All Good in the Hood

09Jun09

What up boos? I’m winding down after a hectic and fun day at the VegNews office! It wasn’t all that hectic, actually, but I did end up staying till 7:10 p.m., when I’m supposed to be finished by 5:30. I enjoy it so much, though! So we have some catchin’ up to do!

SUNDAY

After I blogged I went on a long walk throughout the local hoods. I had the intention of going to Walgreens to fill a prescription, but, being the airhead I can be, I left my prescription at home. Oh well, I needed razors to tame my furry legs anyway. Then I wandered throughout streets, stopping in a market that had $.59/lb sweet potatoes, but calculating that I spent $90 on Saturday,Β I seriously avoided spending money. You know I’ll be going back.

When I made it back to my place an hour or so later, I was hankering for lunch. I had an apple while I walked, but that didn’t last long. Here’s a TJ-full plate:

Trader Joe Hoe fo life!

Trader Joe Hoe fo life!

On the plate: a spinny pita with TJ’s cilantro hummus, cucumber and mushrooms; broccoli; carrot nubs; the pineapple salsa that’s half gone already. Not a minute after I finished eating Charlotte arrived!!! YAYYY for having a roomie!

What can I say? So far she seems to be great! She’s nice, respectful, humorous, we get along… Couldn’t ask for much more! We chatted for a bit and then I had a pounding headache and took a nap. Something is wrong with me. I don’t do that!

I slept for a half hour, then read 20 pages of Becoming Vegan. I can’t wait to get past the history stuff. Gag me with a spoon.

When dinner time rolled around, I was stoked to use some new produce, dressing and Praegers. Doctor Praegers sounds like “preggers” in my head, so that’s what I’m calling them from now on. Just a warning:

Tom salad and Preggers

Tom salad and Preggers

In the salad: romaine, celery, tomato, mushrooms, chickpeas and Sesame Ginger Soy Vinaigrette. Excellent dressing! The Preggers tastes like veggies and broccoli with a hint of soy. All good in my book.

After dinnah I got SnackFacey and had zeese:

Wheat & Flaxseed cracks with almond butter and strawberry fruit spread

Wheat & Flaxseed cracks with almond butter and strawberry fruit spread

Please know that I went back to the box after eating this because those crackers are so darn good. But here’s more almond butter love:

Luscious

Luscious

ByΒ 11 p.m., Charlotte and I were in our respective beds and ready to pass out. I don’t know who this sleepy person is. At school I sleep, at the most, five or SIX hours a night. Sunday I got a solid eight. Hollaaaa.

MONDAY

I awoke at 7 a.m. to my ringing alarm, sore shoulders and a full bladder. All fun, right? I got moving and made breakfast:

Oat bran baby in my belly

Oat bran baby in my belly

In this divine bowl: 1/3 C oat bran, 1 C water, 1/2 naner, couple spoons of unsweetened shredded coconut, pumpkin pie spice and a spoon of crunchy almond butter. The coconut got nice and chewy and the banana got soft and candy-like. Yes, please!

Then we were off to work! The morning flew by as I fact-checked, emailed, everything else. Charlotte and I set the table for lunch at 12:50 p.m., and the whole crew sat down at 1 for an incredible meal:

What gorgeousness is that?

What gorgeousness is that?

Joe cooked this amazing meal from The Accidental Vegan. He’s working on reviewing it, and lucky us, we get to help taste the recipes! On the plate: basmati rice with cinnamon, almonds and raisins; Afghani Stew; some other side dish that had red beans and coconut milk and all other sorts of things. Basically, I loved it all! It was Elizabeth, the managing editor’s, birthday over the weekend, so Colleen baked a cake for her. Look at THIS:

Holy shhhh!

Holy shhhh!

What is that glory, you ask? Just a strawberry-coconut-shortcake masterpiece. Have I told you I love my workplace? Oh yes, that’s right. I’ve said that a billion times already. I can’t help it:

I mean, come on. Can anyone resist that?

I mean, come on. Can anyone resist that?

