Drop It Like It’s Hot

02Apr09

Hi beauties! Yesterday was one of the longest days ever! It didn’t seem that bad at all up until a certain point…

To start the day with some non-animal protein, I had a bowl of Kashi Go Lean, Kashi Go Lean Crunch, protein powder, almond milk and strawberries:

Crunchy, cool, delicious

Crunchy, cool, delicious

I headed to Magazine Feature Writing a little nervous, as I had not completed one of the readings. We had to get it from “reserves” and when I went to get it, the learning center was closed. It turned out that our prof told us someone stole it! I just wasn’t meant to have read it yet. I love how that worked out.

This class gets me giddy for the rest of the day. I’ve been dreaming of taking this class for years, and it’s exactly what I’ve wanted to learn. The prof runs our classes as though we are in an editorial meeting. We present our ideas and stories to everyone, and everyone critiques your work. We haven’t started to do this yet, but it will begin Monday.

The two hours flew by, and then I walked to the gym while eating a banana. Note: this is the first time I ate while walking yesterday– not the best way to enjoy food. The banana was just what I needed to get me through a workout, a walk home, a shower and a beauty session to make me pretty for all those other professors πŸ˜‰

Lunch was veggieriffic and fantastic. I had a bomb salad:

Very green: romaine, celery, green bell pepper, bean sprouts, tempeh, BBQ sauce, balsamic, hummus

Very green: romaine, celery, green bell pepper, bean sprouts, tempeh, BBQ sauce, balsamic, hummus

Peppers are so watery and crunchy and amazing, but why are they so expensive? Just wondering. To accompany the salad, I had more veggies in the form of leftovers of MamaJ’s stew (still!):

Stewlicious: butternut squash, corn, red pepper, kidney beans, love

Stewlicious: butternut squash, corn, red pepper, kidney beans, love

Again, if anyone wants the recipe for the stew, it’s on Food & Wine’s website. MamaJ omitted all the oil, though. Oh, I definitelyΒ ate a few cinnamon-dusted chocolate-covered almonds after every meal except breakfast. They are the perfect ending!

My mini-break was over and it was time to head out for six hours of class followed by a one-hour practice. I had to pack “dinner” for the walks in-between classes. The easiest thing to pack, walk with and eat? Sammie, of course:

Big ol' veggie sam! From the bottom up: protein bread, hummus, cukes, spinach, pickles, sprouts, spinach, top layer of bread had mustard on it

Big ol' veggie sam! From the bottom up: protein bread, hummus, cukes, spinach, pickles, sprouts, spinach, top layer of bread had mustard on it

The sammie had friends, too:

Sam, Peanut Butter Cookie Lara Bar, grapes

Sam, Peanut Butter Cookie Lara Bar, grapes

I ate the Lara bar while walking from Graphics to English (5 p.m.). (P.B. Cookie has to be my favorite flavor!) I ate the sammie while walking to International Studies (7 p.m.), which is when the bad came in.

This class is awful. I thought it was going to be about European culture. Nope. It’s all about history, wars, government, maps…not my thing at all. Sheer torture for me. Normally, in the past, I would have stuck it out. However, this class is not a requirement for me. I’m at the point in my college career where if I don’t enjoy the class, and I don’t necessarily need it to graduate, then I’m not going to waste my money. I’ve never dropped a class before, but I’m droppin’ it like it’s hot.

I’ve already found another English class to take with the same professor I have from 5-7! She’s awesome.Β Now my schedules on Monday and Wednesday will be classes 9-11, 1-3, 3-5, 5-7.Β  Still long, but I will be significantly happier.

The fourth time I ate while walking was after the hellish history class. Dem grapes got me juiced up for singing! I had Tempo Tantrums practice 9-10. For those of you that may be new (maybe? I have no clue), Tempo Tantrums is an a capella choir in which I sing. Love it!

I finally returned home at 10:30. MisterMan picked me up from the music building, and then we lay on my bed and talked about ab workouts, cankles, calf implants and the mole in-between my big toe and second toe on my left foot. After he left I had a late night snack of Kashi Go Lean and some Chocolate Monkey trail mix.

Today I have NO classes! However, I have to work at The Post (news room) and contact people for my story. I also have a ton of work to do before the weekend! Thankfully, I officially enjoy every single subject I’m studying πŸ™‚

Have Thursdays as beautiful as you are! Much love.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

P.S. I realized yesterday that SnackFace is two months old! Isn’t that crazy? Does that make it a toddler yet?

20 Responses to “Drop It Like It’s Hot”

  1. Haha, you kind of “lucked out” with the reading being stolen then!! πŸ˜€

    GORGEOUS stew!!

    So sorry about the class – sounds like you’re definitely making the right decision to “drop it like it’s hot.” πŸ˜‰

    Aww, happy 2-month blogiversary!! Keep it up!! πŸ™‚

  2. Hahaha, cereal is my total late night snack!
    And oh my gosh, congratulations on hitting the 2 months!!!!!

    And mmmm SANDWICH!!!!!!

