Out of Order

20May09

Hello beautiful people! Tuesday was such an odd day. Actually, the day itself was great, but my tastebuds were out of order, which means my eats were as well. Things were not tasting right, I became nauseated at the thought of certain foods, I couldn’t finish meals…bizarre. I blame the sinuses.

I woke up and fought with WordPress and Google Reader to try to get my post to show up. I gave up after an hour, ate half a banana with Naturally More and went to the gym.

I took it slow on the elliptical in an effort not to worsen my sad sinus state, and it wasn’t until mile 5 that I truly couldn’t breathe. Something in the gym was causing my entire face to pucker and scrunch in itchiness. The left nostril filled with, well, you know, and I quickly gathered my things from a locker and hobbled to the bathroom just in time to prevent a nasal downpour. Sex-ay.

Skipping my ab session, I walked home proud that I had done any form of excercise at all. A cleansing shower later, I fixed my first meal of the day. Breakfast foods were not feeling right, so I had le crack wrap:

griddled hummus and cheese wrap, carrot barricade, watermelon and strawberry salad...coffee was had as well

griddled hummus and cheese wrap, carrot barricade, watermelon and strawberry salad...coffee was had as well

As I ate, I read blogs and then put on my face for the day. I packed up the gorgeous cherry red Jansport and headed uptown. First I stopped by the barber shop to check on my guys. I chatted with Alan and double checked some facts I’d used in my story, as well as made sure I got some names right. He asked about my weekend and I told him I had no voice on Saturday, and that I couldn’t talk to anyone for the first half of the day. “Well that must have been a challenge for you!” he said. So what if I’m a chatty Cathy, Alan! He also said he’s making fudge for me to take to MamaJ this weekend. I love Alan!

Next, I headed to the Scripps building to finish a magazine cover using InDesign. The lab was in use until 3, so I had an hour to kill. I crossed the street to the student center, bought a Diet Mountain Dew (so bad but so good) and sat in the sun, editing my barber shop story.

By the time I went back to the lab I was feeling slightly nauseated. I was determined to finish this mag cover, though. I had issues opening it, but a kind girl next to me helped me. With her help, I was out of the lab by 3:30. I was so hungry I thought I was going to hurl, so I broke into an emergency bar. My chemical romance:

1/2 Pure Protein bar

1/2 Pure Protein bar

On my walk home I decided to stop in a card store. Mistake. I was looking for something in which I could write a lovely letter to MisterMan, but the thought of writing it combined with the messages on the cards made me start to cry. What is wrong with me? Hastily, I shoved on my sunglasses and sped outta there.

I fixed a breakfast-ey snack when I came home to fix my still-hungry tum:

Cool and crunchy and full-on return to dairy

Cool and crunchy and full-on return to dairy

In the bowl: 1/2 C fat free plain yogurt, 1/2 C Kashi Go Lean, raisins, cinnamon, flax. Then I sat my hiney on my front porch and edited my story some more. I love sitting outside to write and edit. For some reason, it brings clearer thoughts. I can stare at trees and bugs and bees (huge ones LOVE my front porch) while I ponder the right words. When I’m inside, however, I’m far too easily distracted by, oh say, Google Reader.

I spent two or three hours editing and then typing my changes before starting dinner. Again, I was having taste bud issues. Normally, I crave huge salads with a warm veggie component, but the thought made me gag. Still, I figured I’d be fine once I started to eat. I fixed a lovely dinner:

Salad and Foremaned Eggplant

Salad and Foremaned Eggplant

In the salad: romaine, cukes, red onion, slivered almonds, raspberry vinaigrette.

Looked good...

Looked good...

I’ve had an eggplant in the fridge for a week now. It’s been sitting there, staring at me, begging, “Kailey, when are you going to use me?!” I felt sorry for it, so I sliced it, salted it to get out the bitter juices, rinsed them, covered them in Italian bread crumbs and grilled them on the Foreman. As a topping, I combined Barilla pasta sauce with chickpeas:

Mmm chickpeas

Mmm chickpeas

The gaggy feeling did not go away while eating. In fact, it may have worsened. Even my beloved salad felt nasty. I ate as much as I could, but ended up throwing some food away. I never do that, but I just couldn’t force myself to finish. Afterward, I tasted a few things from the cabinet and finally settled on Peanut Butter Bumbers adorned with carob chips to supplement my dinner:

Finally! Yum!

Finally! Yum!

And because that was more part of my dinner than it was a dessert, I had to have something else later on for a real dessert. I have been craving brownies like mad lately. No Pudge Brownie mix to the rescue:

2 T of powder combined with 1 T fat free plain yogurt, micro'd for 1 minute, topped with White Chocolate Wonderful-- Amazing

2 T of powder combined with 1 T fat free plain yogurt, micro'd for 1 minute, topped with White Chocolate Wonderful-- Amazing

I settled into a journal article about Anais Nin for an hour, and then watched Real Housewives of New Jersey. What would I do without reality television? Okay, I’d be more productive, but I’d feel a little lonely. Knowing I hadn’t eaten enough throughout the day, I snacked on watermelon and 13 pounds of Kashi Go Lean. I have to have a certain fullness before I go to bed or else I will toss and turn all night. Not worth it at all!