I had about 3/4 of it and then I thought cake was going to come out my nose. Good stopping point. It was my turn to do the dishes, which took forever because we had a table of nine today! One of our guests was the creator of vegweb.com. I cannot believe she was running that site all by herself for so many years!

Eventually I got back to fact-checking and writing. One of the recipes I fact-checked was by Terry Hope Romero. Am I a huge nerd for thinking that’s cool? Anyone who thinks so can suck my big toe. Whatevuh.

I had dessert number two at five-ish, when Charlotte and I did work on a Cowvin (a.k.a. two oatmeal cookies sandwiched with lovely sweet cream). I need to start bringing fruit or something for the afternoons, because this other sugar tastes divine, but it gives me headaches. Or maybe I should just bring ibuprofen…

As I said earlier, I worked till 7:10, writing news pieces and contacting the people at EA Games. All I can share is that I’m interviewing a producer of Sims 3. Sorry!

As soon as I got home, I changed into my running gear (old yoga pants, tee, sports bra, enormous OU sweatshirt, 4-year-old running shoes) and ran my booty off. The first two miles flew by! Then, as I was nearing my turning spot, I was hurtin’ for certain’.

Ever since I left Cincinnati, something to the left of my tailbone has felt out of place. Either my hips aren’t aligned, or something’s out of its socket. I don’t know, but what I DO know is that I need to see a chiropractor, pronto. I mostly ran home because walking hurt more than running. To Do: get new shoes, see doctor.

It doesn’t hurt when I stand on my left foot, but my left side kills when I stand on my right foot. Make sense? Anyway, I came home, stretched and did ab workouts and planks while I caught up with Charlotte. I assembled dinner soon after:

Notha day anutha...preggers and salad

Notha day anutha...preggers and salad

I hope the different lunches are at least entertaining; I realize dinners are a bit repetitive. I love ’em, though! In the salad: romaine, spinach, celery, cukes, mushrooms, broccoli, chickpeas and Sesame Ginger Soy Vinaigrette. Hideous preggers on the side. Focus on the beaut of a salad:

So crispay. Anyone know that song?

So crispay. Anyone know that song?

I love chickpeas so much I could eat a whole can. But then I run into that GasFace issue and that will not fly in the office. And I don’t want to wake Char in the middle of the night.

SnackFacing ensued, and I finished the last of the TJ’s Wheat and Flaxseed crackers. I HIGHLY recommend them! Now I’m off to bed. I hope to awake with a magically healed hip/back/bum area. But that’s been my holistic mindset for a week now. Something must be done!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Tell me what you think about me, I buy my ownΒ diamonds and I buy my own rings. Only ring your celly when I’m feelin’ lonely, when it’s all over please get up and leave. Okay, that’s not a question, but that is exactly what I do in my head every single time I write “question:.” REAL Q:
WHAT SHOULD I MAKE FOR MY VEGNEWS CREW??? Ahhh!!!
I’m scurred. It’s my turn soon, and I need to make something vegan and delicious. And I can’t do cheetahs ’cause we don’t have an oven in the office! What’s your go-to recipe? Can it be vegan-ized if it’s not?

38 Responses to “All Good in the Hood”

  1. Okay Honey I git a couple for ya!
    Asparagus Guacomole from wieght watchers it is goood
    11/2 lbs asparagus trimmed
    1Tbs mayo
    1Tbs fresh lime juice
    1/4 cup cilantro
    3 chopped green oions
    1/2 medium jalapeno
    1 garlic clove 1/8 worchester
    1/8 hot sauce
    1/8 t salt
    1/8 t black pepper
    Bring large pot of water to boil. Add asparagus and cook until tender about 10 min. drain
    place asparagus in food processor and puree til smooth. this is great with vegies
    next….

  2. this one is from Uncooking with RawRose
    Banana Lemon Pie
    3cups of pecans or walnuts
    11/2 Cups raisins
    4 medium bananas
    juice and rind from 1to2 lemons
    kiwi or strawberries or raspberries

    process nuts in food prcessor
    add raisins to the nuts in food processor and process til everything clupms together press into a 9×9 pan You have a new pan?
    grate the lemon rind on top of the nut/raisin crust. juice lemons into a bowl
    slice the bananas into the lemon juice stir to coat bananas
    decorate the crust with the fruit

    next….

