From SnackFace to VegFace

06Apr09

Hi lovelies! This may have been the best Monday ever. Really.

I woke up when it was still dark outside. The rain pricked the roof in a steady pattern, and I could barely open my eyes. Something within me pulled my sleep-deprived self out of bed and into the kitchen to make coffee. Reading blogs is my favorite way to start the day, so I did a bit of that while eating incredible oats and sipping black coffee:

The cold, dreary weather called for comforting oats, furreal.

The cold, dreary weather called for comforting oats, furreal.

These oats were similar to bowls I’ve made in the past, but I used 1/2 C almond milk and 1/2 C water instead of all water. It made them significantly creamier. In the bowl: 1/2 C oats, cinnamon, nutmeg, 1/2 naner, 1 C liquids, spoonful Smucker’s Natural p.b.

A closer look at deliciousness

A closer look at deliciousness

Bundled up in a scarf and pleather jacket, I speed-walked to the library to print off my magazine market analysis project before class. Every single time I checked my email today my heart pounded. Monday was the day to hear back from VegNews, and I didn’t know exactly what time I’d hear back. This made my nerves a wreck, but it kind of kept me on my toes all day!

After an enjoyable few hours of discussing magazines, I headed home and received the best mail:

Barney Butter Samples!

Barney Butter Samples!

Those packets are larger than I had imagined from pictures I’ve seen. I have long man-hands, and those packets are almost covering them entirely. I cannot wait to peel open these buzzed-about babies!

My stomach was roaring at me, and I had an early bird lunch at 11:30 a.m. I did eat breakfast at 7:30 a.m., but 11:30 a.m. for lunch just seems wrong! I quickly got over this feeling, and dove into lunch:

Toasted sandwich with sliced strawberries

Toasted sandwich with sliced strawberries

I now remember why I don’t toast sandwiches. They destroy the inside of my mouth! Skin be a-danglin’ off my gums. Nice image, right? I ended up taking the sammie apart and eating the slices separately. It did look pretty smashed together, though:

Protein bread, Laughing Cow, spinach, pickles, hummus, mustard

Protein bread, Laughing Cow, spinach, pickles, hummus, mustard

I sipped a hot tea afterward, and soon enough it was time to head back uptown for six hours of non-stop class. First up was a humanities English class, and we discussed Turgenev’s First Love. We got out 10 minutes early, so I rushed over to the library to check my e-mail. I nervously ate the grapes pictured here while I waited for my inbox to appear:

Grapes and chemical stick

Grapes and chemical stick

When my email opened, I saw one from VegNews. It said that they were having a hard time choosing the two interns, but they’d let me know by noon Pacific time, 3 p.m. my time. It was 2:55 p.m. when I read that. I thought I was going to hurl those nearly-moldy grapes onto the computer screen. (I am giving you lovely imagery today, aren’t I?)

I waited until 3:02, but had to leave the library to make it to my next class on time. I asked the professor if I could leave class a bit early to take care of internship business, and he had no problem with it. Immediately after I asked, I checked my email again. There it was. They email that held my fate.

Tears rushed to my eyes when I read that VegNews wants me to join them this summer as an editorial intern!!! I ran out of the room, called MamaJ and cried/screamed the news to her. HOLY SHHHH!!! SnackFace will be a VegFace in San Fransisco this summer! I’ve never even been to California! Hmm, I also don’t know anyone who lives there, but I’m sure I’ll make friends somehow.

Thank you all so much for putting that positive energy out there! I fully believe that you all helped me get where I want to go! 🙂

I had to email Cincinnati Magazine to let them know that I will not be interning with them this summer, which was sad to write. I hope they don’t hate me now. Anyway, I went to my last class of the day, Women and Writing. We talked about childhood fears today, which was fascinating! I had the Peanut Marshmallow Eclipse before this class, and I must say that it was pretty good! I liked the marshmallow cream. However, by the end of it a funky chemical, metal aftertaste lingered on the back of my tongue. Not cool. It was cool that it held me over until I got home to make dinner.

