Creamy & Dreamy Eats

12Jun09

Hi pudding pops! I cannot even believe I have almost finished my second week of working at VegNews! Time absolutely flies when you’re enjoying yourself. It also helps when you eat delicious food to fuel you/to look forward to/ to obsess over in utter happiness.

Once again, I woke up at 5:45 a.m. to get moving. I desperately need to do laundry, which I realized when I had one clean sock left and had to reach into the dirty laundry to find a damp, sandy sock so I could complete my workout. Sometimes I’m so classy it’s frightening.

Intervals were just a joy today! The sun was trying to peek out, it didn’t rain on me and I managed to have text convos with both MamaJ and MisterMan. Multitasking at its finest.

I was starving by the time I came home, so I quickly showered and grabbed breakfast out of the fridge. This is a horrible blurry pic, and I’m sorry because it doesn’t do this amazing breakfast any justice:

It looks a little vom-ish, but...it was divine!

It looks a little vom-ish, but...it was divine!

Creamy Dreamy Coconut Banana Overnight Oat Bran with Crunchy Almond Butter. Be glad I don’t give everything a title. I’ve been hesitant to try oat bran overnight-style. I just didn’t think it would work. But, oh, it did. Cool, creamy, coconutty, sweet…mmm.

In the bowl: 1/3 C oat bran, 1/3 C almond milk, 2/3 C water, pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 naner, unsweetened shredded coconut. Orgied all night. Hooked up with almond butter in the morning. Do tha damn thang.

Charlotte and I headed to work and immediately got to biznass. I wrote a news piece about Food Inc., a documentary film that’s coming out tomorrow. It unveils what the USDA and FDA don’t tell you about how your food gets to your plate. Every single day, I am more and more convinced to live a vegan, eco-friendly, sustainable life. Which means I should stop leaving the water on when I brush my teeth. And that I should always carry my own grocery bags. And that I should actually recycle. I’m bad, I know.

At 11 a.m. I had the other half of that SuperGreens wonderful chocolate-coated Larabar-ish bar. I wish I knew the exact name. Gosh, I’m such a good journalist. Anyway, I was definitely ready for lunch at 12:30 p.m.:

Brown rice pasta and marinated greens salad

Brown rice pasta and marinated greens salad

We had gluten-free brown rice rotini with roasted eggplant and sauteed zucchini and peppers. The sauce was Trader Joe’s Green Chili Curry (or something close to that name). I have never thought to use a curry as a pasta sauce! Incredible! I personally loved this greens salad, though. It was a tougher green that Colleen let sit in a homemade vinaigrette. It had such a great chew to it:

Gorgeous and bright!

Gorgeous and bright!

Throughout the afternoon I snacked on an apple and half a Sticky Fingers brownie. To die for. I can’t say no to brownies. From the hours of 1:30 to 6 p.m., I wrote, edited, searched, read, anything like that. I don’t have many details because we just do so much I can’t quite remember it all.

After work I tried to connect to the damn internet and couldn’t. I was so frustrated I thought I was going to scream or slam my computer against the wall. Not wanting to scare Charlotte may have been the only thing that stopped me from doing so.

To cool down, I took the mile-ish walk to Walgreens to pick up some meds. While I was there I also got quarters so I can clean my stank-ass laundry. I chatted with MamaJ on the commute there and back, and had to hang up when I got home soΒ I could eat! The fridge is almost bare again, but I pulled it together:

Le salad

Le salad

In the salad: spinach, roma tomato, cucumber chunks, cherries, broccoli, mushrooms, chickpeas,Β pineapple salsa and Sesame Ginger Soy Vinaigrette. I’ve almost gone through a whole bottle of dressing in a week. Most of it ends up on the bottom of the plate, though.

I scarfed that down so I could get to this:

Kabocha Womb

Kabocha Womb

Kabocha is f-ing amazing. This is soooo good either coldΒ or warm, and the almond butter addition is out of this world. I had to get up mid-eat for more nut buttah because that was a pansy serving.

Now I am going to take care of my laundry and call MisterMan to wish him a happy graduation. I cannot imagine going through grad school, and it is a huge accomplishment.