  3. bean salad from Martha about two summers ago

    For the salad:
    8 oz cranberries dried
    6 oz flat italian green bean or get the long ones from the chinese grocer
    6 oz green beans
    8 oz shelled edamame about 1 1/2 cups
    8 oz. chick peas rinsed
    combination of small colourful cherry tomatoes yellow and red and purple if you can find it
    2 cups of the tomatoes
    1/2 bunch of watercress
    1/2 bunch of radishes chop up

    Dressing
    2 garlic cloves minced
    1 jalapeno chile seeds removed and cop this up tiny tiny
    1/2 cup of italian flat leaf parsley
    1/2 cup of cilanto
    5 t
    Tbs of red wine vinegar
    3/4 t coarse salt
    1/2 cup of evvo
    salt and pepper to taste
    chop up the herbs and add everything together and shake

    throw it all together in a bowl

  4. 4 The Novice Berker

    Ahahaha, I loved your first question. Or Beyonce’s first question. Whatever. πŸ˜› I hope your tailbone/whatever it is that’s actually hurting gets fixed soon; get it checked out ASAP, girlie! 😦

    I’m not really familiar with vegan dinners (maybe a chickpea/veggie curry?), but I’m sure puh-lenty of folks will comment and come to your rescue!!

  5. 5 rediscoveringlauren

    hi darlin,
    i think you should make your co workers the famous snackface sweet potatoes πŸ™‚
    i have a funny hip too and sometimes when i go on a longer run my left hip feels off..not exactly sore, but almost stiff? i cant put my finger on the prob though…id say get yours checked out if it hurts alot when you put your foot down!
    ohmygosh! that cake looks AMAZING! nything with cocnut gets my vote and cocnut with strawberry and shortcake? yes please!!
    glad you and the roomie get along!!
    have a nice night hun
    xxxx

  6. 6 Tina

    I wish I worked in the vegnews office and got great lunch like that every day. Wowza! Well, actually, I wish I worked in the vegnews office for more reasons than that! The pros for working at VegNews seem endless.
    Happy to hear you and your roomie are getting along well. It’s hard to find good roomies that you feel comfortable around. Question – how do you deal with taking photos of your food in front of other people? I know I often feel a little awkward or most often avoid taking photos around people that don’t know about my food-blog or who would think I was weird. I’m thinking now that you’re living with a rommate, do you just take photos of your food in front of her anyway?
    I have a million (or so it feels like) vegan cookbooks, I’d be happy to share a recipe or several from the books if you’d like. I just don’t know where to start though. I’m bad at using them and bad at taking the time to cook (I’m more of a snack kind of girl). Anyway, I’ve got Vegan with a Vengence, Veganomicon, How it all Vegan, My Sweet Vegan, Vegcan Cupcakes take over the World… just to name a few so if there’s anything you’d like from those books just let me know and I can email you the recipe.

    • 7 snackface

      Tina- Hey chiquita! I don’t feel awkward about taking photos in front of my roomie or anyone at work because they all know about the blog! They’ve all read it before and think it’s great that I have one. When I’m in restaurants by myself, I pretend in my head that I’m a food critic and it’s my job. That’s my story if anyone asks! Haha! Actually, I’ve had people ask and I simply tell them I have a food blog. Even if they think it’s odd, they haven’t really shown it!

  7. 8 Erin

    I love Destiny’s Child. πŸ˜€

    I hope you don’t have a hip strain! I am a runner, and after a randy fall, could no longer move my right leg! It hurt a little, but mostly felt as though it needed to be popped back into place (does that make sense??)… Anyway, e-mail me if you want any more deets, but needless to say, I couldn’t run for over a month! 😦

    -Erin

  8. 9 Cecilia

    Do you have Veganomicon, they have tons of recipes in that book πŸ˜€

    • 10 snackface

      Ceclia- I do have V’con and LOVE it, but it’s in Ohio! It didn’t make it into one of my four huge suitcases and duffel bags 😦

  9. Yes, make your famous baked sweet potatoes with your signature spice mix!! πŸ˜€

  10. can’t help with recipes because I’m still too scared to cook for people but I just wanted to say “get well soon” to your hip. that can really hurt, ‘spesh when you’re running and hunched over a computer all day.

