Supah SnackFacey

18Jun09

Hey kidlets! Here I am, rushing around in the morning again! My social life be off the chain. K, not really, but I’m busier than I normally am.

Yesterday was crazy, appetite-wise.Β  I felt nauseated for the first half of the day, so I kept eating carby things to tame the tum. I have no problems with that.

I didn’t run yesterday morning because, well, I don’t need to run everyday? Is that an okay excuse? I had a warm, cozy breakfast to start the day:

Buttery Bran

Buttery Bran

In the bowl: 1/3 C oat bran, 1 C water, 1/2 naner, pumpkin pie spice, unsweetened shredded coconut and a spoon of raw almond butter spread around. For some peculiar reason, this was delicious at the top, but once I got to the bottom it tasted plastickey. Plus, I felt even more nauseated after the bowl, so I tried to help it with this:

1/2 an English muffin with strawberry fruit spread

1/2 an English muffin with strawberry fruit spread

At work we had another brainstorming session, which I love to bits. We had one Monday, too, and we all–including interns– get to share all our ideas at each session. Isn’t that incredible?

Nauseau crept up on me again, so I made a small snack bowl of peanut-butter-filled pretzels and a few Dr.Kracker Hummus Maximus crackas. Both good, but the peanut-butter obviously wins that contest.

Lunch was another delicacy out of Vegan Brunch: Polenta Rancheros:

Salad on the left, rancheros on the right

Salad on the left, rancheros on the right

Consisting of a spicy black-bean base and topped with polenta and guac, I wasn’t sure if my stomach was ready to handle it. I took a small portion and enjoyed it immensely…while eating, that is:

Gorgeous

Gorgeous

After eating, however, my stomach was a mess. Aw hell naw. Not even this homemade ice cream from Vegan Scoops helped:

Chocolate Marshmallow and Green Tea

Chocolate Marshmallow and Green Tea

The chocolate marshmallow was great, so I ate the 2 tablespoons given to me. Green tea, on the other hand? No thanks.

I was distracted by stomach pain for the rest of the afternoon, and was somehow starving by 4 p.m. Snackless, I didn’t eat until 6ish when I busted through my apartment door. Immediately, I attacked the TJ’s Triple Layer Hummus with green beans. Then I decided I should actually make dinner:

Red and Green Rooftop Salad

Red and Green Rooftop Salad

I love taking my pics outside, thus there are roofs and things in the background. In the salad: butter lettuce, spinach, broccoli, cherry toms, red bell pepper, balls, peach salsa and balsamic vinaigrette. It was so delicious! However, it did not satisfy my SnackFace last night. Unpictured, I had 1,379 TJ’s Flax & something crackers, some with strawberry fruit spread. An hour or so after that, I had a small bowl of Shredded Spoonfuls with almond milk. Finally!

Oh wait, no. Not finally. Brooke baby picked me up at 9:15 p.m. and we ventured to an ice cream shoppe, Maggie Mudd, for vegan ice cream! Holla:

Oh shhh!! SO FRICKIN' DELICIOUS!

Oh shhh!! SO FRICKIN' DELICIOUS!

Based of soymilk, I had a scoop of PB Palooka (some peanut butter lovely) and a scoop of Mint Chocolate cookie (made with Newman’s O’s!). I loved the texture of this much more than milk ice cream. It already has that melty, drippy softness that I crave in my ice creams. The flavors were stellar, too.

Brooke came back to my apartment for a bit and she got to meet Charlotte. We stalked some boys on Bebo, the Irish version of MySpace. Hilarious. After she left, I washed my face, changed into my jammies and hit the hay.

This morning I awoke at 5:45, groggy and not wanting to crawl out of bed. And then I remembered how wonderful I feel out in the cool morning breeze, watching the sun slowly rise and listening to my own steady breathing. It’s really panting/ gasping for air, but I’m getting better. Today I ran more than walked, which means I’m improving! If only I could carve out some time to buy shoes…

I was startving even before I went running, so I was beyond ready after my run and shower. Enter my new favorite breakfast:

Almond butter banana slices with almond coconut slush

Almond butter banana slices with almond coconut slush

Please, try to make something like this. In the bowl: 1/4 C almond milk mixed with 1/4 C unsweetened shredded coconut, topped with 1 naner sammiched with about 1 Tbsp. crunchy almond butter. How can you not love this:

Creamy, crunchy, coconutty, banana-ey. Do tha damn thang.

Creamy, crunchy, coconutty, banana-ey. Do tha damn thang.

I’m trying to test out the no-grain breakfast. Sometimes I wonder whether I have a slight gluten intolerance. I really hope not.

