Cured by The Farmacy

22Apr09

Buongiorno lovelies! Tuesday was one of the most low-key days I’ve had in a while. Unfortunately, I woke up in a bit of a funk. Everything is alright now, and I won’t go into detail, but there were some things that were bothering me for a good chunk of the day.

I woke up without an alarm–always a plus– at 9:30 a.m. I chatted with the roomie for a while and quickly realized I was starving. I treated myself with another yogurt bowl, black coffee and glimpses of sunshine:

I love the light seeping through the filmy curtains

I love the light seeping through the filmy curtains

In dat bowl: 1/2 fat free plain yogurt, 1/2 naner, raisins, Kashi Heart to Heart, uncooked oats, Smucker’s Natural p.b. drizzle. Uncooked oats have been getting my rocks off lately. Their chew is fantastic, especially combined with raisins.

Even though I wasn't in the best of moods, this pretty little thing allowed me to escape for a bit

Even though I wasn't in the best of moods, this pretty little thing allowed me to escape for a bit

I read blogs and watched t.v. for a couple hours. It was so odd not to have to rush around anywhere! Eventually, though, my sad mood turned into loneliness, and I knew it was time to go to the gym.

Does anyone else have incredible workouts when they’re upset? I just told myself, “Kailey, get it out there. Work out that frustration.” It worked! 5.5 miles on the elliptical, ab workouts and wanna-be push-ups left me feeling vibrant and powerful.

I came home to find Morgan, the roomie, baking. I have the best wifey. We talked about the issue I was dealing with, and I started to feel the nagging frustration return. I showered, dressed and fixed a snack plate:

Snack-a-doozie

Snack-a-doozie

On the plate: grapes, pickles, carrots, celery, tofu fries, Roasted Garlic Sabra hummus. At this point in the day, my appetite was really off. It wasn’t off enough to eat 1.5 pieces of this, though:

Raisin Bran Bread!

Raisin Bran Bread!

Oh goodness me–that bread is fan-freaking-tastic. “I always like to have a baked good on-hand,” my roomie explained. I won’t argue.

In the late afternoon I left to go uptown. I went to the bank to figure out how I’ll make it through the summer without an income. The kind banker, Adam, helped me a ton…by giving me a number of someone else to call. Awesome. A Kinko’s trip rounded out my afternoon of fun. Spending $17 on copies of a Susan Orlean article for my magazine class did not make me feel better.

The Farmacy (the local market I found last week), however, fixed all my woes. There is something about food shopping that is intimately comforting. It’s relaxing and fun, and all I have to think about when I’m shopping is, “Hmmm, what would I like to eat?” I managed to spend 40 minutes in a store that’s no bigger than a walk-in closet.

Cured by The Farmacy, I came home with some loot to get me through the next couple days:

Total: $22.46

Total: $22.46

What you see:
-bananas
-bag-o-apples
-lettuce
-carrots
-Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese
-Kamut puffs
-large whole wheat pitas
-pumpkin puree
-carob chips (dangerous already)
-ground flax
-wheat berries
-oat bran
The best part of all of that? All of it is organic. 95% of it is from local farms and companies.

I had been craving an apple allll day, so I sliced two baby apples and had them with Tofutti:

Fab snack

Fab snack

Tofutti is thick and delicious. That could be taken the wrong way. Um, Toffuti is creamy and tasty. Basically, I highly enjoyed this.

I edited some department stories of my fellow students for a while, and then a rumbling tummy let me know it was time for a meal:

Salad with pita wings

Salad with pita wings

In the mix: romaine, broccoli slaw, corn, edamame, 1 tbsp. flax (measured to see how much that was—much more than I thought!), balsamic. Wings: 1/2 pita with Roasted Garlic hummus. This lettuce was significantly softer than the kind I normally get at Wal-Mart. Does the organic, local thing have something to do with that? Hmm.

With dinner came a full return of my appetite. Dessert was necessary:

That looks disgusting. Who used my pita to wipe???

That looks disgusting. Who used my pita to wipe???

