One of the Boys

08May09

Happy Weekend! It’s time to celebrate life! Actually, every day should be like that. I don’t know why we reserve that attitude for the weekend. Just sayin’.

Thursday was a fabulous day from beginning to end. I awoke to no power at 8 a.m. Thank goodness I use my cell’s alarm clock. I sat for a while and read a cookbook in lieu of reading blogs, my usual morning routine. The power came back on at 8:20, which was perfect because I didn’t want to use the john in the dark.

I had half a naner with Naturally More (unpictured) before hopping off to the gym. It was a joyous walk there because I had just read Jenn’s exciting news before leaving. Nothing like a love story to put me in a fantastic mood! Congrats babe!

The usual gym routine was completed, and I came home, showered and made a stovetop delicacy:

Banana flax peanut butter oats with Koffee

Banana flax peanut butter oats with Koffee

In the bowl: 1/2C oats, 1/2 very thinly sliced banana, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, flax stirred in at end, spoon Naturally More. I’m addicted to Naturally More, by the way. At random points during the day I grab a carrot or some celery and stand in front of the cabinet with the jar. Yum. Oats close-up:

Stove action makes such a difference.

Stove action makes such a difference.

Once make-uped and outfitted, I played journalist for the afternoon. My latest piece is going to be about a local barbershop. I find it fascinating because when you step foot in the shop, it’s as though time has stood still within those four walls. Dirty jokes are shared, the barbers and their regulars update eachother on their latest truck purchases, ex-sherrifs and current high school football coaches come to catch up on the latest Athens news while getting their weekly trim. It’s refreshing. It’s Americana at it’s finest.

So for three hours I was one of the boys. I sat, listened, observed, joked, chatted with the barbers and the customers. My view:

Flattenin' that top

Flattenin' that top

I laughed more within those three hours than I have collectively for the last three weeks. Alan, the barber pictured, is the central character of the shop. He engages everyone, constantly joking and asking people questions about their lives. He gave me a hard time about my nail polish. I was wearing a pink and white polo that matched my nails, but my toenails were painted gold. “Young miss, your toenails should be pink too! What are you thinking? You’ve got the pink shirt, the pink pen, pink nails, then gold toenails! You should know better,” he informed me.

I left when the shop closed for the day, 5 p.m. I left elated. There is something about that place I cannot get enough of. Anyway, by the time I got home I was shaking with hunger. I hadn’t even noticed I was hungry when I was at the barbershop! Salad and crack to the rescue:

Linner

Linner

The salad wasn’t as involved as yesterday’s, but it was still delicious: baby romaine and spinach, edamame, corn, cherry toms, Country Bob’s. See how dark that crack wrap is? Definitely set off the smoke alarm. Worth it:

Cracky: Flat-Out, Laughing Cow, Roasted Red Pepper Sabra hummus, bread n' butter pickles

Cracky: Flat-Out, Laughing Cow, Roasted Red Pepper Sabra hummus, bread n' butter pickles

That meal was fine n’ dandy, but I wasn’t full enough. Unpictured after-linner treats: Ginger-O’s, more phallic carrots n’ p.b. (thought I’d save you from that pic), bite of Raisin Bran Bread.

I met up with Muffin shortly after and we went out for a few hours. I really wanted to share this menu with you, but I’m a bonehead and had the sign the wrong way:

I'm with Stoopid---what Muffin has to explain to others when we're out

I'm with Stoopid---what Muffin has to explain to others when we're out

That little sign featured their “New Summer Items!” All of which were fascinating dishes I’d never seen before: Chicken Caesar Salad and Wrap, Steakhouse Potato Salad and Italian Pasta Salad. Creative. I suppose I can’t hate. I mean, it is just bar food.

By 11:30 p.m., Muffin and I wanted to go home and go to bed. Well, I should say I just wanted to come home, eat, then go to bed. I had the usual late night snack, but upped the serving:

A few of my favorite things

A few of my favorite things

It’s a given I had more than this, but in that bowl: Kashi Heart to Heart, kamut puffs, the last of my Jumbo Krispies, Nature’s Path Optimum Cinnamon and Bloobs, carob chips and soymilk.  With a happy full tummy, I fell into a slumber for a full 8 hours.