  3. 3 BB

    The sammie looks awesome. I’m not a pickle person but maybe in a sandwich, it could do wonders. I’m glad you found a class that works for you. I signed up for a stats class next semester but dropped it because it made my schedule insane and I’m already taking a calc class. I don’t need more #’s to deal with! Congrats on hitting the big 2, you’re a big kid now πŸ˜€

  4. Your blog has quickly become one of my favorites so congrats on the 2 months!!!

    Now I have that song stuck in my head =P

  5. 5 Leila

    I’ve always wondered why peppers are so expensive (relatively speaking) too! Good choice on switching classes, I loved when I hit that point in University when I could take what I liked and not what I had to.

  6. 6 Sarah

    I agree with Shelby. When I check my Reader each day, you’re in my first 5 clicks, for sure! I’ve already told you this, though. You’re going to get a big(ger) head if I keep this up.

    I hear you on the peppers. I bought a red pepper (my fave) for $1.98 the other day! And that was at Walmart! They are probably $6 at Whole Foods πŸ˜‰

    Enjoy your classless day, Classy Lady!

  7. Those are some luscious strawberries! Don’t you love classes that actually pertain to your major/future career?! They don’t feel like class!! YAY for no classes – enjoy your day immensely my dear!

    Awww happy 2 months SnackFace πŸ™‚

  8. happy birthday to the blog πŸ™‚
    aw sorry the class sucked. but at least you were able to drop it!!
    the eats look great as usual!
    have a wonderful day hun
    xxxxx

  9. happy 2 month birthday girl πŸ™‚ you are a big girl now! YAY love you!

  10. ohhh…best breakfast around! love kashi cereals; any of them!

    and happy 2 month blog bday! wonderful!

  11. 11 sue

    YEAH for your new class schedule! taking classes you loveee makes school so much more fun! and as usual deeelicious eats! i want that sammie!

  12. sassy kailey-
    i studied abroad in rome this past summer for a month.
    the course? ADV400: branding italian cuisine. aka i got
    college credit for eating lots of good food and wine. :]

    i dont know how to help you BECOME italian. but i could
    probably help you get a little italian IN you. ooooh dirty.

    ive never tried the smuckers natural..perhaps it is time.

    breakfast looks soooo delicious. what time is should i be
    there tomorrow morning? so serious. i havent had any
    golean or crunch in like four days and i am DYYYYYING.

    also. lovin your late night snacks as well. girls gotta eat!

    kaynes workout plan?! scandalous. i am a wholesome gal.

    xoxo.
    e.

    p.s. i know you love my long ass comments EVERYDAY.

  13. Who steals reserve articles?! Someone has much too much time on their hands haha.

    I fully support dropping the class (like it’s hot). I’m not a history buff at all. I just can’t get into it. My brain doesn’t even process the stuff properly. It’s all nonesense mumbo jumbo to me. So I avoid them history classes like the plague.

    I used to sing in choirs! I grade school… I miss it! Even though my voice range sucks bahaha. I just mouthed the high notes. It worked out better that way for the people standing beside me πŸ˜‰

    Woot for the 2 month anni! Celebrate good times COME ON

  14. happy 2 month my snackbaby! πŸ™‚ your blog is simply fabulous– and must be an “old soul” because when i read it– it seems very old and wise hehe am i making sense or just babbling?
    i dont like eating while walking either– but sometimes we have no choice!

    i think you made a great decision to drop the class! i have done that in the past a few times and never regretted it once!

    have a great day babygirl xo

  15. Ah you are so lucky that you are in a point in college where you can drop the lame/incredibly boring/ incredibly hard classes!!! I am only in second semester, so I definitely have a few more to stick out!!!

    And thanks so much for the measuring advice Kailey, over this Summer I really want to try and practice dropping the habit…like it’s hot! πŸ˜‰

  16. 16 dailydulcie

    Yay for SnackFace being 2 months old! Congrats!

    Don’t you just love how the book was stolen… i love when stuff like that happens!!

    Lovin your stacked VEGGIE sammie.. looks incredible!!

    I still have yet to try the pb larabar flavor since the recall started right when I started to get into larabars!! I will find one sooN!!

    Hope you had a lovely Thursday πŸ™‚

  17. ahhh so sorry for my absence! i had to separate myself from the reader for a couple days. SO much to catch up on with you!

    first, happy two months!!!! snackface might actually BE a toddler in blog-years πŸ™‚

    these classes sound GREAT … and good for you for having standards for what you will and will not tolerate in a class! i wasted too many hours in college bored out of my mind in classes that i should have switched.

    congrats on the cincinncati internship! sorry about the long john commercial … you were SO close. but mamaj is right — having that experience is going to open doors and prep you for more fame than long john himself could ever dream of πŸ™‚

  18. gosh, I’m so jealous. that class sounds so interesting! I’ve always wanted to do magazine feature writing.
    all your eats look SO good! esp love that fresh, loaded veggie sandwich! what crunch and textures! yum!

  19. 19 Erin

    You’re so a toddler!
    I’m glad you dropped it. Who needs a life-ruiner?

  20. 20 WholeBodyLove

    Nope, kiddo, snackface is technically still an infant until it is 18 months… I think. πŸ™‚ But, I don’t blame ya for dropping that class. I would have done the same. It’s best not to waste a whole semester of your college career, especially when you can switch your schedule and the awful class in not required. HAPPY TWO MONTH Blogaversary!!


Leave a Reply