Wednesday is a doozie. I have to leave the house early to print and make copies of my story. Then I have the usual Wednesday schedule: class 9-11, 1-3, 3-5, 5-7. I’ll be ending the day with MisterMan, though, and will be going home Thursday! Yesss. This Saturday my little broskie is graduating from high school! I’m not sure I’ve shared a pic of Matty Rich, but here’s the stud:

Okay, I must find a more flattering picture of him.

Okay, I must find a more flattering picture of him.

He looks like he has a lazy eye in that pic! Ahh! Haha. So here’s a better one:

Matty Rich and me...just bein' creeps in IKEA

Matty Rich and me...just bein' creeps in IKEA

Bahaha. Ok, I’m cracking myself up. Let’s give this another try:

Being Moddulls

Being Moddulls

Aww that pic is from Thanksgiving! Matty Rich (that’s short for Matthew Richard, by the way–I gave him that rapper name because we share this love for hip-hop. He calls me K-heezy) gets manlier looking each time I see him, so this doesn’t even represent how frickin’ manly he is now. It’s crazy!

I hope you all are enjoying your weeks and that you didn’t suffer too badly through this post and the pictures of Matty Rich. I got carried away πŸ™‚

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What nicknames do you have for your family members? What do they call you?
I use my nicknames for my parents as their pseudonyms on the blog.
Mom: MamaJ, mommy, mumsy, Jayne (real name- ok, I never use that), Ma!, Mom.
Dad: Popsicle, Papa Bear, Father Bear, Daddy Pants, Dad, Daddy, Mark (real name- never use that either).
Broskie: Matty Rich, Matt, Matthew, Matthew Richard, Playa, Pimp, Stud, Goon.
Nicknames for me: Pink, Kailey, Princess (hahaha I know, sick), Miss Priss, K-Heezy, K-Dizzle.
Seeing as this list is long, I’ll save the pets’ nicknames for another post!

26 Responses to “Out of Order”

  1. 1 Sarah

    Oh Kale Chips, I hate that you are still sick! And I’m sad about the Mister Man card situation. I am NOT mourning the loss of your eggplant chickpea dinner though. The cereal was a WISE choice.

    Congrats to your brother…you guys are sweet. Mama J and Popsiclemust be SO proud of you both.

    I know you are going to love the nicknames, so here goes:

    Chris: Chrisser, Dada (duh), Kiss My Weenie (if you think of our last name, it makes since), Honey

    Me: Money, Muffin (I know!), Muffy, Sissy, Sis, Mama (duh)

    Grace: Gracie, Gracie Girl, GG, Geeg (my personal fave), Sissy

    Olivia: Livy, Liv, Livs, Livy Love, Liver and Onions

    That was fun, thanks! Keep feeling better girl!

    • 2 snackface

      Sarah- I am really starting to love Kale Chips. Perhaps I should actually make some so that it suits me even more. Uhhm, Kiss My Weenie? Baha! Awww you’re Muffin too! I knew we were meant to find each other. That further solidifies it. And thank you for sharing all those because yes, I really loved all the nicknames.

  2. i have to be uncomfortably full before bed or i wont sleep a wink.

  3. 4 broccolihut

    I have far too many nicknames: Carnie, Carn, Cran, Crannie, Crannie Puss, Cran Apple, Francine (after the Arthur character–don’t ask), Frannie, Fran, Frannie Pants…the list goes on!

  4. Awh get better kailey!! I hate that your sick. props to you for getting your butt to the gym even though your sick! Hmm names my little sister, ashley well she has quite a few ash, a-face, alafash-elafee (her name in our weird language haha), then when she’s a brat ashhole, ashcheek, ashface haha I’m such a nice sister aren’t I? Its not my fault her name makes some pretty bad word combos

  5. 6 rediscoveringlauren

    aw get better soon hun! i hate being sick and all stuffed up!
    much love
    xxxx

  6. 7 shelby

    Feel Better Soon Kailey!!! I’m so sad that you are sick =(

    At least you got to enjoy that yummy cereal!!!

    My nicknames: Shelbs, Shelbers, Shel, Shelbert, Shelbertina (not a fan of this one haha), Miss Priss, Peapod, Shelby Kay (my mom only uses my middle name when she yells at me! haha)

    Nicknames for 7yr old brother: Mr. Man (no joke!), Bouncer, Mitch, Mitchell Mango
    Nicknames for 4yr old brother: O, Owie, Owen Banona (long story), my favorite (ok so I don’t say that one out loud πŸ˜‰
    Nicknames for 3yr old brother: The Devil, Ryder Raisin, Rydie, Rye,

  7. show your roommate the fat talk video!!!

