You Know I Got My Top Back

25Mar09

WOW! Thank you all for the congrats on the job and the run! Way to make me smile from ear to ear. Anyway, yesterday as I walked downstairs to chill with MamaJ, I was nearly crippled by the soreness of the fronts of my thighs and the sides of my bum. Running tore my muscles apart! And I like it. I ellipticalize three to four times a week, so I was somewhat surprised by this. I suppose running up and down hills has something to do with it, too.

MamaJ and I watched The Real Housewives of New York for an hour or two before we decided to make pancakes for breakfast. I whipped the ingredients together, using Hodgson Mill Whole Wheat Buttermilk Pankcake Mix, and plopped them into the pan. I haven’t mastered flipping them yet, so MamaJ had to take care of that. They turned out well:

Pancakes, SF syrup, pineapple

Pancakes, SF syrup, pineapple

Why don’t people love whole wheat more? These had such a lovely nutty flavor and crunchy chew that I’d take whole wheat over plain’ ol buttermilk any day. They were also much more filling and satisfying.

After another couple hours of putzing around the house, MamaJ and I got ready and headed out in her convertible with the top back. I know this warrants priss status, but my hair always ends up a stringy, knotted mess after riding around, which pisses me off. I’m just afraid I’m ripping out all my fine hair when I brush it after. Never a good feeling.

We visited Matty Rich (brobie) at work, and he was starving. So we went to KFC to get him chicken strips, mac n’ cheese, potato wedges and a biscuit. I’ve never eaten KFC, and as much as I wanted to be grossed out, that dish had some of my guilty pleasures: mac n’ cheese, potato wedges and biscuits. I was a little jealous.

We dropped off the goods, and then got lunch that’s more our speed: Panera! Yesss, I got my fix:

Black Bean Soup, Greek Salad, whole grain baguette

Black Bean Soup, Greek Salad, whole grain baguette

How does that manage to be so freakin’ good every single time? Most of that feta went uneaten, though. That was just too much. Once full, we drove to IKEA for a few things. I really needed a corkscrew (haha “really need”? no one should “really need” that) and we are brainstorming for dorm room ideas for Matty Rich, who will be going to NKU in the fall. Does anyone else walk out of IKEA feeling lost and not knowing what time it is? I always feel out of after that trip. We did some grocery shopping after, and finally headed home.

I snacked on an apple at 7 p.m., and then around 8 p.m.Β my appetite for anything dinner-like was thrown (plus, we ate lunch at 4). Thus, I got my SnackFace on:

Cardboard chips, carrots, hummus

Cardboard chips, carrots, hummus

It is rare that I actually crace dinner-like foods, so this did not disappoint me. I also had these awesome new snacks I found at Whole Foods:

Like wasabi peas but better

Like wasabi peas but better

After that bizarre “dinner,” I drove to Clifton (downtown area) to reunite with one of my dearest friends, Lauren. I rarely get to see her when I’m at school, but it’s a beautiful thing whenever we meet again. We sat on a dirty frat couch and talked for hours. Tired and hungry again, I drove home at midnight.

Before going to bed I had (unpictured) Crispex with unsweetened vanilla almond milk and then a handful or two of frosted shredded wheat.

I slept for 10-11 hours last night and awoke to one of the best emails ever: my grade report! I’m a huge nerd, and nothing makes me more excited than good grades. I got a 4.0 this quarter! Hollaaaa. It brought my cumulative up to 3.907, which makes me ecstatic (I hope this isn’t an overshare, I’m just that happy right now). I suppose all those nights of four hours of sleep were totally worth it.

I’d like to thank some beauties for honoring me with awards. The darling and courageous LaurynΒ for making me tear up because of this:

Thank You

Thank You

If this blog helps even one person in any kind of way, I feel truly blessed. And then there is the upbeat, always-put-a-smile-on-my-face Lauren who bestowed this upon me:

Thank You

Thank You

Ladies, thank you so much for making me feel like a superstar.

