Workin’ Weekend

06Apr09

Well that felt odd! How did I not post this weekend? I’ve missed you all! Here’s a bit of a weekend wrap-up. I don’t have pictures of everything, and I may not remember the order in which I’ve eaten some of what you’re about to see, but let’s hop- to!

First, a glimpse of Friday night:

Workin' that 34" inseam.

Workin' that 34" inseam.

Haha I like that “Select” over my head. I’m sharing this pic because any Sex and the City fan should recognize where I drew the outfit inspiration. There is a scene when Carrie leave’s Big’s wearing a white button-down of his with a belt. I look a little hussy, but oh well. And there MUST be a Muffin n Me pic:

Muggin' it

Muggin' it

We had a blast Friday night, just dancing the night away and reuniting with old friends. Wanna guess how MisterMan spent his Friday night? In the LIBRARY. That is dedication if I’ve ever seen it.

Now that I’ve bored you with pictures of me (why do I always feel that way when I post pics with me in them? whatevs, get used to it, muhaha), I’ll move on to Saturday! Saturday I woke up and realized, “ohmigosh, I have so much work to do!” I had an oddball breakfast to start the day:

Protein bread toast with Smart Balance Light, green pepper with hummus

Protein bread toast with Smart Balance Light, green pepper with hummus

I had a second piece of toast after this. This prevents the toast from getting soggy and cold while sitting on the plate, waiting for me. I watched some t.v. and read blogs for a couple hours (I woke up at 8:30 a.m. so I had time to waste), and at one point had an apple:

As if you don't know what an apple looks like

As if you don't know what an apple looks like

Eventually I showered, ate some stew (unpictured) and met MisterMan for an afternoon at the library. I worked on a project about the markets of Food & Wine and Travel + Leisure. Having to review three issues of each as an assignment is my dream homework! It took me forever to do that, plus analyze the media kits and reader demographics, but it was enjoyable. I’ve had two amazing bars this weekend, one of which was a Pure bar (eaten Saturday), the other a Lara Bar (eaten Sunday-had a huge craving for it so I popped into CVS). Here are the wrappers representin’:

Two of the best bars evuh

Two of the best bars evuh

MisterMan and I left the library at 6:30ish, and I was ready to eat my foot by the time I got home. My feet are really bony, so that’d be a hard task. Sorry, I just had to ponder that for a moment. I did have something crunchy, though:

Big ol' thang

Big ol' thang

I’ll do my best to recall: romaine, cukes, green bell pepper, celery, black beans, tempeh, balsamic, salsa, BBQ sauce, hummus glob. Just scrumptious. SaladFace. Alright, I needed something sweet after, and I needed some grains, so I had the last mini La Tortilla with apple butter:

Breathtaking photo

Breathtaking photo

Not a minute after eating that, I remembered I had Edy’s Slowly Churned Thin Mint ice cream in the freezer! I owned that whippy, minty scrumdiddly-umptiosness. I took a photo, but it’s too blurry to share.

Muffin hosted a party Saturday night and–surprise of all surprises– I did not attend! I was too freaked out by all the work I had to do, so I stayed in. Kinda. I worked on my project for a while, and then MisterMan picked me up and we saw I Love You, Man. Hilarious. Go see it. And stay for the credits, or else you won’t be satisfied with the ending. You better believe I had popcorn and a Diet Pepsi while I watched. Isn’t it great when people do that? Order greasy popcorn but have diet soda? I’m watchin’ that sugar intake! Oh wait, no I’m not.

When we came back to my house, I made MisterMan watch the first three episodes of Sex and the City. He needed to start from the beginning, and I will try my best to make him watch the entire series and movie πŸ™‚

Sunday I woke myself up after only six hours of sleep. The thought of everything I needed to do was driving me nuts. I immediately had this puffy breakfast:

Large and in charge

Large and in charge

In dat bowl: puffed red wheat, Kashi Go Lean, protein powda, almond milk, half naner. Next to it: black coffee (that is an excellent song, by the way). After I demolished that, I started to write my report. Starting work before noon on Sundays is a rarity, so I felt very accomplished when I finished the paper at 12:30ish. At some point I had an apple, just so ya know. Do you wanna see my kitty friend who visits me occasionally? Sure ya do:

Fat cutie on my porch

Fat cutie on my porch

I’m ridiculously allergic to cats, so these pictures were taken through my bedroom window. This is as close as I’ll ever get:

I'm a sucker for cute, furry things. That could be taken very, very wrong.

I'm a sucker for cute, furry things. That could be taken very, very wrong.

Anyway, I ate the very last of the stew with a piece of protein bread toast with hummus while chatting with MamaJ:

When do veg leftovers start to go bad?

When do veg leftovers start to go bad?

The sun sparkled and the birds chirped, so I met up with MisterMan to read outside. I laughed when I approached him and saw that he was tanning shirtless, headphones in, sunglasses on, kickin’ back reading The Wine Bible. He also told me he was in the mood for a smoothie. Who am I dating?

I look kind of mannish. Oh well. He looks cute, though.

I look kind of mannish. Oh well. He looks cute, though.

I was sweating my hiney off the whole time I read. Jeans are not the thing to wear in the beaming sunlight. I had a delicious peanut butter cookie Lara Bar to take the pain away.

I came home at 5:30 and wrote a five-page reflective essay before eating another salad for dinner. I just love ’em:

Spinach, green bell pepper, celery, black beans, tempeh, salsa, BBQ sauce, salad spritzer dressing (not the best)

Spinach, green bell pepper, celery, black beans, tempeh, salsa, BBQ sauce, salad spritzer dressing (not the best)

Still hungry, I really wanted a salty snack. I’m not sure why, but I haven’t purchased any kind of crackers, crisps or snacky saltiness lately. What up with that? I went for sweet instead:

YUM: half naner, half TJ's crunchy p.b.g.b.'s, one chocolate macaroon, almond milk!