  8. i want some kale chips.

    and your microwave cake is making me drool. the crack wrap too.

  9. Weird coincidence…I call my Dad popsicle too!

  10. Girl, I’m sorry your not feeling good!! I hate when that happens!

    Gotta love little brothers. My brother’s name is Chase. I used to tell people my parents named him that becuase he chased me around everywhere. Which clearly doesn’t make sense since he couldn’t walk right after birth…try telling my three year old self that!

    Hope your appetite returns to normal soon!!

    Oh, and Anais Nin…I want to hear more about that. She is so amazing!

  11. 12 gina (fitnessista)

    congrats to your bro! that’s so exciting!
    great idea to put the eggplant on the foreman- i’ll have to try that
    here are the nicknames i have for everyone:
    kyle=buddy
    trevor=trevvy wevvy
    mom=madre
    dad=dadoo
    bailey=bee
    bennett=bennetters
    nana=friend
    the pilot=face
    bella (my dog)= belly, bamboozler, babell, bellerina
    viesa (our other dog)= vieserton, vs, viessy, megan=meg, megals
    have a great day!

  12. Kailey,

    Hey darlin! I just finished my last final last night so I can finally have a blog β€œlife” again. ;P
    Big time Yumlovin to the eggplant. Looks deeelish.

    Your little bro is AdorablE!

    Have a great Humpday sweetheart!

    With Love,
    Emily

  13. That’s horrible you weren’t feeling well! I hope you feel better today!

    All the eats look really good! Especially the brownie! Yum!

    I love the nicknames! hahahaha Amazing!

    Have a great day!

  14. 15 Tina

    Sorry to hear about your sinuses! Hope it gets better soon! I have days like that too, extremely rarely (normally I have much too big of an appetite) but when it happens I’m like “WHaaat?” because it’s just so unlike me. It’s a weird feeling when you sit down to eat something you’d normally love and you eat a couple bites and it’s like “meh… bleh” and you just don’t feel like eating.

  15. 16 Anna

    Mmmmmm, beautiful things happen when eggplant gets together with George.

    Feel better!

  16. 17 Tammi

    Hey, this is my first time reading your blog- I have to say, you totally won me over with “my chemical romance”.

    • 18 snackface

      Tammi- Thanks for reading! Haha I’m glad you enjoyed that reference. I should have applied it to the Diet Mountain Dew I had yesterday as well. Those pure protein bars, though– I wanted to dislike them because they just don’t seem natural, but I can’t help my growing love for them! Haha. Hope you’re having a great day!

  17. 19 healthyfitmama

    Great blog! I’m adding you to my blogroll.

    http://healthyfitmama.wordpress.com/

    • 20 snackface

      healthyfitmama- First off, LOVE the name. Secondly, thank you so much! I’ll be sure to stop by yours when I’m not in class. I so shouldn’t be checking my blog right now. Whoops πŸ™‚

  18. 21 Emily

    my family is all about the nicknames too. i feel like i’ve never called my sisters by their real names, or my parents “mom” and “dad”!

    i never thought about eggplant on the george. looks good!

    feel better!

  19. i hope the eggplant was stoked to finally have some use in the world. are you sure 13 LBs was enough? it usually takes a few more handfuls for me to be satisfied. hope you get feeling better soon, sucks to be in barf mode.

    my family calls me neef. my brother couldn’t say my name when i was born (he was 3 at the time) and so he called me ja-neef-a. it stuck.

  20. Why are you still sick, this is just not fairrrr!!!! Poor thing, I know the feeling of all foods being completely unappetizing when sick, I didn’t even want PEANUT BUTTER when I was a few weeks ago…..so bizarre!

    That nickname for your bro-matty rich is super cute and he is even cuter! πŸ˜‰ ….JK, I’m no creep!

    That no fudge dessert is looking amazinggg, and how WONDERFUL is wcw peanut butter?? I fall more and more in love every time I eat it!

    I call my mom Jeany (jean-eeee), or mama and my dad goes by the name of papa smurf (he’s not short, I just like how it sounds!), pops, dad, etc….and my brother jordan and I call each other skip (don’t know how that started), and my other 2 go by brotha from anotha mothaaa (since we have the same dad and diff mom’s hahaha….)!

    FEEL BETTER, you’re almost done!!! YAYYYY!! πŸ™‚

  21. 24 jaime

    me n my dad call my mum birdie hahah πŸ™‚

    so sorry you were feelin icky girl– i hope you feel better soon!!

    love your eggplant creation– so creative!!

    yay for PURE PROTEINS love em love em love em!!!!!!

    you are your bro are too cute!! xoxox

  22. 25 vera

    Mind if I ask what bronzer you use? Looks fantastic!

    • 26 snackface

      vera- My favorite bronzer is Covergirl in Tanfastic. I haven’t been able to find it lately, though!


Leave a Reply

