Wild Wednesday

28May09

HI pies! That’s a pretty lame title, but it really was a wild Wednesday that was non-stop from 7 a.m. to 1:30 a.m., Thursday.

I was ready to roll out of bed after only four hours of sleep because I can’t sleep at all this week anyway. I’m too busy and excited to sleep! To kick off the day, I started with another VitaTop yogurt combo:

Double Banana Nut n Flax Yogurt with Koffee

Double Banana Nut n Flax Yogurt with Koffee

In the bowl: Banana Nut VitaTop, 1/2 C fat free plain yogurt, 1/2 naner, drizzle Naturally More peanut butter, sprinkle of flax. This was delicious, but the banana flavor in the VitaTop could be a bit stronger. Other than that I loved it:

Joy

Joy

With a full tum, I headed to magazine feature writing class. We got into groups and went over edits we had made to others’ stories. It’s tough to take criticism from fellow students sometimes, as some don’t know how to deliver it in a kind manner. One of the students made me feel as though she was attacking me. “No, get rid of that ending.” “Why is this relevant to anyone who doesn’t live in Athens?” “The rest of this needs way more detail.” Uhhh, okay! But you know what? It don’t mattuh. Kailz got an A, baby! I felt much better after receiving my graded paper and talking to my prof, who, by the way, won’t be here next year. This bums me out so much because I finally found a journalism professor who I love and with whom I can talk openly. Shoooo.

I came home for a little lunch and spied kitty friend outside my window:

I'd let you in if I weren't horribly allergic!

I'd let you in if I weren't horribly allergic!

I threw together a mediocre lunch:

Borderline stale pita sandwich with apple and burnt pita crisps

Borderline stale pita sandwich with apple and burnt pita crisps

I used some of the pita to make chips in the toaster. Obviously, they went from toasted to charred in no time. In the pita: Laughing Cow, Sabra, pickles, lettuce. Good enough for moi.

Afternoon snacks included:

Kashi TLC granola bars and ancient grapes

Kashi TLC granola bars and ancient grapes

In my first afternoon class, we had a quiz about Lady Chatterly’s Lover. I may have had to make a couple answers vague, but at least I wasn’t totally clueless. For the 3-5 p.m. chunk, I worked on my magazine layout. With the help of one very kind student and my surprising memory for the lasso tool in PhotoShop, I ended up with a product that I wasn’t completely embarassed to share. That’s all I wanted! It kind of looks like a cookbook rather than a magazine, though. Woops.

For the last class of the day, my group had to present our project on Anais Nin. Everything went smoothly and we easily talked for an hour or so of class. We were handed back our midterms as well, and thank the sweet Lord above, I got another A. YES! After class my english professor hugged me and told me to have an amazing time. Earlier in the day (I have her from 1-3 p.m. and 5-7 p.m.) she told me to have a “summer lover” and to “have one perpetually.” Thanks, doc, I’ll see what I can do.

I came home at 7 p.m. tired and hungry, yet relieved that I had finished my last day of school this year. Can’t even believe I just typed that. Anyway, I ate some microed veggies while I baked the rest of dinner:

veg with lemon pepper

veg with lemon pepper

Ick. I ate these, but I realized that I just don’t like steamed veggies. I’d much rather have them raw. Or baked, as my whole dinner was:

Roasted eggplant and brussels with Boca Chick'n patty...and tons of ketchup

Roasted eggplant and brussels with Boca Chick'n patty...and tons of ketchup

In an attempt to use all the produce I have left, I baked the eggplant and brussels at 475* for 20 minutes total. The eggplant didn’t crisp up like I’d hoped, but it was delicious this way! Together, the meal left me not as full as I’d like. I knew how to take care of that:

Holy VitaBrownie!

Holy VitaBrownie!

Topped with a rosette of White Chocolate Wonderful, this brownie blew me away. I wasn’t expecting much, but the density combined with the rich chocolate-iness was fabulous! There were also melted chocolate chips throughout the brownie, which was a complete surprise. Loved this.

After dinner I went to the music building for a Tempo Tantrums (a capella group) meeting from 8:30 p.m. to 10:30. We talked business for next year, and then MisterMan picked me up.

We wanted to spend our last night together, but when he dropped me off I wasn’t sure I could. I still had to edit my barber shop story to turn in Thursday. Editing a piece of work on which you received an A, and of which you already love, is challenging! I finished editing (and snacking on 100 calorie popcorn with cinnamon and carob, followed by some Newman’s amazing mocha milk chocolate) at 12:45/ 1 a.m., got ready for bed and told MisterMan to come over.

We rarely spend the night together, but Wednesday night marked the last night we’ll spend together for months, if not forever.  Naturally, this deeply saddens me. I’m trying my best to keep it together and not bawl. I’ve known this has been coming.

