WOOHOO!!!

19Mar09
Hello beauties! I couldn’t be happier right now. I have finished finals and am completely ready for a mindless week at home! I guess it’s more than a week, though; more like 10 days or so! I have a lot of beautiful and colorful food to recap, but not much has been exciting. Get ready for a monster post ( I understand if you skim)…

Tuesday morning I awoke after approximately four or five hours of sleep. I have been cruel to my body in terms of hours of sleep and caffeine intake, so I’ve been trying to be very kind in terms of whole foods and nutrients. I had this bowl for breakfast before my VICO final:

Hello, antioxidants!

Hello, antioxidants!

You can’t see what all was in there, but it was great. I had a bit of Kashi Go Lean Crunch, Quaker Crunchy Corn Bran, soy milk and berries on top. I am in love with this breakfast and you will see it until you’re so sick of it you stop reading SnackFace. Okay, no. I’ll try to mix it up at some point. Here is a picture of my new fave cereal in my palm:

This cereal is so good! I've been snacking on it for the past couple days.

This cereal is so good! I've been snacking on it for the past couple days.

I’ve never had orininal Puffins, but I imagine they taste something like this. And when you add cinnamon? Totally Cinnamon Puffin territory. Basically, these are the cheaper (yet probably less earth-friendly…or something) version of Puffins. They are also smaller, but super crunchy and barrel-shaped with a hollow center. Back to Tuesday’s breakfast… I had that with a pot of coffee. Healthy, meet unhealthy.

Then I headed to my VICO exam. This exam blew. I studied. I knew what I thought I needed to know, but these tests trip me up every time! I don’t think more hours of studying would have helped, either. There was no worrying about it afterward; I did the best I could and moved on.

After the exam I worked out. I absolutely have to work out during exam week, no matter how sleep-deprived, in order to clear my head for the next exam and feel somewhat stable. I came home and whipped up a snack plate:

Mmm tasty!

Mmm tasty!

On the plate: Pinata apple, orange cauliflower (shout out to my girl, K), radishes, mini La Tortilla Factory tortilla, few Nut Thins, Sabra’s hummus. Snack plates are the way to eat. Beside stating the obvious, here is another new product and snack I have been enjoying:

These crackers rock my world

These crackers rock my world

I’ve enjoyed the crackers several times, whether it be while studying, waiting for sweet potatoes to bake or keeping me company at 2 a.m. They are gluten and wheat-free, crunchier than you could ever imagine and the Smokehouse flavor I selected reminded me of my meat-eating past, but better. I wish they weren’t as expensive, or else I’d make them a staple in my cupboard. And again, back to Tuesday afternoon.

After digesting a bit, showering and covering my deep-purple undereye tattoos, I headed to the library. I try to avoid the library at all costs, as I find the environment to be depressing and a damper to the spirit. I needed to use their updated version of PowerPoint in order to study for IART, so I headed there. I had snacks on hand, of course:

FAVORITES: pineapple (nature's true candy), White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Clif Bar (Clif's gift to all)

FAVORITES: pineapple (nature's true candy), White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Clif Bar (Clif's gift to all)

Upon arriving at the library, I visited MisterMan, who has been living there for longer than a week now. It’s disgusting. He has been so dedicated to studying, and I’ve looked to him for inspiration. I managed to get a ton done in the library (I hand write my own study guides over and over again before memorizing). I was there from 5 p.m. to 8ish. I had a few pieces of pineapple and 1/3 of the bar, but I really just wanted dinner. It’s Wednesday night and I’m still milkin’ that Clif bar (it’s a true luxury to be able to have this!). Before I left the library, MisterMan paid me a last visit while I checked my Gmail. I’m afraid to say this. I tend to get TOO excited for things, and then they never happen. I don’t want to jinx this, but I’ve made it to the next round for the VegNews internship! I have a phone interview set up for March 30th! It’s the final step, and if I get this internship I’m pretty sure I’ll pee my pants.

Elated, I walked home on a cloud and pondered what to have for dinner. I have to use up produce, so what you are about to see will not shock you. As an appetizer:

Salad Season!

Salad Season!

In dat salad: spinach, seven lettuces mix, edamame, strawberries, pineapple, BBQ sauce and balsamic vinegar. I’ve been a salad-lover since a young age. Imagine a nine-year-old Kailey in a TGI Friday’s ordering french onion soup and Caesar salad. It happened. I’m just warning you that as the temperatures rise, I’ll be eating many of these.

