Come Ye Makers of Song

10Mar09

Welcome to Tuesday honeybuns! Glad to see we all made it through Monday. I can say that I struggled to focus on work, but managed to get things done. Today’s post title refers to what I’ll be doing tonight: singing in a choir concert. One of the songs that ALWAYS gets stuck in my head is the ridiculous, elementary-sounding “Come Ye Makers of Song.” I find it kind of hilarious. I wake up and this is the first thing that rings in my head. Obnoxious.

Back to yesterday, though. I woke up after 4.75 hours of sleep and managed to smile because I was blessed enough to have a cookie for breakfast:

Coffee & Cookie

Coffee & Cookie

In the cookie: 1/2 C oats, 1/2 naner, 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powda, cinnamon, nutmeg, lil’ bit o’ Smucker’s natural p.b. Place it in the fridge overnight, pop it in the freezer for 20-30 minutes in the morning and eat! I had to use the fork to get it off the plate, but other than that it was wonderfully chewy.

I then went to IART and Women’s Chorale (nothing exciting), and then the gym for a great Moday workout. I eventually returned to my house starving. Fixed that pronto:

In LOVE with this lunch!

In LOVE with this lunch!

Clearly, we have a Jonagold, carrots, cherry toms, hummus with a mustard ring around it and wrap bites! I wanted to be able to dip everything, and have lotsa bites, so I rolled the wrap with Laughing Cow and spinach and cut into easy-to-eat sushi-looking bites. Long, unnecessary explanation. Close up:

Laughing Cow is the perfect bite binder

Laughing Cow is the perfect bite binder

After lunch I showered, and settled in for a brainstorming session for the next paper. This English paper is a reflective essay for the course, so it wasn’t too challenging. I still managed to be wildly distracted while trying to write. At some point I had this for brain power:

6 heated frozen strawberries, few dollops of plain ff yogurt, 4 roasted salted almonds, cinnamon

6 heated frozen strawberries, few dollops of plain ff yogurt, 4 roasted salted almonds, cinnamon

Tasty, but small. Shout out to frozen strawberries: they are always sweet and usually cheaper than fresh ones.

Eventually I finished my paper and was ready for kitchen fun. I bought firm tofu this week and I normally get extra firm, but this was all Wal-Mart was in the mood to carry. I have no idea what to call this. It’s not really a stir-fry. I just threw everything into a pan and heated it through.

Shooo this was good n' spicy

Shooo this was good n' spicy

Into the pan went: clove of garlic, half can crushed tomatoes, 1/4 block firm tofu, defrosted frozen veggies, soy sauce, chili powder, crushed red pepper, pepper. This was a tasty delight that had my nose running. I must have really simple tastes or something, because I was totally stoked about this.

Oh glorious tofu, how you take on the flavor of anything...

Oh glorious tofu, how you take on the flavor of anything...

To cool myself down I had a few spoons of Thin Mint ice cream, and then I realized I was still empty feeling and shouldn’t make a meal of ice cream. A half cup of GoLean Crunch helped with that.

Then I dashed off to the church for more singing! It was fine. It’s crunch time so we’re all just frazzled with the lyrics and shrill notes. We’ll pull it together, though.

This day is so uneventful! Sorry! I came home after and had more Crunch with soymilk and one of these little baby bags of PopSecret:

threw some pepper and chili powder on dat

threw some pepper and chili powder on dat

Yes, my darling Erin really had me jonesin’ for the popcorn! After that I had a chat with MisterMan on the phone and got to work on editing a paper and then reading! I wanted to finish Thank You for Smoking last night, but I just kept dozing off. I still have 80 pages to knock out today, which shouldn’t be too hard. I’m taking that book on the elliptical this morning!
Today’s Agen-duh:
-workout
1-3:English, turn in paper, pretend I read a novel that I am reading over spring break instead
3-5: VICO, sitting through group projects
5-6:30: rush home, eat, read, get ready for concert
-6:30-9ish: Being a Maker of Song
9:30-?: writing book review

I keep telling myself this is the last sleepless week; you should really see these eggplant-skin-solored shadows under my eyes, though. Glamourous. I’m going to post the literary piece after I check with the editor (who is actually Muffin!) to see if it’s alright. Just a warning: it’s long.

