Barbie Girl

17Mar09

Hello darlings!Β  I am learning that I do not like NOT posting. It drives me insane! I think about it all day, but I know I cannot take the time to do the full-blown food post I want to do right now. However, I absolutely have to post something. Checking my Gmail hasn’t been nearly as exciting as it normally is. I miss the comments, I miss your lovely words, I miss sharing! I have been taking photos of most meals, and I will have a giant post tomorrow evening!

I thought I would share a picture that is slightly humiliating. You all will find it highly amusing, though. Please get ready to laugh at a picture of me. This was a “modeling” (I use that term very loosely) gig I did in November, 2008. It was at a Wal-Mart in Chillicothe. It was…interesting.

I'm a Barbie girl in a Barbie world

I'm a Barbie girl in a Barbie world

I was hired to do what is called “promo” work for an organization, Barbie Cares. People donate their old Barbies, Mattel recycles them and makes new Barbies, and then they distribute them throughout children’s hospitals. It is a lovely program.

So what’s it like to be Diamond Princess Barbie for a day in a Wal-Mart? I was hesitant to find out. I did not want to walk out of the bathroom in my…ball gown and pink slippers. Stares could not be dodged while I walked to the very back of the store where the toy department was. But you know what? It was an amazing day. Being Barbie for a day was like being a celebrity for a day. I cannot tell you how many times tears swelled into my eyes when little, tiny girls would see me, stop, and in disbelief say, “Bawbee?” One little girl even gave me an invitation to her birthday party!

As one who grew up playing with Barbies, I couldn’t believe I was dressing upΒ as her for a job. The night before, Muffin and I studied this sheet full of questions about Barbie’s history that I had to memorize. Did you know Barbie and Ken broke up on Valentine’s Day a few years ago? Rough, right? All in all, the gig turned out to be wonderful. The overwhelming delighted responses from little girls (and some little boys) far outweighed the laughs I got from the good ol’ boys or smart-allecky teens. Cheesy but true, it was a heartwarming day.

Question: Did you play with Barbies when you were little? How do you feel about them now? Would you let your daughter play with Barbies?

I understand that people think Barbies are bad for girls’ self-image, but honestly, I only ever saw her as a doll. I never wanted to look like her. I was far more interested in dressing her up in rockin’ outfits.

Well, I hope you enjoyed that! I am off to go memorize hundreds of years of art movements! I miss you all and love you lots!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

22 Responses to “Barbie Girl”

  1. Yes, I played with Barbies when I was little – guilty as charged!! πŸ˜€

  2. i played with Barbies when I was little FOR SURE. I had the pink convertible, but my favorite was the African American Barbie I had……since all of my friends with african american, my pediatrician africian american, and my favorite teacher at school was african american. I actually used to cry at night that I WASN’T African American! Basically I have just been brought up in many VERY diverse cities, and I wouldn’t have it any other way!! Almost all my best friends have been of another race!

  3. 3 sue

    i played with barbies! my sister and i had a doll that was like a korean version of barbie too and we’d always fight over who got to be her…so i guess we were pretty happy with our own self-image πŸ™‚

  4. omgoshh you look so cute in the picture haha. My favorite was American Barbie. She was supa tan, had a pink backpack, wore sneakers, had a ponytail, and awesome in my 4 year old eyes. I also had a Ken doll and used to give Ken haircuts thinking it’ll grow back. It never did obvi but I continued to be a barber and eventually he became bald. the end πŸ™‚

  5. Oh yea I also had a gymnastics barbie that I got as a birthday gift. she was fureeakkkyyy. her limbs bent in ways real bodies can only dream. I liked her though and contorted her in 1000 ways until she broke in half. After that incident, i got freaked out and stuffed her in my sock drawer..

  6. OH totally loved barbie πŸ˜€ I had the convertible, dream boat, limo with jacuzzi in the back…mansion- UM hi only child much!? I agree with ya, I never lusted over that tiny waist and ginormous chest, it didn’t really occur to me, i just liked all the pink sparkly accessories!

  7. Aw you got to be Barbie for a day? You lived the dream of little girls everywhere!

    I definitely played with Barbies ALL the time. Heck I still have a bunch of them tucked away in the basement. I tried to part with them but.. come on. It’s like retro childhood memorabilia. I couldn’t do it! You summed it up perfectly here though: “I only ever saw her as a doll. I never wanted to look like her. I was far more interested in dressing her up in rockin’ outfits.” SO true. I never ever thought about the Barbie “body type” when I was little. I didn’t know what the heck body type meant! I just wanted to make Barbie families and have her go on shopping sprees and ride ponies and make meals for her Ken doll lover!

