Spring Preview

07Mar09

Good morning and happy weekend! Yesterday was a whirlwind, over-the-top Friday that gave everyone in Athens a preview of what spring quarter will be like. Spring quarter here is unlike anything you’ve experienced. Every single weekend there is a “fest” in which streets, such as Palmer Street and High Street, put on parties. This means that every house on the street throws a huge kegger, blares music and parties from 11 a.m. to 3 a.m. the next day. It’s outrageous.

When not attending PalmerFest, students flock to the bars as soon as they get out of class. Yesterday, as I was walking home from the gym at 2 p.m., the bars had their doors open, luring students into the darkness. People were starting their nights very early.

I woke up Friday excited for the day. It was beautiful outside, I knew Muffin and I were going out and we were going to be able to wear dresses and not freeze! To start the day I had a crunchy, chewy breakfast:Β 

Another new breakfast with coffee

Another new breakfast with coffee

The night before, I combined plain ff yogurt, Kashi GoLean Crunch, cinnamon, raisins and a few chocolate chips. It sat in the fridge overnight, and in the morning I added half a Bosc pear and a splash of soy to moisten it. (I ate the other half of the pear as a snack later.)

Crunchewy, scrumptious bowl!

Crunchewy, scrumptious bowl!

The Crunch turned into a chewy delight overnight, the raisins plumped and the crisp pear offered a lovely contrast to the crunchewiness of the rest of the bowl!

After eating, I HAPPILY walked to women’s chorale in the warm weather. It’s so nice to be able to wear my workout attire without having to layer sweats overtop! Chorale was nothing thrilling, and afterward I headed to the office of The Post to talk to my editor about writing next quarter. She’s decided to bring back the Pop Culture beat, which is the beat to which she’s assigned me! I’ll be able to look at large trends in pop culture and localize them for students.

I headed to the gym for another sweat session after the exciting meeting. It is harder to work out when the temperature is higher! I had sweat between every crevice in my body (yeah, every crevice).

Then I came home and tried to eat as fast as I could so that Muffin and I could get our nights started! I know, wanting to go out by 6 p.m. seems crazy, but hell, we are crazy. I had this snackadellic plate:

I love to eat like this; Pita, radishes, cherry toms, celery, carrot, pickles, Sabra's roasted garlic hummus, huge Jonagold apple

I love to eat like this; Pita, radishes, cherry toms, celery, carrot, pickles, Sabra's roasted garlic hummus, huge Jonagold apple

I saved the enormous apple for last, and I was stuffed afterward. I quickly showered and got ready for the night by 4:30 p.m. It always feels odd to walk to Muffin’s when I’m all dolled up and the sun hasn’t set yet. At least I had my hooker heels in my purse to switch into, which lessened the severity of the nighttime look.

As you can see here, we were elated to be in dresses and to partay:

On Muffin's porch, ready to go!

On Muffin's porch, ready to go!

For dinner, Muffin and our friend Dave decided to go to China Dragon. I’ve never enjoyed Chinese-American cuisine, but I sat with these two lovely people while they ate fried rice and General Tso’s chicken. My “dinner” paled in comparison. I had a Maple Nut Clif Bar and it was yummy and mapley, but had ONE nut in it! And of course, I was nowhere near full. I did, however, snagΒ a bite of a chinese donut (I think that’s what it’s called). It was like a sweet, fried biscuit…heaven.

My friend, whom I’ll call Dub, was bartending happy hour at Crystal. Of course we had to stop by! Here I am with my $1 Captain and diet:

I need to figure out the red-eye remover thing

I need to figure out the red-eye remover thing

The rest of the night consisted of traipsing around uptown, going from bar to bar, visiting friends’ houses and generally loving life. At the end of the night (haha, it was only midnight), I met up with MisterMan. We went to Casa Nueva because I really wanted chips and salsa, and then we headed to my house. After MisterMan left, I tore into the Cinna-Graham Honeycomb and mixed it with Kashi GoLean Crunch. I swear, I cannot go to bed without having cereal first. Addicted.