  11. I don’t know if I can help you on the vegan cooking front, maybe veggie stir fry or something. I’m not very in-the-know about that stuff, but what I do know is that cake looks soo fricken good I wanna jump through my screen and snag a chomp. MMMMMMMM! have a lovely day my dear!!

  12. 14 Meg

    I’ve never commented before but I’ve been reading for about a month and I couldn’t resist suggesting a ddeelliicciioouuss recipe!

    Peanut Ginger Noodles (serves 4 – depending on the number of people I’d say double it, especially since it’s so delicious people will probably want more!)

    SAUCE:
    1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
    1/2 cup water
    2 cloves garlic, pressed or chopped
    1-2 tablespoons soy sauce
    1-2 tablespoon brown rice syrup or other vegan sweetener
    1 nubbin of ginger, skin removed and finely grated
    Juice of 1/2 a lime
    1-2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar

    MAIN MEAL:
    8 ounces udon noodles (found in the asian section of the grocery store – you could also sub rice noodles or even spaghetti!)
    Broccoli, chopped onion, red bell pepper, carrots (all finely chopped)
    Crushes peanuts (for garnish – optional)
    Bean sprouts (for garnish – optional)

    DIRECTIONS:
    In a blender (or a sauce pan with a whisk!) combine all ingredients for the sauce. Adjust ingredients to taste (more soy sauce, sweetener, ginger, lime, etc.)

    Cook the noodles according to package directions.

    Meanwhile, lightly steam the veggies.

    Once the noodles have been cooked and drained, add sauce and veggies. Make sure everything is coated! Top of garnishes, if desired.

    You can make this ahead of time and just heat it up.

  13. Yikes, be careful with your hip…i hate when it feels all out-of-sockety. My work always has afternoon treaties too, i just bring fruit or a luna bar to feel like i’m having a fake treat! I have no recipes for you… But it would be funny if you rolled with all your ingredients in like, a bunch of McDonald’s bags and be like, WHAT UP playas..lunchtime!!!

    You extra krispy like a 2-piece outta popeye’s…

  14. I LOVE the preggers burgers – they taste like stuffing πŸ™‚ Stop it with these awesome vegan meals! Either that or expect a little K knocking at your door demanding to be fed!

    I hope your hip feels better soon!! Are you stretching it? I can send you my handy dandy PT website if you want?

    Speaking of cheetahs, yesterday I almost cried because I thought I burned mine. Honestly! I took them out of the oven and went, “Oh noooooooo….” followed up by this face: 😦

  15. Yay for getting along with your roomie! I’m glad everythings still going well πŸ™‚

    Dayumm your veggies in this post are outta control! (in a gloriously delicious way)…I want to make salads with you!

    Best of luck with your lunch, I know you’ll get some great tips. I’m no chef, much less vegan, or I would try to help!

  16. hi boo! sorry your bod isnt cooperating with your newfound love of running, go easy if it’s still hurting! and pop ibuprofen like mad. my solution to all problems haha!

    so glad you have a great roomie, they can make it or break it, i swear! and i am LOVING all these office goodies and creations (by loving i mean im wicked jealous…) but i dont know if i have any vegan creations in my repertoire…i’ll think about it though! have a fabulous day my dear! xoxo

  17. 19 Bec

    you definitely need some new shoes girl! cant wait to see what you made for lunch!

  18. GIRL! I just caught up on your lifeee and you are already livin west coast life! I Can’t believe I am about to graduate! Yikes! Running is good for the soul and I cant wait to get back to it this summer. Good luck with the roomies and after this weekend I will be stalking your west coast life daily! I wish I ate more vegan! Good luck!

  19. 21 april

    Dr. Praegers sounds like preggers to me too! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog! I put up some more pictures of me and bryon for your viewing pleasure!

