Fiddy and a Whole Lotta Fabulosity

20Mar09

Happy Friday and first day of spring! I’m more than tickled to bits to move out of winter and into a new phase. Today there is something a little more important than celebrating the first day of spring. It is MamaJ’s 50th birthday!!! She may be upset that I’m announcing this to everyone, but she is the definition of fabulous at fiddy:

Just posin' in Target

Just posin' in Target

Β MamaJ is hands-down the most hilarious person I know. She’s raw, raunchy and honest in her humor. Beyond that, she will do anything and everything for her family. I don’t know what I’d do if I didn’t have her to call when I’m freaking out, when I need a good chuckle, when I’m feeling lost or when I just miss her. I have few words to accurately express everything she means to me.

She hails from Canada, where she was a model for years and years.Β  She’s also been a bartender, an actress, a deejay, a stylist, a makeup artist, a real-estate agent, a car salesperson, a telemarketer and now she’s a florist. We always say that she’ll be my manager someday(haha like I’ll be famous or something). I have many dreams for my future, and most involve the two of us traipsing about far-off destinations while drinking wine, eating delicious food and laughing our hineys off.

I love my mommy and wish her the happiest, most fabulous fiddieth birthday!

Now back to your regular programming…

Last night I was so exhausted I felt like crying. All the sleepless nights caught up right quick. I was home alone and didn’t want to cook, so I had to grow a pair and drive my mom’s car to Whole Foods. She has a swanky car that she barely drives, for fear that it gets hurt and we have to spend mucho dinero to fix it (yes, this has happened before, so she drives my car when I’m gone). I’m always allowed to drive it, but it scares the poo out of me. Well, I got in and drove, and MAN that baby can drive! It takes off in no time and could be very dangerous πŸ™‚

I went to Whole Foods and walked around in a daze. I was in a serious funk last night. On my way home, I ate these yummies while driving (ssshhh, this was so bad of me!):

I love anything BBQ!

I love anything BBQ!

Whoah, Jaime, these are fantastic! Thank you for bringing them to my attention! Some soy crisps have that soy aftertaste that coats your mouth, but these taste like nothing but BBQ. In my meat-heavy years, I used to love ribs, smearing the sauce all over my face. I got down n’ dirrty with ’em. These brought me back to those feel-good emotions.

When I got home I heated up a favorite soup of mine:

Amy's Split Pea Soup, Low in Sodium

Amy's Split Pea Soup, Light in Sodium

Β This soup is delicately flavored with sweet split peas, caramely onions and hints of garlic. I jazzed it up with pepper and Sriracha (hot) sauce. A green apple offered cool bites in between hot n’ spicy spoonfuls.

Lotta green

Lotta green

I vegged out for the rest of the night and snacked on a handful of Honey Nut Shredded Wheat and a few Triscuits with hummus. I caught up on The City and other shows, and then watched some of Supersize Me on hulu.com. MisterMan introduced me to this site. You can watch various television shows and movies online for free! It’s fab.

I didn’t sleep as long or as well as I would have liked, but it was still better than what I’ve been averaging: four hours. I chatted with the birthday girl and Matty Rich before they headed off to work and school, respectively. I’m stuck in a cereal rut and had this when they left:

Kashi Vive, FiberOne, soy milk, strawberries and bluebs

Kashi Vive, FiberOne, soy milk, strawberries and bluebs

I’m about to get ready to run around town all day, gathering things for MamaJ. I’m excited to go shopping for her! I just wish I had money to buy her the Ralph Lauren collection, which is perfect for the ex-model. Also, MisterMan leaves for spring break today. He’s going to LONDON!!!Β I’m trying to get past the jealousy. I get really nervous when people travel, and this one is making me sick to my stomach. I have a lot to do to distract me, though!

I hope you all have fabulous Fridays and get a great start to the weekend!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

17 Responses to “Fiddy and a Whole Lotta Fabulosity”

  1. Happy birthday to your mom; and wishing “misterman” safe travels abroad!!

    By the way, girl, when are you hitting up my side of town??

