Princess and the Pee

14May09

Buongiorno! Yesss, it’s Thursday, which means it’s my weekend. Word.

Wednesday was another surprisingly fabulous day. It all started simply, with a coffee maker, a stovetop and some oatbran. And a very sleepy SnackFace. My gage for tiredness is how clumsy I happen to be that day. Many things were dropped and I was running far behind, trying to keep my head on. Back to breakfast, though, the constant of rushed mornings:

Banana peanut butter flax oat bran with Koffee

Banana peanut butter flax oat bran with Koffee

In the bowl: 1/2 C oat bran, 1.5 C water, cinnamon, nutmeg, 1/2 thinly sliced banana, ground flax, Naturally More p.b. Lemme tell ya’, that extra half cup of water added to the oat bran makes an enormous difference–literally. The oats were more voluminous and even creamier than evah. Yummm:

Uh-mazing

Uh-mazing

I speedwalked my hiney to class, stopping at the library to print off copies of my four leads. To help make it through the class, I brought a 16-ounce travel mug of coffee. This was after I’d already had two large cups at home.

We were in the middle of reading the best leads in the class, and my professor stopped the chatter to give us insight. I’d been sitting in agony for half an hour already. I desperately need to pee.

A little advice– do not say “I have to pee so badly!” out loud. Not even to yourself. Because your professor will hear and then ask, “Kailey, would you like to relieve yourself? Would anyone like to join her?” My face burned and I was as blazin’ red as a lobster. Thank the sweet Lord above that my professor has a great sense of humor, I don’t care whether people know I have to pee and that everyone else found my inner monologue vomit hilarious. And yes, I took care of biznass immediately after that.

I met with my advisor after class to go over my classes for next quarter and to check on my progress. All things are flowing in the right direction, and she was incredibly pleased to hear about SnackFace!

When I made it back to mi casa, I rushed around to make lunch so that I could get hoppin’ on presentation notecards for my 1 p.m. class. Procrastination has found itself a home in my body, and it ain’t goin’ anywhere. Quickly, I slapped this on a plate:

Pita with hummus, pickles and lettuce, Granny Smith, le carrot

Pita with hummus, pickles and lettuce, Granny Smith, le carrot

As I took my first enormous bite of the pita, a new email popped into my inbox. The professor for my 1-3 and 5-7 classes was sick and cancelled class! Whatwhat! Procrastination worked in my favor today. I do hope my prof is okay though. We chat all the time after classes. Love her.

Anyway, I was at a loss as what to do with my new-found free time. Instead of doing actual work, like read Lady Chatterly, or actually go ahead and make those notecards, I read blogs for a bit longer. And then…I yoga-ed! I’ve tried my hand at yoga several times in the past, and I adore the classes they have at our gym, but the classes never fit in my schedule.

This afternoon I used yogatoday.comΒ and chose to attempt Yoga for Mountain bikers and Runners, because, as we all know, I’m pretty hard core about both of those activities. The class was meh–there weren’t even any chatarungas! In addition, it’s tough to try to fully relax on hard-wood floors, and it’s also tough to try to simultaneously look up to my laptop, try to breathe, try to balance and try to relax. I knew my body had been craving a good stretch, though, and this actually did help.

I tend to feel depleted and weak after yoga, a tad shaky even. Enter a baby snack before heading to my 3-5 graphics class:

FF Plain yogurt, frozen bloobs, Peanut Butter Bumpers, deliciousness

FF Plain yogurt, frozen bloobs, Peanut Butter Bumpers, deliciousness

I rushed off to class after inhaling that snack. Today we critiqued our classmates’ most recent projects. We had to use Adobe Illustrator, something with which I’d never worked before. No one was too harsh, thankfully. I also managed to get a B+, which is hard to accept, but I know that I can’t expect to get an A+ on something I have zilch experience with. Haha that’s so obnoxious, right?

To fill up that 5-7 p.m. time period in which I’d normally be sitting in class, MisterMan picked me up and to take me grocery shopping! YESSS! We have some of our finest dates on our trips to Wal-Mart. I got a ton of new stuff that I didn’t take a picture of (sorry!) because by the time I got home I was ready to eat my thigh (most meat there).

Dinner was eaten in true SnackFace fashion. There were bits of things I knew I wanted, but it didn’t make a complete, well-rounded meal all together. I ate everything in the following order:

First up, I wanted a salad so that I could have more Bragg’s (can I just get a straw for this and drink it out of the bottle?) and so that I could try a newbie, jicama!

