High Fest ’09

26Apr09

Happy Sunday beautiful people! Saturday was absolutely ridiculous. Get ready for a glimpse of spring in Athens, Ohio.

I started my day like any good foodie–with a breakfast normal college students would wonder, “what the hell is that orange mess?”

I may have used this pic yesterday: pumpkin, banana, yogurt, kamut puffs, uncooked oats, cinnamon, flax, carob

I may have used this pic yesterday: pumpkin, banana, yogurt, kamut puffs, uncooked oats, cinnamon, flax, carob

Then I showered, decided what to wear, slathered my body with SPF 30, snacked on half a piece of raisin bran bread, called Muffin to find where to meet her, and set out for High Fest 2009.

Every house on High Street put on a huge party, thus creating an entire street-long fest. Houses get sponsors, bands and most importantly, kegs. Ewww keg beer is a no-go for this priss. The day started calmly. I was greeted by this sign at one of the first houses we visited:

Brilliant, right?

Brilliant, right?

This sign cracked me up! It’s not even a play on words or anything. The boys who masterminded that are just that brilliant. The fests are always full of fun-loving party-goers. Here is a view of a backyard filled with a beer pong table and thirsty college kids:

It's gettin hot in hurr

It's gettin hot in hurr

Jest Beatz, a friend of mine, is a very talented rapper. Check him out on myspace or youtube. Anyway, he performed and it definitely set the tone for the rest of the day. Muffin and I were pumped. Look at him in action:

Such a stunna

Such a stunna

Muffin and I stayed in that backyard for an hour or so, and then we headed to a different fest, Ark Fest. I was shocked to find that the crowd there was significantly larger:

Crazy!

Crazy!

I also spotted J.Beatz again and had a chance to chat for a while. Here is a pic of me and the man who shall become famous soon enough:

Cuteness

Cuteness

By the time Muffin and I got back to High Fest, complete debauchery had taken the streets. It wasn’t to the point where everyone was disgustingly stumbling yet, but it was getting there:

Crowds like you wouldn't believe

Crowds like you wouldn't believe

I spent a good chunk of time at the house next to Muffin’s. It was a mini high-school reunion over there, and I had a great time catching up with everyone! While I was chatting I spotted a cute German Shepherd that an old friend from high school got a couple days ago. He got the dog off Craigs List, and I was told the dog was trained and friendly. After putting my palm up for the dog to sniff, I proceeded to pet his ears and scratch behind them. I guess he didn’t like that at all. I got bit by the German Shepherd! It wasn’t that bad, though:

I hydrogen peroxided that

I hydrogen peroxided that

Eats were few and far between yesterday. I know that’s bad, but sometimes you just forget. Muffin and I went to Jimmy John’s–a first for me. I think it’s overpriced, but at least the ingredients are fresh (assumedly) and the french bread is bomb. I got the vegetarian with no cheese, no mayo and a side of Skinny Chips (which I split with Muffin):

Hit the spot! And I rarely do the white bread, but it was necessary.

Hit the spot! And I rarely do the white bread, but it was necessary.

We headed back to Muffin’s and took a nap. I needed it! The hot sun and all-day festivities can be draining. When I awoke, I looked out the bedroom window and spied this:

Drama begins

Drama begins

I know it’s not nice of me, but I kinda get a kick out of it when the beer tears start to roll in. I didn’t stay out late at all. MisterMan picked me up at 8ish, and I went back to my house, snacked, got into my PJs, and called it a night. I did have a fabulous fest-filled day.

That's not the best background, but you get the idea :)

That's not the best background, but you get the idea πŸ™‚

I hope you enjoyed a look into the craziness that is Ohio University in the spring! Much love.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

15 Responses to “High Fest ’09”

  1. hey girl! just catchin up now.

    im so glad you seem to have sorted out a few things related to mister man and found some sort of peace for now.
    im also so glad you have a wonderful muffin in your life ! she sounds like such a gem!!!!!

    it looks like you had a fabulous time at the party fest! so happy you are in good spirits once again! πŸ™‚ love my snackbaby!!

    xoxox j

  2. 2 rediscoveringlauren

    hi sweetheart,
    love all the pics πŸ™‚ it looks like you had a fun day, and the last pic of you is brilliant haha!
    glad you had fun and partyed it up!
    have a nice sunday,
    much love
    xxxx

  3. How fun! haha love this post =)

  4. Oh gosh, gotta love college! SO cah-razy. Looks like game day at UF. Every Saturday is a drunk-fest in G-ville. I’m much like you…no kegs for this snob =)

    Glad you had a great day!

  5. This was awesome! I’ve been feeling so OLD lately, as I’ve been contemplating the motorized scooter at Walmart, or at least a walker.

    Drunk Girl, Interrupted is Just what I needed to say, “Thank God I am turning 31 in 6 days.”

    You look gorge, as always. Oh, and I’m convinced I photograph better when I am asleep, and not conscious-enough to mess it up!

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend, sweets.

  6. 6 Jenn

    Hi!
    The “time’s not wasted if you’re getting wasted” is from the Asher Roth song “I Love College”! Thought you might be interested in listening to it, after reading your post – fitting!

    • 7 snackface

      Jenn–OOHHHH!!! Thank you for telling me that! Haha it makes so much sense now! I thought they thought they were being smart. Turns out, I’m just the a-hole. Haha good to know!

  7. Oh mah gah – if I would have known about this drunken filled event you KNOW I would have hoped down 75, ya feel me?! Beer tears! HAH – I laugh at people who cry when their drunk. It’s like ferreal, get over it!

    I’m a Jimmy John’s virgin but if you say it was alright, then I may have to try it when I get tired of eating SUBWAY when I’m traveling!

  8. You are too adorable Kaiely!!

    The sobbing tears picture is my favorite…..I would definitely have snapped one of that scene too!

    There’s a jimmy johns on my campus and I had it with my mom the first week I got here and the avocado (maybe guac) spread was probably the best thing I’ve ever had!

    haha people’s facebook status’ at my school are ALWAYS “times not wasted when ur getting wasted!”

    And ah, sorry about the dog bite girl!! I’m glad you had such a fun day though!

  9. 10 Bec

    Looks like a lot of fun!

  10. 11 Lyss

    So glad you had a fun weekend after a sub-par week – you deserved it! I went to a similar college fest this weekend and can certainly attest to the craziness. I never want to grow up! πŸ™‚

  11. heeeeeey lovely!

    so glad you’re working it out with misterman; the summer may be tough, but i think youre doing the right thing by enjoying your time together now. life’s too short, ya know?

    what a CRAZY weekend! i loved your humorous narration of all the shenanigans — you looked so springy and pretty in all of your pics! so glad that you had a good time, nothing like letting loose every now and then, especially when you work your tail off all the time like we nutcases do!

    hope you have a wonderful evening! xoox

  12. 13 sue

    wow what a fun recap! it makes me go crash a house party or something! and you look gorgeous as usual- love he sunnies!

  13. The only reason I know what that ‘wasted’ line was referencing was that I listened to ‘I Love College’ approximately 8.25 million times during my own spell of drunken debauchery. The songs pretty funny if you listen to all the lyrics, too. I’m with you on the no kegs for classy girls – we somehow acquired a case of Natty Ice this weekend but we’ll just feed it to thirsty boys while we drink our wine from boxes. Like I said, CLASSY.

    Enjoy this crazy nice weather!

  14. oh man, this was me like 3 years ago. now i’m old, married, and lame. can i come stay with you for a weekend?!?!!


Leave a Reply

