I’m a, I’m a a Diva

26May09

Hi pooks! I’m back in Athens, which means I’m back to insanity. I can’t even believe all the work I have to do, and I shouldn’t be blogging, but I cannot help myself. It’s 1:30 a.m., what else am I going to do? Sleep? I don’t think so. This one’s going to be quick and dirty, though πŸ˜‰

SUNDAY
Making breakfast in my parents’ home posed to be a bit of a challenge at first. I sucked it up, though, and settled for quick oats, made stovetop. Compromise, ya know:

Quick oats with White Chocolate Schmear. Or skidmark. Whatevs.

Quick oats with White Chocolate Schmear. Or skidmark. Whatevs.

In the bowl: 1/2 C oats, 1 1/2 C water, cinnamon, ground clove, 1/2 naner, spoon White Chocolate Wonderful. I wallowed around an empty house for a few hours, packed, washed the face, got pretty, then made lunch:

Shrimp and bean salad with a Pink Lady

Shrimp and bean salad with a Pink Lady

In the salad: mixed baby greens, few left over shrimp, mixed bean salad, few blue corn tortilla chips. This was a perfectly colorful lunch!

Muffin picked me up and we took our sweet time getting back to Athens. One of our stops was Pizza Hut.Β  I like to take you where most food bloggers don’t. It may be sad, but I thought this was a delicious dinner:

Bread sticks!!

Bread sticks!!

Muffin ordered a personal pan pizza with a side of breadsticks, and the lovely gentleman working gave us this huge slate of bread sticks for FREE NINETY NINE. Hell yeah. I ate about five or six pieces. Dunno, wasn’t really counting.

We made it back into town, dropped off my belongings, went to Muffin’s for a bit and then headed out to enjoy our last outing of the quarter. Inspired by VeggieGirl, I asked Muffin to take this truly horrific picture of me:

I don't know how I got to be so stacked.

I don't know how I got to be so jacked.

Those giant mugs in the forefront are not mine, I swear. And I’m not talking about my tots. Anyway, the night was fun to a point, and then some things went down. I’m talking huge fight with MisterMan. I’ll spare you the details, as we’ve already made up, but it made for a nasty night and morning. Love stinks, yeah yeah. Sometimes.

MONDAY
I awoke feeling a little sad, a little dehydrated and a lotta hungry. I cooked up the very last of my oat bran to take care of the hanger inside:

Flaxy Oat Bran

Flaxy Oat Bran

In the bowl: 1/2 C oat bran, 1 1/2 C water, cinnamon, 1/2 naner, flax, spoon of Naturally More p.b. I got showered and dressed after I digested. I made sure to look super cute because… my a capella group recorded our FIRST CD all day Monday!

Oh my gosh, it was a blast! We recorded from 1 p.m. to 8:15 p.m., and somehow managed to stay upbeat with voices in-tact. It was crazy to record my Barbie Girl solo and hear my voice! It was so pure and ringier than in my head. I realize that may not make any sense, but that’s how I describe it. Overall, I was just so happy to spend the day with amazingly kind, hilarious and talented women. Love my girls!

I packed these snacks to hold me through the day:

Snackaroonie

Snackaroonie

I ate the apple, butΒ the girlsΒ ordered pizza, so I had to join! I had two small pieces, sans cheese. I’ve said it before, but cheese on pizza reminds me of snot and rubberbands. Or Gak. It’s just not my thing. Bread, however, is my thing.

MisterMan picked me up from the music building and drove me home. We hung out for a while, talked things out, hugged things out, SuckFaced things out (haha Popsicle, I know you’re reading! Sorry!), and then my audibly rumbling tummy said, “feed me.” Here is the grossest picture of my dinner. Please excuse the bobby pin that snuck in:

Janky

Janky

Do the janky leg dinner: salad with romaine, spinach, okra (that I picked out because it was making me gag), corn, Vegan Boca, almond slivers, Country Bob’s All Purpose Sauce, Kraft Fat Free Caesar Italian (do not buy–tastes like toe jam), dab of ketchup. Broccoli definitely was eaten with more ketchup. And dinner definitely was washed down with Coke Zero. I needed a lil’ sunthin’ sweet afterward, and a freezer full of VitaTops needed to be tended to:

The series of ugg pictures ain't stoppin'

The series of ugg pictures ain't stoppin'

If those chips are supposed to taste like peanut butter, then I have no clue what I’ve been eating with my oats every morning. Actually, I think this was my fault. I kinda burnt it in the micro, which I didn’t know was possible. I’ve had two VitaTops so far, and the first bite is always the same: “is this chocolate-flavored? What is this texture?” The following bites go as follows: “I. Am. Addicted. Must. Find. Correct. Descriptors.” I like these discs so far, for unbeknownst reasons. I’ve even had daydreams of layering two or three of them and putting a peanut butter icing between the layers, and then eating it like cake. Mmm.

