and Adidas have such awesome running gear. I got my last pair of running shoes at Adidas about two years ago and those suckers were so freakin’ awesome. I finally went and got a new fresh pair at Adidas again this week (they’re white and hot pink, loove it!) and the people there are so professional and help me out so much. When I was in the US last year I went to Nike Town in Boston and bought a running jacket, a cell phone holder to strap on my arm and a pair of 3/4 pants for running. Love the stuff I got there, it’s so nice!

    I can definitely see how that omelette-thingy wasn’t good. I was never a fan of omelettes. They’re just so plain and… bland, taste like paper (that’s what I say about everything that just doesn’t have any flava flav). The french toast however, oh lordy. Yumm! I haven’t had french toast in ages but I know one of my vegan cookbooks has a recipe for french toast.

    My favorite weekend drink… hum hum… well, if I’m DRINKING I like mojitos, strawberry daquiris or this french apple cider called Cidrai. But there’s so many good drinks out there, it’s hard to choose! Since we’re having out “Midsummer”-dinner tonight I’ll prolly be drinking some organic rosรฉ wine we got, or a Corona. Niiice.

  8. Sorry that soy and Snackface don’t get along ๐Ÿ˜ฆ At least you figured out what was up! Also too bad that omelet wasn’t great – ketchup and mushrooms make everything better though!

    Mmmm the after burps! Gotta love it when something sticks with you for hours ๐Ÿ˜‰ That sandwich looks bangalangin! Next time you do karaoke I demand a video! Sweet kicks, chick!

    I LOVE KIND!! That was one bueno! I would like a slice of that French toast please! My favorite weekend drink – Blue Moon! If I’m feeling ‘mix drinky’ then I usually go for a pineapple juice/Malibu combo. Tis delicious!

    Have a BLAST tonight!!

  9. I love me some beerz, but my fave is vodka-soda-lime! Love the karoake, you are so channeling liza…I can just see the fosse hands comin out!!

  10. Glad you figured out your tummy issue!

    Um, is it weird that I think the scariest part about your new sneakers’ sentence is that we are actually going to BE seniors in college? Yea, yikes!

    Favorite drinks: Firefly sweet tea flavored vodka w/ water and a lemon wedge, plain vodka and water w/ a lime wedge, and margaritas!! Yep, I’m hardcore ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • 11 snackface

      Jenn- It’s terrifying! Real word is coming soon! And hello dranks! I love ’em! I’ve never even heard of Firefly! Must hunt down–thanks for that!

  11. I can’t eat too much soy either. I get so bloated and sick. Oh well, more veggies for me =)

    Love KIND bars…but I agree, why not agave?!

    That french toast is amazing! I will have to make that soon.

  12. at least now you know what is making you not feel well!
    and my fav weekend drink is white wine.
    have a great day pretty girl

  13. 14 Amy

    that french toast looks amazing! you convinced me to go check out Vegan Brunch. Thanks girl. Have a fantastic weekend โค

  14. Sweet kicks!

    If you like BlueMoon and Leinenkugel….. you should totes try HONEYMOON by Bluemoon – soooo yummmy. Esp with lots of orange!

    • 16 snackface

      Ryane- Muhaha of course I’ve had Honeymoon! Muffin and I walked around a festival where everyone else was drinking ‘Nati Lights from kegs, and we were huge prisses with our Honeymoons! They were delicious. Unfortunately, le veganism doesn’t bode well with le honey.

  15. 17 april

    Your shoes are super cute! And so is that french toast ๐Ÿ˜‰

  16. 18 Bec

    I can just imagine you singing your little hart out choir girl!!! Glad you got some new shoes, it sounds like it was long over due!

  17. Love the kicks! Nikes are always the best match for me, too.

    My fave weekend drink… depends on my mood/where I am? But I will say I always love a super spicy bloody mary with some vegan brunch ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. 20 aquaqua

    hah. good question. I’d love a sierra nevada but most weekends all I end up with is Pabst. haha, I guess that’s just how it goes…

    but mad props on the karaoke! I would probably need a few of those weekend dranks in me before I could ever do that!haha

  19. Didja do jazz hands?

  20. 22 Anna

    Mmm, that french toast looks heavenly! I’m liking the new shoes, too.