Well, it’s 12:30 p.m. and I need to eat still! Haha, what shall it be…? OH! I’ll be back tomorrow with a true treat for foodies. Alright lovelies, I’m outta here. Love you long time.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

Question: What “little things” (like GPA) make you thrilled to bits?

14 Responses to “You Know I Got My Top Back”

  1. Congratulations on the award! And scrumptious eats! I love Guiltless Gourmet products, but they are so hard to find! And pancakes look delicious!!!

  2. Mmm, pancakes!!

    “Does anyone else walk out of IKEA feeling lost and not knowing what time it is? ”

    Affirmative!!

    **What you should eat for lunch = SWEET POTATOES!!!!!!!! πŸ˜€

  3. 3 Anna

    4.0, you go girl! That’s great! Nerd pride, all the way!

    I totally feel the same way whenever I leave IKEA. It may be because I usually spend a ridiculous amount of time in there, but it really is its own little, perfectly organized world.

  4. Woo hoo! I’m the same way about grades – and school supply shopping might be my favorite thing in the whole world. Me = huge nerd. πŸ™‚

    Congrats on that kick ass grade report!!!

    Yummy edamame….

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  5. hi girlie
    you deserved both awards πŸ™‚
    those pacakes look so good! i totally agree, i love the chewier, nuttier flavour of ww, i guess some poeple just prefer plain ol whitey flour!
    congrats on the grade sunshine πŸ™‚ thats so fantastic! all your hard work and hardcore 3am study sessions paid off for sure!
    have a wonderful wednsday!
    much love
    xxxx

  6. 6 shelby

    Lovely pancakes! I agree with the whole wheat…it’s so much better! I don’t even know what regular white flour tastes like anymore because I never use it.

    When I was younger I always wanted a convertable…then I realized that my hair would be a mess. I can’t even walk outside without it getting knotted!

  7. hahaha i know exactly what you mean! it’s ilke when youre in ikea youre in a whole different world. Ive been giogn there lately for stuff for my new house and its crazy haah. i know what you mean about convertables. My hair looks like a rats nest when i get out of when when i’m riding int he passenger seat.

  8. 8 sue

    way to go with the 4.0! that’s so NOT a small thing at all- that’s a big big deal!

  9. to answer your first question- i seem to always walk out of ikea EATING VANILLA SOFT SERVE πŸ˜€ yumm! I get the giddy happiness over little things too- like eating the last of my PB jar! COngrats on the grades- that’s awesome

  10. I TOTALLY feel like that when leaving Ikea. It’s like you’re returning back to the real universe or something! Congrats on your great grades, girl!

  11. 11 cleanveggiex3

    oh goodness – kailey those pancakes look amazing!! so fluffy and just delcious πŸ™‚

    love panera – its one of my favorite lunch spots in the whole wide world!!
    have a great day!!

  12. 12 Bec

    I agree, WW pancakes are way better!

  13. I don’t get it about WW! My dad won’t touch my “crazy health bread” with a ten foot pole! I’m lucky he’ll even eat “gucci bread” aka WFs bakery bread!

    Ugh I feel ya on the convertible hate! I always look like I’ve been in a wind tunnel riding in one. PANERA!!!! YUM!!!

    SMARTY PANTS!!!! Congrats πŸ™‚ GPAs make me oh so excited. Another cheap thrill for me…anything sparkly. Seriously, anything. Have a fan-FREAKING-tastic Wednesday πŸ™‚

  14. I always wear a hat in a convertible with the top down. Just try to pick a stylin’ one.

    I almost bought those Wasabi soynuts today but was afraid I would hate ’em. I’m not a huge Wasabi fan.

    Would you know that I am a Panera virgin? And there is one only about 15 minutes away. I guess I’ve got to go.

    Comments and emails from readers make me happy, and new posts by Snackface in my Reader! And, of course, hugs and I love yous from the kidlets.


Leave a Reply

