Hey. Nice Package.

07Apr09

THANK YOU!!! Thank you all so much for the congratulations. You’ve all made me even happier about the news with your lovely comments. And it’s been great to see new commenters, too! I’ve never had comments in the thirties before!

Monday night I had do dive into the Barney Butter. I’ve only been reading about it for months, and how it’s the best thing since greek yogurt made it big. I squeezed half a packet into half a naner, like so:

I almost had butterflies before the first bite. Almost. My nerves were worn at this point.

I almost had butterflies before the first bite. Almost. My nerves were worn at this point.

First off, I was excited to eat a nut butter that resembled my childhood favorite, Jif, chosen by my choosy mom. It was beautiful. The first bite…Good, but I was expecting p.b., so of course I was a little puzzled. I’ve never had any kind of almond butter, so I wasn’t sure in what ways the taste would differ. I’d say it has a roastier, toastier taste. That’s pretty articulate, isn’t it? It kind of tasted like sunflower seeds to me, for some reason. But bite after bite, I wanted the BB more and more. It must have crack in it. If I weren’t a student living off minimal funds, you can bet your cute booty I’d immediately purchase this online. I must suffer.

Tuesday morning I awoke, had another half naner with the other half of the BB packet, and headed to the gym. I had (and have still) a terrible swollen, sore, throbbing throat. At the start of my 5.3 mile elliptical stint, I was struggling to swallow water. I made myself believe that as soon as I was finished working out, I’d feel fine! It didn’t work that way, but I did get a chunk of Daisy Miller read while I was cardio-ing away.

I trudged through the wind, snow flurries and frigid cold back to my house. What is that I see on my front porch? A package??!! The Newman’s Own Organics giveaway I won from miss Erin had arrived! I tore into it immediately:

YOU ARE AMAZING

YOU ARE AMAZING

Erin, thank you so much! See that card? It’s celebrating our 27th anniversary. We started our relationship when I was -6. Anyway, I will be stocked on cookies for a while…

Thoroughly Owned

Thoroughly Owned

I will be eating cookies for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks:
-Newman-O’s in: Original, Chocolate, Chocolate Mint and Ginger-O’s
-Fig Newmans
-Champion Chip Cookies in: Chocolate Chocolate Chip, Orange Chocolate Chip, Double Chocolate Mint Chip
-Milk Chocolate bar, Mocha Milk Chocolate bar
-Mint rolls in: Peppermint, Wintergreen, Cinnamon Mints, Ginger Mints (I’ve been eating the ginger ones all day- delicious and spicy)
-PopChips in: Original, Salt and Pepper
-Peeps
-Bubbles! My dogs love bubbles; I can’t wait to mess with them.

It took a lot not to open every single bag and try every single cookie. Instead, I showered, got dressed and made a delightful breakfast:

Crunchy, sweet, salty, mapley, cinnamoney, honey-ey

Crunchy, sweet, salty, mapley, cinnamoney, honey-ey

In the bowl: 1/2 C cottage cheese, squirt of maple syrup, cinnamon (all that stirred together first), half naner, strawberries (4, I think), Kashi Go Lean, Kashi Honey Sunshine. Every single bite was an adventure.

It was after breakfast that I started to feel very ick (yes, ick, not sick- can’t let my mind think that). I had to keep moving, though, because I had interviews set up in the afternoon for stories I’m working on. I took vitamins, DayQuil and ran out of the house before I felt any worse.

The wonderful winter weather made me feel significantly better. Oh wait, no it didn’t! Actually, I didn’t much mind it. There’s nothing I can do.

I interviewed a lieutenant colonel who also is a professor of military sciences. I’m working on a feature about people and students who do triathlons, and everything about the training, experience, balance, cost…everything. He was a gem to talk to; he’s done TWO Iron Man competitions! This is what I love about journalism. I get to talk to people I wouldn’t normally approach. We talk about their lives and their passions, and then I get to create a story about it. When people talk about things they truly love, I cannot help but feel their excitement.

