Missin’ You Like Candy

16Apr09

Hi beauties! To be completely honest, I barely remember Wednesday morning. I stayed up until the wee small hours of the morning, when the whole wide world is fast asleep…reading. And eating. I ate solely to keep myself awake. Thanks goodness for pretzel rods and chocolate.

The four hours of sleep I managed to get before my 7 a.m. alarm on Wednesday were unsatisfying, to say the least. Sleep… I’m missin’ you like candy (“You know who you are; you’re love’s as sweet as candy. I’ll be forever yours, love always, Mandy.”) I awoke in a haze, still picking salt crystals out of my teeth and wondering, “what am I doing to myself?”  To assuage the confusion and lack-of-sleep headache, I washed my face and made breakfast:

Cereal mess with Koffee

Cereal mess with Koffee

In the bowl: (I really can’t remember everything) protein powder (?), Holy Trinity of Kashi: Go Lean, Honey Sunshine, Heart to Heart, soy milk, 1/2 naner, strawberries, few crushed cashews and walnuts. Delicious and pretty:

Kashi, I love you.

Kashi, I love you.

The walk to class was much colder than expected. April, what’s going on? I thought I could put my heavier coats away. ‘Spose not.

Magazine feature writing class was wonderful, as always. We did get two assignments back, and I was pleased to see that I had done well on both. I need little things like this to keep me going on full days. Especially after nights when I think I can get by with four hours of sleep. Stoopid.

Bad thing about cereal was that exactly three hours later, my stomach informed me via loud gurgles that it was feeding time again. I was distracted during the last hour of class; I was busy trying to cover up any stomach noises. It’s oddly embarassing when it happens.

I came home and quickly made lunch. Get in my belly:

Wrap, carrot, apple

Wrap, carrot, apple

In the wrap: Flat-Out, Sabra Greek Olive hummus, Laughing Cow, spinach, mustard. Makes me happy every single time!

The arty shot...I'm workin' on it

The arty shot...I'm workin' on it

The lunch break flew by as I was scrambling to finish a reading that I couldn’t make myself do at 3 a.m. Soon enough, it was time to leave my home again. I brought these snacks with me. Sweet as candy (no, I won’t let the candy motif die):

Grapes, White Chocolate Macadamia Luna Bar

Grapes, White Chocolate Macadamia Luna Bar

Poppable, portable sugar to keep me going! The White Chocolate Macadamia Luna Bars are intensely sweet, but the toastedness of the nuts really rounds out the finish. Jeeze, I’m writing about this as though it’s wine. Anyway, WCM are by far my favorite Lunas. I also love the Cookies and CreamOatmeal Cookie and Peanut Butter Cookie. Maybe what I really need is a darn cookie.

The 1 p.m. to 7 p.m. classes are now a blur in my mind. Nothing of note took place, other than I got to work on a Photo Shop project in class. I desperately needed my very kind professor’s help! I got a gassy nasty stomach ache after my 3-5 class, so the 5-7 class was full of agony. I cannot pinpoint what happened. I had grapes before the 3-5 class, chewed a piece of gum during class, sat slumped while working and left with an angry tum. Who knows. (I really hope you all don’t mind my overshare moments!)

I came home, lay down for a bit and then got crack-a-lackin’ on dinner. Please meet my dear friend, Moroccan Curry-Cherry Tomato-Chickpea-Grape-Raspberry Salad:

She's a looker

She's a looker

In the salad: romaine, broccoli slaw, celery, green bell pepper, toms, grapes, chickpeas, 1/4 C Kashi Moroccan Curry pilaf, raspberry vinaigrette.

I don't need you, Whole Foods hot bar! Okay, yes I do. I just tell myself that to cope.

I don't need you, Whole Foods hot bar! Okay, yes I do. I just tell myself that to cope.

The Kashi Moroccan Curry was good on its own, but it’s missing something. I wouldn’t eat it alone, as I find rice-based dishes to be dull. The flavors were all there, but I think it needs a spicier kick, and the currants (I think that’s what they were) that are in there need more chew. It makes a delightful salad topping, though! Immediately after this salad I got figgy with it:

Newman's Own Organics Fig Newmans.

Newman's Own Organics Fig Newmans.

I figgin’ love those tasty treats! After “dessert”–hell, that’s not dessert– I walked back uptown to the music building for a capella practice. We had a blast working on new songs and solos!