It’s going to be an insane day at the office, followed by an insane night out with the co-workers. We’re going out for vegan sammiches at something called Ike’s Place and then…we’re KARAOKE-ing! I’ve never been, so I’m stoked! I’ll let you know how it goes. Oh, and again, I’m sorry for my lack of commenting on all your blogs! I’m just a teeny bit busier than I used to be. Still love all a ya’ll!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What song should I sing for karaoke tonight/ what’s your fave song to sing??? I’m a soprano, but that doesn’t really matter for karaoke, does it?

31 Responses to “Supah SnackFacey”

  1. That coconut breakfast looks sooo freaking good! I am definitely going to try that one out. And I gotta say, those salads you make – I could eat my screen they look soo good!! Great ideas-thanks for sharing!!! πŸ™‚

  2. 2 rediscoveringlauren

    hi hun
    that cocnut breakfast looks amazing πŸ™‚ very creative!
    aw im sorry about the stomach issues 😦 i feel sick alot too and think i could have a slight intolerance too..but im too afraid to find out cause i love my carbs too much!
    ooo that ice cream you got with brooke looks AMAZING! now im totally craving some! haha i have a bebo account…it was super big here till everyone jumped on the facebook wagon!
    anyways girlie have a great thursday,
    much love
    xxx

  3. All that vegan ice cream looks delicious!
    And you don’t have to plead to get me to try that breakfast, the idea is already stored in the back of my head!

  4. 4 Bec

    aww have fun out with the co-workers!

  5. BABY GOT BACK!!!!! Sing it!! I hope you have a fan-FREAKIN-tastic time with the coworkers!

    In other news…that ice cream sounds heavenly! PB Palooka? I want! Newman’s? I want! Chocolate marshmallow? I want!

    I’m not a coconut girl but I maaaaaay have to try your grain-less breakfast! Oh and that polenta dish? Incred!

    PS. I know what you mean in regards to the comment you left me, I MISS YOU TOO!!! It’s this whole time change thang-a-lang. Plus we’re no longer like 3 hours apart – now it’s airplane distance!

  6. OOO kareoke!! I’ve never been either! I don’t think it matters what you sing, as long as it’s a hilarious song! πŸ˜‰

    That coconut slush with naners looks tasty and fun!

  7. 7 Sarah

    I would pull out some old school Madonna. Borderline, Cherish, oh no, definitely Material Girl!!!

  8. 8 Lizzy

    hi! i somehow stumbled upon your blog, happy i did because i’m in love with SF and your posts make me so excited!! (this sounds so stalkerish (i swear i’m not!! haha)…but i was at the giants game tuesday night too! and yesterday! it’s been chilly in the bay!) hope ur nausea has gone away and that your having a great thursday!! my fav karyoke song=Aretha Franklin “you make me feel” it’s so obnoxious and fun when guys in the bar start yelling out the lyrics w/ u! haha!

    • 9 snackface

      Lizzy- Thank you for stumbling upon my blog and reading! Ummmm, you were at the game!!??? That’s nuts! I may have walked by you and not even known!

  9. Sometimes I love getting sick because I can eat so many carbs with an excuse! haha

    Mmm, that polenta dish sounds amazing. I have that one bookmarked to make soon! And that ice cream! WOW! I’ll have to get that cookbook too.

    That is one HUGE ice cream cone! YUM!

    Must. Make. That. Slush! haha

    You must sing some Madonna!

  10. ah i still need to slice my banana like that. i am always eating banana+nut butter, i just keep forgetting that super sweet method. next time.

    every time you post recipes fromt hat cook book it makes me want to get it! love the rancheros bombness.

    oh and stop it with the ice cream, it’s making me craaave.

  11. 12 Katharina

    Sing fat-bottomed girls by Queen!!!

    I hope you’re feeling better, girlie!

  12. I like singing Beatles songs for karaoke, haha πŸ˜€

    Get well soon love!!

  13. 14 Amanda

    I always do Baby Got Back, just because I am proud that I know all the words and it’s fun to jump around and shake my butt!

    Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody is reallly fun with groups, and I love doing A Whole New World from Aladdin with my friend! Haha she always makes me be the boy part, but it’s still fun πŸ™‚

  14. Sing some britney. —-OOPS I DID IT AGAIN, I PLAYED WITH YOUR HEART, GOT LOST IN THE GAME, OHHH BABY, BABY!

    Please? πŸ™‚

    So I really love the looks and IDEA of your coconut-y, no grain, pb filled banana breakfast, but i’m not sure if I am a fan of unsweetened coconut or not! My mom has some in our fridge, and when I tried it (plain) months back, it made me sick. I feel like I should give it another chance though??

    I’d so glad that you’re having a fun summer girl! That’s what it’s all about! You’re bonding with brookie, SF, and your bonding with your employees! I love it!

    I’m sorry about the nausea my love. 😦 Hopefully you’re feeling better though!

    PS- the vegan ice cream and rooftop salad look delectable, gorgeous, delicious and amazinggggg…..ok, you get the picture!