But graduating’s not important. What’s important is that tomorrow is Friday! Hell yeah, baby! I apologize for my swearing-ness tonight. Not sure what that’s about. I’m just, uh, passionate? Love you doves!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Have you gone to/are going to/are you thinking about going to grad school? Why or why not?
Grad school is not in my plans whatsoever. More loans, more studying, more waiting for real life (that’s how it feels to me, I realize it’s probably better for one’s career)…I just can’t do that for an additional several years!

39 Responses to “Creamy & Dreamy Eats”

  1. 1 Brooke

    Am I seriously in Vermont and seriously the first comment? Same brainwave from K to B even cross da country! I swear it’s de CRAIC! πŸ˜‰

    Woooooo shawty I love Walgreens and your passion at vegnews! You are an inspiring lady, in more than one way. Shoooooot..this calls for another πŸ˜‰

    Wanna go grocery shoppin sat morning?! This calls once more for a πŸ˜‰ BUT also I desperately need TJoe in my life and possibly WF when budgeted correctly!

    LOVE you my little kombucha!

  2. hahaha..womb…I have heard inklings of Food, Inc. Can’t wait to hear more about it, um it’s on my list of “must see’s”..right after the Hangover. Love you bear have a great friday!

  3. 3 Lyss

    Grad school? UMMMMM no. How about I don’t even want to go back to finish my senior year?! GET ME OUT OF SCHOOL, NOWWWW! Real world, here we come. πŸ™‚

    Such gorgeous and wonderful eats, ma lady. One of our clients was featured in a VegNews article a few years back! I saw the article when I was searching for something in the files today. OBVI thought of you.

    XOXOXO

  4. 4 Lesie

    Cold overnight oats sound like a good plan for warm weather-
    I want to see Food Inc SO BAD but they only are showing it in select cities 😦

  5. 5 AnAppleADay

    Haha, I’m so happy that you’re liking KABOCHA! it’s my favorite thing in the world. check out my kabocha-love page for more recipes if you want!
    i seriously devour that thing at least once/twice a day!

    I’m thinking about going to grad school but then again my dream of becoming elementary school teacher doesn’t need grad school necessarily. so i’m thinking at the moment. i still have two more yrs of undergrad to think about. πŸ˜‰

  6. 6 Sarah

    Ugh, grad school/law school. I’m trying to forget it…except for meeting Mister LovIN.

    I too am in love with kabocha. I’m off to blog stalk Maggie’s page!

    Love you Kale Chips!

  7. I had almost the exact same bowl of oats as you today except I had cinnamon & strawbs in mine. SO freaking good! Running and texting wow multitasking at its finest fo sho!

  8. has it really been 2 weeks? time does fly. and i am not even there, i am just reading about it! as i read your overnight bran title i was thinking to myself “hrrrm i wonder if overnight oatbran would be rad.. or mushnastytastic (yes that is a word) but then i read what you wrote after that and i am convinced that it would be a good thing to try. let’s not talk about grad school. miss janetha b here took 7 years on and off to get her ASSOCIATES degree. what? i was livin life! haha.. but now i am going back at the ripe age of 26 to get a bachelors.. i think i will stop there though. shit it is late, i need to wake up in 5 hours, why am i still looking at blogs? yours is the last, i am putting my foot down. thanks for letting me talk that out on this comment. XO!

  9. 9 Tina

    Feel ya on the internet not working, it drives me nuts too and makes me want to scream, rip my hair out and cry. I get so restless and frustrated. It’s like I’m married to the internet or something. Haha!

  10. That kabocha “womb” cracked me up πŸ™‚

  11. Must. Buy. Kabocha.

    Grad school is not even close to being considered for me. That’s wayy too much schoolin!

  12. i just love reading about your intern days, it makes me miss mine! so glad youre loving it there.

    umm overnight oat bran. i NEED to try it, especially because oat bran confused the heck out of me the first (and only!) time i tried it! did you heat it up??? see? still confused! ha!

    hmm grad school — definitely not yet! if i do go back, i hope my employer will pay for it (wouldnt that be nice?) but in the mean time, i dont know what i would even pursue yet! not to mention i am reeeeally over studying right now!

    happy friday! xoxo

  13. I am one of the crazy ones who is going to grad school right now while teaching. I question my decision every time I have to pay that huge tuition bill every semester (good-bye teacher’s paycheck), research papers, and late night classes. I never though I would go back to school either but for the position I want, I need a Masters. But I am learning a huge amounts of knowledge along the way. Hopefully, it will be worth it in the end.

