Kailey’s in Cali!

31May09

The SnackFace has landed! After hours of smooth traveling, I am sitting at the dining table of my summer home, happily writing this. This is so unreal. But AMAZING!

As one may guess, I could barely sleep Friday night. I woke up at 8 a.m., then lay in bed with Matty Rich for a while and listened to “I’m on a Boat.” Stuck in my head all day! My favorite line is aboutย the flippy floppies. Being the skank I am, I bed-hopped into MamaJ’sย next for another cuddle round/ falling back asleep session. Eventually I picked myself up, drove to Kroger to buy coffee and then came home for breakfast:

Someone wanted a bite...

Someone wanted a bite...

I know that pic is ridiculously orange, but I had to share that cute little face begging. In the bowl: King Vitamin, almond milk, mango.

MamaJ and I packed a bit more, showered, got my things loaded into the car and hit the road. First we stopped by Popsicle’s work so I could squeeze him before leaving. Matty Rich was there too, so I got some more lovin’.

We got to the airport an hour and a half before my flight to check in my bags. I brought three enormous bags, which cost $140. Daaang! MamaJ and I waited a bit before I went through security. When we hugged goodbye, it couldn’t last long, or else we would have lost it! I am proud to say I kept it together and no tears were shed. Not yet, at least.

As I waited for my first flight to Charlotte, I realized I hadn’t eaten since the pineapple I had on the car ride to the airport. I SnackFaced all afternoon and this is the only picture I captured:

Odwalla Super Protein and my only reading material for the day

Odwalla Super Protein and my only reading material for the day

I was not impressed with that Odwalla Super Protein bar. It had no flavor. It was just sweet. The raisins didn’t even taste like raisins to me. I ate it all just because I knew I needed something. While I was eating, there was a guy sitting behind me sanding a wood figurine. I’ve never seen that in an airport before. Awesome.

The first flight to Charlotte was only an hour long. I sat next to a guy named Kevin, who is a biology major and was on his way to Baltimore. We talked about vegetarianism and I told him my concerns with soy. He said it really isn’t something to worry about. Hmmm…I dunno.

I speed-walked to my next gate, which was probably a mile or so away from where we were spit out. I barely had time to buy a four-dollar water before boarding. This plane was larger, and I had the center seat. Ick. To my left was a quiet girl who sipped water, listened to her iPod and snacked on raw almonds. To my right was a pale, red-headed man who grunted to himself and drank a Heinekin and two cans of Bloody Mary mix. In the center was me, the blonde chick reading Lady Chatterly’s Lover who snacked on sugar snap peas, Annie’s Whole Wheat Bunnies and some trail mix.

Five hours of sitting on my hiney not only made me sore, but also made me puffy, a lil’ GasFacey and tired. My reading materials were lackluster, but Victorian-era erotica kept me amused enough. That and the crying babies and chatty people in front of me. I don’t mind this. It’s so fun to listen to others’ convos. Am I a creep?

I was nervous that not all three bags would make it to San Fran. That is always my fear when traveling. It may have taken nearly half an hour, but I have all my belongings! There was this handsome, kind suited man who bought a cart for me to wheel my luggage around. The second I started to wheel away, the co-founders of VegNews stopped me and said, “we’re here to pick you up!”

YES! No more worries. Everything went perfectly and the most amazing people picked me up and took me to my new home! Joe and Colleen are the sweetest people ever! They helped carry my luggage to my apartment, which is conveniently located directly above the VegNews office, and guided me throughout the home. They also told me that my roomie won’t be here until next week. Whaaa? Homes is a big girl now! Single livin’! Anywho…

Next toย a guide of where to eat and visit, I found this:

VegNews goodie basket!

VegNews goodie basket!

Is that not the sweetest thing in the world? Oh my gosh, I am just gushing right now. Joe (or Jo, I’m not sure) and Colleen made me feel welcome and beyond excited for this summer!

When they left, I called MamaJ and then made some dinner in the micro. This was soooo tasty:

ZIYAD Brand 100% Vegan microwavable Middle Eastern Couscous

ZIYAD Brand 100% Vegan microwavable Middle Eastern Couscous

This is called Maftoul Baladi, which is a large, chewy, nutty couscous that had chickpeas in it and was topped with a tomato sauce. I needed something warm and toasty after snacking all day, ya know? But what I really needed after a day of traveling was this:

There may be two servings per package,...

There may be two servings per package,...

…but there was no way I was stopping at half! That cookie was delicious! So dense and sweet and somewhat salty and espresso-ey. Mmmm great ending to a great day!

Well my sugarplums, mama’s tired! It’s only 11 p.m. in San Fran, but it’s 2 a.m. in Ohio. Kailz is pooped! I cannot wait to fully unpack and explore tomorrow! Ahhhh! I’m so excited I could explode! Instead, I’ll just go to bed for now ๐Ÿ™‚ See you tomorrow for a taste of San Fran! (As if Brookebaby doesn’t give you enough ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  )

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Have you ever had to cope with a time zone change for an extended period of time? If so, was it tough? Did it take long to adjust?
Honestly, I don’t sleep much anyway, so I think I’ll be fine. I don’t normally go to bed till 2 a.m. or 3 at school anyway.

