Baby Got Back?

09Apr09

Buongiorno! Buonanotte! Whatever time you’re reading this: Greetings!

Wednesday started off calmly, quietly, and remained relatively the same throughout. I awoke with the same throbbing throat, but I think I know what’s up. I needed to clean my Ionic Breeze and this weather drives my sinuses nuts! Does anyone else use an Ionic Breeze to clean their air?

When the shock of my still-soreness wore off, I made a darling breakfast loaded with Vitamin C:

Cottage cheese is rocking my world right now

Cottage cheese is rocking my world right now

Is black coffee good for a sore throat/ impending illness? Perhaps not. I live dangerously. In the bowl: 1/2 C cottage cheese mixed with cinnamon and maple syrup, many strawberries, Kashi Go Lean, Kashi Honey Sunshine, Holy Barney Butter.

I didn't mean to make a cross, it just happened!

I didn't mean to make a cross, it just happened!

I scrambled to get ready for class and then speed walked my way there. I walk freakishly fast to class. It’s borderline jogging. I gotta put these long legs to good use! In Magazine Feature Writing today we pitched department story ideas to the class. Of course, I chose to pitch a story idea for VegNews, which is summed up as so: How vegan students and visitors can get their veg on in Athens, Ohio, home to the number five party school. Beyond the abundance of beer, culinary veg gems are everywhere. I went second to last and we were running out of time, so I didn’t get any feedback. Would you read that article?

By the time I came home, it had been four hours since I had last eaten. The cottage cheese combo held me over than the oats I had Monday– crazy. I went for a wrap, naturally:

Flat-out with hummus, Laughing Cow, pickles, lettuce; apple; carrots; mustard for dipping

Flat-out with hummus, Laughing Cow, pickles, lettuce; apple; carrots; mustard for dipping

The Laughing Cow really makes a wrap– shooo homes. I ate lunch for 30 minutes, sipped tea for 30 minutes, and then was back out the door! I brought these snacks for between solid classes 1-6 p.m.:

New-to-me Clif Bar, sugar snap peas!

New-to-me Clif Bar, sugar snap peas!

When I lived at home, I used to eat tons ofΒ sugar snap peas. They are the sweetest, crunchiest veggies to snack on! The bag was almost $3 at Wal-Mart, and I’ve stared at it many times before. I’m so glad I just went for it this week. And the Chocolate Almond Fudge Clif Bar…soft, chewy, chocolatey, almondy. This is one of my favorites now. It’s not overly sweet, but it kind of reminded me of those Kudos bars I used to eat when I was younger. I will definitely buy this one again.

Classes today were great. In the first English class of the day we talked about European versus American culture in the time of Daisy Miller. Graphics class, however, brought me some challenges. We currently are making book jackets on Photoshop, and let’s just say that I struggle a little bit. I am determined to get a grip on this, but I sometimes want to throw the fancy Apple across the room. My instructor says the same thing, though-I’m not alone!

In my second English class of the day we talked about the first time we remember being scolded by someone other than our parents. I didn’t remember anything like that. I was terrified to get in trouble! In fact, I still am.

Were you a troublemaker when you were younger? What did you do? OR Were you a goody-two-shoes…like moi?

On my walk home I was busy contemplating my day. I crossed the street and walked by a van full of pre-teen kids. I received some lovely complements as I walked by:
“You’re hot!” “Nice butt!”

What? Nice butt? Well that really is something I never hear. Thanks pre-pubescent kid! Now I know that baby got back.

When I arrived home at 7:20 p.m., I was ready for dinner. I was on auto-pilot and made a salad:

Can we discuss this?

Can we discuss this?

What we have here: salad of romaine, cherry toms, broccoli, salsa, teeny bit hummus, vegan Boca burger; side: two Wasa fiber crackers with fat free cottage cheese and pepper.

When I snapped a picture of this, a thought popped into my head. “This looks like I’m on a diet.” Now, for some of you, this dinner may be perfect. For me, however, it just isn’t enough. Ya’ll know I don’t normally go into this stuff, but I couldn’t help but notice that when I was eating. It was delicious, mind you, but I was like, sistuh needs more than this. I got right on that:

Newman's Own Organics cookies: Ginger-O! and another chocolate chocolate chip champion chip cookie!

Newman's Own Organics cookies: Ginger-O! and another chocolate chocolate chip champion chip cookie!

The Ginger-Os are the happy love child of ginger snaps and Oreos. I’m hording these. No sharing. Nooo, I couldn’t- MamaJ is going to love these! I’m really working on increasing my sugar intake, so I had about 500 more champion chip cookies out of the bag. These will be gone by Thursday or Friday.