I edited papers for a while after that, and then got hungry again. Salty this time:

No, that's not my camera's wrist string thing you see in the bottom right corner

No, that's not my camera's wrist string thing you see in the bottom right corner

Just a little 100 calorie popcorn with chili powder and peppa. Now I should go to bed. It’s super late now, and I have twenty hundred things to do tomorrow! I love you all and hope you enjoyed this truly wack-a-doodle post!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Have you ever thought about going vegan? What made you want to contemplate it? Have you gone vegan? Why or why not?
I briefly mentioned this the other day, and I will probably dip in and out of eating vegan this summer. The main reason is because I’ll be working at VegNews, where most, if not all, staff members are vegan. I’ve contemplated trying this for months, and I have a hard time setting strict rules on my eating, which is why I’m hesitant to fully commit myself. But deep down, I don’t want to eat something that has harmed another being in the process, in any way. This is bizarre, but I think of my dogs and how heartbroken I’d be if someone tried to milk them or eat them or hurt them. I’m such a weirdo, but that’s how I think of it sometimes! So basically, I’m still meditating on this one.

36 Responses to “I’m a, I’m a a Diva”

  1. 1 The Novice Berker

    Good Lord, woman! Those are some GUNS. Ahaha!

    To be honest, I’ve thought about going vegetarian (I don’t think I could do vegan but I’d like to think my reasoning is the same), but I know I couldn’t stand to put myself into any category but “omnivore” when I love all kinds of food SO much. πŸ™‚

    P.S. Why didn’t I ever think to put chili powder on my popcorn before?? Yum!

  2. 2 rediscoveringlauren

    hi girlie,
    wow, check out those guns haha πŸ™‚
    love all the eats, and im glad you and muffin had a fun night out!!
    i dont think il even ever be a vegeterian, let alone a vegan. i dont want to ever restrict what i can or cant have again when it comes to choices..i prefer knowing i can go for meat free options when i want but also enjoy some fish or chicken if i feel like it. i think being vegan takes a lot of determination and its a personal choice people really have to feel happy about.
    that vitamuffin looks so good!
    have a great tuesday hun
    xxx

  3. 3 Shelby

    This is one of my favorite posts from you…
    1. Truely horrific picture? Can you even take a bad picture? I don’t think so…and your guns are huge!
    2. That is so amazing that you recorded a CD with your group. I’m still waiting to hear your singing voice!!!
    3. I’m totally with you on the cheesy pizza thing. I hate rubbery cheese so I just eat the bread. I did make a pizza yesterday with peanut sauce and veggies on it. I ate half =0
    4. I am a vegan, as you probably know already. I went vegan for ethical reasons. I didn’t want to eat animals anymore and I saw how much they suffered for humans. I also did it for health reasons. My skin was so much better because of no dairy and I felt more energized. For me, I wasn’t restricting my food. I was becoming more creative and open to trying new and delicious foods. Do what you want girl, only you know what is best for you!

  4. look at those guns girlie! wow!
    haha pizza hut is never bad in my book..excpet they closed down the one in my town :\ boooo.

    your oatbran looks fabulous my dear! as for the vegan thing, I say if you feel it is right for you then go for it πŸ™‚

  5. 5 Bec

    Sorry you and mister man had a fight. Love the shrimp salad, it looks amazing!

  6. 6 Emma

    I’ve tried going vegan, but at the moment, I can’t afford it. 😦 However, once I’m out of college, you bet I’ll go back.

    I hope you have a lovely day – after singing all that time, I’m sure you feel great (singing gives me endorphins!)

    You can’t take a bad picture, try as you might.

    Love,
    Emma

  7. damn gurlllllllll LOOK AT DEM GUNS

    bread sticks! droolz!

  8. 8 e.

    Hi Kailey!

    I have been vegan for THREE WHOLE WEEKS yo, so let me tell you how it is, since I’m an expert. πŸ˜‰

    I kid.

    I thought of going vegetarian after reading about all the pesticides in the meat/milk/dairy. There are super duper high levels of pestys in there, and unlike fruits and veggies, you can’t soak them in Veggie Wash and pray you got it all. And it’s not like I”m worried about dying of exposure or getting cancer (although that is a possibility someday) it’s just I heard that the pestys can make your metabolism go wonky and I wanna lose these last 5 pounds.