This morning I awoke oddly full of energy. This morning was an exact repeat of Thursday morning, plus power: eat half naner with p.b., go to gym, workout on elliptical and do ab work, walk home, shower, dress, eat. Thought I’d sum that up quickly. Because I can’t escape the goodness of a yogurt mess, I had zeese for breakfast/ brunch (it was 12:30 p.m.):

Yog mess, Koffee, jewelry box thing

Yog mess, Koffee, jewelry box thing

In the bowl: 1/2 C fat free plain yogurt, 1/2 naner, 4 steroidal strawberries, cinnamon, 1/2 C mix dry oats and Nature’s Path Optimum Cinn and Bloobs, flax sprinkles, Naturally more drizzle. And because I couldn’t decide which close-up I liked best, you get to be bored to tears by seeing two more pictures of this. Medium close-up:

Anticipation is building... this gets better...

Anticipation is building... this gets better...

Rruuulll close-up:

Zenith.

Zenith.

I primped and then went to the library to meet with my group for an Ibsen project. We decided to do actual work on Sunday 🙂 So college.

The rest of the day will be spent living and loving life. I hope you’re all doing the same!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

Question: I’m approaching my 100th post and I want to know…what do you like about SnackFace? What don’t you like? What would you like to see more/less of? Please, all a ya’ll, share your opinions. I’d love to know. OH! And I finally added a search tool. Okay, much love 🙂

20 Responses to “One of the Boys”

  1. 1 Sarah

    I love you just the way you are…don’t change a thing!

    We have a barber shop in town like that, where all the old school lawyers go for a trim. They stock Playboy and Penthouse and tell the dirtiest of jokes. Need I tell you that Chris went once, and now drives 20 minutes to my stylist?! He’s so cute.

    Speaking of, I’m pretty sure that Livy has that same shirt. I may or may not also own 4 or 5 pink striped polos. Girly girl? Okay, guilty.

    Your sunniness has rubbed off. I’m taking off my grumpy face and putting on a happy one.

    Have a good weekend!

  2. 2 rediscoveringlauren

    hi girlie
    so glad you had such a great day yesturday 🙂 lotsa yummy eats as always too!
    oo nearly the 100th post? congrats hun 🙂 i love your blog and everything you photograph/write about already!! one of my fav blogs for sure!
    have a great friday 🙂
    much love
    xxx

  3. i love everything about snackface 🙂 just letting you know… im getting more almond butter and yogurt to make some messes, and also some laughing cow and sabra for some crack wraps… i need them NOW, can u believe i still havent had one?

  4. 4 homegirlcaneat

    I love that barber. He has dirty jokes and knows his fashion.

    Also, I love snackface for the fact I get to see a lot of good snacks and a beautiful Kailey face. Don’t change a thang because it’s rockin’! Well actually, I lied. Bring back the phallic carrot. Just sayin’.

    p.s. I loved how you noticed Kostas’s thunder thighs. I left him half way in a cup of water so his bottom grew a size or 3 in a day. I love his hugh jass anyways!

  5. Haha that barber sounds like a riot!! Your crack is looking mighty fine today….twss.

    HAHA I legit laughed out lout at the sign accident! Get out of here with the close up on the breakfast!! Whenever you put Koffee I always think of Coffee Talk and the accent Linda Richmond said it in.

    I’m thinking the 100th post should be K+K take over Athens!!

  6. 6 Shelby

    “At random points during the day I grab a carrot or some celery and stand in front of the cabinet with the jar” Oh my gosh, I love you.

    That is so cool about the barber shop, I wish I could do that!

    Love the picture of you with the backwards sign. What a blonde 😉

    Isn’t kamut puffs w/ carob like the best snack ever?! I love eating that for my night snack. In fact, everytime I go back for my second bowl…I think of what you said about eating cereal until the milk is gone. Then I say to myself “I’m a snackface” 🙂

    I need to start using more flax!!!

