The New Face of Newman’s

23Apr09

What up party people! Okay, I’m still calling you a party person even if it’s not your thing. It’s gorgeous outside right now, and I just wish we could all get together and celebrate! Anyway, Wednesday was a doozie, so let’s begin the tale…

Sleep did not come easily Tuesday night, and the alarm definitely came sooner than I would have liked. I pulled myself from under my toasty duvet, washed my face and made a new breakfast:

Oat bran and coffee!
Oat bran and coffee!

Alright, so what if I’m incredibly behind on the oat bran trend? I’ve wanted to try it fo evuh and just found it at The Farmacy! I absolutely loved it. It was creamy and reminded me of, well, cream of wheat. I didn’t add enough water, so it was a little dense at the bottom, but I’ve learned. In the bowl: 1/2 C oat bran, 3/4 C water (don’t do that), 1/2 naner, cinnamon, topped with ground flax and Smucker’s Natural p.b.:

Peanut butter flax banana oat bran--what a title!

Peanut butter flax banana oat bran--what a title!

This breakfast kept me full all morning, and not even regular oats do that. I’m sure it was a combination of the oat bran and the flax that really helped.

Magazine class was a blast. We got together in groups and went over our peer edits. I love being able to talk about our ideas and suggestions together. I was nervous when it came time to talk about my piece, but thankfully, everyone was so kind! I wrote about Athens as a vegetarian destination, and one girl said, “When I read it, I felt like I was watching the Travel Channel.” AHHH!! Yes!! That was the goal! I felt amazing about that. Sometimes I never know if I’m actually decent at my passion– writing. My fellow students’ input gave me the energy I needed to get through a tiring day.

I came home for a lunch that was simple yet yummy:

Apple, carrot, pita pocket

Apple, carrot, pita pocket

In the pita: Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese, Roasted Garlic Sabra hummus and spinach. While I noshed, I read several chapters of The Awakening by Kate Chopin. I’ve read this before, but I needed a refresher before heading to class. It was when I was reading that the UPS guy scared the poo outta me (well, almost) by knocking on the door. I walked onto the porch to find the most incredible package from Newman’s Own Organics. Check it:

THANK YOU NEWMAN'S OWN ORGANICS!!!

THANK YOU NEWMAN'S OWN ORGANICS!!!

They even included a bottle of extra virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar! That totally shocked me. What I enjoyed most, however, is the back of that card, which is signed by Nell Newman. In the February issue of Vogue, I learned that Nell is the driving force behind Newman’s Own Organic. She convinced her father to give her a year to come up with organic goodies, funded by Paul (but would have to be paid back). Within a year, she and a childhood friend, Peter Meehan, concted an organic version of her father’s favorite snack food: the pretzel. The rest, as they say, is history. The company took off from there.

For a snack to get me through the day, I cracked open Newman’s goodies to come up with this:

Newman's snack mix: Cinnamon Sugar Soy Crisps, two prunes, two apricots...all organic, all delicious

Newman's snack mix: Cinnamon Sugar Soy Crisps, two prunes, two apricots...all organic, all delicious

My goodness– this was the best snack mix! Newman’s prunes are the juciest, plumpest, softest, chewiest (are these even words?) that I have ever tasted. Go find them right now if you love prunes. And those Cinnamon Sugar Soy Crisps? They taste like a less sweet version of Cinnamon Toast Crunch. Because they are bigger and more nutritious than the childhood favorite cereal, these soy crisps were eaten throughout the day and are simply amazing.

The afternoon classes, 1-3, 3-5, 5-7, were all fun. Nothing exciting happened, but they were all pleasantly enjoyable. There was one minor snafu, though. Have you ever had a gas pain so bad it hurts your chest? In my last class, I felt like I was going to pass out because I had such bad pain under my breast bone. I’m thinking the combination of prunes and and afternoon coffee did it.

I walked home, ready to fall over, and lay on my left side on my bed. After a few minutes, things moved around and I was fine. Don’t you love that I share this stuff? Haha I’m just being open.

Once the pain subsided, I set out to make dinner. A salad was in order, but I created a new topping:

So what if they're a little burnt. It was intentional, I swear.

So what if they're a little burnt. It was intentional, I swear.

Black bean pumpkin patties sat atop a bed of romaine and broccoli slaw with BBQ sauce.
Black bean pumpkin patties:
-black beans
-pumpkin
-corn
-chili powder, cumin, garam masala
-1 tbsp or so ground flax

They were delightful! They didn’t get firm and hard (oh shhhh*…that’s what she said), but they were so scrumptious I didn’t care. I also had half a pita with hummus to get some grains in:

Pituhhh. Chewy.

Pituhhh. Chewy.

I had several cookies that my roomie baked, but I took the pics with my left hand and they are just too blurry to share. They are Vegan Chocolate Chip Gingerbread Spice cookies. I should clarify: only the chocolate chips are vegan. I have no clue about the rest.