Looks can be deceiving–this was stellar. I’m in love with a stripperrrr…named Carob. I used to eat carob when I was a young thang (when MamaJ didn’t let us eat real candy or the good cookies–aka Oreos and such), and I am happy to be reunited with it. On the other half of a pita, I threw on some carob chips, popped it in the micro for a while, put Tofutti on a fork, and spread it around with the carob. I hope the neighbors didn’t hear my moaning.

Less than an hour later, I was hungry again. Cereal time! I cracked open the Kamut Puffs. They played with the carob chips and vanilla soymilk:

Yum

Yum

Kamut puffs taste almost exactly like puffed wheat. I’m not sure I can pinpoint a difference other than their size. I had a total of maybe 3 cups of kamut (hey, it’s 50 cals per cup, so I guess it’s not too bad). And then I had another piece of Raisin Bran Bread 🙂 I’m tellin’ ya, hunger came back with a vengeance.

Good thing I had a relaxing Tuesday, because Wednesday is a long one: class 9-11, 1-3, 3-5, 5-7 and practice 8:30-10. I’ll let you know how it goes. Until then…have beautiful days!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What was the first “bad” word you ever said?
When I was 8 or 9 I called my dog a “little bastard.” I even said it in a British accent.

21 Responses to “Cured by The Farmacy”

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your off-day! But I’m pretty sure going to the gym is the cure to everything!! And OMG your dessert looks AMAZING! I could probably eat that everyday! I hope you have a good night and the rest of your week is AH-MAZE-ING!

    -Megan

  2. I once got in trouble in grade school because I messed up on a math problem and said, “Guess I really screwed the pooch, huh?” That doesn’t go over so well in 4th grade.

    I’m sorry you were emotionally distraught today. It’s okay…I’ll be feeling better soon. Geesh.

  3. I get really good workouts when I’m upset. Exercise is a huge stress reliever for me!

    Mmm, love tofu fries!

    Tofutti is amazing on a mini-bagel (or bread) with carob chips! Oh and carob chips are extremely dangerous here. After lunch I’ll have like a handful of them…and then go back for more. I pretty much have to hide them from myself. haha

    I just bought some Kamut Puffs. I like to use them with other cereals so I can up the volume and lower the calories. TMI alert: Kamut makes my pee turn bright yellow! haha

    First bad word: My older brother taught me to say “blow me”…which I though just meant to blow someone up with a bomb or something…oops!

  4. Hooray for snack plates and food shopping!!

    Oh my goodness, your caption under the pita dessert photo is hilarious, HAHA 😀

    Hang in there with your long day!!

    I swear like a sailor, so who knows when I said my first “bad” word – probably when I learned how to talk, haha 😉

  5. Shit just kinda slipped outta my mouth!

  6. 6 Julz

    when i was 8: my dog, maxx, ran out of the house to the neighbor’s, and i went over there and yelled, “f-in dog!” and when asked/reprimanded with “julia, where did you learn that?” i exclaimed: “dad says that all the time! 😀 ” cute.

    xoooxooo

  7. hahahha eww someone wiped with your pita! i literally just laughed outloud in my cubicle woops! haha. that really cracked me up! girl you crazyyyy 🙂 and i LOVE it!

  8. 8 Anna

    I just got caught up on your craaaazy last few days. I’m so sorry you had so much work and weren’t able to enjoy the return of the sun and warm weather as much as you would have liked. There’s plenty more where that came from though, so hopefully your amazing summer job lets you get some of that!

    I have the best workouts when I’m pissed off too. I just put it all out there, plus I know that I will definitely feel a million times better once I get a good sweat going.

    That new grocery store sounds like HEAVEN. What a find!

  9. HAHAHAH, I don’t think that pita looks disgusting, I think it looks good!!
    And love your grocery haul! Mmmm, I need to get puffed kamut!

  10. 10 Lyss

    HAHAHA — “Who used my pita to wipe?” Your sense of humor matches mine, and I love that. Woman, you are added to the blogroll and I can only apologize that it wasn’t done sooner. I’m kicking myself in the pants because of it, actually.