  20. 22 Katharina

    Cauliflower Dal with Panch Phoran
    http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2008/01/cauliflower-dal-with-panch-phoran.html

    Quinoa Veggie Paella
    http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2007/01/quinoa-vegetable-paella.html

    Eggplant and Tofu in Spicy Garlic Sauce
    http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2006/08/eggplant-and-tofu-in-spicy-garlic.html
    p.s. I didn’t make that one spicy when I tried it.

    HOW COULD I FORGET!!! This is probably my favorite out of all of the recipes.
    http://kalynskitchen.blogspot.com/2009/03/avocado-tomato-edamame-and-red-onion.html
    You can serve it with rice or noodles. It’s seriously so good and easy to make.

  21. im sorry you were hurting! that is no fun. but all your food looks sooooo good! and et me tell ya im a jelly of you interviewing the sims3 guy. i actually just bought sims 3. haha

    hope you and your roomie click.an have a fabulous day

  22. I’m sorry about the something left of the tail bone. I sometimes get a clicking thing around there when I start running but then it goes away but if feels totally awkward when its happening. That cake look to good to be true! Have fun at vegnews today!

    xox bri

  23. 25 jaime

    hey girl!!
    glad your roomie has arrived and that she seems nice πŸ™‚ hope everything works out! i’m sure it will!!!

    SO jealous of all that amazing food you get to eat at work!! lucky girl!!!!!!

    hahahah i love when you broke out into that destinys child song! πŸ™‚ you are too funny!

    sorry i’m no big on recipes– especially veg/vegan ones with no oven- but it seems some fabulous ladies have sent some your way!!

    have a fabulous day xoxox

  24. You can’t go wrong with sweet potatoes =)

  25. 27 Leila

    lady! please go buy new shoes, your legs will love you for it!

  26. 28 Nadia

    Hi there!

    If you go to the post punk kitchen website (www.theppk.com) you can find some awesome vegan recipes…some are even fron V’con. I made “pasta della california” (I believe that’s from V’con as well) and it turned out really really good. It’s light, refreshing, easy and delicious! Here’s the recipe: from theppk website:
    Pasta Della California
    Ingredients
    1/2 pound linguine
    3 cups broccoli, tops cut into small florettes, stalks sliced thinly
    2 tablespoons olive oil
    8 cloves garlic, minced (yes 8, that’s not a typo!)
    1/4 teaspoon grated lime zest
    1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
    1/4 cup white wine
    1 cup vegetable broth
    2 tablespoons lime juice (juice from one lime, depending on the juiciness of your lime)
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    several dashes fresh black pepper
    4 cups loosely packed arugula leaves
    2 avocados, peeled and sliced into 1 inch chunks (see tip)

    Directions
    Bring a large pot of water to boil and prep all your ingredients while the water boils, because this dish comes together in no time. Once boiling, add the pasta and cook as per package directions, usually about 10 minutes. In the last minute of cooking you will be adding the broccoli, so keep that in mind.

    Preheat a large non-stick skillet over medium heat. Add the olive oil garlic, lime zest and red pepper flakes and gently heat, stirring often for about 2 minutes, being careful not to burn the garlic. Add the wine and bring the heat up reduce the wine, about 2 minutes. Add the vegetable broth, lime juice, salt and fresh black pepper and bring to a boil. Once boiling, lower the heat to simmer and add the arugula.

    By this point the pasta should be almost done so add the broccoli and cook for one more minute. Drain in a colander.

    When the arugula is wilted add the broccoli and pasta to the pan and use a pasta spoon to toss it around, making sure to get everything coated in garlic, for about 3 more minutes. Add the avocado and turn the heat off. Gently toss the pasta to incorporate the avocado without smushing it just until it is warmed through, about a minute. Serve with generous doses of fresh black pepper. There is usually a lot of garlic left in the pan, so be sure to spoon that over your bowls of pasta.

  27. 29 homegirlcaneat

    Hey sugaface! So first of all,

    The shoes on my feet,
    I’ve bought it!
    The clothes I’m wearing,
    I’ve bought it!

    I love the throw back D-child song!

    Anyways..the only vegan recipe I got are for supercharge me cookies! But that would actually be fabulous to make the night before and bring in..homies would be so impressed! But I have eat, drink, and be vegan lying around my house somewhere so I will try to find it and hit you up!