33 Responses to “Kailey’s in Cali!”

  1. 1 The Novice Berker

    WOW, what a gift basket! And that’s amazingly cool that the apartment is right above the office! The long flight sounds like it was a sucker though. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I hope adapting to your new environment goes smoothly; can’t wait to hear more!!

  2. 2 Sarah

    Welcome to the West Coast, Baby!!! I’m glad you and all your belongings made it safely. I think you’ll be fine with the time change in a few days. Enjoy your single livin’ and gift basket!

  3. 3 Lauryn

    yayyyy so glad you made it safely — here’s to a seriously amazing summer!!! i can tell already by the gift basket alone ๐Ÿ˜‰ i absolutely cannot wait to hear all about your adventures in cali and with the internship, live it up and enjoy every single moment because this is the time to do it! i know you will!

    oh last summer i lived in london for a month, which is a 6 hour time difference — you’ll adjust pretty fast, no worries! it was a little harder coming back home but don’t worry about it too much!

    ahhhh kailey im just bursting with excitement and happiness for you!!! lots of love.

  4. 4 Sarah

    you made it!!! i love your snuggle time with the fam before you left, so sweet ๐Ÿ™‚ i’m such an airplane (and everywhere) eavesdropper, too — it keeps things interesting!

    it’s so amazing how this whole internship worked out — and the vegnews people sound so friendly. i’m glad they’re there to look out for you! you’re already so stocked with that basket! you’ll be completely adjusted to the time before you know it. have fun!!!

  5. I never got fully adjusted to the 3-hour time change in Las Vegas – it was killer, haha ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Can’t wait to read more about your experiences out there!!

    And when are you going to come visit me?!?!??!!

  6. 6 rediscoveringlauren

    hi girlie
    im so glad you arrived safely ๐Ÿ™‚
    i loved your detailed descrition of the flight and surroundings…it felt like i was there haha!
    i cant wait to hear more about everything when you settle in darlin,
    have a nice sunday!
    xxxx

  7. 7 Shelby

    It took me about 5-6 days to adjust to the time change when I went to AZ, not too bad.

    I’m so excited for you sweetie!!! Have fun in San Fran, I’m so jealous. I wish I could come visit!

    Plane rides suck. Especially when you are seated in the middle…but it is fun listening to other’s convos. I’ll agree with that.

    Nice goodie basket! Enjoy =)

  8. 8 Emma

    It sounds like you are having a blast! Its great to hear!

    VegNews sounds like an amazing job – major Congrats!

    Love,
    Emma

  9. I love the flippy floppy line too ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh Andy!

    SCORE ON THE GOODIE BASKET!!! I’m so glad you made it safe and sound! I’m a big worrier when people travel.

    Time zones – ughhhh they blow balls don’t they? I always force myself to accept the new time zone (i.e. NO napping/relaxing at 1:00 in the afternoon).

  10. 10 Anna

    yaaaayyyy – I’m so happy you’re happy! The whole situation sounds too perfect, down to the sibling bonding over a Lonely Island song. The only thing that stinks is the obscene amount that airlines are now charging for checked baggage. There is NO WAY that 3 bags could cost that much to fly across the country.

    Keep snackfacing your way through that amazing basket, and I am so sure that you are going to have the most fantastically amazing summer EVER!

  11. 11 sue

    glad your flights went smoothly! what a great gift basket ot be greeted with, especially the cookies ๐Ÿ™‚ hope you have a great day of exploring!

  12. Aw yeea baby! Your are but a mere 8 hours and 1 horrendous drive from me!!!! I seriously need to find a way up there ๐Ÿ˜€ I can’t believe you are doing this, so brave of you, and it sounds right up your alley in terms of journalism and veggie-lovin. Have so much fun exploring, you must find the 4 story Forever 21! Do your bosses know about your blog or anything? I’m so excited to hear the new Snackface 2.0: uncensored in San Fran!! Have funnnn!

  13. Yay Kailey is on the west coast with me but i’m about a three hour plane right north =) Ught the middle seat I’ve been lucky enough to always get the window seat woo! The people at Vegnews sound like sweethearts and look at the gift basket – lucky girl!

    xox bri

  14. 14 Tra

    when i went to taiwan to visit my popsicle (i love that nickname you use for your pop) the time difference is killah- it’s 16 hours AHEAD. so yeah, meal times are killer- dinner in taiwan is like 3 pm at cali. not COOL. i woke up at 4:45 am every day of my 2 week vaccay in taiwan. FUN TIMES.

  15. 15 BB

    awesome goodie basket!! glad to hear your flight went well and i hope you enjoy exploring!