Romaine, orange bell pepper, jicama and slivered almonds. Oh, and Bragg's :)

Romaine, orange bell pepper, jicama and slivered almonds. Oh, and Bragg's πŸ™‚

To me, jicima tastes like a crisper, sweeter raw potato. Which means I’m diggin’ it. Next up, I wanted to try the new lemon pepper I’d purchased. This is nothing novel for many of you, but after seeing MamaLΒ use it time and time again on steamed veg, I wanted to join the club. Modeled after hers:

Steamed stir-fry mix with edamame and lemon pepper

Steamed stir-fry mix with edamame and lemon pepper

Turns out, lemon pepper tastes like…lemon and pepper! Which, again, means I’m diggin it. After eating all those veggies I realized, “yo ma’, where’s my f*!kin’ protein?” (Only click on that link if you don’t mind derogatory language, like, a ton of Fs are thrown around.) To fix the protein lackage, I had some ketchup. With a side of a Boca Chick’n patty:

The ketchup is on its last leg and farted out that last bit.

The ketchup is on its last leg and farted out that last bit.

The fun did not end there, however. I realized, “Kailz, where’s my frickin’ sugar, fruit and grains?” No problem:

Kamut Puffs were added to this DELIGHT!

Kamut Puffs were added to this DELIGHT!

That goo-like concoction you see there is quite divine. I put half a naner, aΒ small blob of White Chocolate Wonderful peanut butter and a pinch of carob chips in the microwave for 30 seconds. Stirring it together once warmed, it created a delightful pudding-like concoction that was fantastic on its own, even better with lots of kamut puffs. By the way, White Chocolate Wonderful is incredible. I don’t know how it manages to be better than Dark Chocolate Dreams. Don’t know how that P.B. & Co. does it!

Full of fluffy veggies and grains, I went to a capella practice. It was our last practice before our biggest performance of the year, a capella invitationals. They are this Saturday, and after Wednesday’s practice, I am not nervous, I am bursting with excitement. I cannot wait to share videos with all of you after Saturday!

I returned home, changed into my comfy cozies and settled in with Make Me a Supermodel and a little mug of Peanut Butter Bumpers with soy milk. Joyous ending to a joyous day!

I hope everyone has a stellar Thursday! I’ll be working out, writing, interviewing and then having date night with MisterMan! Love you long time πŸ™‚

Ciao for now,

Kailey

26 Responses to “Princess and the Pee”

  1. 1 Jen

    It sounds like you had a fantastic day! The bathroom story was hilar, but I’d have been dying with embarrassment. You seemed to have dealt with it pretty well! πŸ˜‰ Can’t wait to see the a capella videos!!

  2. 2 Rachel

    hahahaha I love that video! I feel the same way about protein and lift weights like he does…because I want everyone to see how tan and stacked I am! lol

    Good to hear your class got cancelled and you could fit in some yoga! I felt the same way when I first started but it’s better now that I know the poses and don’t have to wornder what the heck I’m supposed to be doing next.

    Have a good day πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Megan

    You are too funny πŸ™‚ Your little goo concoction looks absolutely fab!!! Have a fantastic day!!

  4. 4 rediscoveringlauren

    hi girlie
    the stry about needing to pee in class made me laugh πŸ™‚ im glad your teacher had a sense of humour or that could have been worse…
    lovin all the snackalishcious (??) eats! everything looks super tasty as per ususal!
    i LOVE when classes get cnacelled. im glad you used your time to do some yoga and get some grocceries πŸ™‚
    have a great thursday,
    much love
    xxxx

  5. 5 homegirlcaneat

    This is just a quick analyzation but do you have to go to the bathroom a lot? Sometimes (like Tuesday night) you had to “pizzle” and I just thought, wow this girl is my twin. My small-bladder twin.

    But not only are we small-bladder twins, we might be meaty-thigh twins! Except my hips are running close behind, so my thighs better watch out.

    This comment was weird and creepy. But I hope you can deal with that Snackalackin’face! xoxo shawty! πŸ™‚

    • 6 snackface

      Homegirl- bahaha thanks for picking up on my bathroom references. I should probably calm that down, but everyone talks about their days as if they never use la toilette at all! Uhhh and yes, I have to relieve myself of fluids all the time. I feel so uncomfortable the moment I know I need to go. Ya mean?

  6. 7 Lauryn

    omg i love when classes get canceled — whats the chance that WORK gets canceled for me for me next year?? slim.

    bathroom story. HILARIOUS. totally could have been me, i never fail to announce when i gotta go! and believe me… i gotta go OFTEN.

    lovin your dinner creation and the internal dialogue that accompanied it, i do the same thing! and even though i agree with you MOST times, i have to say that i like DCD better than WCW. but we all know pb and co does no wrong, so enjoy it!

    xoxox

  7. Ugh I feel ya on the tired/klutziness combo! It can be ridiculous at times! Sometimes I get so tired of picking things up that I just leave them on the ground.