I got home at 10:15 and was hungry again. At first, I tried to avoid my all-time favorite snack. I fixed a Wasa cracker with peanut butter-yogurt icing (just a mix of a smidge of p.b. and a spoon of plain fat free yogurt) and half a banana:

Dressed-up Wasa

Dressed-up Wasa

Scrumptious, but…not it. I turned to my numba one stunna:

Cereal's love's as sweet as candy...ok I'll stop

Cereal's love's as sweet as candy...ok I'll stop

In the mug: protein powda, soy milk, puffed wheat, Kashi Honey Sunshine. I went back for a few more pocketfulls of sunshine.

After getting my SnackFace on, I was finally able to settle in to write the first draft of my piece for the paper. I edit Thursday in the afternoon with Muffin (yep, she’s a hot shot around these parts), so we’ll see how it goes.

On tap for Thursday: workout, edit, run around like a mad woman trying to gather sources for a different piece for Mag writing class, then dinner with Muffin and the evening with MisterMan. Can’t wait!

I hope you all have faaabulous Thursdays!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

26 Responses to “Missin’ You Like Candy”

  1. kashi sunshine, well, kashi for that matter, rocks my socks. LOVE.

  2. hahahahah i used to be obsessed with the song candy, especially the random little “love note” from mandy right in the middle of it — not gonna lie, i listened to it while i was at the gym the other day lol!

    loveeeee the WCM and cookies and cream luna, i guess i’ll have to try peanut butter cookie if you like it so much too! i highly recommend caramel nut brownie.

    uhh amazing din, and dont think i didnt catch that natasha bedingfield reference! haha have an awesome thursday, my love!

  3. Ahh hope you can catch up on sleep, girl!!

  4. haha whoaaaaa that song is bringing back memoriesssssssss! what about A Walk to Remember?! definitely thought that was the most amazing movie at one point.

    oh wf hot bar. how you tease.

    the wrap picture is esp beautiful. love the carrot and apple stacking/plating. you a pro Kailey!

    happy Thurssssssss

  5. 5 Tina

    All your eats look sooo good. I have been going nuts mixing plain soy yoghurt with mustard or other things to make dressings etc for salads and wraps lately. I’ve had the combo yofu+pb in my mind for a while. Gotta try it. yum!

  6. 6 jenniferlua

    Hi Kailey,
    I love your blog! its always so happy sounding. 🙂 was just wondering what brand of protein powder do you use? My diet is almost vegetarian so I’m looking to add more protein to it, especially since i’ve bumped up my workouts (training for a race). I’m really new to protein powders and am a little wary of the taste, as i’ve heard many people saying how some powders taste really awful! Would you recommend a protein powder that has carbs and vitamins/minerals supplemented to it, or a plain purely protein powder? At the moment i’m looking at nature’s plus spirutein because of all the rave reviews i’ve read about so far but am still a little wary. would you have any advice at all for me? Thanks!!!

    Mari.

  7. 7 Mari

    Hi Kailey,
    I love your blog! its always so happy sounding. 🙂 was just wondering what brand of protein powder do you use? My diet is almost vegetarian so I’m looking to add more protein to it, especially since i’ve bumped up my workouts (training for a race). I’m really new to protein powders and am a little wary of the taste, as i’ve heard many people saying how some powders taste really awful! Would you recommend a protein powder that has carbs and vitamins/minerals supplemented to it, or a plain purely protein powder? At the moment i’m looking at nature’s plus spirutein because of all the rave reviews i’ve read about so far but am still a little wary. would you have any advice at all for me? Thanks!!!

    Mari.

    • 8 snackface

      Hey Mari! Thank you for commenting, and I’m glad you enjoy the blog! Anyway, I don’t really know much about protein powders. I just knew that I wanted something inexpensive, tasted pretty good, wasn’t artificially sweetened, and wasn’t soy-based (it’s been linked to breast cancer and it has run in my family). I use 365 brand (Whole Foods) Whey Protein in Vanilla. It has 16 grams of protein per scoop, and 2 g carbs. I went for low carb because I normally add carbs to whatever I’m eating with it. I’m really satisfied with it, but I also have tried Jay Robb protein powder, and it’s incredible. I just couldn’t afford it! I’m sorry that I’m not much of a help!

  8. Hahaha, I love your cereal. I totally love it!
    And that wrap looks delicious!

  9. I love cereal! I would probably eat an entire box and still want more.. I’m glad you liked the Moroccan Curry too- I just thought it was missing something. Have a great Thursday!

