Turning Into…

06Jun09

Happy weekend party people! I cannot believe I have finished my first week as an editorial assistant at VegNews! It’s been– as you all know– amazing. Over the past week, I’ve noticed I’ve been turning into a few things…

This morning I awoke to a 5:45 alarm and sprung right outta bed. I changed my clothes, used the john, tied up my strands in a hair hoochie (this is the traditional name for hair elastic in my family), drank some water and hit the road running. Am I turning into a runner? Maybe. Well, allow me to clarify: I’m turning into a run/walker.

I ran non-stop for two miles, walked for five minutes, ran for 8, then walked, then ran, etc., for four miles total. It felt incredible! At a cool 55* F with the sun slowly rising, the weather was perfect for running. I love seeing the city when it’s just waking up.

When I got home I showered and made what I was craving:

Cereal with bananer and big ol' glass of water

Cereal with bananer and big ol' glass of water

I don’t have a coffee maker with me, so I’ve just been drinking water instead! That is until I get to the office and sip whateva I want. In the bowl: TJ’s High Fiber Fruit and Nut Multigrain Medley with almond milk and a banana. I love when bananas are supah ripe and sweet:

There was a bubble on one of them there slices

There was a bubble on one of them there slices

I hopped to the office after beautifying and blog-reading. Naturally, I jumped right on the work load by deleting spam from our site. I get spam on my blog, but it goes to a page at which I never look. Out of sight, out of mind. I say that to myself too often.

I swear the morning run had my metabolism revved or something, because I felt hunger coming back at 9:30 a.m.! Cereal usually holds me at least three hours, and with a whole banana added to the mix, I was surprised. Also, when I work out at school it’s normally 45 minutes on the elliptical and then 20 minutes walking to the gym, 20 minutes walking from the gym. I have no clue what’s up.

When lunch rolled around, I was hangry, fo sho. Mister Joe cooked up recipes from The Accidental Vegan, and most times the cook of the day doesn’t go off a recipe, but he wanted to test it out. We all agreed that it wasn’t exactly as spectacular as it could have been, but it was still good (hell, it was far better than what I could make):

Rice and Curry and an awesome special drank

Rice and Curry and an awesome special drank

To accompany our lunch, Joe whipped up a wonderfully frothy juice in his Vita-Mix. Oh my gosh, I need a Vita-Mix!!! Into the blender went half a pineapple, a squirt of agave and a splash of light coconut milk. Dreamy.

It was a quieter day in the office, as we all had a billion things to do. Okay, maybe I had a million and everyone else had a billion, but you know what I’m sayin’. We didn’t even whip out any afternoon treats! My stomach was growling not even two hours after lunch. I seriously don’t know what the deal is!

I left the office at 5:30 p.m. after a day of fact-checking, blog-posting, news story-writing and so on. Days fly by when you’re doing things you love. Furreal!

Immediately upon entering my apartment, I grabbed some grapes and scarfed them as I made a repeat dinner:

Lavash with spinach, cuke slices, mushrooms and TJ's cilantro-jalapeno hummus; celery; TJ's Masala Burgers

Lavash with spinach, cuke slices, mushrooms and TJ's cilantro-jalapeno hummus; celery; TJ's Masala Burgers

Apparently, I’m turning into a TJ-aholic. After devouring this, I still wasn’t satisfied. Enter many, many peanut butter-filled pretzels. Yea, not buying these again. Can’t stand ’em. Oh! I would like to say that the Masala burgers do have that french-toasty-stick taste, but they also have a nice veggie flavor (thanks to the chunks-o-veg in there) and a warm masala spice. I’m actually not sure whether I’ll buy these again. I need something with more protein, yaaa mean?

I’m also turning into an explorer. I couldn’t sit still after dinner and went on an impromptu walk. Connie (from work) told me about an excellent produce market, so I walked there to check out the prices. I also had mayjuh cramps and wanted to walk those of a bit. The shop is as stellar as Connie said, and I’ll be going there again and again. I got a carton of organic strawberries for $.79!

The walk home was extraordinary. While the sun slowly sunk to the ocean, surfers were headed out to catch some waves and couples were strewn about the beach, picnicking and sipping. The scene:

Does it get any better?

Does it get any better?

MisterMan called me as soon as I got back home. No longer being able to call him “my man” or “my boyfriend” has been tough. I can’t hide that. It hits me at night that we’re no longer a couple, and it brings stinging tears to my eyes, only for a piercing minute or so. During the days I’m fine, though. So, I guess I’m also turning into a single woman. Crazy.

I totally did not intend for this post to take that turn. I’m sorry! I actually had planned on it ending with: “I’m turning into a senior citizen,” because I’ve been in my pajamas since 8:30 p.m. I also haven’t been able to stop SnackFacing. Snacks include (but are not limited to…but that’s a given): crackers with hummus, celery with hummus, carrots with almond butter and trail mix. Now all I want is chocolate. Who’s PMS-ing? I am! I am!