    HAHA – too funny about the pee story! Gotta love canceled classes, it’s a free snow day πŸ™‚ By the way, thank you for introducing me to My New Haircut! POWERBARS!! JAGERBOMBS

    Gotta love meaty thighs by the way! I rep those too!!

  8. 9 sue

    haha love the pee story! too funny! and that gooey dessert? awesome!

  9. yay for no classes! i miss surprise free time. it doesn’t happen so much at my job, which is unfortunate. one day we got out an hour early because they were closing down our street since the prez was in town and it was maybe the best hour EVER πŸ™‚

    happy thursday! have fun writing and dating tonite!!!

  10. 11 BB

    haha funny pee story. At least your prof was cool about it. Have a good start to your weekend!

  11. 12 Bec

    Enjoy your weekend girl!

  12. 13 Sarah

    After reading your title, I thought you were going to write about Gracie!

    Instead, you wrote about three things I love almost as much, and yes, these are in the order of LOVE: 1) lemon pepper; 2) Bragg’s; 3) jicama.

    Way to BE a LovIN’ Coupled with the talk of urine, and you are now officially a member of our family, though much better looking.

    • 14 snackface

      Sarah- YESSS! That’s all I wanted, to be a part of your family! Obviously, I’m alredy trying my darndest to be like you via food. If only I could get my hands on a juicer, then my blog would directly reflect yours. Oh, but you don’t eat crap food, which I totally do on weekends. And don’t take pics of it. Naughty.

  13. hah! laughed my ass of fat the pee story. thanks for that. jicama is on my new foods list to try! sounds good. i also want to try kamut puffs. can’t wait to see you singin your guts out. have a good one!

  14. Ya, I may be lacking kamut puffs in my pantry but I’m MAKING that last pictured snack, very very soon….no doubt about it!

    I’m so sorry about that awk moment where your teacher heard ya saying you had to pee!! I’m sure you handled it gracefully though and just laughed it off!

    I’m glad you’re lovin’ the braggs….I’m starting to miss it and hoping my mom will agree to pick some up for here! It’s only stocked at my dads, but I need it here too!

    And yes, you are incredibly annoying….be proud of a B+ you silly, silly girl!!!! πŸ˜‰

    Have a good weekend my love!!

  15. 17 Emma

    I love how much you make be laugh. I don’t normally do that… out loud anyway. I definitely got some strange looks from my boss. You understand.

    I have searched for kamut puffs everywhere, and can’t seem to find them. Sigh. I want to try them quite badly.

    Have a lovely Thursday!

    Love,
    Emma

  16. Funny Pee story! haha

    That mess of goo looks so freaking amazing Kailey! I need you to make me some!!!

  17. i love your blog and your going on my blog roll right now! That naner concoction looks to good to be true. I just bought dark chocolate dreams yesterday and its amazing, I can’t wait to try the other flavours!

    • 20 snackface

      Brianna- Thank you so much! I definitely need to update my blog roll, and you’ll be on there fo sho. Oooh DCD is sooo freaking good! I’ve tried that and Mighty Maple. Both are gone now, and this White Chocolate Wonderful is incredible too!

  18. hahaha. i love you.

    also. i hear you on eating the thigh. i dont know
    about you but my arm is sort of scraggly. if i was
    starving that would not be the first appendage
    to go. thats for darn sure. actually. id probably
    end up eating my MASSIVE gazoongas. hahahaha.

    [im laughing because i have pinenuts. oy ve.]

    also. jeepers creeper. i want that goo in me. …

  19. what a joyous day! I’m not a fan at all of like yoga download/online type things- honestly i CANNOT focus at home, and I literally get up and like eat a snack while watching the instructor continue on with the yoga sesh…I eat it on my mat so does that still count?

  20. 23 jaime

    o girl– i seriously just LOVE your posts– your blog is so upbeat and FUN to read!!

    that is too funny about what happened in class hahah TOTALLY something that would happen to me too!!

    yay for grocery shoppin with misterman– i drag sonu to wholefoods everytime he comes πŸ™‚ we even fight over who gets to carry the basket teehee

    yay for yoga! ive been doing a lot of it during my cardio hiatus– i think i’m becoming a….yogi?!

    love u lots xoxox

  21. 24 Tina

    I loooove pitas or wraps stuffed with mainly crunchy greens like iceberg lettuce… soo good! And all your other eats look fantastic too of course!

  22. sweet dish πŸ™‚


  1. 1 Just Like Heaven « K’s Good Eats

Leave a Reply