  14. mmmm I love oat bran so basically I have to copy you and try this overnight businessssss. How much liquid should I add???
    I think I am probably going to go to grad school unless I get hooked up with an amazing job. I mean I really am in no rush to get out of school and enter the real world you know hahah, plus the economy right now is blaaah ballz!!
    Have an amazing day at work my dear!!!! Eat good vegan goodies!

    • 15 snackface

      cocoeatsandcritiques- Hey chiquita! So I just ate a bowl of overnight oats that I put 1 full cup of liquids into. Don’t do that. Soupy. What worked best for me: 1/3 C almond milk, 1/3 C water +1/6 C water. No more than that, as I’ve just discovered.

  15. I’m not gonna lie, Food Inc. scares the bejeezus out of me. I don’t think I could stomach (pun intended) watching it.

    True facts: one time all of my coaching clothes were dirty so what did I do? Put them on and sprayed an obscene amount of perfume on me. Clearly I’m a germaphobe! πŸ˜‰

    HELL YA FOR FRIDAY!! Grad school? No because my program is all rolled into one. Thank goodness, I couldn’t imagine having to apply for all that stuff on top of everything else.

    Have a fanFREAKINGtastic day, love bug!

  16. I’m starting law school in the fall! woohoooo! I know for most people this sounds horribly awful but I was called a nerd by my poli sci professor in college when I would get really excited about the constitution so yea. It’s meant to be πŸ™‚

  17. Wow congrats on 2 full weeks girl!! You’ve done so great πŸ™‚

    Grad school is definitely in my future plans right now. I like school, AND with a psych degree you basically HAVE to go to grad school. But I’m excited about it. I totally understand your point of view on the situation, and I do not think grad school is something that everyone needs to do in order to have a great career. It’s just for me though!

    Happy Friday love!

  18. 19 april

    I am going to try those overnight oats!! You should try sweet potatoes with peanut butter.. it’s amazing!!

  19. 20 Jen

    Each job is different. I think grad school for journalists is kind of unnecessary. I’ve learned so much more on the job than I ever did in school.

    Definitely jealous of the lunches. Working at a food-related magazine would be a dream job.

  20. LOVE the kobacha and almond butter πŸ™‚ yummz!!

    yes m’am i am goin to grad school in sept πŸ™‚ xoxoxoxo

  21. i am exactly with you on the grad school. i’m also a journalist, though and i see no point in it for me. it’s just more papers and more money!

  22. hey there! I’m new to the blogging community but I’ve been following some blogs for a while. your internship sounds amazing and san fran has to be the coolest city around. I’m in the process of getting my undergrad degree right now and will probably end up having to go to grad school. I’m a history major and there aren’t many jobs out there, even if you DO have your Masters. It sounds like you’re already on a great path though and won’t need to spend all that extra dough : ]

  23. Sounds like you’re having a fabulous time! πŸ™‚

    I’m starting grad school in the fall (I’m 21, just graduated with a double Bachelor’s) for School Counseling. In that field, I really have no choice as it’s a requirement to have a Master’s eventually! I love school, and although it’s costing me more money, more time, and exhaustion considering I’ll be working too, I feel it’s worth it for me! πŸ™‚

    To each their own, and it’s sounds like you’re loving life, and that’s really what it’s all about! πŸ™‚

  24. mmmm great looking food…all of it….

    does law school count as grad school? I start this fall after being out of school for FOUR years in the “real” world working my buttom off….It will be such a change..I look forward to learning the most (not the loans and all that headache-y crap)

    Have a wonderful weekend!!

    PS- I am classy like that too…I’ve worn dirty socks to workout too… LOL I NEED to do laundry tonight too! Piles! Yikes!