This morning I awoke and felt as though I didn’t sleep at all. I don’t mind, though. MisterMan left at 8:15 a.m. and I made an awesome breakfast to help my starving self:

'Nother VitaTop creation!

'Nother VitaTop creation!

One of my favorite bowls yet: Cran Bran VitaTop, 1/2 C yogurt, 1/2 naner, blueberries, cinnamon, flax. Absolutely, exquisitely delicious:

Mmmmoaning

Mmmmoaning

With the incredible tips from all of you, I will be packing all day! I’ll try to roll some things, take only what I need, a lot of mix-and-match clothing, as few pairs of shoes as possible (which is impossible)…MamaJ and Popsicle will be here by 5 p.m. to help anyway!

Oh, and because I forget that I’ve been gaining fabulous new readers, I’m leaving Saturday to go to San Francisco for an internship with VegNews, the best vegetarian magazine. So what if I’m biased!

Alright, I’m going to go PackFace my day away, run errands and maybe work out a bit! See you all before Saturday’s departure!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: How do you stay sane while flying all day? How do you stay organized when traveling? What do you do to keep yourself amused while flying?
This is my first time flying solo, so I have never had to look for my flights alone. I normally follow MamaJ! I’m afraid I’m going to miss a flight or lose track of my carry-ons and luggage, or even get lost within the airport. This has to be pretty easy though, right?

34 Responses to “Wild Wednesday”

  1. I just found your blog and it’s making me smile on a slow day at work! Re: your frustrations with the Adobe programs (InDesign, Photoshop) – I highly recommend a series of books called Visual Quickstart guides. I’ve been using them for about 10 years, for all different programs, and they have saved my life many times! They are organized in a way that makes complete sense to me – you are in the middle of a layout and think, “How do I make the colour fade in this corner?” or “How do I flow my text through multiple text boxes?” and you look it up, and your answer is there. I can’t recommend them enough. Adobe also has great tutorials on their website.

    For your trip: pack healthy snacks, iPod, and a book. No matter how good the book is I always end up buying trashy magazines at the airport. They are just better to read on a plane somehow. Fly safe!

  2. haha i love traveling solo, i feel v. sophisticated and independent 😀 I make sure to eat a SOLID meal before flying and pack my own snacks, cuz you really don’t know when you’ll be eating again with delays and such! Pack some snacksters, books, muse, and scope out some hotties on the plane!!

  3. GOOD LUCK on your trip! Those are some good eats you have there! 😉

    And I know…relationships and love are tough stuff, believe me, but whatever happens, happens, stay strong Kailey!!!! 🙂

  4. those boca chickn patties look gooooooooD!

    in fact, all of your meals are gorgeous. your din, your vita top breakfasts, and even you “mediocre” lunch.

    i might try that eggplant! it really scares me usu.! I never know what to do with it.

  5. 5 Amanda

    ooo san fran! such a cool city, congrats girl!

    make sure you have some good reading materials for the airport. newsstands and starbucks are what i always frequent when i’m in an airport alone.

  6. Your breakfast is DIVINE, my doll! Of course you got an A – you are a writer extraordinaire!!

    Another reason why we’re soul sisters – I’m allergic to the kittehs too! My eyeballs get all itchy and I get sneezy. It’s just not pretty!

    Pita chips are charred to perfection. Eggplant and brussels are two things I’m too chicken to make myself. Why must I fear the veggies?!

    I’m a pro at flying: Pack all essential documents in a different section of your purse/carry on (i.e. that secret inside pocket or an outside pocket), bring sodoku/laptop/ipod to keep you busy, bring lots of SnackFace approved snacks just incase your flight is delayed, DON’T STRESS!!!, bring an empty water bottle to fill up after you get through security that way you don’t fork over $5 for a 16 ouncer, anddddd text me when you’re bored 😀

  7. I was just thinking I needed to subscribe to a Veg mag (I just became veg last week), so I think I found a winner : )

    As for flying all day… I just got back from Hawaii, and two 9 hour flights. It was not fun, I won’t sugar coat it, but the main thing I found trouble with was planning what to eat on the flights, because when I’m sitting there watching Bride Wars for the 3rd time, all I want to do is EAT! Haha, I’ve never flown along either, but my main piece of advice is to locate your gate BEFORE you go have drinks at the bar, my fam totally missed one of our flights to Hawaii because we thought the airport was tiny, we were sorely mistaken. Good luck with the packing, the flight, and the internship! So exciting!