  2. Happy Birthday MamaJ! I’m glad to know that it is okay to have a raw and raunchy sense of humor even when you are 50! I hope to be half as fabulous!

    I love shopping for other people too…especially when I find something I know they will LOVE!

    PS I was just thinking last night about how your blog is fairly “new,” but that it is one of my favorites and I couldn’t live with it! Love you!

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY MAMAJ!!! your mom sounds so wonderful πŸ™‚ GIRL i LOVE hulu! its awesome isnt it? have a wonderful weekendddd

  4. AWWWHHHH happy birthday mamaj!!!!!! Totally love it!

  5. happy bday mammaj! love her posing with the charmin πŸ™‚

  6. HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YO MAMA!!! She is looking may-jah-ly fierce posing with the TP!

    Ok fiiiiiiiiiine – you and Jaime have convinced me to try those soy crisps out. I used to have the Genisoy version and they gave me a tummy ache 😦

    I am green with ENVY over MisterMan’s spring break destination! I’ve always had a dream of going to London, meeting a cute boy with an adorable accent, falling in love and living there….sighhhhh!

  7. 7 Bec

    Aw Happy Birthday to your mom!

  8. happy birthdady to momaj πŸ™‚ she looks like a really fun person and sounds like shes had some pretty cool jobs!!
    sorry you were feeling in a funk yesturday night 😦 thats never fun. glad you discovered those yummy bbq crisps, they sound great.
    nothing wrong with cereal ruts…cereals great πŸ™‚
    have a great day love, enjoy town! and i wish misterman a safe flight!
    much love
    xxxx

  9. Aww Happy Birthday to your mama!! Your description of her was very cute! You two remind me of my mom and I! πŸ™‚

    And ohhh I always get the low sodium amy’s split pea at school and throw hot sauce in there, makes it perfect!!! Those soy crisps look damnnn good, I am so excited to grocery shop when I get back to school! haha! But I am not excited that my break is almost over! 😦

    PS my mom grew up in Sandusky, Ohio and so lots of my close cousins and their parents (my mom’s bro and sisters) moved down to CA with her after they all graduated from college, and when my cousins (2 girls who are my age, so we are really close!) were in 6th grade the my mom’s sibs all moved back!!! I go there most summers!

  10. Happy birthday to your mama, she sounds so hip!
    i love amy’s split pea soup. very tasty. isn’t supersize me eye opening? everyone should watch that because it will def. make you stop and relook at fast food. gross!

  11. 11 sue

    happy spring! and happy birthday to your mommy! she sounds amaaazing!

  12. YAY happy birthday to yo momma! she’s just as fierce and fabulous as you are, thats a line of GREAT genes right there! πŸ˜‰

    love me some split pea soup, such a good idea to spice it up (literally). uhhh and soy crisps? new love. i tried the garlic and onion today and even though my breath is not, um, appealing right now, it was SO WORTH IT! with misterman gone, you give give them a shot, haha! hope he has a safe trip, i LOVE london!!!

    enjoy your day out on the town and have a happy friday! xoxoxo

  13. hahahahah, that target pic! happy birthday to mamaJ!! it’s amazing how much fun you two have together!!

    and glad you were able to pull of a WF trip since food shopping is prob the best way to get out of a funk :-D. enjoy the rest of your day!

  14. 14 dailydulcie

    Happy birthday to your mom!!!

    Wonderful eats!!

    Love the soy crisps and thats one of my favorite soups also!!

    ❀

  15. 15 cleanveggiex3

    aww your mommy seems like fun!!
    love the soup with the smiley face – so cheerful πŸ˜€

    have an awesome night kailey!

  16. happy b-day, mamaJ! it’s so great you have such a great relationship with your mama. she sure does look fabulous! I love that split pea soup! and I load on the tabasco sauce too! would use siracha like you next time. love the spice! heh hee!
    oh, and THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH for you awesome comment! it made me feel all warm and toasty and all the more motivated to kick ED’s ass!

  17. Happy Birthday to your fabulous Mom! She sounds like a fantastic lady.

    I’ve always wanted to go to London. I hope your man friend has a great and safe trip!


Leave a Reply