    • 16 snackface

      Jessica (jesslikesithot)- Ick, I’m sorry about the coconut thing! You may be allergic, actually. My roomie in Ohio is, and when she eats it, um, she throws up at the opposite end? Oh that was graphic and disgusting. Sorry!

  15. I am a big fan of Madonna karaoke…and OBVIOUSLY- journey….like that one family guy where they start singing it and people all over the city stop what they’re like, “hey.wait a sec, is that journey!??”

    Have fun today love buggy, feel better!

  16. Soy ice cream sounds delish and those flavors even better!!!! Yum yum yum. I bought shredded spoonfuls after noticing you and homegirl Brooke bought them, now I am basically in love with that cereal!!!! Thank you hahah!
    You should tots sing “At first I was afraid I was petrified…” So not original, but the best karaoke song!

  17. 19 sue

    have fun karaoke-ing! my vote is for a pre-crazy britney song!

  18. 20 Amy

    I want some of that ice cream soooo bad!

    BTW, oats do not have any gluten in them to begin with. Enjoy!

    • 21 snackface

      Amy- Thank you for letting me know that! I did a bit of research yesterday and I guess it’s been controversial. Who knows. I don’t think oats bother me, but certain wheats do sometimes. Anyway, you don’t care to know that! Haha. Just meant to say thanks!

  19. 22 Erin

    “Barracuda” by Heart, or “Total Eclipse of the Heart” by Bonnie Tyler πŸ˜€

  20. 23 april

    I think it’s a perfect excuse! I’m sorry about your tummy 😦 Karaoke.. well I’m not brave enough to do it but I would sing some country song if I was!

  21. 24 merittothecarrot

    Hey! I just arrived in San Francisco yesterday, and as a fellow food blogger, was wondering if you could suggest any WONDERFUL restaurants, markets, etc…. I’d love to try out some vegan places, and I thought you’d know exactly where to go!
    Thanks!

    • 25 snackface

      metittothecarrot- Ah!!! WELCOME!!! I’m wondering what area you’re living in because the market thing depends on that. I’ve been LOVING Trader Joe’s and this cute little produce shop, Noriega Produce. They have the most beautiful produce ever. As far as restaurants, I’m still learning! Last night, though, we went to this sandwich shop called Ike’s Place and it was…frickin’ amazing. They have a ton of vegan sandwiches that are just outstanding. Other than that, I haven’t really been anywhere yet. Oh, get ice cream at Maggie Mudd! They have soy and coconut-based ice creams! Millenium is a fab, expensive restaurant that is a place every vegan should go, or so I’ve heard. I’ll be going at some point. There is a restaurant called Herbivore that I must check out too, Cafe Gratitude…it goes on, but I haven’t been to any! Oh! And there’s a place called Weird Fish that is supposed to be amazing too. Clearly, I/ we have a lot of eating to do!

  22. Sorry about your tummy! I love to sing Karaoke – if they have Charlene’s “I’ve been to Paradise But I’ve Never Been to Me” I like that. But few places do….

  23. 27 randomlymikey

    that’s sad the green tea wasn’t that good, it LOOKS good. as does everything else. yum!

  24. 28 homegirlcaneat

    gURRLLL Why the heck haven’t I commented this lately? I am such a dzayum slacker in the blog world it is killing me smalls!

    Okay first off, I can’t wait to hear about vegan sandys and karaoke and I apologize for not texting you back..I am about to text you though..because EdKel is SO DAMN CUTE. I can’t wait for gossip.

    The vegan ice cream was life changing! We are going back ASAP. I wonder if their website tells you what flavors are when..because I need that pbandj one! However the pb poolwhateva was INCRED! And the mint one! The newman o’s…oh oh oh so good!

    Love you shawty!

  25. 29 Tina

    Sorry to hear your tumtum was up to no good! I am a strong believer that ice cream will solve most problems though. I’ve definitely used it as a problem-solver this week, downed several big portions to try to relieve the pain I feel in my throat (stupid cold!) Looks like you had yet another wonderful lunch at the VegNews office and a fabulous time with Homegirl again! Awesome!

  26. You are one busy mama!

    Poor tums! Hope you are better today!!

    The PB Ice Cream/Mint Cone looks to die for! I want one please!

    You should sing “do you really wanna hurt me? do you really wanna make me cry?” lol I have no idea what it’s called.

  27. Aww tum issues suck. SO much good food and not able to enjoy it? I’d be super sad. I hope you’re feeling better now and they STAY away!

    That coconut slush is geeeenius! Wowza. Looks like a stunner. I HOPE you don’t have a gluten intolerance though! I don’t know if I could cut out my grains!

    Hope you had a hoot Karaokeing! I’ve never done it either but always wanted to. Although I’m a huge chicken so I don’t know if I’d be able to get up there and do it!
    Golden Karaoke song = Like A Virgin. LOL


Leave a Reply

