First Day at VegNews!

02Jun09

Hi lovelies! I have had yet another incredible day in San Francisco! I started work atΒ my dream job. It doesn’t get much better.

I was so excited that I woke up at 5 a.m. Then 6 a.m. Then 6:18 a.m. Then got up at 6:45 a.m. because 7 a.m. was just around the corner. I eased into the day by catching up on emails, then showering and putting on a robeΒ to fix breakfast. You’ll have to bear with my simple and repetitive home meals over the next few days, as minimal funds and minimal time prevent me from going buck wild at a grocery store. For now. Muhaha. I did have a simply delicious breakfast:

Steamy, sexy oat bran with almond butter

Steamy, sexy oat bran with almond butter

In the bowl: 1/3 C oat bran, 1 C water, dash of cinnamon sugar (couldn’t taste it and I don’t have plain cinnamon yet), 1/2 chopped naner and a spoon of Blue Diamond Homestyle Crunchy Almond Butter. This almond butter is delicious and the crunchy niblets are perfect! I wish I could compare it to another almond butter so you pros would know whether to try it out, but I’ve only had the Barney Butter, which I think is funky compared to this.

I dolled up after breakfast, got my face on and my business attire. I overdressed, fo sho. Better to overdress than to underdress on the first day, I say.

When I got to the office, Colleen sat me down, asked how my first day in San Fran went and then gave me basic info about VegNews and what I’ll be doing for the next few months. Then I was handed off to Elizabeth, who went over fact-checking, style, magazine schedule, everything. I have so much to learn this week! I am terrified I’m not going to be good enough, but everyone in the cozy office is so nice and sweet that I’m not afraid to approach them with questions.

The part of the day that really made me feel like one of the VegNews family members was lunch. Every afternoon, one staff member or guest chef cooks a fresh vegan lunch for the whole staff! Then we all sit down at the same table and eat, chat, laugh, review what we’ve just eaten…basically a dream lunch! I didn’t take a picture of my plate because the example plate for the VegNews blog was much prettier:

Two curries with green beans, corn, carrots and onion over steamed rice

Two curries with tofu, green beans, corn, carrots and onion over steamed rice

My plate had a tiny bit of rice (I don’t really enjoy it, but it was a great sauce-sopper) and a ton of tofu and veggies. The two curry sauces were Mike’s Organic Curry love. One was Blissful Banana Ginger Curry and the other was Passion Red Thai Curry. I loved the sweet Banana Ginger Curry, though I didn’t taste a banana flavor. The Red Thai Curry had a spice that slowly built heat throughout eating. I also topped my meal with Vegan Parma, which was delicious. Clearly, I loved my lunch and my company. Here’s a closer look:

Mmmm tasty

Mmmm tasty

After lunch we dug into some baked goods a dear friend of the VegNews staff, Frankie, made for us. It was the most amazing treat: peanut butter-filled, chocolate-dipped dates! I had one, which was phenomenal. The other flavor she made was cream cheese and ginger-stuffed dates, dipped in chocolate. All vegan, of course πŸ™‚

The rest of the afternoon was busy! I learned more about some of my duties and got to working on two news blurbs for the website. I ended up staying until 6 p.m., but time flew by! I seriously had a great day, and I love everyone in the office. I am beyond thankful for this amazing opportunity!

Enough of my gushing. I came home and immediately made some dinner. Again, I have few groceries so this was a repeat of last night:

Salad and wrap. Easy and good.

Salad and wrap. Easy and good.

I quickly ate the wrap, made of a California Lavash, hummus, mushrooms and tomato, and the salad, made of romaine, cukes, grapes, tomato, sugar snap peas and poppy seed dressing. Feeling I needed something more, I had a few unpictured mouthfuls of trail mix.

I ate so fast because I needed to be ready for a very important date. Nervous like a 16-year-old girl before prom, I waited for my ride to pick me up. Shooo was she ever cute! Homegirl swung by my house shortly after 7 p.m. and whisked me away. She showed me mayjuh streets and areas in San Fran, as well as tried to take me to Twin Peaks. Uh, the fog was so thick we couldn’t see a darn thing. I love my homie for taking me, though.

We seriously gabbed our faces off for hours! I’m in love! Eventually we stopped at one of her favorite ice cream shops. I honestly have no idea what it’s called or what ice cream I got. We were so busy talking! I just ordered whatever she got, which I think was chocolate vanilla peanut butter and chocolate something else and peanut butter in a waffle cone. I’m so good with the details, right? Here we are, being beautiful:

Beauty

Beauty

I had the best time with that cute lil’ homie! We got back to my place at 10something, but we couldn’t stop talking and sat there for a while. Yawns overtook me and my voice grew tired. I knew I had to head to bed. Or to my apartment to blog. That’s more accurate. I’m already looking forward to our next date, whenever that is!

Tuesday is going to be another learning experience! I don’t even know what these lovely people will have me doing, but I can’t wait. I hope you’re all having great starts to your weeks! Much love, baybays!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

23 Responses to “First Day at VegNews!”

  1. 1 rediscoveringlauren

    hi hun
    im so so glad read how awesome your first day was πŸ™‚ everyone sounds super nice and the whole sitting down to lunch together is so cute! i love the idea!
    ohmygosh you and brooke met up..thats awesome :)! id say you had the best time, your both sweethearts..and you got amazing waffle cones..yumm!
    good luck in work tomoro and you ARE good enough so dont worry about that girlie, your gonna kick ass at this internship!
    xxxx

  2. 2 Shelby

    That is so cool about your new job girl!!!