After that, I interviewed a nutritionist about a different story I’m working on. (Look at me ending with prepositions all over the place-whoot!) The other piece is about sugar versus HFCS and the fact that they are now replacing HFCS with sugar, thus making sugar the new health food. It was great to talk to her because she is all about avoiding the HFCS, and has been for aΒ long time. She also pointed me toward a Washington Post article aboutΒ mercury in HFCS, about which I had no clue.

As I reviewed my hand-written notes after the interviews and filled in the gaps, I snacked on an apple and Salt n Pepper PopChips (review is to come). Then I dealt with some financial issues at the school’s finance office and headed home. I was freezing when I got home and felt a little bit like poo, so I lay under the covers on my bed and did research for a homework assignment. I snacked on many of these:

Newman's Own Organics Chocolate Chocolate Chip Champion Chip Cookies (mayjuh name!)

Newman's Own Organics Chocolate Chocolate Chip Champion Chip Cookies (mayjuh name!)

Laying in bed, snacking on delicious, addicting cookies and working on magazine homework was a deadly combination. I felt like such a princess, too. I have no idea how many cookies I ate (many more than the serving size of 4–serving sizes are silly anyway), but I soon decided to have real food for linner (?).

Salad and wrap

Salad and wrap

I worked on getting some vitamin C into the salad with sweet strawberries atop romaine, sugar snap peas, cherry toms, tempeh, BBQ sauce and balsamic. I had been missing wraps badly; bread sandwiches are yummy, but not really my thing. This was welcomed with open arms:

Flat-out with tempeh, BBQ sauce, hummus, spinach, cherry toms.

Flat-out with tempeh, BBQ sauce, hummus, spinach, cherry toms.

I hoovered that in no time. MisterMan picked my up right after dinner, and we went to see my favorite author speak!

David Sedaris is a writer idol of mine. He’s funny, fresh and sharp. His readings tonight were hysterical, and I ended up falling more in love with him. Had I known he was going to be signing books, I would have brought some of mine! Missed that memo.

I came home very hungry and found this in the fridge:

Berry Cobbler!

Berry Cobbler!

My roomie made a low-fat cobbler. She made sure that I knew it was made without butter and eggs. What a sweetie! Of course I had a large piece! I wanted something else, though. Enter cereal!

Kashi Honey Sunshine, puffed red wheat, almond milk

Kashi Honey Sunshine, puffed red wheat, almond milk

I went back for Honey Sunshine refills once, twice, thrice…who’s counting! I still have Daisy Miller to read and some more research to do; I’m well-fueled now. Despite feeling under the weather—wait, the weather was already pretty low today. Despite feeling par with the weather, today turned out to be charming.

Wednesday is a crazy long day: class 9-11, 1-3, 3-5, 5-7; practice 9-10. But then it’s my weekend, technically! Again, thank you ALL so much for the sweet, congratulatory comments, and for sharing your fears (those were fascinating!). Here’s another Q:

Do you try to avoid HFCS? Why? Why not? What are your thoughts about it?
I admit that sometimes I care, sometimes I don’t. The more I learn, however, the more I want to beware. I’m still trying to use up a huge Heinz ketchup bottle, which is chock-full of the stuff. It doesn’t stop me from enjoying it with my sweet taters!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

31 Responses to “Hey. Nice Package.”

  1. THANK goodness home girl..i buy the huge-o heinz bottle’s from costco and I’m sticking with my OG 57 baby πŸ˜€ Love that bright red hue! For dessert type treats- i would so much rather have a freshly baked (or perhaps a Newman) goodie than some packaged crap for sure, I’m sooo jeal of your date with David, do u read Augusten Burroughs, he’s totally hilar too.

    You know I rep the CC/cereal combo, love it!

  2. 2 Megan

    AHH so much amazing looking food!! All the Newman’s Own and BARNEY BUTTER! I’ve been dying to try that forever… I’m waiting for my samples to come in the mail! And the cobbler looks so delicious! I love baking but sometimes it’s really hard to make “healthy” desserts…

    Congrats again on the internship.. that’s awesome!