    Yeah, me = vain.

    So I thought I’d go vegetarian and still eat eggs and cheese because I LOVE EGGS AND CHEESE AND CANNOT GIVE THEM UP. My plan was to have animal based products only once per day. But when I went vegetarian, I found it was actually really easy to just skip the eggs for breakfast and not put cheese on my pizzer or sammies. Haha, I hope all my food nicknames make sense. πŸ˜‰

    I read Brendan Brazier’s “Thrive,” Dr. Fuhrman’s “Eat to Live,” and Jillian Michaels’ “Master your Metabolism” and they all convinced my that animal products are really not things I need/want to put in my body and so I just very easily went from being lacto-ovo vegetarian to being full-on vanity vegan. This website (which I found from the Sunshine burger site) was very convincing as well: http://www.chreese.com/veganism.html

    So the last three weeks have been fab! I feel great, my digestion is great. I had a bit of a meltdown one day when I was baking blueberry crumble cake for a friend who just had a baby. I messed something up and the bars came out dry and so I couldn’t give them to her and I was stressed and ate like half a pan in 5 minutes. The next day? I got a huge cyst on my chin. I thought it could have something to do with the butter, which I hadn’t had in a week.

    Saturday was my anniversary with my handsome husband and he took me out for a swank feast at a place I’d been pestering him to try in my non-vegan days. I decided to not be a vanity vegan for the day. I ate butter on my bread and some salmon. Next day? A new acne cyst on ma chinny chin chin.

    So in sum (boy, I think my comment is longer than your post!) I am so pro-vegan diet. It is by far the healthiest thing I have ever done for my body. I read around a bit to make sure I could get the B-vitamins and zinc I needed in my diet because those are largely only found in meats. Make sure you have a good supplement on hand. Certain brands of nutritional yeast are formulated to support vegans, like Red Star, but you have to make sure they specifically have been fortified with B-12.

    Congrats on your internship at VegNews! I am super jealous. πŸ˜€

    • 9 snackface

      e.- THANK YOU for the killer comment! Wow, I had no idea dairy could affect the skin like that. Thanks for the link, too! I definitely have a lot to ponder.

      • 10 e.

        My pleasure! The grossness on my face has nearly healed up and there are no new arrivals (I used to break out every other day pretty much). So I am mega stoked! It started when I was 25 and went to law school — I thought it was just stress but I’m remembering the junk I ate and I’m thinking I could have saved myself a lot of heartache and wasted money if I’d just gone vegan back then! πŸ™‚

        Again, so incredibly vain. πŸ˜€

  9. Dang girl you are ripped! I could not go vegan b/c I love my dairy too much!

  10. 12 Amanda

    congrats on the cd recording! such exciting times!

    i’ve never thought about going vegan–mainly because i’m in college and on a meal plan that would make it far too difficult. i like meat too! but i am consciously trying to eat less of it these days.

  11. I really shouldn’t read your blog as I drink water because “skid mark” almost made me choke! Thank you πŸ˜‰

    Pizza hut bread sticks? To die for!! DELISH!! Look out Mr. Sexy Hot – Ms. Snack Face is coming after you!!

    I warned ya with the PB Vitas!! They’re no bueno! Oh PB why did Vita have to massacre your pure taste?! I’ve contemplated the whole vegan thang now and then but I love my Greek yogurt and melty cheese way too much. VIEL GLUCK with your week, chickpea πŸ™‚

  12. 14 Lauren

    Hi, I’m new to your blog and I really enjoy reading it! I’m vegan, and have been now for… 2 years? Maybe 3. Anyways, after reading many health books, I could no longer justify taking the milk of baby calves. What if women were constantly kept pregnant, milked and then the milk meant for our babies were given to dogs to drink? I just found it really crazy when you think of it like that. Plus, it’s not even something we NEED to have and it’s so pausterized and chemical-ly that it is not good for us AT ALL. Eggs are a little touger to justify not having, especially if they are from a small farm, where you know they are free-range/organic. But being already vegetarian, and not eating dairy, I was like, “Well I’m almost vegan, so I might as well just not eat eggs so I can be called a true vegan.” That was my reasoning anyways, and sometimes I do want eggs, but I never have them because I worry that I’ll regret it. Hope that helps… πŸ™‚

  13. Holy Hot GUNS. I’d be scared to run into you in the street.

    I’m kind of lusting after that giant boxed slab of breadsticks. Pizza Hut breadsticks used to own my heart when I was a youngin. I haven’t had them (or any pizza venue breadsticks for that matter) in ages and now that I see them staring at me from your picture right now, my heart kind of aches for them.

