Shipwrecked

01Apr09

Good morning!  Yesterday was a rollercoaster! Read on…

I woke up, showered, got ready for the audition, emailed story sources for a piece I’m working on and eventually ate breakfast. I had the Holy Trinity of Fiber:

FiberOne, Raisin Bran, Kashi Vive, almond milk, grapes

FiberOne, Raisin Bran, Kashi Vive, almond milk, grapes

Excited and nervous, MamaJ and I then headed downtown to the audition studio. I was intimidated the moment I walked into the waiting area, where seasoned actors were sitting, chatting about other jobs they’d had together and the directors they knew. Uhhh…I’ve never even auditioned for a commercial before! I sat quietly and texted MamaJ for some words of wisdom, and she made put me at ease with this text: There is a first for everything and you are FABULOUS. Just give it all you’ve got. Own it. Put it out there to the universe.

Though it was my first big audition for a national commercial, I couldn’t let that idea scare me. After 45 minutes of waiting, it was finally my turn to go in front of the director. Amazingly, I wasn’t nervous at all when I walked into the audition room! I was just my big, friendly, loud self! The directors told the male actor and I what he wanted, and I was roarin’ to go.

In the scene, my significant other and I are excited to eat this lobster. My partner unveils it, we both smile with anticipation of eating it, and then suddenly we look at each other. We share our money, so we have second thoughts about spending money on such a luxury food. We look to each other knowing we shouldn’t spend money, while also reassuring each other, “it is really good, though. Maybe we could.” All of this was done without words, just facial expressions.

The first round with one scene partner went famously. The director and his co-pilot (I’m not sure who he was) were pleased with what we’d done. The director jokingly said,” well shoot, that’d be so much easier if only you weren’t shy.” Haha! I have no problem talking to anyone or performing anytime.  I also told them all about school, my classes and schedule. Then I said my goodbyes and nice-to-meet-yous.

I walked back to the waiting room, thinking I was finished. Nope. The casting director told me I’d be taping with a different male as well. Awesome! Except, the second guy and I didn’t click as well as the first. It was still good, but he kept looking away when we were supposed to be mentally communicating and expressing things to each other. Some takes were great, but others were just off.

When I left the building, however, I felt incredible. I had done the best I could, I had talked to a national commercial director from Chicago and I had auditioned with two different guys while most females had auditioned with just one. I was floating after this!

MamaJ and I shared a lovely lunch together at a restaurant named Bronte. To start, I ordered the country vegetable soup:

Chunky! I only had a bite or two of the roll.

Chunky! I only had a bite or two of the roll.

My stomach was growling loudly while I was waiting for my audition. I even apologized to the other women waiting! Here’s a close-up of the soup, though:

Chunks of tomato, carrot, peas, corn

Chunks of tomato, carrot, peas, corn

For an entree, I ordered the Mediterranean Wrap. I always order things I’d easily make for myself. Why is that? 

I could barely wait to eat this

I could barely wait to eat this

In the wrap: artichokes, kalamata olives, marinated tomatoes, spinach, feta.

Mmmm. I had to remove some of that feta. What's with too much cheese lately?

Mmmm. I had to remove some of that feta. What's with too much cheese lately?

After an incredible lunch with MamaJ, we went back home so I could gather my things and go back to Athens. While I was packing I received a call from my agency. I was in the final running for the commercial! There was a slight issue if I was to be cast, though. There was a fitting on Wednesday at 3:30, and I had class during that time, three hours away! I tried not to think about it and just enjoy the moment. It wasn’t five minutes later when I checked my email and found out that I’ve been offered an internship at Cincinnati Magazine! WHAT!!?? I couldn’t handle all the good news at once! It seemes outrageous, so I just laughed.

On the car ride home, Mumsy and I talked about possibilities of making the fitting if I were cast. I also napped for a while, which felt amazing. By the time we got to Athens it was 5:30, and I checked my email again. Turns out, Long John Silver’s went with a different actress. I did not get the job. Initially, I was disappointed, but then MamaJ reassured me that I had done incredibly well. It was my first commercial audition, I gained experience and I got to get in front of a production company as well as a director from Chicago. I was so close! But everybody knows, almost doesn’t count (Brandy, anyone?) Kidding! I still think it was a thrilling day. Nothing was lost.

MamaJ left and I ate an apple and headed to the gym to clear my head. A 30-minute elliptical session works wonders at making me feel better, physically and emotionally. I went back home in the wind and rain and made dinner. Like any somewhat sad girl, I needed comfort food. Enter fries and chocolate.

Exactly what I needed

Exactly what I needed

Of course I didn’t mean actual fries! A girl needs a sweet potato and tempeh fries, all baked in the oven and accompanied by loads of ketchup.

Pretty

Pretty

To finish things right, I dove into the box of chocolates MisterMan gave me. It was hard to decide which to have, but I went with this sweet lil’ thang:

Hmm, espresso flavored?

Hmm, espresso flavored?

I moaned over the rich chocolate and espresso flavor with the first bite.

Oh my gosh

Oh my gosh

I spent the rest of the night trying to catch up on homework and readings. There are still 100 pages of European history I haven’t read yet. Oops. Late night snacks included a mini tortilla with hummus and about 1/4 cup of Kashi Go Lean with almond milk.

