I’m a Carby Girl in a Carby World

10Apr09

Happy Friday, folks! I am safely at home, sitting at the kitchen table and petting a puppy’s head. Allow me to review everything upΒ to this point.

Thursday

I woke up angry that I still had a sore throat. It’s amazing that one part of the body can make the rest of me feel icky. I wanted to work out, so I thought maybe it would get things flowing. Before I left I had the last half of a Barney Butter packet. This probably the last time my tastebuds will be tingled by the BB love:

Half naner with my last Barney Butter squirt :(

Half naner with my last Barney Butter squirt 😦

The workout went well! I did a little over 5 miles on the elliptical, then did a lot of ab work and stretching. My body has been craving stretching lately, and as an ex-dancer, I am ashamed to admit that I always slack in this area.

I was starving by the time I got home at 1 p.m. The cottage cheese, fruit, cereal mix is addicting:

Is that not beautiful?

Is that not beautiful?

In the bowl: 1/2 C cottage cheese, cinnamon, maple syrup, Kashi Go Lean, Kashi Honey Sunshine, Smucker’s Natural Peanut Butter drizzle. This is a fantastic mix. However, I was ravenous (hunger is through the roof lately!), so I finished with a Newman’s Own Organic Ginger-O! Dessert after every course? Yes, please!

The sun drenched the streets, and as I was walking to the newsroom I couldn’t help but think, “I’d much rather be sipping a cold drink and chatting in the sunshine.” Well, that couldn’t happen, so I bought a 10 calorie Vitamin Water lemonade flavor) to compensate. The newsroom has no windows, so it’s a bit of a bummer in the spring. I was there for almost two hours and managed to email a ton of sources.

By the time I came home it was 5:30 p.m. and I was ready for “lunch”? I don’t like labeling meals because I just like to go with whatever I want at whatever time I want. I was in a carby mood, so I went for this:

Wrap, Original smashed PopChips, sugar snap peas, cherry toms

Wrap, Original smashed PopChips, sugar snap peas, cherry toms

Wrapped in the Flat-Out: Sabra Greek Olive hummus (OMGosh new fave!), Laughing Cow, pickles, lettuce. I thoroughly enjoyed this lunchy, crunchy meal. To finish it off, Newman’s Own Champion Chip cookies somehow found my plate:

Those are silver dollar size...and frickin' fabulous

Those are silver dollar size...and frickin' fabulous

Welp, that’s one bag of cookies DONEZO. Didn’t take long. Anyway, it turned out that Muffin and I couldn’t leave Athens Thursday night. She had to work late and was super-stressed, so we decided that leaving Friday morning would be best. What to do with a free night…? GO OUT!

I met up with MisterMan and his friend at a bar and restaurant, JackieO’s. They brew their own beers there, so I had the Raspberry Wheat. I never thought I’d like beer, but if it’s tasty and not too hoppy, I’m in. Muffin was at the newsroom until 9:30ish and didn’t join us until after that.

When she finally met up with us, MisterMan had to catch a bus back to his apartment and left the two of us to, well, get into trouble. We traipsed about uptown for a bit and around 10-something I needed “dinner”! I started to feel a little weak, so we went to O’Betty’s. O’Betty’s has the best hot dogs and fries in town. I’ve only had a tofu dog of theirs once, and it was phenomenal. I didn’t want a ‘fu dog, though. I wanted this:

Oh no she di'int!

Oh no she di'int!

Oh yes I did! VEGGIE CHILI FRIES! Holy moley. These have to be, handsdown, the BEST fries I have ever had in my whole life. The chili was spicy and hot and hearty. Why would anyone have the meat version? This is significantly better! I shared these with Muffin and our new friends Scooter Girl and her little brother. Scooter Girl is a little 5-year-old girl who was racing around on her scooter. Her dad owns the restaurant next to O’Betty’s, Souvlaki’s, and when we talked to her she said, “People call me Scooter Girl!” She was adorable! I gave them some fries and her little bro kept coming back to me asking “spicy?” I couldn’t resist his big brown eyes and sweet little face, so I shared the carby love.

Muffin and I went to our friend’s apartment for a while, and then headed to a party. I didn’t stay long, though. I really just wanted to sleep! MisterMan met me at Court Street (the main street) and we went back to my place. We watched another SatC episode. I think he likes it. I also pawned off two packages Newman’s cookies to him. I cannot have these around! Before bed, I dug into the Newman’s Own Organics Orange Chocolate Chip Champion Chip cookies. I thought I wouldn’t like the orange-chocolate combo, but a couple handfuls of the cookies showed me otherwise.

This is the food pyramid I lived by yesterday:

On a favorite tee of mine! SO TRUE!

On a favorite tee of mine! SO TRUE!

Friday

Mmmm I loved my eats yesterday! It’s nice to get back to normal today, though. Hopping back on track, I had this breakfast while I was packing:

Apple was eaten on the road; CC mix eaten while packing/dancing to Pandora

Apple was eaten on the road; CC mix eaten while packing/dancing to Pandora

I listened to the Hip Hop/Urban Pandora station while packing, and I definitely popped that booty in the a.m. It can’t be helped. In the cottage cheese container: cottage cheese (ha duh), cinnamon, maple syrup, Kashi Go Lean, Kashi Honey Sunshine. Sunshiney just like me! Kinda πŸ™‚

We packed the car and brought these along:

OWNED by Newman's Own right now

OWNED by Newman's Own right now

We brought them for Muffin, but an hour or so into the ride, I needed to try one. I kept it to just one. The chocolate cream in the middle is equivalent to fantastic chocolate icing you’d find on a birthday cake. Keep these away from me, please.