The first course was a salad. My vegetables are getting low, so this is mostly spinach and celery:

Spinach, celery, green bell pepper, cuke, tempeh, BBQ sauce, balsamic, hummus dollop

Spinach, celery, green bell pepper, cuke, tempeh, BBQ sauce, balsamic, hummus dollop

And then I had a celebratory sweet potato! I’m so sorry my food has been redundant lately, but I’ve just been craving these things!

Sweet tater sprinkled with garam masala, served with ketchup

Sweet tater sprinkled with garam masala, served with ketchup

 Outstanding. They never disappoint! I had a macaroon after, for a bite of something else. The Barney Butter is really calling my name, though…

Tonight I have to start reading Daisy Miller and MisterMan is going to take me to get some groceries! Tomorrow is going to be fun– the writer David Sedaris is in town and we are going to see him speak!!! I love David Sedaris’ work!

Today’s class discussion made me want to ask you all this: What were you afraid of when you were little? When did you realize this fear was irrational?

I was terrified of falling. I didn’t climb trees, hang from monkey bars, enjoy skating/skiing/skateboarding, climbing ladders (still). The idea of crashing to the ground prevented me from partaking in many things. It still scares me today. I also am afraid of going down escalators (going up is much easier). I use them, but every single time I go to step on one I think, “I could easily miss this and crash to the bottom, hitting every sharp stair edge on the way.” If ever you see me taking an escalator, you’ll see that I have to stand at the top of it for a while before I place my foot down.

I hope everyone had a great Monday!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

38 Responses to “From SnackFace to VegFace”

  1. CONGRATULATIONS VEGNEWS, GIRL!!!!!!!! 🙂

    SWEET POTATOES!!!!! **swoons**

    **I’m STILL deathly afraid of spiders. Can’t get over it, haha 😉

  2. 2 Megan

    CONGRATS on the internship! My friend interned in Cali last summer and had a blast! I’m a new blogger but I love reading your blog! I’m also waiting for my Barney Butter sample to come in the mail.. please let us know how it is! CONGRATS again! I remember feeling like that when I found out I got my internship! Go celebrate!

  3. WWOOOOOO HOOOOOOO Congrats! You totally had me on the edge of my seat while reading the god news!!!! How exciting! You deserve every bit of your success…keep up the good work!!!

    I was afraid of the dark and was terrified that someone was going to break into our house. I shared a bedroom with my older brother (because we are only 15 month apart and I didn’t want to have my own room) and would make him hold my hand when we went to sleep. hahaha I have no clue why I was so scared – probably from all the crap I watched on TV! 🙂

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  4. 4 Anna

    Ahhhhh! Congrats girl! This is such a great opportunity for your!

    Enjoy seeing David Sedaris – I love his work!

    I lived out in the boonies of Maine as a child, and my parents would make me take out the compost to the pile in the dark. Let’s just say that I ran there and back faster than I did at track meets in high school. I was freaked out beyond belief, but there are bears and coyotes and creepy woodsmen who may be out there so I don’t think it was completely unfounded. To this day I try to not take out the compost at night.

  5. 5 Megan

    I want to work in business so I’ll be interning on Wall Street this summer =). I’m really excited! And yeah, it definitely feels great having plans work out the way you want… a ton of my friends are complaining they don’t have anything! And yeah, unfortunately the Moroccan Curry wasn’t my favorite.. maybe I thought it was bland because I put it in the pita? I’m not sure.. let me know what you think when you eat it!

    And I think when I was little I was always scared that I would get lost somewhere.. I can just imagine me six years old clinging onto my parents whenever I walked around anywhere! It was probably really scary then but I think it’s pretty funny now!

    Have a great night! I hope the rest of your week is just as good as today was!

  6. Hurray for Barney Butter samples! They are very generous and the perfect size for oatmeal topping 🙂 I wish they sold them in stores!

    Oh my gosh!! CONGRATULATIONS ON GETTING AN INTERNSHIP WITH VEGNEWS!! You are going to have an amazing time in San Fran – I haven’t been there since I was like 3 (lol), but I always hear nothing but amazing things about that city. Enjoy every moment! I can’t wait to read about it – that sounds like a dream internship for newsies and foodies like us! 🙂

    Interesting fear! I was afraid of spiders…and still have yet to realize that it’s irrational because I am still TERRIFIED anytime I see one. I guess some things never change, haha!!