It certainly was an emotionally draining day, full of highs and lows. All in all, I am believing more in the saying, when one door closes… It’s true. A part of me is sad I didn’t get the commercial, and a part of me is happy I don’t have to miss out on classes I’ve been waiting years to take. And though I didn’t land the job, I did receive a great offer to work at Cincinnati Magazine. I’m still waiting to hear back from VegNews before I make my final decision.

I’m off to start a looong day of classes: 9-11, 3-5, 5-7, 7-9, practice 9-10! My weekend starts tomorrow, though 🙂

Ciao for now,

Kailey

20 Responses to “Shipwrecked”

  1. I think it sounds like you did fabulous…and you’re exactly right: think of every opportunity as a chance to gain EXPERIENCE! Whenever I have an interview, I just think of it as a stepping stone to something that’s in my future, I don’t think about what it’s actually for, if that makes sense.

    Hope you have a wonderful Wednesday!! 🙂

  2. girl you did AMAZING! you rocked it on your first commercial audition, imagine how many you’ll get from now on?? and CONGRATS on the internship! i am just so overly happy for you!! have a WONDERFUl DAYYYY ❤

  3. BOO to Long John’s for passing up the best candidate EVER for their commercial – it’s their loss, girl!! But hooray for the internship (!!!) and for…

    SWEET POTATOES!!!!!!!! 😀

  4. kailey, my love, sorry that you didn’t land the spot, but you were obviously WONDERFUL and — most importantly — have the best/right attitude about the outcome. there’s a ton of opportunities out there, and there’s no doubt in my mind that you’ll snatch one up sooner rather than later!

    congrats on the internship offer, you’re amazing! hope your day is equally as fantastic! xoxoxo

  5. Great job on the audition! I think you would have been amazing but it’s probably meant to be since you had class. Next time… for sure 😉

  6. Oh woooooooooww, drooling over your post, and congrats on the offer!!!! You’re going to have an awesome day! And too much feta?? lol!!

  7. 7 Sarah

    I’m never eating at Long John Silver’s again. Not that there was ever a real threat there anyway…

    They are stupid. You don’t want to hawk their fried crap anyway. And at least you got your gorgeous mug out there.

    Have a good day sweetheart!

  8. damn, girl! what a happy joyous day! you got the internship!
    boo to Long John Silver’s. I’m boycotting that place forever. they’re not good enough for you anyway.
    and oh, YEAH! great eats to celebrate!

  9. 9 sue

    ohh i was scared when i read the title, but you did so awesome! sorry they went with someone else, but it sounds like you gave it your all and rocked it! 🙂 congrats on the internship offer, i hope vegnews comes through! and lastly, i want that wrap!!!

  10. I love your moms words of encouragement! Sorry you didn’t get the job BUT good luck with all your internships and whatnot 🙂 You’re a STAR!!!

    Holy feta that’s a lotta cheese! What a great lunch though! Ahhhh – good luck with your sched today, chick! YAY WEDNESDAY!

  11. You should BE SO PROUD of yourself!!!! Congrats on the internship and kick ass audition. Just keep trucking – you’re doing great things!!!

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

    I want a piece of espresso chocolate, please ma’am!

  12. hi girlie
    congrats on making it to the final audition 🙂 and for getting the cincinnati internship *high five* its awesome news!!!
    and like you said , at least you got some experience with the add you didnt get. there loss anyways!
    great eats..the sweetpotaoe fries always look so danm good 🙂
    have a great wednsday
    much love
    xxxx

  13. 13 BB

    it sucks that you didn’t get the commercial but it sounds like it was still a good experience. And great job on getting the internship, that’s so awesome!

  14. 14 Bec

    wow thats impressive for your first commercial audition anyways! Congrats on the internship 🙂

  15. That is SO COOL that I get an inside look at what happens at an audition! You got past “stage 1” and that it SO MUCH to be proud about!!!! 🙂 Plus, you got such a tasty lunch out of it. 😛 Your wrap looks so delish I want to goble goble goble… Kick butt tomorrow! Super-charged days are often super-productive too and leave me happy and satisfied. Hope you are too!!! 😀

  16. 16 dailydulcie

    Hello beautiful 🙂

    Thank you so much for your kind words on my last post! You are such a sweetheart.

    I’m am so proud of you for doing so well at your first audition for a national commercial! You seemed so confident! Even though you didn’t get the job, you did gain a ton of experience, which is great!

    I love Mediterranean flavors, and that wrap looks absolutely fabulous.

    Wow.. an internship at Cincinnati Magazine?! YOU GO GIRL! 😉

    Although you did have ups and downs today, you seemed to have such a great attitude!!

    much love<3
    dulcie

  17. 17 Erin

    GIT IT, GIRL!! 😀

  18. Congrats on the Magazine!!! Seriously girl, you are such a superstar!!! Every single day you are getting an A on some paper, almost cast in some majorrr commercial, getting an internship, modeling job!!!! Must be so exciting!!! Don’t feel down, be proud of yourself and go enjoy more of those sweet potato fries…they look amazinggg!!!
    Could you insert a search link on your blog so I can find your little tutorial post on making those, I NEED to try your ways with the sweet fries once I’m home for summer!

  19. dude. long john silvers is nasty anyways. pff.

  20. 20 cecilia

    your mama is so right! – you are FABULOUS and you’ve done incredibly well on ya FIRST commercial – seriously, you get TWO rounds – that already show how incredible you are!! Don’t give up though, there’s always NEXT time!! 😀

    last but certainly not least – CONGRATS on ya internship at Cincinnati Magazine (cool name btw) – rock that magazine, girl!!


Leave a Reply