    By the way…hi, I’m Anna…I’m new to the blogworld ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. 23 Mama J

    I must say your old shoes look like quite the hoopty compared to the new sleeker model. The trouble with you is ,….YOU NEVER ASK FOR ANYTHING. Too bad that your karaoke pic doesn’t come with sound. I am sure all your peeps would love to sample your fab voice.
    Being the breakfast junkie that you are here is a little recipe just for you.
    APPLE BLUEBERRY GRANOLA
    The night before 1/4 c of lowfat granola mixed with 1/3 c apple juice . Cover and let sit in fridge over night. A.M. Add 1 apple cored and coarsely grated along with1/2 c blueberries.
    Stir in 3 Tbsp plain yogurt or vegan version of yogurt.
    Happy running my little chickadee.
    XOXO Mama J

  22. 24 lowandbhold

    I love a Dirty Martini on the weekends! Or beer of any kind : )

    Glad you got some new shoes (how generous of Mama J)!

  23. 25 lora

    omg i cannot get over your internship! i am applying this fall for next year because it is something that would totz be up my alley now that I am a profesh grad student ๐Ÿ˜‰ anywoo, fav summer drink? I always drink the same things….vodka/soda with lime, gin and tonics or Guinness beer or jameson shots oh and Margaritas (always on the rocks with xtra salt b/c i’m feisty like that)

    Enjoy your weekend and if you do drink tonight have a speedy recovery tomorrow!

    xoxo
    lo

  24. 26 Amanda

    Your new shoes look awesome – I hope they supah charge your runs ๐Ÿ™‚

    Fav weekend drinks are def anyyy kind of wine, Blue Moon, mojitos, and dirty martinis!

  25. 27 Megan

    Um girl all your eats look SOOOOOOOO good… sorry I’ve been MIA with the commenting too.. I start 80-90 hour weeks next week ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Hmm.. I love love love love your new shoes too! I bet they’ll make you want to run everyday! I’m so happy you think of me when you run haha.. I used to hate it too but now I’m addicted ๐Ÿ™‚

    My favorite drink? Diet Cherry Dr. Pepper… because I’m not 21 yet ๐Ÿ˜‰

  26. 28 Emily (Healthy Fit Mama)

    My favorite summer drink is definitely Corona Light with lime. Corona signals the beginning of summer! ๐Ÿ˜€

  27. haha i totally wish i was there to have watched you sing Chicago!!! i bet you were absolutely amazinggggggg!

    cute shoes, and that sammy and french toast look amazing!!

  28. i wwwwwwwwwwwwannna see the recap now!!!! (even though I know you haven’t even had all of your fun yet!!!!)

    Favorite summer brew– OBERON!!

    Dance Dance Partay Party for meeeeee!! I’m being super cool in my bed right now ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. Kailey,

    First off-Happy Saturday! Iโ€™ve had a looong day at work and now Iโ€™ve got a whole relaxing evening of lounging and blog reading on the agenda. Hooray for weekends! Looks like yours is already going well. ;P

    You look fantabulous singing up there! Iโ€™ve got to try that Karaoke out!

    Hope your weekend is wonderful!
    With Love,
    Emily

  30. Kailey!! I LOVE it when Mamaj comments on here! HI MAMAJ! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Your new kicks are cuteee girl, so girly and ferosh all at the same time!

    That vegan french toast and the vegan omlete LOOK amazeeee, even if the omelet wasn’t! Ketchup does make everything better, but so does salsa!

    Cheesy line in 3, 2, 1…..that vegan sandwich looks like an even bigger YUM YUM! hahahahaha…..i’m sorry it gave you the burps, but i’m pretty sure that it was totally worth it, no?

    And ya girl! Glad you got your karaoke on, but disappointed that you didn’t sing the britney. JK! Get a video of you struttin’ yo stufff and singing at the next karaoke outing! I’m also so glad that you’re loving the co-workers. I went off to my mom for about an hour today (half of the road trip to LA for my future sis-in-laws bridal shower) about how SICK your internship is!!!!

    K, enough of me being obsessed with you. Hope you are having fun with brookie! Love you!!! PS-my new fave weekend drink is whatever wine I had tonight- that sh!t was legit! ๐Ÿ™‚

  31. For drinks I like mojitos but good beer or wine works too ๐Ÿ™‚ I totally agree with you on eggs, I just can’t do it most of the time!

  32. Ha, water is my favourite weekend drink, but it’s gotta have whiskey in it!!! Seriously, rye and water is my fav. I get tummy aches with a bunch of sugary drinks or beer. Plus, this way, I get the water drinking out of the way at the same time ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Yay for new shoes!! I bet you’ll love them! Hope you’re recovering okay today ๐Ÿ™‚

  33. 35 Anna

    That vegan sandwich looks like it was worth every single burp. Yum!