    CONGRATS AGAIN, GIRLY!! I hope your quarter is going well so far, too.

  7. 7 BB

    OMG that is so awesome that you got the internship!!! I’ve never even been to san francisco myself, i think it’s about a 6 hour drive from orange county. But I bet you’ll have the time of your life and a great experience. I’m so happy for you!

  8. CONGRATS CONGRATS!!! I am SO Happy for youuuu!! 🙂

    I was seriously afraid of my parents deserting me at our house one day, like just leaving and never coming back. I would have full out fits if my mom checked the mail without telling me. I eventually realized how crazy it was to think that MY parents would desert me. haha I don’t even know how I developed that fear, I was a paranoid child I think.

  9. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    im so excited for you.
    oh my gracious. i dont
    even know what to say!
    im like shaking. haha.

  10. 10 AnAppleADay

    YAY! you’re coming to CALI! Congrats!

    I’m actually from Bay Area so maybe we could arrange a blogger meet!!!
    i know REALLY great vegan/vegetarian restaurants in Berkeley!

    • 11 snackface

      AnAppleADay- Hey! Thanks so much for commenting! I don’t even know what/where the bay area is, so you have a lot to teach me! Haha. We best be meetin’ up if we’re close enough! 🙂

  11. 12 dailydulcie

    Hi loverly ~

    Great bowl of oats to start the day!

    AHH CONGRATS ON THE INTERNSHIP! I’m so proud of you girlie<3

    I’m been scared of elevators ever since I was little. I think after watching the Tower of Terror.. I was totally freaked out. I’m so afraid that I’ll either get stuck in one, or that something will go wrong and the elevator would fall down, crash, and I’d die!!

  12. 13 eatlivelovedream

    Ah!! Congrats on the internship!!!!! Thats so awesome!!!
    I too received my Barney butter sample today. I must say it’s amazing!! I’d never tried it before!

  13. 14 Bec

    Those oats look amazing! I am scared of heights, I always have been and always will. Though I like to challenge myself and push my boundaries (ie jumping off bridges) but I have had several panic attacks while hiking if the trail gets to close to the edge of a cliff!

  14. congrats on the internship Kailey!! Oh my goodness that is too exciting!!!
    I live in so cal….so if you ever take a road trip down south over summer I could be someone ya know in CA! haha!

    that is truly such exciting news and I am so glad that it all worked out so well!! Cincinnati will be sad for their loss, but you have bigger and better things to get to! 🙂

    have fun grocery shopping, pick up some new, addicting stuff that you immediately become obsessed with so that when I go to safeway tomorrow night I can buy the same things! woo!! congrats again!

  15. I AM SO jeal of your David Sedaris date- i am obsessed! Congrats too girl, that is so freakin exciting, San Fran is soooo fun…and let’s just talk about the 3 STORY forever 21, helllz ya 😀

  16. When I read your post title, I hoped that’s what it meant!

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! I am so proud of you and so excited for everything you are going to learn (and post about, thereby “learning” me in the process).

    You are going to be a West Coaster and in the same time zone as me…yeehaw!

    Don’t apologize for salads and sweet potatoes, or any food ruts, for that matter. If you do, I’m in big trouble.

    Congrats again, I’m so happy for you!!!

  17. ah, just saw your comment!!! thank you so much kailey!! kashi honey sunshine is amazing, I totally agree…and I have a feeling those cookies and crackers will most definitely be on my shopping list for tomorrow!!!

  18. ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, i’m so excited about this, so i bet you’re EVEN MORE excited!!! you are going to have the best time and learn so much, and sf is amazing. and you got picked out of like a million people! reading this post was like watching the snackface reality show. the suspense! yay kailey, congratulations 😀 😀 😀

  19. 20 shelby

    CONGRATULATIONS KAILEY!!!!!

    I have a fear of falling too, but I haven’t gotten over it. I have always had really bad dreams about it…like where I’m falling and right before I hit the ground I wake up. EEK! Same thing with heights.

