All My Bags Are Packed…

29May09

I’m ready to go… Okay, kinda but not really. I’m SO PUMPED to leave for San Fran and live out a dream, but I’m not so ready to leave my family and friends. I’ll just keep Fergie’s “Big Girls Don’t Cry” playing on repeat.

Anyway, things have been hectic, as one may expect when preparing to fly across the country. MamaJ is a master packer (would you expect anything less? nahhh, she’s good at everything), and she’s helped fit the majority of my wardrobe into two suitcases. There is a separate enormous duffle bag dedicated to my shoes and toiletries πŸ™‚

On the food front, Thursday was pretty good, despite the fact the only thing left over at the end of the day was celery as limp as Charlotte’s Trey MacDougal in Sex and the City (circa season three).

Before that point, however, I managed to throw this salad together after a lovely work out:

Yellowish mix

Yellowish mix

In dat salad: every bit of romaine I could salvage, red onion, corn, edamame, Roasted Garlic Sabra hummus, almond slivers, Bragg’s. To accompany this, I had an awesome sweet plate:

Biscuit with jam and an apple

Biscuit with jam and an apple

I had Bisquick Healthy Heart mix in my cupboard, and being out of Flat-Outs, I needed a carby component (IΒ don’t consider any fruits or veggies to be carbs–they’re simply fruits and veggies to me). So I halved the recipe on the back for biscuits, made four small dollops and baked them for 7 minutes. They came out perfectly! They were so good I had another after lunch.

I spent a couple hours cleaning and packing and needed a snack when the hands started to get a bit shaky. Hello delicious frozen protein treat:

De-frozen and de-veganized

De-frozen and de-veganized

I threw a Boca patty in the micro for 80 seconds, then topped it with fat free swiss for 10 seconds more and had a killer snack. No clue as to why it looks like an egg on top, though!

Popsicle and MamaJ arrived to help pack at 5 p.m. Within an hour, everything was loaded into the car, we stopped by Muffin’s house so I could say goodbye and then we hit the road!

Last night’s dinner was so late and so last-minute that I didn’t take a picture. I’m sorry! It was a series of odd things: generic Wheat Thins, Pink Lady apple, frozen mixed veg and mashed potatoes. MamaJ and I stayed up late watching the tube, as we normally do.

This morning MamaJ crept into my room and got in bed to cuddle for a while before we started the day. Eventually we gained enough energy to go downstairs for breakfast. I had a simple cereal breakfast:

King Vitamin with almond milk and banana!

King Vitamin with almond milk and banana!

For those of you who may not know of King Vitamin, it is a Quaker cereal that gets stuck in your teeth just like Cap’n Crunch, but doesn’t have nearly as much sugar. I adore it:

Star-shaped delight

Star-shaped delight

The bad thing about King Vitamin is that it keeps me content for a mere two hours. MamaJ and I got showered and dressed for errands.Β We rolled around town in her beautiful Benz with the top back all afternoon.

For lunch we stopped at an all-time favorite: Panera! YES:

1/2 Greek salad, 1/2 Garden Veggie soup, 1/4 whole grain baguette

1/2 Greek salad, 1/2 Garden Veggie soup, 1/4 whole grain baguette

When I say they gave me “1/4 whole grain baguette,” I mean they gave me a huge chunk that very well could have made up a fourth of a baguette. Panera never lets me down! Positively stuffed, MamaJ and I picked up plane snacks, went to the bank, visited Whole Foods and got those awesome vacuum seal bags that made my comforter packable.

Here is the food that will be accompanying me tomorrow:

Definitely prepared

Definitely prepared

Lots of fruit, carrots, sugar snap peas, bunnies and bars. I just want to be ready for whatever I may be craving.

We packed and cooked for a while before sitting down to dinner:

Delicious home dinner

Delicious home dinner

A few of my favorite things: butternut squash fries, Whole Foods’ General Tso’s Vegan Chicken, pineapple and salad. Multiply everything on the plate by at least two, and that’s what I ate. MMMM.

We’ve just been spending as much time as possible together. For an hour we stopped by a graduation party, but we’re all settled at home now, laying down tomorrow’s game plan. Enough of me and the internet time for tonight. More of the me and the family time tonight.

I hope your weekends are going well! See you in San Francisco!!!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

P.S. THANK YOU for all the traveling tips and suggestions! You know what’s crazy, though? I don’t have an iPod. There goes the music, but at least I have my laptop, good food and reading materials. OH, and people to observe. One of my favorite things to do. Are you a people-watcher?

Β 

Β 
24 Responses to “All My Bags Are Packed…”

  1. 1 e.

    Wow, it’s so exciting to see you heading off to… wherever your future will take you! I’m gettin’ old over here (like, 31, OMG) and I’m realizing that the future I’ve been preparing for is here. This is it. When did that happen? When did I grow up? Crap.

    Enjoy your time in San Francisco, suck every minute of joy and excitement out of it! And work really hard, of course, because some day you’ll be 31 and you’ll need a good work history. πŸ˜‰

  2. I am so so so excited for you, Kailey! I can’t wait to hear all about your adventures this summer πŸ™‚ Last summer was my first completely away from home, and it took some getting used to…but the experience was worth it!

    I just had the same meal from Panera for lunch today! Twins πŸ˜‰

    I love people watching!! It entertains me for hours, lol.

  3. 3 Sarah

    Yay, you will be a West Coaster soon! I think you need to drive to Oregon while you are here, for a little summer lovIN, no?