    This summer I am enjoying my white wine. It may be from a box, but I still think I’m a little classy. At least it’s not Natty Ice.

  34. Hey Kailey,

    I’m with KIND Bars and just wanted to post a quick response.

    First, thanks for being a fan of KIND Bars! Great question about agave vs. honey — it’s something we’ve had asked before and looked into seriously. Unfortunately, after doing some investigating and creating some samples on our end, we’ve decided that it wouldn’t work for us. The biggest two reasons are:

    1) Agave has different taste than honey (in fact, honey itself can taste very different depending on the type of bee, the types of flowers it pollinates, etc.). As you know first hand, taste is something that’s very important to all fans of KIND Bars.

    2) Agave has a different consistency than honey which affects how the product holds together, it’s stickiness when you take a bite, the “mouth-feel”, the shelf life, and a whole other range of subtle things that add up to a big difference in the end.

    That said, we’re are fans of agave too, so while it’s not something we’re going to add to our current lines, agave is something we certainly have on our radar for future snacks we develop. We really appreciate your feedback, and hope to hear again from you in the future.

    If you have any more questions, don’t hesitate to drop me a line at Phil{at}kindsnacks.com!

    Thanks,
    Phil

  35. 37 Daria

    De-lurking to say hi and congrats on the new shoes! A good rule of thumb is that one pair of running shoes will last 500 miles. So if you keep a rough estimate of how many miles you do each week you’ll know when you really *need* a new pair.

    I like to try to drink local brews when I’m out on the weekends, so for me that usually means something from Harpoon or a smaller brewery like the Berkshire Brewing Company. I look forward to cold weather solely so I can drink their Coffeehouse Porter!

    • 38 snackface

      Daria- Thanks for de-lurking! And thanks for the awesome shoe advice. Looks like I won’t be needing another pair in…a long time. 500 miles is killah! Um, coffeehouse porter sounds amazing, too ๐Ÿ™‚

  36. such delicious eats!! LOVE your brunch, KIND bars and that fabulous salad ๐Ÿ™‚

    sorry your stummy was feelin a bit off– mine does that a lot too!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ glad you are feeling better now tho.

    yay for karaoke– i’ve never done it! but i’m sure you were ROCKIN it!!

    LOVE the new shoes– i was worried about my snack baby runnin with old kicks ๐Ÿ™‚ so glad mama J got them for you!!!

    LOVE grey goose n water– i’m not too big on the sweet drinks when i go out! i like it tart, strong and to the point ๐Ÿ™‚ xoxox

  37. whhhhhhhhhere is this dance party post i’ve been waiting for!! oxoxoxoO

  38. 41 Erin

    Nice kicks!
    That carrot picture was def the best one, I LOVED it! That’s right I said it.

  39. 42 Katharina

    It’s about time you got yourself some running shoes!!! No good for the feetsies running on old ones ๐Ÿ™‚

    I LOVE Kind bars. YUMM!!! Have you tried writing a letter to them?

    Let’s see… favorite weekend drink.. a tie? Coconut water + coconut meat, aloe vera juice with chunks of it + honey, aaaand for tipsy purposes I’m gonna go with Stoli Vanilla + Orangeade!!!!

  40. 43 martiniwindow

    AH! Glad to see you are doing FAB and senior in college isn’t so scary! It’s fun! Love the new kicks, the vegan sammy and you rockin the stage! I think I love blue moon and bud light lime in the summer. Although during graduation I got a little too hooked on stoli mango on the rocks with SEVERAL oranges + water! The Pub was oh so good to me!

  41. I love a fantastic campari and grapefruit preferrably pink with lots of ice. Love the new shoes!
    Great recipe Mama J I’m going to give it a go.
    Hey i see you have a Canadian girl from Kingston there WOW what a coo for this job. and honey really what’s with the jogging your mama and I never did that kinda stuff when we were single and your age .
    Have you ver seen the movie the Big Easy when Dennis Quaid’s mother looks at Ellen Barkin in her jogging gear and says WHY?
    Have fun for all of us old babes!
    Aunty Snooze

  42. I was the same way the first time I did karaoke, about a month ago. I was all nervous but then everyone else at my table did a song and I was all about it.

    Fave summer drink – maybe Hoegaarden. It’s like Blue Moon.


Leave a Reply