Tomorrow I plan on running in the morning, writing an essay in-between breakfast and lunch, getting pretty, then heading somewhere to buy baking sheets. I miss my damn cheetahs! I also might go out tomorrow night…but you’ll have to wait to find out.

Hope you all have fabulous starts to your weekends!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

31 Responses to “Turning Into…”

  1. 1 homegirlcaneat

    Ooooh snackface how I need you every 3 hours or else I can’t live! AND I love how you are on Pacific time because I can now be the in the top 5 first comments like urryday! And I feel so speshal!

    Exercising/running first thing in the morning always jumps starts my metabolism like no other! It’s either I snackface in the morning or eat lunch early. So I opt for lunch at like 11..I ain’t complainin!

    I’m sorry about feeling down about MistaMan! I want to hear about this tomo..someday soon! Homegirl loves ogirdor stories and wants to comfort dear TJoeho!

    Loves u boooo!

  2. 2 Sarah

    Look at you running girl! I’m calling them hair hoochies from now on. It’s funny, we have “one time use” hoochies which we throw away, and ones that can be multiple use, so “hoochie” seems like the perfect word.

    I have goosebumps about the misterman situation. Booo. But not to sound like a Hallmark card, but if it is meant to be, it will.

    Have a great weekend Kailey!

  3. Hello Snack Face !
    Love your column Kailey. Just to reply to your quest for an all vegan restaurant. We have one here in Kitchener/Waterloo Ontario called Vegetarian Fast Food on University Ave beside The University of Waterloo and up the street from Wilfred Laurier University.
    I wanted to know if I could get the recipe for the ribs you posted for lunch the other day.
    Will you be posting recipes?
    Have fun in San Fran. Looking forward to more posts
    Love Aunty Snooze

    • 4 snackface

      Snooze! Oh my gosh, thanks for checking out my blog! I tried to get the recipes for the ribs and the BBQ sauce, but I think they’re secret. That doesn’t mean I’ll stop trying, though!

      • You’re the best! A couple months ago I tried to do a raw food diet but I need something a bit more. Have fun honey I’ll be following your column. When I was in New York in March I went into Whole Foods in Times Square . It is truly something.:)

  4. 6 rediscoveringlauren

    hi darlin,
    running defo revs up that metab for sure! id say thats why your feeling hungrier? and anyways you gotta live up to that snackface rep right :)?
    bahaha hair hoochie…i like it!
    all of the eats look delish! im so glad you had such a wonderful first week at your new job 🙂
    have a nice night hun
    xxx

  5. 7 Anna

    Whenever I hit the pavement early I just want to inhale anything I see all day. It just gets my metabolism going like crazy.

    Enjoy your weekend out there on the West Coast!

  6. 8 Bec

    Oooo I cant wait to see what you get up to on your first weekend in SF!

  7. Hair hoochie! HAH! Dude, yesterday was a hungry girl day for me too and I didn’t even run! Get out of here with these lunches!!

    I had been wondering about the boy but didn’t want to ask. I’m sawwwy 😦 Big hugs from me to you, chickpea! Find yourself a hot, hippie, vegan boy in San Fran! Love you!!

  8. 10 Megan

    I’m so glad you’re loving your internship! It sounds like so much fun and I can’t waitttt to keep reading about it!! Have fun this weekendddddd 🙂 And I’m sorry about the bf.. but I agree with k… find a hot vegan boy in SF!

  9. I’m so sorry about Misterman =( I hope you feel better and that everything works itself out!!!

    Look at you busy, busy! You are turning into a working woman!

    I agree about the burgers…I haven’t bought them since because I need more protein!

  10. 12 april

    I love ripe bananas! I noticed I’m hungry after meals quite often if I do a workout in the morning so maybe your just burning more calories!

  11. Ohh too much goodness! You have far more willpower than I for living without a coffee pot 😀 I agree on those Masala burgers, have u tried the Morningstar tomato basil pizza ones, omg bake them in the oven- soo good!! Damn scratch that, prob not vegan…so sorry about Mr. Man, but I don’t think you can ask for a better situation to distract yourself with right!? Ah every day sounds soo fun, enjoy your weekend of exploring!!

  12. It’s amazing all of the little things we learn about ourselves when we put ourselves in a completely new environment.

    Beautiful sunset!! Hope you have a good run this morning 😉

  13. i love working out right in the morning i feel so happy for the rest of the day! and strawberries not even a dollar thats a steal! I’m sorry about the boy situtation but it seems like you are making the best out of your situation which is fantastic. have a great day!

  14. early morning runs are the best!! It’s so peaceful with the sun just coming up/being up and the air being cooler. Love it! can’t wait for this dang injury to heal so I can get back out there!

