HipHopHappy Easter!

12Apr09

Happy Easter/weekend, peeps! I’ve been enjoying a liesurely weekend in the ‘Nati with my family, and have shared a lovely Easter brunch! Allow me to recap the weekend…

Friday

Popsicle, MamaJ, Matty Rich and I went to Applebee’s for dinner. As many of you know, the midwest can be unkind to vegetarians. I don’t like to look like a princess, but I really wasn’t feeling the Crapplebee’s menu. I’ve manned up and eaten there many times in the past, but I just couldn’t do it. I enjoyed laughing and stealing bites off others’ plates, but I came home and had the best Whole Foods Mediterranean Salad:

Too good: falafel, eggplant, chickpeas, feta, stuffed grape leaf, cherry toms

Too good: falafel, eggplant, chickpeas, feta, stuffed grape leaf, cherry toms

After I had dinner, I made the HUGE mistake of watching Marley and Me. The beginning of the movie is darling, and the family and I enjoyed Newman’s cookies while aweing over the pups (Marley and our own). However, things turned as the dog got older. Let’s just say that nine tissues later, I have vowed never again to watch any dog movie. Never ever.

Saturday

Barely able to open my eyes because of swelling from BAWLING my eyes out, I crawled out of bed. I had a rough start to the morning, mainly because of the horrible crying-induced headache and swelling. Eventually I had a FiberOne-filled breakfast:

Strawberry FiberOne yogurt, 1/2 C FiberOne cereal, 1/2 naner, drizzle p.b.

Strawberry FiberOne yogurt, 1/2 C FiberOne cereal, 1/2 naner, drizzle p.b.

I spent a couple hours farting around the house, doing work here and there, reading about your lives and petting thse goobers:

Peanut and Shaboobie

Peanut and Shaboobie

At 1 p.m. I couldn’t stand my house anymore. I needed to be free and sweat and get things circulating. The issue was that I didn’t have any clean workout wear or proper running shoes with me.  Well, I just grabbed some dirty workout wear, wore my fashionble kicks (Tiger’s) and hit the pavement. I had no intention of running for long, but it was beautiful outside and I didn’t want to stop. I did the FIVE MILER again! This time I ran for 20 minutes straight without stopping, walked for five, and ran the majority of the rest of the run. It felt splendid! The shoes definitely weren’t appropriate, as I felt the strain in my arches and the insides of my ankles. I didn’t really care, though; I felt great!

That was…until I breathed in something I’m allergic to the moment I walked into the house. This happens to me sometimes after I’ve worked out. I’ll breathe in an allergen and then my nose is on the fritz for the rest of the day: itchy, runny nose, watery eye, sneezy Kailey. I dealt with it.

After showering, beautifying and reading, I broke down and took a Zyrtec to alleviate my annoyances. I also had a little lunch to fill the tum:

Wrap + apple= wrapple

Wrap + apple= wrapple

This was challenging to eat with a constantly dripping nose, but I managed. This wrap was crunchy, creamy and spicy:

In the La Tortilla: Laughing Cow, hummus, Sriracha (cleanin' out dem sinuses), cukes, lettuce

In the La Tortilla: Laughing Cow, hummus, Sriracha (cleanin' out dem sinuses), cukes, lettuce

I read for a while before the Zyrtec made me stop for a cat nap. I never nap, but I could not keep my eyes open! After 30 minutes I fed the pups, grabbed my jacket and headed to Target to meet MamaJ (she works next door and I had to pick her up). A long dress on the clearance rack grabbed my attention, so I tried it on and fell in love. MamaJ offered to buy it for me. I obliged 🙂 I also got some gummy vitamins! Yesss, I’ve wanted them for so long! I felt a nagging emptiness in my stomach, though. Snack time!

Peanut butter pretzel Mojo

Peanut butter pretzel Mojo

The Clif company is so frickin’ awesome. At the top of the wrapper it says, “New Batch,” just so you know for sure that you won’t catch salmonella from their delicious product. I love how salty and chewy these Mojinations are.

MamaJ and I ran some errands (aka picked up wine from Biggs), then headed home. I worked on some homework while MamaJ chopped away in the kitchen. The rest of the family had spaghetti with meat sauce. Of course, I had a familiar friend:

Sweet potato, Riesling, romaine mix with vegan chicken!