    -Megan

  3. haha. you know what i have to say to serving sizes?..PFF.

    yes. that is all.

    also. i want you in me..i mean..your breakfast.

    yes. that is all.

    oh. and i try to avoid hfcs..but if its in something that
    i want to eat then im all like ‘hey man. its just corn..ish.’

    yes. that is all.

    okay. im done being obnoxious.

    for now.

  4. I try to avoid HFCS, but sometimes it can be hard to avoid when you… ugh, want those cookies. LOL! But yeah, most of the time, I avoid it. =)
    AND OMG, I WANT THAT DELICIOUS PACKAGE!! LOL

  5. Those interviews sound like so much fun, it’s so cute how interested you are in journalism, shows that you are gonna go far because you actually like what you do!!!!

    I’m really jealous that you have all those newman products to try, I was eyeing the ginger cookies at safeway tonight, but I decided to spend the 5 dollars on this olive spread instead…..haha, who knows…i bet it’s going to be amazing with some hummus and veggies in a wrap, ok!?

    And i got my barney butter today too, ahhhh CANNOT wait to try it!
    I definitely try to avoid HFCS, yet I just know that it’s bad…..but I also heard that it’s just likee eating sugar, yet sugar is in lots of stuff that I buy too!

  6. 6 BB

    Wowwww so many newman’s products. Im jealous of your package haha. I had the same reaction when i tried barney butter for the 1st time. I kept expecting pb. it even looks and has a very pb-like consistency! While i prefer just simply roasted almond butter, it’s fun to mix it up some days. Also, your attitude towards food in general is awesome and i find it really helpful when you say the hell with serving sizes and am able to freely snack on what you want, when you want.

  7. 7 Sarah

    Thank goodness those Newman’s Own products are HFCS free or you’d be in trouble!

    Did you read Olga’s post on HFCS (Healthing It)? There is a TON of info in her post, you should chickety check it, if you haven’t already!

  8. You TOTALLY need to try other nut butters, girl!! Venture out πŸ™‚ My favorites are pumpkin seed butter (**10.5 grams of protein per two tablespoons/serving!!**), almond butter, hazelnut butter, and sunflower seed butter.

    Hope you feel 100% better!!

    No HFCS for me.

    • 9 snackface

      VeggieGirlBombBaker- I totally agree! I’ve had (oddly enough) soynut butter before, but that’s it! I need to branch out, and the only thing holding me back is deifnitely $$. But my happiness is worth it, right? I should just go for it!

  9. I loved the BB too! I thought it was sweeter than most almond butters but it had great texture.

    I need to pick up some Honey Sunshine! That’s my favorite cereal! You said something about sending me cereal…how bout an exchange. I’ll send ya something too? We’ll talk πŸ˜‰

    • 11 snackface

      Shelbs! (I always want to call you that, I have no clue why). We must do an exchange, yay! πŸ™‚

  10. Congratulations on your great winnings! Don’t forget to share πŸ™‚ I try to avoid HFCS like the plague. I hear such negative reviews of the ingredients, I refuse to eat it. You’d be surprised how many “healthy” brands actually use it.

  11. Woo hoo for all those goodies, I’m totally jealous!

    I def avoid things with HFCS, but I don’t go ape-shit out of my way…I figure if it’s only in one or two things that I consume, then that’s better than if it were in EVERYTHING.

    Hope your day goes smoothly, and yay for the break! πŸ™‚

  12. So this is the first time I stumble across and I already find a reason to congratulate you? Yes πŸ™‚ CONGRATS ON THE VEGNEWS INTERNSHIP! Oh my gosh, that is so exciting and wonderful! I considered applying but wouldn’t be able to make it out to SanFran so I’ve been sticking to NYC mags, but, wow, that sounds like a dream. Good luck with it, you’re going to be fantastic, I’m sure.

    P.S. Oh and by the way, nice blog πŸ˜‰

  13. Barney Butter = Crack! That’s a nice package you’ve got there, that’s what she said! Delish CC bowl!! That salad…just package it up and send it north, ok?!

    Dang that lieutenant sounds intense! Does he have Jay Robb muscles?!

    FEEL BETTER MY SHOULD-BE-ROOMIE-BECAUSE-WE-WOULD-OD-ON-HEALTH-FOODS-THAT-DONT-CONTAIN-HFCS πŸ˜€

  14. 16 chickenfingersandfoisgras

    i am beyond jealous of the Newman Ginger-O’s! LUCKY!