I went to a capella practice for an hour, and then MisterMan picked me up and we shared some quality time together. I asked him about his favorite juices and annoyingly asked him about 20 different kinds. He only went for orange. BORING πŸ™‚ I came home and had puffed wheat with almond milk. And more cookies πŸ™‚

Thursday’s agenda isn’t definite. I will be working out, showering, going to the paper’s office for a while, contacting sources, and then packingΒ and going home for the weekend! Have beautiful days, doves!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

P.S. I’m LOVING seeing new commenters in addition to all my other lovepies πŸ™‚

29 Responses to “Baby Got Back?”

  1. 1 Sarah

    I was a total goody goody. I actually could read at like 4th grade level when I was 3, and I skipped first grade. I’m pretty sure my older brother hated me for being in his same grade.

    I love your eats, obvs.

    Hey Kailey….

    NICE BUTT!!!!

  2. 2 Megan

    Wooo I need to get some of those Newman’s cookies!! I can’t find them anywhere around here. Growing up I was totally a goody goody.. I was the kid that always wanted to please people and hated getting in trouble.

    ps.. I love your blog!

    -Megan

  3. I was a total goodie-to shoes. I wore little dresses in elementary school and hated gettin my nails dirty in the sand…whata diva!! That all changed in 6th grade when I got frizzy hair, braces..and started dressing as a tomb boy….that lasted for a while too!! Tragic…..

    Oh and can I just say I love your humor and the way you write this blog, it’s too cute! And I WOULD want to read that article! Glad you made sure to pump up that “dieter’s dream” dinner w/ some suga lovin’! I know you are hoarding those ginger snaps, but send your girl J one to try?!?!! Hahaha…..in my dreams.

    PS the smokehouse thins have been chillin’ in my snack area for a while now because there are only about 5 left and I always end up eating my other chips or crackers instead!! they’d definitely be gone faster if I didn’t have 5 different bags of chips going on at the moment (and all on on their last legs!) ….but I loved them, and definitely need to buy them again!

  4. I was a good little kid, but mischievous all the same, haha.

    Love those GInger-O’s πŸ™‚

    Glad that classes are going well!! Enjoy the rest of your week, girl!!

  5. Do you know of any good low-sodium cottage cheeses? I love the texture but avoid eating it because of its high count.
    I was a goodie two shoes back in the day but when I messed up I got in HUGE trouble! That’s a whole ‘nother longggggg story!

    • 6 snackface

      Yasmin- NO I don’t know of any good brand with low sodium! It kills me that there’s so much in there; I just can’t figure out why! I figure that I don’t get it that often, so it’s not going to do much damage.

  6. I was such a goodie two shoes…most of the time. Still am πŸ˜‰

    Ahahaha I totally listen to Baby Got Back everytime I work out! It’s a fun song for motivation!

  7. I was the devil’s kid. my hobby was picking fights in the playground. seriously. must have been because I watched too many power rangers. I’ve grown up a bit, though, thankfully.
    lol I loved that little squirt of AB in your breakfast! how appropriate for Easter.

  8. 9 Kaley

    I’d totally read it. I go to IU Bloomington, and we have SO many great veggie/vegan places. In fact, I just went to one called “Roots” and I had a sweet potato curry soup and my friend had a lovely mango smoothie. It was DELISH. But hey, I love all food and I sure don’t discriminate. πŸ˜‰

    Re: the pre-pubescent boys…hahah. Always good to know ya got the 12 year-olds appreciatin’. I can’t decide which is more awkward for me: pre-pubescent or 40 year old marrieds? Hrmmm.

    • 10 snackface

      Kaley- OMG can I come visit and eat with you? Your area sounds ammmazing. About the 40-year-old marrieds—Muffin and I often go out to fancier bars when we’re in Cicinnati. Let’s just say that we rarely have to pay for our drinks…thanks to the significantly older gentlemen. It’s nice, but then you have to talk to them and deal with their oggling eyes. Ick.

  9. “I walk freakishly fast to class.” I do that too and I get so winded by the time I get to class that people wonder why the hell I’m breathing so hard! I would read the article fo’ sho’!!

    I was a total goody too shoes – I was corrupted in High School but my parents still thought I was a little angel (even when I was “caught” drinking once!) πŸ˜€ Oh and LC is a MUST in wraps – it’s like glue!

    Nice butt – HAHAHA! I take it they haven’t learned ass yet πŸ˜‰ Have a fantastic Thursday my lovey dove!

  10. I was such a goodie two shoes when I was litte–still am sometimes πŸ˜‰

    haha glad you bulked up that dinner with some treats, you’re right, sistahh needs something more than a few Wasas!

    Have a great day!!

  11. 13 sue

    your classes sound like the ones i took in college! i was a mass com/advertising major..i used to dread pitching feature stories though and loved any class that let me use my photo shop skills πŸ™‚ and i was a total good-two-shoes growing up, i was sooo afraid of getting in trouble. my dad was very stern!