    Sidenote — I just wanted to say thank you because your blog is one of the ones that keeps me SANE ‘cuz you’re REEEEEAL. I love it and I love your outlook on life aaaaand I think it’s time to stalk you on Facebook…

    Hope today is much better (and “funk”less!) ❤

  11. 11 rediscoveringlauren

    hi hun
    love all the eats as always 🙂
    glad you had such a great workout…i think when im upset working out lets me sweat out the stress and gives me time to think, contributing to an amazing workout 🙂 maybe its similar for you?
    hope tomoros insanely long day is ok,
    much love
    xxx

  12. Sorry about the funk lovepie!! Between those tofu fries, baked goods, and grocery haul it looks like a day of good eats 🙂 I hope you’re having a mucho better Wednesday!! I’m thinking I need to get my hands on this thick and delicious tofutti (that’s what she said).

    Funny that bastard was your word because thanks to Austin Powers I said fat bastard at the dinner table once when I was a wee one!

  13. Dearest Lovely Kay dawg:
    When I was five years..my momz took me to the church halloween fair. I was dressed in a white leotard, tights and ballet slippers with a little furry kitty head, tail and a huge pink bow..also wittle whiskers and nose painted on. When we got in line for the ferris wheel, or something..the line was super long and I think my mom said we had to go..I threw my hands up and head back in anguish and yelled, “GOOODDDD DAAAAMMMMNNNIIIIIT!!!!!!

    I still thank the pastor to this day who convinced my mom to let me stay at the carnival, and not beat my ass (HA she probably wanted to peace out b/c everyone knew where i heard it :D)

  14. I don’t remember my 1st bad word, but I do remember when I first flipped someone the bird…I was ~8 I think. My friend Kelly was 2 years older than me and there was another annoying girl who was like 5 years older than me. Well, Kelly did NOT like this girl and I loved Kelly so I’d do whatever Kelly did. One day she just stuck up her middle finger at her so I of course followed suit, having no idea what it meant. The other girl told my mother who (thank goodness) realized I had no idea what it meant. My mom told me (liar!) it meant Damn you. I believed that until college.

  15. 15 eatlivelovedream

    hah! Our stories are semi similar. I think I was 8 and my cat took my scrunchy out of my hand I said that bastard! I had no idea what I was saying! Thankfully my parents had a nice talk with me:) Gotta love good parents! hah!

  16. I think ‘shit’ was the first thing that came outta this mouth!! I live right by the farmacy and still have not gone in there! I need to try it out bc looks like you got some great stuff!! I hope you have a better wednesday!!

  17. My first bad word was “butt”…..mama dearest forbid it!! I was supposed to say bottom, not BUTT!! ahahahahhah i can never get over how ridiculously silly that is….I still love my mama!

    I’m so sorry about your funky day my love bug…..i hope it has nothing to do with being away from the fam for the summer?! you are going to have such a great time in san fran!! ps did you figure out how you are gonna keep it real w/o a paying job??

    Oh and thanks for the wiping comment…read that while i was eating dinner, TASTY!! 😀 haha!

    Carob chips are the best tasting things in the world, I need them in my life every single day! And vegan desserts made with carob chips are even better! i haven’t had one in forever, but this must be changed!

    Grocery shopping always clears my head, so relaxing and enjoyable!! I’ll be having a similar trip to my little store this weekend!! I’m happy you at least got a killer workout and some fun food-shopping in though!

    I really want to try TOFFUTI CHEESE!!
    And now I have written YOU a novella, have a good night!

  18. 18 broccolihut

    Wow, I am so psyched that I just discovered your blog. Looking forward to reading your posts!

    • 19 snackface

      Broccolihut- Hello! Welcome to the blog and thank you so much for stopping in!

  19. 20 Lindsay

    Kailey, that food looks DELICIOUS. I can’t wait to try that yogurt mix. I just found your blog and wanted to say hi – I hope you’re feeling better soon. Oh and the first bad word I said was also bastard around 8 or 9, but I didn’t know what it meant and my mom had to explain why it’s just not that nice…
    Lindsay

    • 21 snackface

      Lindsay- HEY! Thanks so much for stopping by and enjoying some SnackFace! Definitely try the yog mix–cannot go wrong!


Leave a Reply