  20. omgomgomg!!!! CONGRATULATIONS GIRL!! I KNEW YOU WOULD GET IT!! soo happy for you!! 🙂 xoxoox

  21. 22 annaalstondonnelly

    hot hot hot hot hot outfit!!!! loves it.

    oh yes, and congratulations on the amazing internship! that is amazing!!! sorry I got more excited about wearing a shirt as a dress, but standard.

    • 23 snackface

      annaalstondonnelly- Haha I’m completely flattered either way. I’m glad you got excited about the shirt as a dress!

  22. CONGRATS! i just KNEW you were going to get it! sso happy for you! i hear san fran is amazing, and you will most definitely make some freinds tehre!!!! too bad you aren’t getting an internship in baltimore so we could be neighbs and walk for miles every day ! i do think we’d be biffs 🙂 haha. but CONGRATS again! SO well deserved girl!

  23. Holy CRAP CONGRATULATIONS!!!! That is so so so amazing! Interning at VEGNEWS. In CALI. That’s a complete dream, I am SO excited for you! I can’t wait to hear more about it. I can’t wait til you start! Wooo 😀

  24. YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY congrats on the well-deserved internship — i had no doubt you would get it! california better WATCH OUT! and hooray for celebrations with sweet potatoes, never fails! xoxoxo

  25. hey girlie
    CONGRATS 🙂 im so excited for you!! thats awesome, they defo picked the right gal 🙂
    love the sweetpotatoes …i always crave them when i see them on your blog!
    cant wait to hear more about the internsip in california!!
    have a great tuesday!
    much love
    xxxxx

  26. HIP HIP HOOORAAAAAAYY!!! I am so excited and happy and psyched for you! what a great opportnunity, what a fab experience you’re gonna have! know that I am SOOOOOO green with envy as I have journalistic dreams, too! I really hope you’ll keep us posted with all the updates of your internship. Ill be living vicariously through you!
    My fear was the death of my parents. esp after a nightmare of my father’s death. I’m still afraid of the day they will die.

  27. 29 Leila

    Congratulations, this is amazing news!

    I saw David Sedaris speak this past fall and it was so great. Enjoy yourself.

  28. I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!! AKLDFJLSDKJFLKENJR!!!!!!! CONGRATS!!!

    Man hands – hah! Barney butter = crack cocaine! Once you start you’re going to be full on addicted!! SP and salad are prefect celebratory eats – now get yourself some Pink Truck for a celebratory drink!!!

  29. 31 Helen's Journey

    Yummy, yum, yum sandwich & sweet pot. My faves

  30. 32 cecilia

    CON CON CONGRATULATIONS!!! I will be reading VegNews from now onwards. In borders I might add, I’m that cheap 😉 But who knows, maybe I’ll like your column so much that I’ll start subscribing 😀 Have a great day VegFace … happy celebrating!!

  31. 33 cleanveggiex3

    CONGRATS!!!! thats such a cool opportunity!! lucky girl 🙂
    have fun celebrating!

    thecleanveggie.wordpress.com

  32. 34 caitlin

    you already have a friend here in San Francisco if you need one! I’m a law student here. You will LOVE the city…but be prepared that as Mark Twain famously said, “the coldest winter I ever had was a Summer in San Francisco”. haha

    • 35 snackface

      Caitlin- Awww I would LOVE to hang out when I’m there! I know I’ll be lonely at first, so I’m gonna need some help 🙂 Is it that cold? Shooot. I’ll have to bring dem sweaters I guess!

  33. 36 sue

    congrats girlie! i’m so excited and happy for you! what an amazing opportunity and you get to live in the best state ever! 😀 you’re going to have a blast!

  34. Im glad someone had a good monday! I woke up feeling like crap!! Congrats on the offer!! Cali will be AWESOME!! All of your pics are soo cute! And of course the food is delicious!!

  35. 38 caitlin

    There will be many beeeautiful days in SF this summer – the kicker is when the fog and wind rolls in without any notice. So do bring those sweaters, but you can stick them in a bag for ‘just-in-case’.

    Still so excited for you – you’re going to go NUTS when you see all the hippie, organic, healthy food everywhere here. the Berkeley Bowl (across a bridge from SF) will give that cross-continental grocery shop you blogged about a run for it’s money 🙂


Leave a Reply