YUM: half naner, half TJ's crunchy p.b.g.b.'s, one chocolate macaroon, almond milk!

Blissgasm in my mouth. Here are the macaroons I’ve been snacking on for a few weeks. I don’t even knowΒ if I’ve shared this! See, I can hardly keep track of my SnackFace ways. Here are my kosher yums:

Super chewy, chocolatey and coconutty

Super chewy, chocolatey and coconutty

After dinner I rushed off to a Culture staff meeting for the paper. I’ve been having issues with my sources, but I’m switching focus to another story idea while I continue to pester the old sources. I had a capella practice after that, from 9-10. MisterMan picked me up and we came back to my house, and HE came up with the idea of watching another episode of SatC, as 22 minutes is enough time to spend together without throwing me off my work track. No arguments there!

I snacked on puffed red wheat with cinnamon and almond milk…and then a fancy chocolate (unpictured). Now that it is six hours away from my wake-up time, I’m going to get ready for bed.

This has to be the most spastic post I’ve ever written.

Tomorrow is crazy busy: class 9-11, 1-3, 3-5, 5-7. Tomorrow is also a nerve-wracking day. I have to let Cincinnati Mag know whether I’m accepting the intern position by 5 p.m., and VegNews is supposed to get back to me as well. I have no clue how I’ll check on both while I’m in class all day. Insanity!

I promise a more cohesive post will be in the near future! I hope you all had amazing weekends!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

15 Responses to “Workin’ Weekend”

  1. 1 Sarah

    I too feel strange posting pictures of myself, and I’m not even a “poser” for a living! I love it when bloggers put up pictures of themselves, though, so keep on keepin’ on.

    You should do the salad challenge (http://lengslog.wordpress.com/2009/04/01/challenge-proposal-are-you-up-for-it/), then you’ll have an excuse like me.

    Thank goodness the weekend is over…I’m exhausted!

  2. Welcome back!! πŸ˜€

    PURE BAR!!

    Aww, cute cat.

    Hang in there with the busyness, girl!! Take care!!

  3. Hey girllll,

    Lovin the outfit, I’m obsessed with white button downs!

    Your food looks amazing, as usual…especially the cereal, YUM!

    STFU, you do NOT look mannish silly girl!

    Happy Monday! (can those 2 words even be in the same sentence?!)

  4. So I totally described a bowl of cereal I ate this weekend with the words “large and in charge” and indeed it was!! Glad you had a good weekend, and good luck with your busy day today!! πŸ™‚

  5. 5 dailydulcie

    You are STUNNING!!! I totally remember that Sex & the City episode. You look fabulous in that cute outfit. I’m lovingggg it πŸ˜‰

    β€œI’m a sucker for cute, furry things” ~ haha you crack me up !

    I’m totally craving those BIG salads of yours . so fresh & delicious

    You are a busy woman. I love the pic of you & MisterMan πŸ˜€

    Hope your Monday is fantabulous!

    xoxo

  6. WORK IT!! You and Muffin look cute! Reviewing those magazines doesn’t sound like homework to me – sounds like fun!!

    Two more things we have in common: Bony feet and cat allergies! Seriously, I freak people out with my feetsies! Wine Bible hahah I bet that would NOT include our Pink Truck vino πŸ˜‰

    Fingers crossed for VegNews!!! If you don’t get it, I’ll bring some Dtown flavor down on their veggie asses!

  7. Hahaha, totally love it!! What a blast, and mmmm delicious!!!

  8. I love your pics of yourself! you’re gorgeous!
    and you’re allergic to cats too ? So am I! I get these red swells and itches all around my arms…but sometimes I still can’t resist stroking them! guess I’m a sucker for cute, furry things too!

  9. hey girlie
    sounds like your weekend was jam packed with fun stuff and work too!
    love the outift πŸ™‚ very cute!
    you and misterman are adorable together!
    *yay* the pb larabars are back..ive only ever had it once ( they dont do them over here..) but i LOVED IT! the best flavour me thinks…
    good luck making the decision about the internship hun
    much love
    xxxx

  10. I’m definitely loving all that fantastic food…and this blog altogether!

    I love your S and TC outfit, too cute!

    Hope your busy day goes well!

    • 11 snackface

      Kristi- thank you so much for commenting! I’m glad you enjoy the blog…and my outfit, tee hee πŸ™‚ I LOVE your blog name!

  11. 12 BB

    haha thats so funny about misterman suggesting sex&the city on his own. I never got my exbf to watch all the episodes but he did watch the movie with me. Success! Haha enjoy your monday!

  12. 13 cleanveggiex3

    kailey your look gorgeous in the first picture, not to mention tall (super jealous! haha)!! i can so see you modeling πŸ™‚

    looks like you had great eats over the weekend! Isn’t it the best now that peanut butter larabars are back on the market!?

    have a fabulous evening!

  13. 14 cleanveggiex3

    kailey you look gorgeous in the first picture, not to mention tall (super jealous! haha)!! i can so see you modeling πŸ™‚

    looks like you had great eats over the weekend! Isn’t it the best now that peanut butter larabars are back on the market!?

    have a fabulous evening!

  14. HAHAHAHAHAH, when you almost ate your foot but then ate something crunchy anyway?! i nearly died. ok, now i have to go catch upon your “best day ever” post! back in moments πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