Sweet potato, Riesling, romaine mix with vegan chicken!

An enormous sweet potato really never disappoints:

Baked at 450* for a total of 30 minutes, flipped at 15 minutes

Baked at 450* for a total of 30 minutes, flipped at 15 minutes

And the vegan chicken love of my life:

Whole Foods, how about I be the face of a product or something, and you supply me with free vegan chicken for a year? Deal?

Whole Foods, how about I be the face of a product or something, and you supply me with free vegan chicken for a year? Deal?

Now, let’s recall that wine. The people (doctors, presumably) who write the warnings on the back of medicines do not mess around. Zyrtec packages clearly state: “avoid alcoholic drinks” and “alcohol, sedatives, and tranquilizers may increase drowsiness.” I was out like a light after two glasses of vino. Slept like a baby for an hour or so. I haven’t felt that drowsy since I was drugged up after having my wisdom teeth removed. Another, never ever.

An hour’s nap is all I needed, though. MamaJ and I watched Oprah episodes and snacked until 1 a.m. The Newman’s Own Orange Chocolate Chip Champion Chip cookies are gone now, too. I am so happy.

Sunday

I started schoolwork the moment I awoke. Sundays are rarely enjoyable for me, as I feel enormous pressure at the start of a new week. I normally have a ton of work to do, meetings to attend, and want to relax a bit too. The thought of it makes me panicky. I always manage to finish everything, though.

The family sat down to brunch together. I started to feel a little…off. My mood wasn’t as chipper as usual, and I couldn’t figure out why. I pondered this while I ate:

Multiply the waffle by 2 and the pineapple by 1,000

Multiply the waffle by 2 and the pineapple by 1,000

The waffles were a Hodgon’s Mills mix, and were so dense they were hard to swallow. I made it work by soaking them in sugar free syrup.

A shower later, I realized what had been bothering me. I realize more and more that I won’t be in the comforts of my home, surrounded by my family for three straight months this summer. I know I’ll be plenty busy and will have a blast, but the reality of not seeing my family is setting in. Growing up can be rough, dude.

Anyway, enough of that! I’m packing up now before Muffin picks me up. Back to Athens, it is. Back to a crazy week! I hope you’re all enjoying your Sundays and Easter celebrations. Much love!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

22 Responses to “HipHopHappy Easter!”

  1. i have wanted to see marley and me…i read the book and thought it was awesome..but was kinda afraid to see the movie.

    and MOJO BARS!!! I can’t wait to get to the store and grab some!!!

  2. Mmm, falafel and…

    SWEET POTATOES!!!!!!!!!!

    Cute dogs!!

  3. Hahahhaa soo I also watched Marley and Me last night and even though I had seen it in theatres [and bawled my eyes out there], I of course ended up crying at the end too! And yay for gummy vitamins.. I actually just bought some from TJ and they’re addicting-ly good! Hope you’re having a good weekend!

    -Megan

  4. 4 hopiek

    i’m with ya on growing up, haha not always pretty- but seriously, you’re summer will ROCK!! chin up, you got it, girl!!

    love the puppies, happy easter 🙂

  5. 5 rediscoveringlauren

    hi hun
    i loved marley and mein book form but havent managed to see the movie yet…it made me sad reading the ending 😦
    great eats..that wrap looks so good!
    i love all clif bars ( well all the ones ive tried… ) so good!
    way to go on the run 🙂 nothing like pushing yourself adn feeling aweosme about it!
    have a lovely day girlie
    much love
    xxxx

  6. I’ve been wanting to see that movie…now I’m not so sure =/ I’m a bawler (haha ‘BALLIN”!)

    CLIF MOJO BARS!?!?! I MUST GET SOME ASAP!

    Agreed…”an enormous sweet potato never dissapoints” I’m having one tonight

  7. Crapplebee’s – I like the new name, it fits well!! I have banned myself from watching Marley and Me because I know I’ll sob like a baby!

    Haha Shaboobie I love that name! My dog has a similar weird name! I need to get me a new batch of those mojos!