The true beauty was ready when I was finished with my salad:

Sweet potato fries, orange cauliflower, ketchup (life wouldn't be complete without it)

Sweet potato fries, orange cauliflower, ketchup (life wouldn't be complete without it)

I’ve clearly been trying to negate caffeine overdoses and sleep underdoses with fruits and veggies. I love eating this way more than anything. The closer to whole and 100% natural (okay, minus the obligatory ketchup), the better I feel. This fiberful dinner kept me full throughout most of the night of mem’rizin’ art movements. I had a little bit of Crunchy Corn Bran and a few Rice-Thins with hummus to get me through to 3:30 a.m. As my eyes burned, I realized that I was wearing down. Three nights in a row of staying up past 3 a.m. was killing me! But it was nothing I hadn’t done before, so I just pushed through.

Wednesday morning I awoke, excited for the day. I reviewed my homemade IART study guide for 45 minutes, and then had breakfast while reading blogs (all I want to do when I should be studying):

Repeat with a twist

Repeat with a twist

I had another bowl of Kashi Go Lean Crunch, Quaker Crunchy Corn Bran, soy milk, berries and this time, pineapple. I ate all the fruit off the top and then ate the incredible cereal. Instead of a pot of coffe, this morning I had three cups. Cuttin’ back, yo.

The IART exam was easy peasy! It was 50 multiple choice questions, and I had studied more than enough and finished that part in no time. Then it came to the essay. Turns out that one of the essay options was the same question I used for the midterm. I was all ovah that! You bet I wrote pages about Medieval music and how it influenced other aspects of the Middle Ages.

I went to the gym afterward for a fantastic workout. It felt so freeing not to have another exam to worry about! I read Glamour without a care in the world while ellipticaling. I returned home to have a delicious lunch:

I'm interpreting that shadow as artsy

I'm interpreting that shadow as artsy

On the plate: Mini La Tortilla Factory tortilla with vegan Boca patty, mustard, ketchup, pickles; Pinata apple with few pieces of pineapple; orange cauliflower with Sabra’s roasted garlic hummus. This wasn’t as filling as I’d expected, but it was freakin’ tasty. I loved all the different flavors. Just so ya know, I always finish with the fruit.

I showered after eating, dressed, make-uped and edited my final piece for Review & Criticism class. I don’t feel uber-confident about this paper, but I did what I could. We had to compare Thank You for Smoking, the novel and the film. I liked both, but found them to be different and strong in their own ways. I recommend reading the novel and seeing the film, but don’t expect the film to be exactly the same. But we all know this when it comes to book-to-film transformations.

I met up with Muffin, handed in the paper and then we went out for a celebratory sip. Here we are just loving life:

Isn't my girrl hot? I love those killah sunglasses. She's so hardcore.

Isn't my girrl hot? I love those killah sunglasses. She's so hardcore.

MisterMan and I met up shortly after this. I have barely seen him for the past week or so, so every time I do get to see him is exciting! I miss the social MisterMan who isn’t holed up in the library. Finals week turns people into study machines you’ve never seen before. It’s fascinating.

Eventually I came home and made dinner. I’m sorry, but it’s almost exactly like Tuesday night’s. Appetizer:

Seven lettuces blend with strawberries, bluebs, roasted salted almonds and balsamic vinegar & BBQ sauce

Seven lettuces blend with strawberries, bluebs, roasted salted almonds and balsamic vinegar & BBQ sauce

Simply scrumptious. And then, naturally, the sweet potato course:

Sweet tater, orange cauliflower, ketchup...still happy with this

Sweet tater, orange cauliflower, ketchup...still happy with this

All sweet potatoes and cauliflower that have been roasted have been dusted in garam masala. Can’t fight the desire. So this cauliflower… I’m trying to eat a large head of it within three days. Tasty, but not interesting to the viewer. I’m sorry! I had Crunchy Corn Bran for dessert (unpictured).

I congratulate you if you’ve made it through this long post. It’s colorful, but that’s about it. I just cannot believe I am finished with Winter Quarter 2009! The most dreaded quarter is over. Get ready for an insane Spring Quarter 2009. Stay tuned and you’ll see the magnificence of spring in Athens, Ohio. I’ll try to keep this blog PG-13.

Tomorrow afternoon Muffin and I are heading back to da Nati! I, once again, am stoked to go home. I hope to sleep for ridiculously long numbers of hours so that I make up for a quarter of sleeplessness. I hope to spend time with my family. I hope to celebrate MamaJs birthday in style (March 20th!!). I’m writing this as though I won’t be blogging. Hell nawww. You know I can’t stay away! I’ll be back tomorrow night.

I loved reading all your Barbie thoughts/ stories! Erin, from Care to Eat, mentioned that she’d let her kids play with Barbies, but never with fake guns. This is something with which I strongly agree. MamaJ never even used to let us play with water guns or NERF guns, so there is no way my kidlets are playing with them. Violence is a huge no-no.

You’re probably sick of my voice now, so I’ll sign out. I could type fo’evah, but that’s drive you away. Anyway, I’ve missed you so! Much love.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

16 Responses to “WOOHOO!!!”

  1. I powered through! haha great post- congrats on being DONE hell ya have fun at home!! I could NEVER do the 3 am thang so good work and get some rest!