  10. 11 BB

    why do my wraps never look as good as yours? I believe i’m incapable of wrapping wraps <— ironic isn’t it lol. i hope your stomach isn’t weird again!

  11. your lack of sleep is so apparent in this post.
    hahahaha. but thats why i love my little bird.

    have a lovely thursday toots.

  12. 13 Bec

    Hope you get some sleep soon!

  13. 14 rediscoveringlauren

    hi girlie
    yummy eats, especially the luna bar, that ones my fav by far 🙂 so good!!
    i would blame the culprit behind the tummy issues on the gum, cause i know whenever i chew more than 3 a day, my tummy is NOT happy and feels very sore and ick…and this is coming from a girl who recently cut down from chewing maybe 14 pieces a day..its addicting no?
    im seriously craving some fig newmans haha, too bad they dont sell them over here…
    yay on the 2 assignments being awesome 🙂
    hope you get a better nights sleep tonight love,
    have a nice thursday 🙂
    mucho love chica
    xxxx

  14. That Salad is HOTTTT. I want it.

    Rock the banana pants, sister. They’re the best, beat the rest, cellular, modular interactivevodular.

  15. ohh your breakfast looks delish! love all the kashi action going on there 🙂

  16. Oh Mandy….

    You get three hours with cereal?! Homegirl gets about one which is why I never eat it the traditional way! Ugh those kind of stomach aches are the worst dude. When we’re roomies we’ll have to stock up on the tums/rolaids!

    I’ve come to the conclusion that you and I need to just stick to our routine foods – wasa and frozen falafels are no replacement for cereal and crack wraps!

  17. Thanks for stopping by my blog chica! Glad you like it! I love your blog too (obviously), forgot to mention that in my last comment! And I’m flattered you took the time to read my encyclopedia-long “About me”. Yes, I work and have worked in magazines for a couple of years now. Haven’t gone in to detail about it in the blog though for privacy reasons but I’ve work as fashion editor and writer and am editor-in-chief of a smaller magazine. I’ve also worked as web editor.

  18. Kashi = Love!

    That’s my favorite Lunabar too! I don’t really like any of the others though, they are so sweet!

  19. Holy busy girl!
    I know the feeling, I handed a paper in yesterday morning at 8:30 and slept after, no more all nighters please!
    Cereal is also my go to snack, always!

  20. Kailey, the OLIVE sabra hummus must make your wraps amazinggg! I am so jealous that you have that brand!!! I improvise and mix my new olive tapenade spread w/ sabra garlic hummus so that I can FEEL like I’m as cool as you with the actual sabra olive hummus!

    haha, anyway…..you need to get some sleep darlin’! you have been such a busy girl, constantly on the go…and 4 hours of sleep just isn’t gonna cut it! 🙂 Some weeks I get 6 or 7 hours each night and other weeks I get wayyy less or way more! It’s so funny how it all works out!

    I love all the Mandy Moore references by the way, too cute.

    PS I’m definitely loving the WCW but I loveeee maple syrup, so I think my next jar is going to have to be mighty maple…but ah shoot, I want dark chocolate dreams too! And we should figure something out over summer, you are only going to be a 6 or so hour drive away from me!! If you ever want a weekend in so cal….?!?! or maybe I can visit you in san fran! 🙂

    • 22 snackface

      Jessica–OMG we have to figure something out for sure! I won’t have a car with me, but we must discuss this!

  21. 23 april

    Hi! I was just wonderinng how often you work out? Love your blog by the way!

    • 24 snackface

      Hi April! Thank you so much for reading and enjoying the blog! I only work out 3 to 4 times a week. I do a ton of walking most days of the week as well, just because my house is kind of far away from campus. There really is no method to the number of times I work out a week, I just think 3 to 4 times is good for me!

  22. 25 eatlivelovedream

    I want your salad! And I want it now! Just kidding! but it does look amazing.
    The grapes could have done your tum tum in. If I eat fruit by itself it digests better, but when I pair it was other food I get the same issues. You never know, but that’s what always happens to me:)

  23. 26 dailydulcie

    hi lovebug,

    i love your cereal mess as well as your wrap.

    The WCM luna bars are way too sweet for me! I’m just not a huge fan of luna bars in general, but I’m glad you enjoy them!!

    I HATE stomach aches. They are the worsttttttttttt. I’m sorry you got one during class!

    hahahah “i got figgy with it”.. I seriously laughed out loud

    xoxo


Leave a Reply