    I again am so touched by your relationship with MamaJ. I want to be her. And I want Gracie and Livy to be you, in more ways than one.

    I hope the flight goes quickly and that your seatmate is ultra cool.

    Love you Kale chips!

  4. 4 homegirlcaneat

    SEE YOU SOOOOOOON MY FRIEND!!!

    p.s. I really never liked Trey..it’s all about the Jew husband in the end!

  5. Once again i have to say that I’m so jealous you get to go live in SF for your internship! The biscuit with jam looks so English and so good. love the sex and the city reference there! Gah trey grossness I agree with Brooke it’s all about Harry =) Have a safe flight Kailey! I’m such a people watcher that’s why i love going to the airport to see all the diverse people mingling!

    xox bri

  6. 6 rediscoveringlauren

    hi hun
    love alla the eats everything looks so good!
    Im glad you and mamaj got to spend time together before you left for sandiago πŸ™‚
    have a safe trip love
    xxxx

  7. Have as safe trip Kailey!!! I love your snacks and melted cheesy boca!!!

    And i love tha Mama J popped inthe bed for a cuddle! Sounds like my Mami!! πŸ™‚

    take care and be safe……and as my Russian coach used to say, “have a fun!”

  8. 8 Yasmin

    Oh Panera’s. I haven’t had their black bean soup in far too long! Have a wonderful trip and bring back some good goodies. I love people watching too. It keeps me entertained for hours!

  9. I’M SO EXCITED FOR YOU!!!

    Those biscuits look fantastic! Look at you getting all southern on us πŸ˜‰ King Vitamin? I’ve never heard of it but now I clearly need it!

    Look at us, PANERA TWINS! Have a super duper safe trip!! Have fun watching the cuh-razies in the airport!

  10. 10 Bec

    safe travels girl, you’ll be fine and just think of all the fun experiences you will have!

  11. Good Luck hun!!! I can’t wait to see you blogging from the West Coast!

    I totally agree…fruits and veggies are not carbs!

  12. Glad you are getting some family time in girl! Enjoy being home, and keep us updated on your travels!

    I LOVE people-watching. It’s my job πŸ˜‰

  13. 13 BB

    you’ll do great in san francisco and before you know it, you’ll be back at home with your family, telling them of all the stuff you experienced while on your own!

  14. Hello beautiful! I loved your recap of the family time this weekend, I’m so happy that you got to spend some quality time with the fam and especially mamaj! Whenever I read about your adventures (from grocery shopping to tv-watching), I go run to my mom and beg that we take part in the same activities, immediately! πŸ™‚

    I’m so proud of your plane food, you covered all the bases-perfect for whatever type of snackface mood you’re in! And I cannot believe you don’t have an ipod…..do you not listen to musica when you work out?? I’m a multi-tasker and have definitely been known to read fashion/gossip mags AND bump out some gnarly rap tunes at the same time.

    All your food pictures are looking lovelyyyy, I hope you have a smooth & safe flight, and can’t wait to hear about your first night in the big cittttay! You’re going to love it.
    xoxo (ps….loved the tre comment, I feel like he carries over a similar personality as Bri’s hub on desperate housewives) !

  15. 15 Sarah

    kailey, i hope you’re having a safe safe trip!! it will be hard to be away, but you know we’re all here cheering you on! see you on the other side πŸ™‚

  16. 16 Anna

    You are going to have the most amazing time in San Fran, and while it’s sad to leave everyone behind for the summer, you will be doing too much awesome stuff to really feel upset about it after a while. Good luck, have a safe trip, and let us know if you see any crazy people/celebrities/hilarious incidents over your travels.

  17. 17 Megan

    ahhh omg have fun in cali!!! all your eats look DELISH, of course. i can’t wait to hear about your internship this summer… it’s going to rock rock rockkkkk!!

  18. looks like you are all ready to go!!!! i know how hard it is to leave your friends and family and boy but you will be back before you know it and san fran will be amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you are going to have such a good time, learn so many things, and be able to tackle anything when you get back. the best thing i’ve ever done for myself was move to LA. now i know i can go anywhere and do anything because i’ve had to!!!! you are gonna rock it out in san fran lady!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i never bring music on the plane either! but definitely books & snacks as a must. and people watching of course. dont stress about the flying. ur a smart cookie and it will be easy, really!

  19. Have a happy and safe trip Kailey!!!

  20. 20 sue

    yayyyyy cali cali!!! safe and happy travels! can’t wait to hear about san fran!

  21. 21 Katharina

    I want to go to Panera!!! I’ve been craving it for awhile nomnomnom!

  22. 22 Jess

    I know I’m a bit behind on this comment, but better late than never eh?
    I also LOVE Captian Vitamin. All my friends think I’m crazy but we always had tons of it at the camp I worked at and it was the one cereal that the kids wouldn’t touch so we always had surplus of it and I got pretty fond of it.
    That looks like a yummy Panera combo…I may have to copy-cat on my next visit.
    And lastly: What the heck is Vegan chicken made of? I’m so curious because it looks just like cut up chicken on your plate.
    Enjoy SanFran!

  23. 23 Nate

    Sorry for the super-delayed comment. I just needed to compliment you on the SATC Trey MacDougal reference. I plan on stealing that whenever something needs to be described as limp. I’ll be sure to cite my source. Well played.

    • 24 snackface

      Nate- Bahaha I’m so glad you appreciate that! And I’m pumped you’re reading!


Leave a Reply