After dinner I went to a capella practice from 8:30 to 10. We had such a  good time tonight! We are singing this song, Just Stand Up, and every member of the group has a solo. I’ll have to post a video of our first performance 🙂

MisterMan picked me up, and then we cuddled and watched Make Me a Supermodel. Clearly, I chose what we were watching. When he left, I changed into my jammies and needed a midnight snack.

I introduce you to the new face of Newman’s Own Organics with her new snack love:

SnackFace Love

SnackFace Love

Okay, so I’m not really the new face of Newman’s. I think Nell and her pop’s pics are holdin’ it down. I finished that bag in one day. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: serving size, schmerving size.

Today marks the start of my weekend! I finally got a full night’s sleep (holla to the 8.5 hours!). I actually can’t remember the last time I slept that long. Sad. Anyway, I made a phenomenal breakfast to start the day:

Hmm what's under all that flax?

Hmm what's under all that flax?

In the bowl: 1/2 C fat free plain yogurt, 1/2 C pumpkin, 1/2 naner, uncooked oats, kamut puffs, SF maple syrup, topped with ground flax and a dash of carob chips. Flax and carob chips are ruling my life right now.

Make it. Dooo it.

Make it. Dooo it.

Today’s agenda is very light. I’m heading to the gym in a few minutes, and my goal is to finish all my homework before Saturday, so I’ll be working my way through that. Enjoy the day, pudding pops!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

20 Responses to “The New Face of Newman’s”

  1. Extremely jealous over here for your Newman’s products!

  2. The Hermits and Ginger-O’s are my favorite!!! Yum, yum 🙂 I love the Soy Crisps as well, but I have trouble not downing the whole bag in one sitting, very addictive little snacks for sure 🙂

  3. Those Newman’s stuff look great!

  4. 4 Bec

    Enjoy your long weekend, good luck with the homework!

  5. WHOA, WHOOOOAA, WHOOOOAA NEWMAN!!!!
    I’m calm, I’m calm… no, i’m not!! LOL HARDCORE!!!!

  6. I have the Genisoy brand of Cinnamon Soy Crisps and I finished the bag in 2 days =)

    AMAZING goodies!!!

  7. woww amazing package! and your oatmeal always looks so wonderful i want to dig right in!!!!!

  8. YAY NEWMANS!!! I hope your cute little SnackFace enjoys nibbling on everything!

    Mmmmm burnt – so good! I love the extra crispiness!! Were you the kid that would purposely burn the marshmallows when you made smores?! I WAS!

    Have a fantastic Thursday, lovepie!

  9. 9 dailydulcie

    hi sugapie. ive never had oat bran before, im an oatmeal lover at heart. i may just have to experiment and have some oat bran after your review!

    i totally dig how we both got that ENORMOUS package from Newman’s Own Organics. we’re lucky girls, i must say 🙂

    gas pains suck big time. sorry that you got one! i love your openness btw.

    hope you have a fantastic thursdayyyyy

  10. Aaaahhhh you definitely hit the jackpot with that package. And I read that article in Vogue. That Nell Newman is so interesting!

    I love your oversharing. Sure, it may seem like TMI but it really makes everyone way more interesting…and possible better friends?

  11. wow, i’m super jealous of your awesome newman’s package! still have yet to try any of their products! need to get to the store!

  12. girrrrrrrl, so much fabulousness/tastiness in this post i dont even know where to begin! but pumpkin black bean burgers obvi caught my attention — genius! love all the newman’s stuff too, they’d be lucky to have you modeling for them!

    good luck with all the work, im with ya! but thinking of you per usual (not creepy, i swear.) xoxox!

  13. what a great package! and so proud of you for your piece in magazine class! sounds awesome!!!!!! 🙂 enjoy it love! xoxoxox

  14. 14 Lyss

    I’ve apparently been living under a rock because I’ve never seen or tried ANY of this!!! I’m tres jealous! You should absolutely be the new face of Newmans! I’ll write a letter to him right now…

  15. 15 april

    I love your open-ness! too many people these days are too embarassed to talk about normal bodily functions! lol

  16. Hey Lovey, thank you for your sweet comment as always. I’m contemplating sending Chris to the store for some Hermits. Is that not ridiculous?

  17. 17 Sweet and Fit

    yay for newman’s products! sorry about the gas pain =/

  18. I’m so jealous that you are getting even moreee newman’s lovin’!!! Didn’t you win erin’s giveaway for all those newman goodies too?!! Miss Kailey, I think they SHOULD hire you as the new face of newman’s…….you are a model after all! 🙂

    Carob chips and flax are also ruling my life right now….but I haven’t tried them together yet, I’ll get on that!

    And, your lunch picture is photographed beau-tifullyyy!….I love the whole natural light thing goin’ on! Glad you finally got some sleep and enjoy the start to your weekend my love!

  19. PS you and your gas pain is too funny (but also not funny :() , pull a fave move of my mama’s and just pop a GAS-0? bean-o? gas-x?! who knows……but she definitely uses those things after some major mexicannnnnnnnn food!

    hahahah!

  20. 20 broccolihut

    Whoa! Look at all that fantastic Newman’s loot! So jealous. Can’t wait to hear what you think of it all!


Leave a Reply