    Also, congrats on the internship. That is HUGE! and amazing πŸ™‚ san fran is beautiful….so many good eats and sights. I love living in coastal cities.

    I haven’t avoided HFCS yet….it’s in so many things that I never would have suspected!

  15. 17 eatlivelovedream

    EVerything looks delish! Would your roomie be willing to spill the recipe for her cobbler???? It looks so good!

  16. hey girlie
    hope you stop feeling ick soon!
    the author reading sounded like fun πŸ™‚
    all the eats look so good!
    i dont necesarily go out of my way to avoid it but id say the only thing i eat that contains it is heinz kecthup too…i love kecthup and refuse to give it up πŸ™‚
    have a great night hun
    xxxxx

  17. 19 gina (fitnessista)

    what an awesome package! i love peeps! my pilot doesn’t because one he and his buddies had a peep eating contest… i think he had more than 50
    that berry cobbler is GORGEOUS! i would be standing at the fridge with a spoon in hand, snacking at that πŸ˜€
    hope you have a wonderful day!

  18. 20 Leila

    Glad you enjoyed David Sedaris. I’m sure you know of his sister Amy Sedaris, but if not, you definitely have to check her out too, she’s just as funny/witty.

  19. Hi Kailey!
    Have been reading your blog for a few weeks now, and it’s quickly becoming one of my favs!! It always makes me smile. I still want to hear your America’s Next Top Model story!!
    Have a good Wednesday!
    Jess

    • 22 snackface

      Hey Jessica! Thank you so much for commenting, and I’m thrilled you enjoy SnackFace! You’re so right- I still have to share that tale!! I’ve actually been waiting a little bit until I have more time to adequately right about it, but I’m thinking I’ll have some time this weekend πŸ™‚ Thanks for the reminder!

  20. i hope you feel better sooooon! that berry cobbler looks so delicious! how sweet of her to make it just te way you like it! rest up and hope you get all your reading done!

  21. 24 Kate

    I just found your blog from Kath!!! Im’ so excited to check in-everything looks awesome. ❀ Kate

  22. 25 Wendy

    I just bought some Ginger-Os…they are A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!

  23. your post is so full of amazingness. i love those champion chip cookies. they are the perfect size … to eat the whole freaking bag in one sitting. for that reason, i have been avoiding opening my o’s. i love oreos more than anything, so i am waiting until i really NEED the o’s so i can get them going at the absolute perfect moment.

    stop feeling ick right now!!

    and your cereal always looks amazing and makes ME want cereal. maybe i should have some now?

  24. 27 dailydulcie

    Hi lovely~

    I have yet to try Barney Butter.. I’m glad you like it!!! I’m out of the loop, but hopefully I’ll have the chance to try its deliciousness.

    Woah.. I’m so jealous of all those cookies. Enjoy them alllllll πŸ˜‰

    Your roomie’s low fat cobbler looks yummy.. glad you ate a nice big chunk! Mmm.

    I always try to avoid HFCS.. I try and eat foods where I completely understand the ingredient list.

    much love,
    dulcie ❀

  25. ahh too many good things in this post! LOVE the package!! πŸ™‚ you have yourself some tastey treats to enjoy! sounds like you have some great interviews!!! LOVE the tempeh wrap– i just love bbq and tempeh together πŸ™‚
    as for HFCS i try to avoid it as much as i can but if i eat something that has it in it– no big deal.

    xoxoxo j

  26. A very late comment back to this post πŸ™‚ BUT, I think a lot of people will find it pretty interesting that hardly any products here (Australia) have HFCS. I hardly ever see it written on any product! ‘Glucose syrup’ is pretty common on candies and stuff like that, but that’s pretty much it.

    I wonder why it’s so huge in the U.S?

  27. 30 Brittany

    Your wrap looks so good!
    I’m ordering some flat out wraps online because I can’t buy them where I live.
    I was wondering if you have any recommendations as to what flavors are the best? I’ll be buying the light variety.

    Thanks πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