    And your running shoes are DEF the reason why your back hurts! I can’t even tell you how many times I switch out my running shoes because they make my back and knees hurt after xyz amount of milage! We gotsta get you to a running store so you can can yo intervals on again.

    I hope work is fabby because you are at it right now! And I will be a texting you later because a) I need at least one text message from you a night and b) someone is coming to TOWWWWNNNN! ..and it ain’t santa clause but boy does he have a package πŸ˜‰ ….that was soooo incredibly creepy ahahahahhahaha!!! had to be done though, had to be done.

  28. holy busy mama! That’s great you love the roommate situation.

    I definitely suggest getting new runners- this may help with the pain.

    AWESOME looking food- especially the cake!

    I have NO idea what you should bring because I haven’t made too many vegan recipes myself. Good luck! I’m sure you will come up with something awesome!

  29. I’m totally going to be a mom here, but DO NOT GO TO THE CHIROPRACTOR. I’d go see your general practitioner (do you have one there yet? If not, you need to find one anyway) and then if he/she thinks a chiropractor or physical therapist would be helpful, he/she will tell you. And for God sakes, don’t run until you see someone. I’m having PTSD flashbacks just typing this.

    What about Super Charge Me Cookies?

  30. Kailey!! Hey lovepie! Wow, sounds like another amazing day at the office!!! I was SO obsessed with the sims when I was younger, so interviewing someone for sims 3 is pretty exciting!

    I always read those burgers as PREGGERS too! hahah, too funny! I’m so glad everything is working out with the roommate though! It sounds like you two will have a nice summa together!

    Your salads look GLORIOUS girl, and so does the lunch and dessert at Vegnews! YUM. I’m sorry that I have no vegan recipes for ya, i’m sure you have plenty of options now though! πŸ™‚ Good luck!

    And hope seeing a doc or getting new shoes will fix this back/hip problem, and soon!!

    PS-now I need to buy those crackers, the mango salsa AND spicy hummus from TJ’s! Thanks for breaking yo’ girl’s bank. πŸ˜‰

  31. dang workin late! is this an internship or are you gettin dollas for your hard work? i don’t recall. i say preggers too every time i see that. it’s perfectly normal. promise. um that coconut cake nonsense is orgasmic. makes me want to eat my computer monitor but that would probably not taste quite as divine, eh? that seems a little ironic to not have an oven in such a place of delicious devouring.. i DO have a great recipe for vegan peanut butter bars for dessert. my vegan boys request them on the regular! they are on my recipe page. xo!

  32. 34 Trace

    Don’t worry about the prescription, I work in the walgreens pharmacy, just have someone drop the prescription off at your walgreens at home and ask to put it on hold. Then go to your walgreens in cali and say you have a prescription on hold that you would like filled. Walgreens can look up your profile anywhere in the country by your name and b-date. hope this helps πŸ™‚
    and good luck with whatever you end up making, I’m sure it will be great!

    • 35 snackface

      Trace- Thank you so much for that tidbit! My concern is that I’m switching from CVS to Walgreens, but I’m going to give it a go today after work! I’ll remember that for the future! At least, I hope I remember that for the future.

  33. Can we make a trader hoe yo club? I would so join..

    I think one of my fave vegan recipes is vegan sloppy joes from vegan dad. you should just go look on his blog! it has delicious looking pictures! happy herbivore has great recipes too!

  34. 37 lora

    OMG my first time trying oat bran today and I loved it so much! oh and i am in need to running shoes, yet I dont want to buy them yet bc of the $$–instead I go to like CVS and get polka dot bowls, ice cream scoops and other useless items. FML. I am gonna get new kicks this weekend tho..hit up NIke.Com and check out the sales!

    xoxo
    Lo

    p.s Def make Vegan Mac n Cheese and Cornbread–always a hit.

    or some “chiken” fajitas.

  35. TRADER JOE HOES FOR LIFE!
    I make pita sammiches out of their goods all ze time. That Cilantro Jalapeno hummus is the bee’s knees, braaa! Try slices of baby apples in those pockets, you will not be sorry πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