Alright, must start day! Everyone have a lovely day–I hope it flies by! Much love.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

P.S. For those of you who have ever wondered about my sweet potato baking method, here goes:
         -line baking sheet with aluminum foil, spray with non-stick spray
         -crank oven up to 450* (I use an ancient gas oven, and I think this is what does the trick in a shorter amount of time)
         -cut sweet potato into centimeter-or-less thick shapes, place on baking sheet
         -sprinkle with desired spice (lately it’s been the garam masala, but you know they don’t need a thing), spray lightly with non-stick
         -stick in over for 15 minutes; then flip, put in for another 10 minutes, DONEZO– if you have an electric oven, that last 10 minutes should be lengthened to 15
         -eat with 1/2 C ketchup…ok, you don’t have to do that last step; that’s just what I prefer.

15 Responses to “Come Ye Makers of Song”

  1. have you ever tried popcorn with jalapenos and some of the jalapeno juice from the jar? AMAZINGGGGGG

  2. I LOVE how you arrange all of your plates of food – so elegant!! Looks like a catered event or something, haha 😀

    THANK YOU for the sweet potato baking method!! Love it.

    Happy Tuesday!!

  3. hi hun
    love the eats 🙂 that bfast cookie looks so chewy and the wrap cut up is adorable haha!
    ah yes the popcorn addiction amongst bloggies…perhaps i should jump on the bandwaggin!
    sounds like you have a jammers day ahead of you!! have fun at the concert tonight girlie 🙂
    xxxx

  4. hey girl! love that lunch– what a clever idea witha ll those tastey bites!!! you’ll do fab at the concert 🙂 love yous xoox

  5. What a cute little lunch! I LOVE it!

  6. I ADORE your lunch! Honestly! I saw your comment the other day about coming to party in Athens and girl, you know I’d be there in a heartbeat if I could! Especially if I could have that lunch 😀

    Nose running spiciness is the best level! Delish dish!! By the way, eyeshadow on lower lids is so in right now – even if it’s au naturale shadow 😉

    Have a rockin’ Tuesday, girlie!!

  7. 7 Bec

    ooo, thanks for your SP recipe!

  8. The tofu stirfry-like meal looks delish! That’s basically what i do too, just throw everything in together 🙂

  9. 9 gina (fitnessista)

    i love bfast cookies with all of my soul! the stir fry dish looks amazing
    hope you have a wonderful day!

  10. yum, breakfast cookie!! i don’t know why i waited so long to try them …
    and i love your variety-packed lunch — colors and textures are way more satisfying than anything else!
    keep up all your amazing productivity — you’re so close to a little break!

  11. 11 dailydulcie

    yumm.. all your eats look so good, especially the stir fry!!!

  12. I had a cookie for breakfast too!!!

    Mmm and I didn’t have that lunch but I want it! Love the wrap bites =)

    Thanks for the Sweet P fry method, it’s a lot like what I used to do…when I wasn’t banned from my beloved orange friends

  13. All the cool kids had breakfast cookies today!

    You made a mistake on the fries…not enough ketchup.

  14. HI GORGEOUS HUNK OF WOMANLY SISTER.

    oh read through glued to my screen
    oohing and ahhing at the food
    (especially your snack plate! they get me EVERY TIME!) i just lovee the pickin and chooosin ya got goin girrrl!

    thenn i loved your tofu dinner
    but what took me to a screeeching halt was when i saw the popcorn, got SO EXCITED
    then read that you refereneced me
    (**elvis**a thank you verrryy much)
    then i read the word after it .. where it said *jonesin’ and i died..
    because, dur thats my last name..
    hahahah literally, laughed out loud..

    oh how i love you and your gorgeous face
    thannnk ya for the sweet potater help! I BETTER GET TO IT STAT!

  15. haha kailey, youre just too cute/awesome, i love how you arranged those little wrap-ettes so beautifully! and i’ll totally have to try that stir fry, i loooove me some chili power!

    thanks for the sweet potato instructional too, i make them a lot but i change up how i do it every time because… i really just don’t know how to do it right, haha! i’ll be trying your method though, and will certainly report back!

    good luck with the work and get some sleep!!!!! xoxox


Leave a Reply