  2. I grew up on that Quaker Corn Bran but have never seen it anywhere since 1984 (have you checked the date on your box?). Original Puffins are pretty close to the same, but like you said, a little spendier.

    Unless they make pink guns, I think there’s no way they’ll ever be toy guns in my house either.

    I’m crossing my fingers and toes on that VegNews job for you!

  3. loved the long post girlie 🙂 i enjoyed everybit of it!
    great eats, very colourful and pretty!
    yay your on spring break 🙂 i hope you use the time wisely..to do nothing 🙂 enjoy relaxing! and congrats on getting all the exams finished!
    you look stunning in the pic, as always!
    have a nice trip home mdear,
    much love
    xxx

  4. HELL YES FOR MAKING IT THROUGH FINALS AND TO THE NEXT ROUND FOR THE INTERNSHIP!!! I’m so proud of you!! 😀

    Oh and of COURSE I need to give an obligatory shout-out to the….

    SWEET POTATOES!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    See you soon!! 🙂

  5. 5 sue

    YAY x 24334! for being done! LOVE all the colorful fruits and veggies! and congrats on making it to the next round for vegnews *FINGERS CROSSED*!

  6. yayyyyyyyyyy for a long celebration post!!! you must feel amazing. mindless 10 days, here you come!! and i love the pic of you and muffin — she’s def hardcore with those shades 🙂

    i’m keeping my fingers crossed for the internship. get your depends ready because i think you’ve got it in the bag!

  7. 7 Anna

    I’ll have to try out that cereal – cheaper Puffins sound great!

    Have a fantastic break!

  8. CRUNCHY CORN BRAN!! I used to be straight up OBSESSED with that cereal! LOVE the Cauli, girl!! Actually let me just do this: SP FRIES + SALAD + FRUIT BOWL + NUT THINS + EVERYTHING = YUMMOLA you and I are eating twins!

    Remember, North on 75 – then you can eat all the cookies/macaroons/bread I’ve been churning out of my kitchen 😉 Have a safe trip back home!!!

  9. 9 dailydulcie

    Loved reading that whole post 🙂

    Congrats on finishing your finals!! That must be a relief!!

    Your eats look wonderful, especially the snack plate YUM!

    How do you make orange cauliflower? I’m really intrigued!

    Also, your sweet potatoes look perfect!! How do you make yours?!!!

    Have a great day.

    <3dulcie

  10. 10 snackface

    GRRR, I just want to apologize for that darned missing picture. I have no clue what happened. Sorry kiddies 😦

    And Sarah- hahaha thanks for the reminder to get me some depends. Wal-Mart probably has them for a good price.

  11. 11 Bec

    congrats on being done with finals! Hope you have a great time at home 🙂

  12. hey love !! so glad that the studying is over now– it sounds like you have been sooo super busy! luckily you have been fueling yourself with some healthy and delicious things 🙂 love the orange cauliflower– where do you get such a thing? haha sweet taters always make me smile big 🙂

    have a great day xoxoxox !!!

    try to relax now girl– you deserve it!!!!

  13. Kailey I love your blog so, so much!!! yayy for studying being over!! you seemed to prepare really well, I’m sure you knew your stuff! I really want to eat like you, I get super jealous when I realize that i still live in a dorm room so making gorgeous, huge & delicious salads just isn’t going to happen and neither will toasty sweet potato fries!! ALSO, I love how you are always trying new cereals, I need to branch out more!! I want to buy those crackers by the way, once I’m back at school next week I’ll definitely look for the smokehouse version at safeway!!!

    and thank you soo much for the offer to help with my paper!! you are too sweet!! I’m making myself start today and I was (coincidentally?) assigned the topic of consumerism and teens……of how magazine ads/celebs and models affect/promote eating disorders in teenage girls! I’ll be pounding that bad boy out while laying in the sun (hopefully!) have a good day!!

  14. yay youre done!!!!! can’t wait to hear about if you got the internship! i got a good feeling here!!!! 🙂 i’ll prob pee my pants with excitement for you too! hahaha love ya! enjoy your week offffffff

  15. Yayyy SPRING BREAK!! you have seriously been working soooo ridiculously hard and def deserve to live it up mindlessly at home.
    I’ve seen those nut thins around but never bothered to pick it up. I’ve been wondering how they taste so maybe now i’ll go pick up a box. and damn you and K for having awesome cauliflowers. I want some color in my life too 😦
    and i don’t know if you know this or not but you are gorgeoussssss. hahaha seriouslyyyy, come to CA and all my guy friends will be gawking at your bod 🙂

  16. oh me oh my. i loooooove corn bran.
    your eats look so colorful and delish!


Leave a Reply