    Congrats on the solid recording session! That’s a whole lotta hours of singing. My voice would be shot. I want to hear your Barbie Girl!

    As for vegan, I haven’t really ever considered it, at least not for this point yet in my life. I wouldn’t ever rule out the possibility but right now I don’t even really want to restrict myself to vegetarian status (although I’ve definitely considered at least that much and hardly eat much meat anyway so I could see myself going there at some point) and my great love for all things yogurt and cottage cheese does not yet want to be ended. I’d be interested to see you dabble in veganism though, especially working for the magazine. Let us know what you decide to do on that front fo sho!

  14. Damn girl show them guns off! Thats so awesome your singing group gets to record a CD! Your a superstar! Mmm I haven’t had popcorn in foreverr.

  15. 17 lowandbhold

    Totally rockin guns girl!

    I just went vegetarian two days ago, and I’m still eating eggs and dairy. I hope that over time I can lean more toward a vegan diet, but I’m not sure if I’ll ever make it to 100%. I think it’s a great lifestyle though, and if it’s something you are ready to try I say go for it!

  16. Hey gorgeousss, CHECK OUT THOSE GUNS!! Get it girllll! haha, so I think you’re silly for saying that all these pictures are UG, they aren’t at all! Your oats are looking just as pretty as always and the salads looks just as delish and creative!

    Sorry about the misterman drama, but glad you suckfaced it out and made up! hahah…..your poor dad must have loveddd that comment!

    I’d say it’s great that you want to go semi-vegan, but I know how much you loveeee your crack wraps, and cottage cheese and snacks!! Most of them have a pinch of dairy in ’em, so you would be giving up a lot of of your favorite foods!!

    I wish you lots of luck this week, and I know that you’re going to do GREATTTTT!….Have fun, you’re almost done!!

    ps-congrats on recording for the capella group CD, that’s huge!! πŸ™‚

  17. 19 ellie

    awesome guns!

    have you ever had goats cheese on pizza? it doesn’t melt, so no snot factor involved πŸ˜‰

    the PB chip vitatop isn’t bad if it is just left to defrost- the chips seem to burn instantly in the microwave for some reason!

    I could never be vegan…need my Fage fix!

  18. you better call the vet because those puppies are siiiiiiiiiiick

  19. 21 homegirlcaneat

    Yo shawty! I was a vegetarian all of last year and a vegan for one month! It was really interesting yet really hard just because you can’t really go out to eat and tempeh scares the sh!t outa me! But I loved eating so clean and healthfully. Being a vegetarian however, was TOTS MY THING! I think I will probably eat more vegetarian or completely go back to it just because meat can seriously freak me out and the chemicals put into it and the animals harmed..AH! But VegNews will be sooo inspiring! All those people will have so many good vegan recipes and places to eat!

    To get you excited for SanFran..

    I really hope you aren’t a homophobe because this is the BEST WEEKEND EVER! So crazy, so many peeps, so much dancing, so little police involvement, SO MUCH FUN!

    and

    http://www.cafegratitude.com/cafemenufeb08

    SUCH A GOOD vegan restaurant/cafe!! One of the most popular in sf and you WILL LOVE! We will have a bloggie date here FASHO πŸ˜‰

    • 22 snackface

      homegirl- Oh my gosh, I love you! You just make me more and more excited for the summer! And hell naw, I ain’t no homophobe. I checked out that incredible menu, too. YESYESYES we must go on a date there!

  20. okay, i totally have this strange pizza hut obsession where i never want it but a few times a year i will have a massive craving and plan my whole life around eating a gorgeous personal pan pizza and some breadsticks. or a huge pizza if im attempting to share with someone. it only tastes good to me that one time and then i dont want it again for another 6 months. is that weird??? anyway.

    sorry about your fight with MM, glad you kissed and made up! its the GD timing!!!

    hmmm ive never really thought about going vegan. i’ve eaten mainly veg many times in my life but just because im not a huge meat eater. of course now i am trying to eat more chicken and fish and less starches and carbs so there goes that one!

    thanks for your sweet comment πŸ™‚ im feeling so much better now that i am holding myself more accountable for some of my crappola eating as of late. i just need to get back in the groove and all will be good, i think!!!

  21. Kailey,

    Hello darlin girl! Hope your Memorial day was as fanfreakin relaxing as mine.

    Your post today brought such a happy smile to my face. For three reasons:

    1- That wanna-be body builder pic

    2- The beyond awesome idea of sandwiching vita-tops (which I am DESPERATE to try)

    3- The fact that you are working at VEG NEWS! Congrats. That is beyond awesome.