  8. ive missed you girl!!! so glad you gave this lil update! omg i love the barbie pic of you! (btw you are much prettier than barb!)
    i have like 98029830192830192 barbies in my attic– i was OBSESSED!!! ahhh! i never looked at her body either– i just kind of played with them and changed her shoes a lot! hah πŸ™‚ have a great night xo

  9. by the way! good luck with the studying girl! and i hope you can relax sooon! muahh

  10. oh my gosh I love that picture!! hahhah it’s too cute!!! Costumes from your childhood just rock. period. πŸ˜› Good luck girlie on the studies!!!

  11. Come on Barbie, let’s go party…ah ahh ahhh ahh.

    Thanks for getting that in my brain, Kailey. Booo.

    I got to dress up like a chicken once and hand out balloons at a grocery store. Jealous??!!

    I played with Barbies when I was little, and Gracie has one that Chris bought her, but I think she’s been misplaced. I can’t say I’d be thrilled if they girls wanted a bunch of Barbies, but they are better than Bratz, for sure!

  12. hi girlie
    love the pic πŸ™‚ i was HUGE barbie fan growing up…i didnt see barbie as a body type striving to achieve for so i would let my kids plan with them for sure. i had so mnay barbies and barbie related items, it was crazy haha. i think most girls just love dressing up barbies and have fun with them!
    hope you can return to the full blogging you enjoy soon hun
    have a great day
    much love
    xxx

  13. oooh, fun job!! my parents would never buy me new barbies when i was growing up, so i had to be content with hand-me-downs from my cousins. i loved dressing them up, building them houses out of blocks, etc etc.

    i probably wouldn’t initiate a barbie interest in my (future imaginary) kids, but i wouldn’t put any rules against playing with them!

    good luck with the memorization!

  14. 14 Bec

    what a fun ‘job’ for the day! I had a lot of barbies but the only one i played with was my camping barbie… I was more of a cabbage patch kid kind of girl

  15. ha you are SO CUTEEEEEEEE πŸ™‚ love it! i always played with barbies. I think peeople look too deeply into things like this. I think most girls just play with them to play with them. they don’t look at them and wish they looked the exact same way! its nuts that they’re being overanalyzed like this

  16. 16 gina (fitnessista)

    hahah what a sweet job– i bet the little girls loved it
    i played with barbies when i was younger– cut their hair, pierced their ears and my dad built an AMAZING barbie mansion for them. i have no prob with barbies and will totally let our kids play with them
    hope you have a great day!

  17. yay! you’re back, and I missed ya!
    I did play with barbie dolls though they were korean and called mimi…and my way of playing with them were to have a mommy, a daddy, and sister and children…but the mommy always died a horrible death in the end. my friends and I would fight over who would be the unfortunate mommy to die a fantastic death. yes, I have a problem, ever since young. haha~
    that said, if I ever have kids,I wouldn’t want them to play with barbies unless they come up with a more realistic version of it…

  18. hahaha what a cute post!!! I also just loved dressing barbies up alllll day, everyday when I was younger, I could spend hours and hours just picking out outfits for them to wear and then hazardously chopping off their hair off to make “cute” hairdos!!

  19. HAH! I feel the same way – if I don’t post I get anxious! I have to hear from my bloggies or I don’t know what to do with myself!!

    I played with Barbies and I LOVED them! I would let my daughters play with them – they aren’t any worse than Bratz dolls!!

    That’s so cute though the kiddos loved you!

  20. ahhh i LOVE this picture so so much! i actually had a friend who did a similar thing, that’s too funny!

    i used to be obsessssssed with barbies, but i think i always kind of knew that their bodies were just weird and unrealistic! i just loved creating drama and love stories between all the barbies and with the ken dolls! haha!

    so glad you squeezed in a quick post! you always make me smile! keep working hard, you’re almost there =) xoxo

  21. I am laughing not only at your picture but at a walmart in Chillicothe…..

    Barbies for life….she just turned 50 and still looks good!!

  22. That is such a cute story!! And look how adorable you are! AWWH!
    That’s a great question and such a good issue to raise. My parents were mixed at allowing me to play with Barbies but ultimately my dad won out over my feminist mom. I don’t plan on having children but if I did, I’d probably let my kids play with Barbies because I think they’ll be exposed to them in some for or another. Now if I had a boy, though – no playing with toy guns. Not cool.


Leave a Reply