    Question: Do you buy your brussel sprouts fresh or frozen? I just bought some frozen ones but I’ve never even tried brussels before and I’m scurred…

    • 8 snackface

      lowandbehold- I buy brussels fresh. I’ve never had them frozen, actually, and I find the roasting brings out this nuttiness that’s delicious. I also like them raw–it’s kind of like broc and cauliflower and cabbage. That may not sounds good, but it is.

  8. Busybusy girl!! First, I obviously love the way you slice up those vitatops for breakfast, genius!!

    Glad you and MisterMan got to spend your final night at school together, relationships that make you happy are so important.

    Good luck with all of your packing. When I fly, I bring at least 1,309 crosswords with me, my iPod, and trashy mags are a must. Organize your carry-on and put things you will need the most at the very top/most accessible places. I usually mess it all up by the time I reach my destination, but being organized in the beginning is what counts. 🙂

  9. Don’t you worry your PrettyFace! You’ll be just fine at the aeropuerto. Just don’t bring too much to carry on (it’s just more stressful!) and check all the overhead screens for your gate and time to see if there’s a change.

    The most awesome thing in the world for long plane flights are NPR podcast. Download podcasts of This American Life and Wait Wait..Don’t Tell Me. Seriously. Do it. They’re amaaaazing.

  10. 11 rediscoveringlauren

    hi girlie,
    haha “packface”..your wittinyess (?) makes me smile 🙂
    Love all the eats!
    congrats on the A on that paper hun, thats awesome 🙂
    goodluck wth all of the packing, its so cool your leaving for such an awesome opportunity so soon!
    xxx

  11. 12 Maya

    haha I remember when I was 13 or so I thought I would be smart and pick up some 19th century literature written by D.H Lawrence…yes, Lady Chatterly’s Lover. Let’s just say I was astonished by how tantilizing, and tittlizing, 19th century lit can be. Have to say though, Sons and Lovers didn’t quite match Chatterly, but not much else can top those ridiculous pet names they use in the novel.

  12. 13 Megan

    Those vita creations look sooo delicious!! I’ve never seen the brownie in our grocery stores though 😦 Have a fab Thursday!!

  13. 14 Emma

    Gook luck on the packing (I’m terrible at packing!). I hope your flight goes smoothly and all is well – my only advice is to find the gate as soon as you can. I’m not sure of your schedule, but don’t stop for lunch, or the bathroom, or whatever until you find your gate – then you’ll know where you are and how much time you actually have before you board.

    I hope the interview goes splendidly – VegNews is amazing!

  14. 15 Emily

    I was nervous the first time I flew by myself too, but I found it ti be kind of liberating. No one to worry about except yourself. I usually stock up on every health/fitness and celebrity news magazine I can find to read on the plane. 🙂

    Good luck!

    http://healthyfitmama.wordpress.com

  15. What a great internship opportunity! Will you still be blogging for us? I’m loving all the Vitatop goodness in your oatmeal. You are just like me and can’t get enough. I will definitely need to buy a new Foreman ASAP but thanks for offering up yours. Enjoy! Take lots of reading material and entertainment with you on the plane and HEADPHONES!

    • 17 snackface

      Hey Yasmin! Of course I will still be blogging! I’d feel so lost without it. I’ll be taking you all along the journey with me!

  16. Hey Smartie Pants, congrats on FINISHING the school year! Heck yeah!

    Best of luck with the packing up girlie. I wish I could help you, I think packing is fun! Especially when it involves setting off on a great and crazy adventure to a whole new set of experiences. I can’t WAIT to hear all about it.

    I’m sure the flying thing will be JUST fine. I’ve never traveled all alone but I know I would have the exact same concerns. No worries though, I’m sure it’ll be easy peasy! I just listen to music while flying to pass the time, watch movies if they are showing on the plane… and crosswords! Those things are strangely addictive 🙂

  17. CONGRATS on being done with classes Kailey!! Ohhh, how great does that feel??? I understand that it’s both a good and sad feeling! But…. this only means that you are now on to bigger and better things (cough VEG NEWS & summer) !

    I can’t believe I couldn’t find any vita tops yesterday at my two main grocery stores (tj’s and henry’s)….i’m still on the lookout because I can’t handle another post from you or K featuring those thangsss, yogurt and peanut butter….ohhhh!

    Hope everything’s going ok with the misterman situation, I’m glad that you two got to spend your last night together!

    And for the plane ride; buy your fave trashy mags & fitness mags, download some new tunes and get very little sleep the night before (so that you can easily pass out on the plane ride)…that’s how I always go about it anyway! I usually fall asleep before the plane even takes off, but then I wake up with being in the air for a mere, 20 minutes! Travel safely, and don’t worry….you’re not going to get lost or miss anything! Love youuu!!