A few hours later, I settled into my home, caught up with Popsicle and loved on the puppers. Popsicle and I talked about my summer plans. It is going to be very rough on my dad (oh hell, and me in some ways). I will be away from home for three months, something I’ve never done. My dad is in disbelief that he won’t see me for that long, but he is also very proud of me. Our “unit,” as he says, will survive, though!

In an effort to balance my carby world, I made a salad for lunch. The highlight: Whole Foods’ Vegan General Tso’s Chicken! I love this stuff!

Salad of romaine, cukes, cherry toms, vegan chicken rocks my life; ripe, juicy cantelope

Salad of romaine, cukes, cherry toms, vegan chicken rocks my life; ripe, juicy cantelope

I have no idea what I’m doing for the rest of the day, but I do know I have a ton of work to do this weekend! I hope you all have wonderful weekends and happy holidays!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

18 Responses to “I’m a Carby Girl in a Carby World”

  1. Hooray for being home!! But boo to your sore throat – get well soon!!

    HELL YES FOR CARBS!! πŸ˜€ Damn, those chili fries are intense, haha.

    Enjoy your weekend!!

  2. 2 Anna

    I love that flavor of Vitamin Water! And I’m thoroughly convinced that most guys secretly like SATC. They may complain when you initially turn it on, but they stay and watch the whole thing, totally transfixed.

    Have a great weekend!

  3. 3 BB

    Hahah love that paul frank shirt. Supa cute. and those chili fries look amazing, i’ve never been a fan of chili fries, but if I was was, I’d be all over that. enjoy your weekend and hopefully your throat gets better!

  4. Oh my gosh, totally love Paul Frank!
    And mmmmmmmm those fries are looking good!

  5. I love that shirt I love your wrap “lunch” i love your vegan whole foods chicken i love your cottage cheese breakfast i love it alll!! sounds like you had a fun night out with your fave girl and boy! those veggie fries look killer as well!

    all your newman’s goodies are making me want to go out and buy them all for myself!!!

    have fun at home dear, so jealous that you are getting some puppy lovin’ on! I miss my ginger!

    PS thanks for the good luck on my psych test….got a 97!!!! not to brag or anything….just thought you would want to know though! πŸ˜‰

  6. oh oh oh i love that cottage cheese/cereal/fruit blend! i make mine with yogurt instead of cottage cheese and eat it almost every day. sooooooo good!!!!!!!!!!

  7. 7 Bec

    those fries look amazing!

  8. 8 Helen's Journey

    I’m a carby girl too. Yeh those veggie fries look amazing.

  9. Your dad was talking about his “unit.” Heh heh.

    I love the tee shirt! Chris is trying to find us Banana Phone t-shirts, but hasn’t been able to yet.

    Have a great Easter weekend and pass me a cookie!

  10. Ahhh stretching! I adore it oh so much! When we’re finally roommates we can remind each other to stretch before we eat BB smothered hunks of carbs?! Sound good?!

    HAHAHAH – Scooter Girl?! What a nickname! Did you get hermits in your package o’ love from Erin? If so, watch out girl – that stuff is legit!

    Hope you got lots of puppy kisses πŸ™‚

    PS. Hells Bells, Trudy (PLEASE tell me you’ve seen Mad Men)! Oh, and I saw ‘snackface’ on something today but I can’t remember what it was so when I do, I’ll be back!

  11. LOVE your carby post!!!

  12. hahahahaha. now do you see why i had
    to pawn my newman goods off on you!?

    have fun at home my wee little reindeer!

  13. 13 cleanveggiex3

    haha i LOVE the carbs shirt – because everyone knows that is the best food group!
    mm those cookies look fabulous & i LOVE your wrap!!
    have a fabulous evening!

  14. 14 sue

    okay, i will not be satisfied until i get some veggie chili fries in me! those look so amazing!

  15. 15 rediscoveringlauren

    hey hun
    aw i hope the throat clears up soon!
    im such a carbaholic too, i cant live without them!
    i loved what you said about not labelling meals because you like to go with whatever you feel like, i think thats so so great , your my inspiration πŸ™‚ i have difficulties involving deviating away from my normal routine of eating at certain times and i love seeing others who can do this and are ok with it, it really motivates me to try be less structured!
    those newman cookies sound so good πŸ™‚
    have a wonderful evening girlie
    much love
    xxxxx

  16. and those chili cheese fries that you had…omg they look amazing!

    those newman’s cookies look amazing!!! i need to get some of those!

  17. 17 dailydulcie

    OH MY FREAKING GOODNESS! Those Veggie Chili Fries look AWESOMEEEEEEE. Wow totally worth it πŸ˜‰

    I’m a carb lover also πŸ˜€ Love that tee!

    Have a wonderful day dollface πŸ™‚

    much love,
    dulcie ❀

  18. So… I know this is a random way late comment on this post, but I had to comment. I used to have that t-shirt and I loved it! Now for the ironic part, I have since been diagnosed with Celiac’s Disease and can’t eat any of those carbs. (unless they are gluten free substitutes of course) It’s kind of funny, in an ironic, sardonic sort of way! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