  12. hey girlie
    great eats! those newmans cookies look so good! i LOVE clif bars πŸ™‚ i bet that flavour was awesome!
    i was a bit of a drama queen as a kid i think, a total pain in the ass πŸ™‚
    have a great thursday hun
    much love
    xxx

  13. OK, call me silly, but when you mix the cereal and fruits with the cottage cheese, do you taste cottage cheese? Because I tried cottage cheese once, and it was… not pleasant?

    • 16 snackface

      Bahaha Sharon- the first time I tried fruit and cereal mixed with cottage cheese, I didn’t add any sweetner to the CC first. It was…not pleasant. I told myself never to do that again. But I really love CC on its own, and it’s one of the few dairy products I can comfortably enjoy (too much? sorry),so I thought…there has to be a better way. I sweeten it with some maple syrup and cinnamon, then add everything else. It’s incredible that way! Long answer, can’t help it πŸ™‚

  14. I’ve been eyeing those ginger-o’s for a while now…I have a feeling they would be gone in two seconds. πŸ™‚

    Way to amp up the sugar…….cookiessss!!! Enjoy! πŸ™‚

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  15. 18 Bec

    what a busy day! Have a great weekend at home πŸ™‚

  16. i want a cottage cheese bowl!!
    but im all out. so sad so sad.

    also. total goodiegoodie up in
    here. but deep down we all know
    that i am a total badass. right?

    and im so with you on salads not
    being enough. im sure if people
    read my blog they think i live on
    them but the cereal/peanutbutter/
    chocolate/chip munching behind
    the scenes. wow wow wow. hey.
    a girls gotta eat. yaknowwhatimean?

    anyways. i love you. when are we
    moving to san fran? i need to start
    packing up my jars of peanutbutter!

  17. 20 gina (fitnessista)

    oooh that is one of the few clif bars i haven’t tried! hmmm
    i would totally read that article!
    hope you have a great day ❀

  18. 21 Helen's Journey

    I got told off at school a few times, but mainly I was a goody goody πŸ™‚

  19. way to rock that booty, haha. and yes, i would def read that article!!

    i’m SO glad you’re not into diet food πŸ˜› your din does actually look tasty, though i agree it needed bulking assistance from 500 champion chip cookies.

    and i was super super goodie-two shoes growing up. no mischief, no rebellion. in fact, my mom used to make up stuff to get mad at me for so she could be like the other moms. i’m still the same way, can’t shake it.

    have fun at home!

  20. 23 cleanveggiex3

    kailey I love reading your blog because your just so light hearted and funny πŸ™‚
    LOVE your eats and the cookies of course!

  21. “i’m really working on increasing my sugar intake” hahaha, i think i’m on that diet, too! i made cookies yesterday and already ate them all! (ok, i had some help..) those ginger-o’s are incredibly delicious!

  22. New commenter here! I just discovered your blog and am really lovin it. I’m working on the sugar intake too, I’ve already got a plan to eat one huge slice of each layer of my wedding cake next month!!

    • 26 snackface

      Graze With Me- Thank you so much for commenting and for enjoying the blog! I’m heading over to yours right now to check it out. HELL YEAH to workin on that sugar intake!

  23. new commenter here! ive seen you comment everywhere and now i need to check you out girl!

    i was half and half in school. i talked A LOT and got in trouble A LOT for talking. i spent time in detention for being late all the time… in with all the kids who smoked weed behind the school.. i was bad-ass!!!

    but teachers loved me because i was a stellar student!! yay!

  24. hahahaha kailey every single post of yours is just too fun to read — you’re awesome, seriously.

    umm yeah, i was seriously a goodie-two shoes, i still am. i can’t help it! i saw how it helped me get away with things as a young’in, like extra cookies or the best ball at recess, and i haven’t been able to shake the habit since! ha!

    i’m still laughing at your experience with the “pre-pubescent boys” — hilarious. yet flattering? a 12-year-old compliment is still a compliment!

    in terms of the article, i would totally read it. i would read anything you write, most likely! unless it’s like the telephone book or something, i’d prefer you to sing that one =)

    thank you thank you thank you for such a kind comment on my post today, you really know how to brighten my spirits! have a lovely evening, girlfriend! xoxo

  25. 29 dailydulcie

    Hi sweet pea πŸ™‚ The chocolate almond clif bar is one of my favs! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I was totally a goody two shoes haha.. my younger sister was the troublemaker in the family! MisterMan sounds like a sweetheart.. thats nice that you 2 had some quality time together.

    Hope you had a FABULOUS day ❀

    much loveee,
    dulcie


Leave a Reply

