Blogtastic Eats, Reviews and Qs

27Apr09

Happy start to a fresh week! I love not knowing where a week will take me. Last week, for example…who could have predicted that?! It’s also comforting knowing that come Wednesday, 10 p.m., my weekend begins. Muhaha my schedule rocks.

Sundays, however, are sad days to me. I’m normally scrambling to get things finished, the energy of the campus plummets and everyone locks themselves indoors. I suppose homework must be done at some point!

After a restful 9 hours of sleep, I was ready to start my Sunday. It was already hot, so a cereal mess is what this body needed:

Lovely, cold, crunchy, sweet

Lovely, cold, crunchy, sweet

In the bowl: 1/2 naner, kamut puffs, Kashi Heart to Heart, raisins, vanilla soy milk, Koffee. As I ate I caught up on blogs and wrote a post of my own. Eventually I showered, dressed and headed out to Wal-Mart for groceries. Now, I love the new store I found, The Farmacy, but I really can’t afford it regularly. Wal-Mart is the student foodie’s safe haven.

By the time I came home my hands were shaking– a sure sign it was feeding time! I wanted to make Sarah’s crack wrap after reading her tutorial, but I didn’t have the patience to wait for it to cook. An un-griddled crack wrap had to do:

Flat-out with Laughing Cow, hummus, wilted, limp lettuce; baby apple; fresh green beans; 'shrooms with salsa

Flat-out with Laughing Cow, hummus, wilted, limp lettuce; baby apple; fresh green beans; 'shrooms with salsa

I had a day of blog-inspired eats. After seeing mushrooms so many times on my sistah K’s blog, I had to get some. The raw green beans, though, used to be eaten throughout my childhood. We used to have green bean eating contests to see who could eat one the fastest. My parents were brilliant for coming up with that. Oh, I had a Fig Newman at some point after this, too.

To fill an afternoon hour or so, I read articles for magazine feature writing class. At 5:30 I went to the library to meet with my project partner to compile an outline about Susan Orlean’s writing style. When I left the library I ran into MisterMan, which was a pleasant surprise.

Time escaped me today, and while I was working on an essay at home, a pounding headache told me it was dinner time. This meal was GlidingCalm-inspired:

OKRA VIRGIN NO LONGER

OKRA VIRGIN NO LONGER

Aren’t we all so pumped Gliding Calm came out of the closet? She’s so beautiful I can hardly stand it. Anyway, she was raving about okra and how tasty it is, so I searched for it at Wally’s World today. Of course they DIDN’T have fresh okra. I spied it in the frozen foods section, thankfully. I put frozen okra and frozen broccoli into a pot with water and brought it to a boil. When it looked ready, I drained it, added chopped green bell pepper, black beans, Barilla Tomato Basil pasta sauce and mushrooms and called it dinner! The pita pieces acted as lovely scoopers and sauce soppers.

So did I enjoy the okra? YES. I only wish I could try it raw, because that’s how I prefer vegetables. Oh yea, I like it raw, baby.

I was stuffed after that dinner! With my happy, rounded belly, I went to a capella practice to sing my little heart out. We are working on the song, Just Stand Up, in which everyone has a solo. If you listen to this, I sing the second half of Beyonce’s first solo, and then I sing the chorus a couple times with two other girls. The song may be a bit cheesy, but I find it inspirational if you really pay attention to the lyrics. I sang it to myself to get through some rough moments last week.

When I came home, I was ready to get my SnackFace on. Yesterday I received a sample from the lovely people at Better Whey of Life, so to start the snacking, I had a cup. I really wanted ice cream, and this was actually a great stand-in:

Better Whey of Life All Natural Nonfat Yogurt, Acai Mixed Berry

Better Whey of Life All Natural Nonfat Yogurt, Acai Mixed Berry

Some stats: (for 1 6 oz. container) 145 cals, .5 g total fat, 3 g fiber, 14 g sugar, 15 g protein! The ingredients aren’t funky, either. When I first opened the container, a strong berry scent escaped. MMM!!! The first bite? Berry-licious, tart, tasty. The texture? Thinner than Greek, thicker than fat free Yoplait. I adored that this had a berry flavor (the ingredients say blueberries, strawberries and raspberries–oh and I guess acai berries) with a tangy background. It wasn’t too sweet at all! I’m just bummed I can’t find it anywhere near me, or else I would buy this!

Of course I needed something else. Okay, I wasn’t necessarily hungry, but I bought a new cereal I desperately wanted to try! Cereal of the week– no wait– cereal of the next three days because it’s not going to last long:

Jumbo Multi-Grain Krispies!...with a touch of honey

Jumbo Multi-Grain Krispies!...with a touch of honey

Ew, see that dog bite on my wrist? Grrr. That’s of no matter. What’s important is that I love this cereal! I had a handful before making the executive decision to grab the fresh soymilk from the fridge and marry it with the cereal in my leftover yogurt cup. The flavor of the cereal is more vanilla-ey than honey-ey and the texture is unlike any other cereal I’ve had. It’s crispy and dissolves quickly, but not in the same way a super-sweet Cap’n Crunch does. Clearly, I do too much cereal eating.