  18. CONGRATULATIONS ON THE “A” KAILEY!!!

    Love the roasted eggplant! I’ll have to try that one.

    Mmm, I love the little rosette of PB! So cute! haha

  19. 21 Anna

    Congrats on that A! That girl had no clue what she was talking ’bout.

    I fly home quite a bit, and since there are no non-stop flights between Pittsburgh and Burlington, I’ve gotten quite good at managing various airports. I recommend bringing plenty of reading material or stocking up in a newstand once your there, and pack your own snacks. Those places have ridic pricing and it’s usually not stuff that I would actually want to eat. I also bring an empty water bottle through security and then fill it at a water fountain. I just hate paying for water and this way I don’t get hassled for packing liquids. Once you get there, beeline your way to your gate, stopping to look at the monitors to see if anything has changed. Once your there, your golden and can wander where you like, but I’ve been more than a little confused at random airports, had to take those stupid shuttle buses between gates, and had to run for my flight. Not something I would recommend doing at ALL.

    I’m so excited for you. Keep us updated on your awesome adventure!

  20. ohhh…i hear you about the relationship stuff. i’m currently struggling w/ that issue as my job ends and me and my boy (aka coworker) have no idea what’s going to happen to us. i’m trying to keep a smile on my face through to the end of it…:( i mean, :).

    and for flying: mags and ipod! always a must! and crossword puzzles!

  21. oh that is a bummer you are allergic to the kitties. that one is really adorable! haha tempo tantrums–loving that name. and lovvve the vitatop bfast mess!

    you are going to have SUCH a fun adventure being an intern! i am so envious of you! that will seriously be such a great experience. i can’t wait to hear all about it. and what a great spot to be livin.. i love it there!

    as far as traveling goes, i have done mass amounts of solo travel and all i need is an ipod and a good book or magazine. good luck to you!!!!

  22. 24 homegirlcaneat

    You will be fine by yoself! I used to fly by myself all the time going to boarding school and back. SF to Atlanta to Chattanooga. Yuck it was so long..that’s one of the main reasons why I came back to finish high school! But it is so easypeasy you will be tots good!

    I am sorry about you and MistaMan. As I creeped through your fbook pictures I saw all his adorable captions on the pictures he took of you! But no worries, tell your prof you already have a summer love and her name is Girl, Home.

    PS. The last picture of your blueberry breakfast is fabular.
    PPS. 2 DAYS SHAWTY!

  23. I had to fly 17 hours to Singapore. that was hell, but if you’re in a good plane, they provide pretty good movies…but bring books and magazine, and def bring your own stash of snacks because airplane food sucks!!
    congrats on the A! you’re one smart cookie, so don’t let other people’s critiques get to you!
    all your bowls look beautiful…I think your breakfast has a banana smile. but if you flip it over, it’s a vitamuffin smile. haha!

  24. 26 elise

    Hi !
    I’ve been reading for a while (I used to have a blog but freaked out about too much information about myself on the internet……alas, no more) and I think your blog is FANTASTIC and I’m always excited for an update.

    Do you have an email address that I could contact you at? I had some questions about recipes and stuff you eat but couldn’t find your email address 😦

    Let me know! (And if you don’t want me to email you, also let me know– i could ask here!)
    Elise

  25. 27 Bec

    good luck packing! Dont worry about the flight, just stay relaxed and dont be afraid to ask security for help or directions!

  26. Kailey,

    I hope you are having a great night sweetie! Hooray for Friday tomorrow, mais oui?

    When I fly I take a day or two and allow my google reader to build up. Then I hit the offline button and read all of the built up posts on the plane. It’s great to pass the time!

    Have a glorious night, my darlin!

    With Love,

    Emily

  27. 29 Sarah

    Ooh, Emily’s idea is GENIOUS! I never thought to do that! Anyway, I was going to suggest magazines, books, iPod, crosswords/soduko (K’s love), movies/TV on the plane.

    I got a little teary reading about your night with Mister Man. I swear, something is up with my hormones (too much soy???) because I am a blubbering idiot.

    I hope you have a fabulous Friday and the safest of trips!

  28. 30 saleblan

    Mmm…I’m drooling over the roasted brussell sprouts. Delicious! 😀 I totally agree that veggies are best when baked.

    Love your blog, by the way! 😀

    Sarah (www.slowthingsdown.wordpress.com)

    • 31 snackface

      Sarah (saleblan)- Thank you so much for loving some SnackFace!

  29. Mmm delicious…:) I love your breakfasts 🙂

  30. kailey those yogurt messes with the vita muffins are making me so hungry!! they sound great!! have you tried adding in the chocolate one?

  31. 34 Katharina

    Your VitaTop creations look so delicious!!!


Leave a Reply