    Oh lovebug – cherish the time you have with your family now! When your away at your internship, sure you’ll be homesick but it’s a growing experience and you’ll be having the time of your life 🙂

  8. Kailey!! I’m sorry that you are starting to get bummed over being away from the fam all summer, but think of how fun the reunion will be after those 3 months!!!
    I also saw marley and me with my mama….. we definitely cried our eyes out, we are completeee animal people…..I cry over animals in movies more than people, enough said!
    And yum jealous of your whole foods chicken missy, as always! And your puppies are precious!! 🙂

  9. 9 BB

    I really want to see marley & me. My sister watched it, came home, and told me that the dog is just like ours. So I must see it for myself to believe her. but your doggies are adorable. Peanut looks like a fox and shaboobie looks so.. awesome! I’d be scared of shaboobie in person but hell, he looks all chic lying there on the sofa haha
    and about your 3 month adventure, it may seem like a long time now but before you know it, you’ll be back at home wondering how time moved so fast. It’s hard spreading those wings and flyinggg though 😀

  10. 10 Sweet and Fit

    your sweet potatoes always look so amazing! sorry you had sorta a rough weekend – but its really admirable that you were able to get out on a great run =)

  11. 11 Bec

    sadest movie ever, my sister and I were baling our eyes out in the theatre!

  12. you’ve got a rockin’ blog! I just watched Marley and Me last night and tears were sure welling up in my eyes. I just wanted to hug my puppy and not let go afterwards.

  13. The sweet potatoes look awesome, I love the display. I keep hearing the same thing about Marley and Me and now am afraid to watch it!

  14. 14 eatlivelovedream

    Your little goobers are so adorable!!!
    Crunchy, creamy, and spicy wrap?! That sounds like something I would enjoy very much!!
    P.S. Thank you sooooo much for the recipe!!!! That was so sweet of you! I will be making that VERY soon!!!

  15. 15 Lyss

    I’ve never had a Whole Foods salad, and looking at yours is making me VERY upset about that. 😦 Happy Easter little miss Snackface! Hope your Monday started off fantastically!!!!

  16. 16 Lyss

    Oh, and I saw Marley and Me in theaters with my dad… Let’s just say we had to sit for 20 minutes after the movie was over JUST so we could regain composure before walking out into public. SO SAD.

  17. way to hold out for that amazing wf salad!

    i love how much fun you have with your fam. it’s def going to be hard to be away this summer. you’ll squeeze in visits, i’m sure, but it won’t be the same. you’ll get through it though — it’s going to be such an awesome experience, as i’m sure everyone says!

    i heart carbs, too 🙂

  18. Marley and Me= saddest movie ever. It’s the second movie I have cried in in my whole life. I get teary just thinking about it =)

    Boo for allergies!!! Hope your feeling better!

  19. my love! so glad you had a fabulous weekend!! omg im never watching that movie– i cant deal with sad things happening to dogs! that wholefoods salad looks delish! funny how all wholefoods have dif prepared salads– we dont have that one here!! 😦

    dont mean to lecture you but please my baby be so careful when running with improper footwear– even a few runs can lead to aches and pains and eventually injury!! i just dont want you to end up where ive been for the past 4 months 😦

    CLIF MOJOS!! YES!! ive been eating them all weekend– im so glad they are back! have you tried the mountain mix– its really amazing!!!!!

    have a great day babes xoxo love u

  20. 20 dailydulcie

    Hello pretty ladyy. Thank you for telling me about the movie, Marley & Me.. I’ve never seen it & now I don’t want to!! Seems too depressing for me 😦

    The Peanut Butter Pretzel Mojo is my all time favorite bar. I haven’t seen it in stores yet though.. I neeeeeed them soon or I’m guna go crazy!

    I’m so close to my family.. so not seeing them for 3 months would be tough for me.. so I’m sure it will be tough for you also.. but don’t worry.. you’re going to have a blast!!! Growing up is hard though.

    much love,
    dulcie<3

  21. your sweet potatoes get me EVERY TIME! i love themmmmm 🙂 you make them better looking than i do… why dont you just be my neighbor already? and we can eat sweet potato rounds every day together! i promise i’ll help cook them too 🙂
    girl, i was a sobbing mess during marley and me.. but i saw it in the theater. i looked a puffy mess when i left! soo saddd but i loved the movie!


  1. 1 Aren’t Mom’s the Greatest? « Prop & Pedal

Leave a Reply