I’ll share the only stats I look at: (per 1 cup) 90 cals, 3 g fiber, 8 g sugar, 1 g protein. Ingredients: rice flour, sugar (hell yes), whole wheat flour, yellow corn meal, oat fiber, polydextrose, salt, honey, palm oil,natural and artificial flavor…then I stop reading because it’s just added vitamins.

I look at the stats, acknowledge them, then ignore them. It’s the only way to stay sane.

Well pudding pops, Monday is a long day: class 9-11, 1-3, 3-5, 5-7 and practice 8:30-10. What fun! I can’t complain, though πŸ™‚ I hope you all had glorious weekends and will have great starts to the week!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What stats do you pay attention to when you look at a label? Why? Do you read all/some/none ofΒ the ingredients? Why?

23 Responses to “Blogtastic Eats, Reviews and Qs”

  1. I just tried okra for the first time today as well, thanks to G.C. It was really good!

  2. OMG OMG, I WANT TO TRY THAT CEREAL!! And I love your cereal mix. yuuujmmmm lol

  3. I like foods with a really short ingredient list! The less extra stuff in there, the better. I also look at protein, fiber, and sugar content.. high protein/fiber and low sugar are always a plus! But if soemthing just sounds too delicious I’ll probably eat it anyways…

    I hope you had a fabulous weekend!! Your eats look amazing!!

  4. 4 Bec

    Fewer ingredients are definitely better and I avoid any hydrogenated oils/palm oils/shortenings etc

  5. We have that cereal in our cupboard RIGHT NOW! Livy LOVES it with sliced banana and soymilk. She practically licks the bowl.

    I’m going to hunt down Cujo for maiming your perfect hands. Now you’ll never be a hand model, George!!!

    I was also inspired by GC to try the okra. I haven’t seen it fresh anywhere either, though. Drats.

    Have a good Monday!

  6. HEY!
    I listened to that song, love it, cheesy or not the lyrics were great…
    As for food labels, I totally ignore the labels of food I know are bad for me but I want to eat anyways, help keeps the guilt of indulgence at bay, haha!

    Otherwise, short ingredient list and things I can pronounce are generally my rules of thumb. And the less sugar the fewer headaches = always a good thing

  7. Lovely blog inspired eats, lady! And I’m really intrigued by those rice krispies, the orginal seriously was my childhood fave. When it comes to labels, I pay attention to calorie content vs serving size, usually the fiber and protein levels, and mayyyybe the sugar (depending on what it is I’m buying). I mean, I love my Krog yog, so I’m obviously not a total snob, right? πŸ˜‰

    Happy Monday!!

  8. I wish I could find okra..fresh or frozen. Maybe at Whole Foods or something. Your meal makes it look amazing!!!

    I always look at the list of ingredients to make sure it’s vegan and that it has no icky ingredients. I also check the amount of calories in a serving size. I’d rather have 200 cals in 1 cup than 200 cals in 1/2 cup. It’s all about the volume baby πŸ˜‰

  9. Your lunch looks so colorful and fun to eat. I like to check out the protein, sugars, and fiber when I first pick up a product. Then I pay attention to sodium. When are these Whey yogurts going to come out?! I want to try it out.

  10. Ya gurrrrrrl πŸ˜‰ Glad you got some shroomies!! Try it with hummus and I promise you won’t be disappointed!

    I crown you the Cereal Queen! I love your thorough reviews! Glad you like the Whey!!

    To answer your Q: I don’t obsess over the nutrition facts and ingredients. I eat what I want, when I want. HOWEVER, with that said, if I look at the ingredients and it’s about 3 pages long with words I can’t pronounce, usually the product goes back.

  11. 11 rediscoveringlauren

    hi hun
    love all the eats, espeically that new cereal πŸ™‚ i want it!! i usually check the ingredients on bars, i hate bars with a long list of ingerdients that i cant pronounce, but if its a super tasty bar, id let it slide! i think the more we obsess over the nutritional info, the less foods enjoyable for what it is.
    i love green beans! and now i want some haha πŸ™‚
    have a great monday girlie
    xxxx

  12. Kailey,

    Amen on the coming out of Gliding Calm, sister! She is so fanfreakin adorable I just wanted to jump through the computer screen and give her a hug. πŸ˜€

    I’ve never tried okra before either. Living in Southern Cali makes it kind of hard to find any. Maybe when the farmers market opens… I’ll have to see what you think of it raw!

    When I’m looking @ nutrition stats I normally check calories first (bad habit), ingredients second, protein next, then finally the fiber count. I only recently started checking on the fat as well. Healthy fats=healthy curls right?

    Have an amazing Monday sweetie!