    Do not change a thing girl, your blog is one of my very favorites!

  7. haha bars think they are so cool sometimes 🙂

    I love your addition of pickles to the crack wrap, I heart pickles!

    And I love Snackface for just being YOU, I definitely read blogs for the uniqueness of everyone out there, so keep it up! 🙂

  8. How come your yogurt messes always look prettier than mine buggabooo?!

    AH!!! I am just way too excited to make my own crack wrap, and your little variations seem like so much fun….that burnty-ness going on, GET IN ME BELLY (as you would and fat bastard would say!) 😉

    And can I just say I am so jealous of your LIFE, you are always meeting the coolest people and doing the most interesting things for your journalist pieces! What don’t you do, seriously?! Act, model, sing, write, you’re gorgggg, you get amazing grades, you have this amazing internship coming up, and mama j, muffin & misterman in your life! They all seem great!
    OK, I’ll stop kissin’ yo a– now!

    Yay for the search tool!!! Those things are dangerous to me since I can spend way too much time searchin’ other blogs to find new ways to eat some of my fave foods!!!! Wayyyy too much time! Haha! Enjoy your weekend!!

  9. 9 lisa

    do a beauty post & share your model secrets!

    you are a true inspiration k!

    have a stunning weekend.

  10. i just got naturally more! i can’t wait to try it!!!

    way to go with the picture perfect oatmeal! i need to find sum flat outs so i can make me a crack wraaaaaapperz.

    happy weekend holmes!

  11. what a great day yesterday and i love the eats! and dude, the picture w/ the backwards menu: priceless. 😀

    and don’t change anything about Snackface! I LURVE IT the way it is!

  12. Kailey,

    You know what would make that salad even better? If you push the corn and baby toms around in a pan so they get “grilled”. Try it. It makes a world of difference.

    Have a wonderful Saturday darlin!

    With Love,

    Emily

  13. 13 Rachel

    I love the blog! Only thing I want to see is Mister man!

  14. 14 ohonemorething

    Heyy! I just started reading your blog today (on a verrrry long road trip). It kept me entertained, so I say don’t change a thing. Unless you can think of something to make it better 😀

    I’m Katharina by the way. I also have a blog.. well 2 actually. Ohonemorething is just a food blog. I’ve been feeling kind of inspired to do more daily posts though. Or at least a kind of daily eats type thing. Right now I just post recipes I make that I reallllly like!

  15. what I love about you is your infectious positivity and optimism. visting your blog always put a huge smile on my face! plus, you always have such awesome eats, like that super wrap with the hummus, cheese, and pickles!

  16. 16 Sarah

    aww, your afternoon with the barber men sounds perfect!! i love places like that. old and local men are such characters.

    congrats on almost-100 posts!!! your blog is perfect, so you’re not allowed to change anything. except, maybe, can you eat more cereal??

  17. Thank you so much for the shout out, Kailey! You are too sweet 🙂

    I love your newest journalistic piece! My photojournalism assignment for this week is to find someone “intimidating” and take a picture of them. Um, what exactly does that entail? You got me! Yours sounds way more interesting.

    Love the picture of you with the sign – you are just too cute and awesome for words.

    Congrats on the approaching 100th post! I love everything about SnackFace!

  18. 18 maria

    hey, i came upon your blog recently and have been checking it since (i love pretty much everything about it.. and the pictures esp!) and i may be wrong about this, but i think you’re vegan? and i know one of your recent posts said you dont eat honey.. anyway, i just wanted to let you know, naturally more contains egg whites and honey.. sorry if you already know this but i wanted to let you know just in case!!

    • 19 snackface

      maria- Hello dear! Thank you so much for the info on Naturally More. At the time I wrote that blog post, I wasn’t yet vegan, so that’s why I was eating it. However, I always thought it was creepy that there were also egg whites in Naturally More. That is so NOT natural for peanut butter!


  1. 1 Hurts So Good « K’s Good Eats

Leave a Reply