  16. welcome to the west coast girlie!!! im glad you didnt have too much flight stress and that your vegnews peeps picked u up and took care of you right from the start! that gift basket is too cute. they sound like such sweethearts!! whenever i do the east/west coast transition i am dead on my ass for at least a day and take a bunch of naps. but then its all good!!!! whoocali!!!!!!!!!!

  17. 17 Brooke

    Waaahhooooookazzzooooo!! You have arrived and I am so excited to help you explore this wonderful city! You are going to LOVE. Woohoo I am probs gonna text you later just because we are a mere 20 miles apart and I want to see what little adventure you did today!

    Ps. I’m sorry if it is foggy!

  18. Ahh I was thoroughly entertained by your travels yesterday! I’m so glad you arrived safely and that you’re already loving the vegnews crew and city!! That gift basket is ADORABLE! Bumblebars are interesting, but tasty! And yummm, I love those cookies! SO dense and chewy.

    PS-you can watch make me a supermodel on youtube!! Just type in make me a supermodel season 2 episode (whatever it is), part 1, etc etc……it has all the episodes in 10 minute segments, but it’s clear and everything, so you have to watch the finale if you get the chance! That’s what I had to do at school, and it’s no big deal!! Please, please watch it so we can DISCUSS! Woo Sandhurst or Brandon, agreed?! Yayyy!

    Good luck getting adjusted, and have funnnnn!!!! I CANNOT wait to hear all about your and brookie’s adventures and VEGNEWS!
    xoxo

  19. 19 Katharina

    That’s so nice of them to leave that basket for you. THOSE VEGAN COOKIES ARE AWESOME!!! I’m trying to remember what my favorite flavor is.. I think it’s a pumpkin something? Or ginger? THey’re all yummy ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. 20 homegirlcaneat

    p.s. I just creeped and you live right by the ZOO, the beach, and the Irish Cultural Center! ahah! Fun times ahead my love!!!

  21. 21 Megan

    OOH FUN CALI!!!! Have fun out there.. I can’t wait to hear all about it! That gift basket looks so amazing… lucky you!! You’re gunna have a blast this summer

  22. 22 A.R.

    Welcome to the West Coast! I’m in Seattle, but San Fran is definitely a fun city you’ll love. And don’t worry too much about the jet lag–I got to NYC a few times a year for week-long stints, and after about 2 days you feel pretty normal in the new time zone.

    And I’m jealous of your internship! It sounds like it’s going to be an amazing experience. Can’t wait to hear more ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. sorry you had to pay so much bank for your bags! damnnn!! I am so excited to hear about your upcoming adventures though!!! what a sweeeet gift basket!!

    and like MaMa Lovin said- I’m sure the time change will be fine!! Just give it 2-3 days!!

    Love you K!
    ~G.C.

  24. 24 Bec

    Ahh so much fun, glad the flights went fairly well cant wait to hear more from cali!

  25. 25 eatlivelovedream

    WElcome to california!!!!! Glad you made it safe:)
    Time change is no fun, but they (whoever they are) say It takes 1 day to adjust for every hour your off.

  26. You definitely should try to hit the Mission up. They have the most incredible restaurants. Try Herbivore, its completely vegan. Dosa and Range are really good too.

  27. You definitely should try to hit the Mission up. They have the most incredible restaurants. Try Herbivore, its completely vegan. Dosa and Range are really good too. Oh and Fresh Choice is my favorite restaurant! It’s a salad buffet. Haha.

  28. You definitely should try to hit the Mission up. They have the most incredible restaurants. Try Herbivore, its completely vegan. Dosa and Range are really good too, both on SFGates top 100. Oh and Fresh Choice is my favorite restaurant! It’s a salad buffet. Haha.

  29. You definitely should try to hit the Mission up. They have the most incredible restaurants. Try Herbivore, its completely vegan. Dosa and Range are really good too, both on SFGates top 100. Oh and Fresh Choice is my favorite restaurant! It’s a salad buffet. Haha.

  30. You definitely should try to hit the Mission up. They have the most incredible restaurants. Try Herbivore, its completely vegan. Dosa and Range are really good too, both on SFGates top 100. Oh and Fresh Choice is my favorite restaurant! It’s a salad buffet. Haha.

  31. You definitely should try to hit the Mission up. They have the most incredible restaurants. Try Herbivore, its completely vegan. Dosa and Range are really good too, both on SFGates top 100. Oh and Fresh Choice is my favorite restaurant! It’s a salad buffet. Haha.

  32. You definitely should try to hit the Mission up. They have the most incredible restaurants. Try Herbivore, its completely vegan. Dosa and Range are really good too, both on SFGates top 100. Oh and Fresh Choice is my favorite restaurant! It’s a salad buffet. Haha.

  33. my goodness gracious! so exciting.

    also. going to rome totally miffed
    my life up. well. adjusting from
    here to there wasnt HORRIBLE
    since i was too busy shitting my
    pants because i was in rome. but
    coming home. wonky for daysss.


Leave a Reply