    With Love,

    Emily

  13. kailey, i’m so behind on you AGAIN!!

    i love that you’re a snacker and that a glance at the nutrition labels is all you give! i’m the same way … and i tend to give more weight to the ingredients list than to the numbers. unless, of course, there is no ingredient list (as in the case of my coworkers’ food, cake, etc) in which case i throw caution to the wind πŸ™‚

    and that high fest is CRAZY! so many people, my goodness! and i love your pic of the drama outside. i like to watch other people’s drunk drama, too, shhhhhhhh.

    it seems like it’s been an exhausting week for you, too — i’m sorry i missed the breakup AND the reconciliation, but you seem to be doing well now! it’s always so hard to know where a relationship is going to go once different interests start to lead you in different directions and geographical locations. your strategy sounds like the best though — enjoy the time you have now, and the rest will work itself out eventually!

  14. Thanks for the great review of Better Whey of Life Yogurt! I’m the CEO and I hope we get it to you shortly! Right now, we are in the Midwest, New York Tri-State Area, Southern Cali/AZ and Nevada mostly through Whole Foods. So check us out if you are in these states. Otherwise, join our community and we will let you know when we are available http://betterwheyoflife.com/join_our_community.php#1

    And for all you label readers, we have 3X more protein, 1/3 less sugar, 3g fiber, and probiotics (and the protein is mostly whey protein — the best stuff you can put in your body)! Nutritionally, we are probably the best yogurt you can find!

    Thanks again for the review!
    Daphne
    CEO, Better Whey of Life
    Twitter @proteingirl

  15. Oh girl. Honestly! You don’t have to be so sweet!!! BUT THANK YOU. Seriously made my morning with your kindness! Thank you thank you thank you!!! For the shout out and for trying out my mealzzzzzzz. Grub grub. And yes, raw okra is REALLY hard to find. It’s only at about 2 or 3 of my 6 or 7 grocery stores. Sorrrrrrry! Let me know once you try it raw though, k? K thanks! πŸ™‚

    Love the crack wrap inspired meal. That plate is boooooootiful!

    And I love the jumbo rice krispies! I’ve never seen those! they look so tasty!! yay!

    Have a wonderful day…….and gluck with the busyness! You have a sched like mine today! boo! 7:30- 4 at the rink and then 5:45 until 9:30 at school. booo

  16. I love Rice Krispies!

    (Dine Out, Fight AIDS. April 30. http://www.diningoutforlife.com)

  17. JUMBO krispies!?? what the what?? haha those would make some killer rice krispy squares baby..and YES love GC whatta hottie πŸ˜€

  18. 18 Lyss

    Hey Snacky McSnackerson!

    I saw that Better of Whey yogurt on Kath’s blog and I’m so jeal that you got hooked up too! I can’t afford greek yogurt so it’s kind of embarrassing to admit what kind of yogurt I eat some times…

    Regardless, I usually check out the calories, fiber and protein on the label! Then, like you, I try and forget it! I like having a ballpark range in my head just for OCD’s sake, but I hate holding myself responsible for every single ingredient, ya heard? I often look over sugar because I tend to have blood sugar issues and need sugar in my life to function!

    WE BOTH SING! I didn’t even connect the dots until now! Damn girl, you’re awesome!

    ❀

  19. Mmmm, fresh green beans. I love those guys and absolutely despise them once they’ve been cooked. Sometimes I wish I ate dairy so that I could have the kind of amazing yogurt experience that you describe…if only my parents force fed me Greek yogurt the way that they insisted I chug milk.

  20. Hello beautiful girl!!

    Glad the new cereal was a success!! I love how adventurous you are with trying new kinds…I have my 6 or 7 that I love, and I rarely stray!!!
    PS you would loveee tj’s cinnamon swirls or something, I do not remember the name but they are the BEST little bites to snack on (w/ or w/o some s. milk!).

    I realllyy want to try the better than whey yogurts, they sound perfect for me! I loveeee greek, but sometimes the thickness is too much for me…sometimes not!

    Good luck with the next week of classes, only 2 more days till your weekend!

    And yayy for new cooking experiments, the okra turned out perfectly…I’m craving that meal now, just by the looks of it!

    And hmm….I really don’t care about fat stats…the foods I choose are just naturally filled with lots of HEALTHY fats! πŸ™‚ But, I do check the cals, protein and sugar……HMM…I’m not too picky though when it comes to the stats, or at least I’m trying not to be!

  21. hi sister.

    i’ve been SUCCCCKKY
    idk just so busy ya dig? i never have time to blog anymore! end of senior year thats what it is .. im also anxious so .. score!

    im back in action reading, posting a bit here and there & when summer comes around ill probbbably get back into it.

    as for now i can live vivaciously through YOUR posts and pretend i’m you.. no big deal

    love ya like anotha
    hows life?
    school?
    boyfriend?
    the midwest?
    good times.

  22. Okay everything you ate looks fantastic!

    I especially like the look of the wrap and veggies! What a beautiful picture!

  23. 23 broccolihut

    When I look at a nutrition label, I try to make sure that the ingredients list is short and pronounceable…then I look at the numbers: kcalories, fat, fiber, & protein, sometimes sodium.


Leave a Reply