    Happy Tuesday!

    With Love,

    Emily

  22. daayyuumm doin’ work wit those breadsticks!!! Love it πŸ˜€ Congrats to matty rich, your fam is adorable- and AH so excited for your WC debut- you are gonna love it!!

  23. 26 Anna

    Damn, girl. You got some GUNS.

    I’ve gone vegan (given up dairy and eggs) and it’s really made me happy. I don’t have to worry about the cows that are being squeezed by machines on a daily basis or the chickens that have their beaks chopped off. Granted, I’ve never been able to experience the magic of Greek yogurt and social situations are kind of awkward, but I think it’s totally doable and worth it. Even if you just try to really avoid dairy and eggs and minimize your consumption of it, you can make a huge difference. I’m so glad your really thinking about doing this, and with all of the alternatives out there you will really not miss that stuff a bit.

  24. 27 Sarah

    haha, i love that you take us into uncharted blogger territory :-). those bread sticks are amayyyyyyzing. and so are your muscles, superwoman!!!! and you’ve had such a packed return to athens. no rest for the weary, huh?

    and yes, watch out for those vitatops! at first bite, nothing special. next thing you know, you’ve gone through the box and they’re popping up in your dreams and you MUST get more.

    just caught up on the grad post, too — your family is so talented.

    enjoy your last athens day tomorrow!

  25. damn, check out those biceps! you’re rocking those muscles lady!!

  26. 29 Megan

    Those bread sticks are SOOOO good!!! Whatever, you deserve those breadsticks girl! Love Vitatops too.. so delish!!

  27. 30 jaime

    hey love!! ughh — the fudgy pb vita is my least fav– i TOTALLY dont get where the PB taste comes in?!?!?

    sorry about the fight with mister– but i’m so glad you worked things out πŸ™‚

    those breadsticks are THE BEST– i used to eat them for dindin all the time πŸ™‚ hehe

    and girlll your arms are amazingly toned and beautiful!!!!!!! πŸ™‚ xoxox

  28. lol! dang, girl, you’ve got some muscles! nobody shall mess with you now!
    gosh, I remember those breadsticks from Pizza Hut! I LOVED them, dragged in marinara sauce…have been a while since I had them!
    sorry about the little tiff, but relieved that you guys made up!
    oh, and please join our Warm Fuzzies game! something tells me you’ll be a popular one!

  29. hey kailey, to put the logo on your blog, go to the widget link and enter in the code I provided into a text box! I hope that makes sense!

  30. 33 Sarah

    Oh, I’ve missed you! The bad parts of not having the internet for 22 hours of the day. I have found a lot of good parts too, but I miss your Snacky Face!

    I love e.’s comment. I must go read each and every link/book/etc. I am about 75% there, and I really don’t miss my eggs, and dairy just slips in here and there. (TWSS?)

    I love your Janky dinner. I’d be all over that like you on Mister Man. Sorry Popsicle.

  31. 34 Tina

    I am a vegan… or as good as. I “slip up” every once in a while (mainly it’s certain non-vegan treats we have here in Sweden that I just cannot resist and the occassional cheese sandwhich). I decided to go vegan after reading Skinny Bitch, clichΓ© I guess but that book was very interesting to me and I have read a lot since that book too that has only confirmed what they say in Skinny Bitch. Plus, I’ve never been a big fan of meat and have been a vegetarian for several years, so it wasn’t hard for me to take the step to being a vegan. Like I said though, I do have the occassional meal that isn’t vegan, especially if I’m eating out and there’s nothing suitable on the menu. Then I’ll cut myself some slack and have whatever is the closest to vegan. I never ever eat meat though. Fish I’ll eat very rarely but basically if I’m not eating vegan I’m eating vegetarian.

  32. GUN SHOW ALERT!!!!!!!!!!!! yayyy mamaaa! those are lookin good πŸ™‚ haha. i eat lots of vegan meals and owuld love to be vegan but i feel like if i put a label on myself then i start craving the foods i’m not “allowed”. im constantly experimenting with foods and am tryign to see what works best for me. hopefully i’ll figure it out soooooon

  33. a. !!! pizza hut breadstick. throwback for suuuuure.

    b. you. me. bicep off. now. id so win.

    c. you KNOW who i expect you to be suckin face with this time next week.

    d. vegan. hell nah. i love cottage cheese/edys ice cream.
    [id love to give it a shot but i am so weak.]

    e.


Leave a Reply