  25. UGH I wish I had the motivation, money, time to go to Grad School. I thought about going back when I was laid off, but I am with you. All the student loans, the stress, TESTS, papers. I don’t think I could do it again. I give so much credit to others who have the drive I don’t!!!

  26. 27 elise

    hahaha, you are SO cute. minus the few nast images – vomish brekkie, kabocha womb, etc. πŸ™‚ ill look past it. glad your loving the yay area, your posts are making me miss it more than evah!

    fyi, im not sure if you use google reader, but my recent blog make over hit a few road bumps and now you have to change your subscription (if you use reader) to http://www.hungryhungryhippie.com/feed (even though my website address is still the same)…who knows, technology is NOT my thangggg. i just dont nwaan lsoe you!

    happy fri fri!

  27. I’m seeing kabocha all over the place lately! If it is sweet potato-ish I think I would like it. …I’ve always been nervous to try the overnight oats things. Not sure why?

    I’m working toward a master’s right now. A bachelor’s in philosophy doesn’t exactly prepare you for the real world :/ But I’m having fun!

    Enjoy your weekend!

  28. im saying no way to grad school myself. i think it’s really useful for some professions but PR?!?! ummm half my classes in college were pr writing, press release writing, news article writing, pr writing again, pr portfolio combining all the pr writing…you get the idea! i think grad school would just be more of the same, and i am doing it every single day at the office already. the only way i would ever consider it is if i wanted to get REALLY specialized and needed extra schooling to make the shift. i think for journalism you will be FINE for now!!!

    have a great weekend πŸ™‚

  29. 30 lynn

    I thought about grad school earlier this year when taking a break from acting. But couldn’t figure out anything I loved more than acting to study! So I’m right back to it the unstable life of an actor. By the way, there is a link to a giveaway related to Food, Inc. that we just blogged about on actorsdiet.blogspot.com

  30. i am thinking grad school bc i am going into nutrition but not sure where i am branching out to. but then again i do not start college til aug

  31. 32 mayapamela

    Your blog must be doing some wonderful promotion for VegNews! I had never heard of it before but it sounds like my kind of magazine, and I will definitely be checking it out more!

    Hope you can check out my blog! americangourmande.wordpress.com

  32. Hey beautiful girl! So i’m drooling over the kabocha deal! I GOTTA try that asap! I feel like i’ve never seen one though…I hope they have them at my local grocer!

    Your big salad looks BEAUTIFUL, i’ll be making a similar one AFTER I shower too!!! PS- hit up the sesame sticks at TJ’s if they’re vegan. They are perfect carbyyy salad toppers! πŸ˜‰

    And I really don’t think i’m up for grad school ether, I just want to start my CAREER AND LIFEEEE already! And i’m just going into my second year! 3 mooo to go!

    But I just got home from working and i’m smelly and dirtyyyyy….so i need to hop in the shower before I head to my gurrrrrrl andrea’s house (wish I was heading out with you and brookie booo though!), so that’s why this is a quickie comment! Unlike my usual ones!!!! πŸ˜‰ LOVE YOU!

  33. Whoa…so many wink faces!
    i’m a faaa-reak.

  34. i can’t believe you’ve been there two weeks either. where does the time go??
    and i never ever ever intended to go to grad school. i was SO done with school when i graduated college. but then i worked for 3 years and realized i wanted nothing to do with my undergrad major and that grad school was the only option to have the career i wanted. but ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhmyyyyygoddddd, i can’t wait until it is over!

  35. Hey there! My first comment, and chose this post because this is the one that came up when I searched for “overnight oat bran”. This comment is brought to you by your homegirl thanks to her overnight oat bran post that lead me here! I love me some overnight oats and couldn’t wait to try overnight oat bran to change things up. Made it last night and enjoyed this morning, it will definitely be rotated in with my other favorite oatmeal breakfasts! Glad I found your blog, thanks for posting about such a fab breakfast idea, this combo had never even occurred to me!


  1. 1 Kabocha Squash!!! « PapayaFish
  2. 2 It’s a Matter of Equations « The Healthy Everythingtarian
  3. 3 A Good Day « The Healthy Everythingtarian

Leave a Reply