  15. 17 merittothecarrot

    hey kailey! your time in San Fran so far sounds simply fantastic! I will be going to San Fran next weekend for a 6.5 week pre-college program at The Academy of Arts University, and I am DYING to know where I will be able to purchase organic strawbs for that cheap! I’m SO pumped. and working at Vegnews? That’s INCREDIBLE. Have a lovely day, and possibly enjoy another run! haha

    -Sam (Merit to the Carrot)

    • 18 snackface

      merittothecarrot- Hey Sam! Oh my gosh that’s so exciting that you’ll be here soon! I found my strawberries at the cutest health and produce shop called Noriega Produce. It’s on the corner of 47th and Noriega! Let me know if you’d like me to email you with more deets!

  16. HOW have I not been reading your blog all this time?! LOVE IT!!!

    • 20 snackface

      Mara- OMG WELCOME!!! I’m so pumped you found me! I hope you’ll stick around for my whole summer adventure in San Fran, baby!

  17. 21 ellie

    Early morning walks/runs are great- best start to the day! Though I get the “holy hunger” all morning afterwards too!

    Glad you are enjoying your internship- it sounds amazing and a true foodie heaven! Going to check out their website now to see your work 🙂

  18. Switching off between running and walking is the only way I can actually manage to bust out a “run.” Running is the hardest thing ever for me to do, I guess it’s just not my thing!!! Love that TJ cereal.
    I hope you are having a glorious SF weekend! Wish I was on the west coast again!

  19. Interval training Kailey, intervalssss!!! Hahaha….supposedly interval training or switching off between running and walking is a majorrrr fat burner (not that you have any!) and heart pumper-upper (couldn’t think of a better word…accelorator maybe?)…so this is why your metab is going crazy!! Glad you’re enjoying those PB pretzels though! Haha…aren’t they addicting?! If you like random little snacks that are spicy…you should try TJ’s wasabi peas too! So good!

    Glad you had another great day at Vegnews, and I hope this weekend is fun!! As Sarah said above, if you and misterman are meant to be…things will all work out! Just enjoy yourself in this big, new city….you’re a single girl after all!! 🙂

  20. 24 elise

    Im SOO glad youre lovin the bay. if i come home – you me and brookie boo are gonna have to get a serious grub fest date on! so i looked up crave bakery and holy yum yum yum – they use eggs, so its not totally vegan, so more research may be in order, but i also wanted to say….im OBSESSED with vegnews. ever since you started there ive been perusing the site, and checking out the articles you said you wrote or participated in. im so jealous that you have SUCH a cool job, with such amazing coworkers. how lucky to get paid to do something you love on a daily basis. im tempted to move back and apply there right now! your blog is also something i wish i had discovered sooner- too cute!!

    congrats on becoming a runner 🙂

  21. 25 Lyss

    Oh baby baby! I love when you update… I live for it.

    I’m sorry about MisterMan, but you’ve got your MisterWoman right here, so have no fear. ❤

    I loveeee your life in SanFran right now and want to hear about your first weekend! STAT. I might have to e-mail you soon. Love you!

  22. 26 Sarah

    haha, that banana bubble in your bfast is so cute. and yay for your newfound run/walk love. running seriously is the best way to explore a new city!

    i love reading your sf updates. keep ’em coming!

  23. 27 AnAppleADay

    Im so happy to hear that you’re liking Bay Area!
    I’m actually from Bay Area so maybe we could do blogger meet sometime soon when i go home for summer break!

    I wish i could work where you work!!!

  24. 28 The Novice Berker

    Congrats on finishing your first week with a bang! I totally know what you mean about days where you feel like a bottomless pit–but, hey, gotta give the tummy what it’s (loudly) asking for!! And I think all of the things you’re “turning into” are great. Being single will be a toughie for a while though, I’m sure. Hang in there! You’re a strong, independent editorial assistant now!

    Being a senior citizen ain’t half-bad either if it means pajamas and snack-facing. 😉

  25. 29 Ada

    Hey! I am one of those readers who just lurks and never comments but I just wanted to say that I love your blog and that you are absolutely hilarious! Good luck with your job at Veg News, it sounds amazing!

    • 30 snackface

      Ada- Oh my goodness, thank you so much for reading, thinking I’m somewhat amusing and, most importantly, thank you for de-lurking! I love it!

  26. awe your lil’ excerpt about misterman kinda made me teary eyed. that is rough when distance is the only reason the two of you had to call it off. it is like all the feelings are still there but nothing you can do about it! ugh! sorry sweetness.

    that sunset photo IS STUNNINGLY STELLAR! yes, i say stellar, and “stoked” is also a regular word in my daily vocab, maybe it is a snowboarder thang too? hair hoochie. love that. such a good term! yeah you probably NEED a vitamix. they are basically amazing. love all the morphing you documented here! can’t wait to hear what you turn into next!

    ohh my boyf says you have good taste!! 😀


Leave a Reply