    I love how they make you food, bonus! haha and those dates sound HEAVENLY!

    Aww, ice cream with the Homegirl sounds like so much fun =)
    I’m glad your enjoying San Francisco!

  3. 3 Amy

    You two are beyond flawless! Love it.

  4. That crunchy AB – I’m salivating over here! What a great lunch!! I wish my job had lunches like that, instead we get greasy pizza or in my case, a granola bar πŸ˜‰

    You are gorgy and you are going to be the STAR of your office!! Have a blast!

  5. YAY BLOGGIE MEET UPS! so glad to hear that work is going so well – so well-deserved πŸ˜‰

  6. Congrats on such a rockin’ first day!! And that review lunch sounds sooo fun, and perfect for the blog πŸ˜‰

    Glad you had an absolutely beautiful meetup!

  7. 7 Megan

    You sound like you had sooo mcuh fuN! You’re gunna have a blast this summer πŸ™‚ And YAY for bloggie meet ups! Those are always the best!!

  8. 8 april

    so cool you got to meet another blogger! That ice cream looks sooo good!

  9. 9 lowandbhold

    That lunch sounds amazing! What a great way to interact with your coworkers and learn new recipes. Brillz!

  10. The lunch looked so gooood! My tummy is growling now. I seriously need to do a blogger meet up with somebody because its sounds like you and brooke had a fab time! have a good day at vegnews

    xox bri

  11. 11 Bec

    glad the first day went so well and that you are having a blast in SF!

  12. 12 jaime

    omgomomg! i’m awful! so sorry i have been MIA with the comments– just catchin up now! so glad you are lovin CALI! and VEGNEWS– you go girl! that is sooo exciting and i’m beyond elated for you!

    looks like you are off to a great start– yay for meetin up with homegirl– she is too funny! love u lots xoxox

  13. Sounds like an amazing dream job for you! That’s so great!
    Homemade lunch every day?? I can’t even imagine how amazing that is! It looks so good too!
    And homemade goodies too? Lucky girl!

    That’s great you had an amazing eve as well! It’s fun to stay up chatting. πŸ™‚

    I hope you are having a great day!

  14. 14 Anna

    ohmygod that FOOD! Your lunch alone sounds like reason enough for moving across the country and leaving your family for the summer.

    Good luck on day #2!

  15. 15 BB

    that’s so great that your first day on the job went smoothly! All of your adventures in the city makes me want to drive to san fran right now ince I’ve never been.

  16. 16 The Novice Berker

    Aww, the VegNews gig and the meetup with Brooke both look like they were loads of fun. Glad you’re enjoying the good life in SF!! Can’t wait to hear about your job more, I love all the vegan foodie perks you’re getting. πŸ˜‰

  17. i am lovvvvving hearing about your new job!! heyo!! that tofu curry meal is something I crave DAILY. sooo yumz.

    hurray for a hot date!! so fun to have a bloggie friend close by!!!

  18. 18 homegirlcaneat

    HEY SUGA! I feel this complete and perfect bond with you now and would text you all the funny things on my mind..but they will have to wait until you are off da job! I wonder what vegan eats some Vegnews homie packed for lunch! If Frankie comes back with the dates, tell her she has a fan by the name of homegirl!

    I came home last night and was still in this surreal mode of meeting you beautiful face! I tried to remember all the stuff we talked about but seriously, I think we covered bits and pieces of our lifestories + other dog bowl topics and raw issues. aha! Next time, we are going on a mission where I will be completely focused to find MaggieMudd ice cream. It has to be DONE!

  19. 19 Sarah

    you’re going to be so perfect at this job!!! no chance at all that you won’t be good enough. the lunch system there is AMAZING. ahhh, sign me up! and the dates, omg omg. you must be in heaven! your ice cream date with homegirl is so cute. hope you’re enjoying today!

  20. Awww Kailey, I can tell that you are having SUCH a good time!!! I’m incredibly envious of your summa lifestyle! Working at an amazing business, eating home-cooked vegan food, living it up in your own apartment in the city, meeting brookie!!! Ohhh, good times!

    I’m glad you’re loving all your co-workers and that the first day went just perfectly! I gotta find that blue diamond almond butter, it sounds great! I hope today is going just as well!! LOVE YOU!!! xoxox

  21. oh! love hearing about your new gig! i bet it is going to be the most radtastic summer for you EVER! and ultra fun to have a blogger friend in the area to show you around. fun!

  22. 22 Kaley

    CURRY! Yum. Looks like you’re pretty much livin’ the dream, girl. Get it.

  23. Ahh, this is so amazing! I am so happy for you, Kailey. That lunch is such a great perk of the internship, that’s for sure πŸ™‚ And I’m glad you had the chance to eat up with a certain Homegirl! The ice cream looks delicious, but I bet the conversation was even better…yay!!


Leave a Reply