I woke up today feeling less than stellar. I also didn’t want breakfast food for some bizarre reason. I had a huge hankering for soup, so that’s what I had at 10 a.m.:

Campbell's Select Harvest Country Vegetable soup on my dirty stove

Campbell's Select Harvest Country Vegetable soup on my dirty stove

It was exactly what I wanted! Today I’m not sure what I’m doing. All I know is that I have a ton of reading and writing to do. I probably won’t go out tonight in order to finish everything, but that’s fine. Last night was enough!

For review and criticism I have to read Thank You for Smoking (the book upon which the movie is based). I’d love some advice on fast reading. Do you have any tricks to read faster/stay awake while reading? Any advice would help!

I’ll be back later, but for now I’m going to catch up with all of your lives! Love you all bunches!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

18 Responses to “Spring Preview”

  1. 1 erin

    hiiiiiiiya sis.

    man am i lucky to have such a sexy older sister..
    but really
    “you’z a stunnah”

    okay so glad you had a loverly night in your pretty dresses!
    your breakfast from yesterday looks superb and your snack plates always look so professionalll!

    ps. obsessed with cinna graham. i just munch on it whenever i get the hankering
    whichhh is often.. πŸ˜‰

    love yaa

  2. 2 jaime

    hey baby girl! you and your girl look beautiful in the dresses πŸ™‚ i LOVE kashi choc turtle roll bars– my favorite bar in the world! glad you had a fun time out! im not a big fan of american chinese either xoxoxox

  3. Excellent breakfast idea, I’m SO stealing it! And you look so gorgeous, love that dress!!

    Good luck with your work tonight!

  4. 4 Anna

    Yay for wearing dresses and not worrying about having a hyporthermia induced demise!

    You look absolutely fabulous, by the way.

    Have an awesome weekend!

  5. hi girlie
    yummy bfaast combo!! haha love the attitude towards partying at your collge…sounds very like mine….finishing class at 1pm and heaing straight to the student bar, thats what alot of people do .
    and girl you are stunning :)!!!
    glad you got that awesome job to do the music section in the paper πŸ™‚
    have a wonderful day
    xxxxx

  6. Suuuper fun night!!

    Hooray for scoring the Pop Culture beat!! Rock it out, girl!!

    Saw your comment on my blog – I can’t wait to meet up either!! SO FREAKING EXCITED!! πŸ˜€

  7. I LOVE TASTING PLATES!! You get bites of everything πŸ™‚

    Yesterday was gorgeous in the Midwest – that weather can stick around forever! Dress = adorbs! Spill, where’s it from?

    One of my English professors told us if we had a problem of dozing off while reading to just let it happen and then keep reading when we woke up! I don’t have a problem staying awake so who knows how well it works (my friends have tried it and said it worked for them).

    • 8 snackface

      K- yesterday and today have been FAB outside! I can’t get any work done! Haha. The dress is from the only place I can afford a cute dress- Forever 21!

  8. YOU are STUNNING! And so tall! I’m jealous, I want to grow taller =) haha

    Mmm, can you make me that breakfast…please?! πŸ˜‰

  9. 10 Sweet and Fit

    you look gorgeous! thats dress is supppper cute! and of course it looks amazing on you! what kind of computer do u have? I know the apple computer’s iphoto has a red-eye remover.

    • 11 snackface

      Sweet and Fit- Thank you so much for the compliment and help! I actually have a Vaio, so I’m not sure if it has any special applications. I appreciate the tip, though!

  10. first of all — HOTTIE. you and your friend look so great! you guys probably owned the place.

    sounds like you had an AWESOME night, i love doing random special things like that! gotta shake it up, ya know? and i love that you had soup for breakfast, i would totally do that too haha!

    hope you have a fantastic saturday, my love!

  11. 13 erin

    bhahahaha i LOVE looking at the cute treats (and eating them.) that they have.. whooopss πŸ™‚

    i’m sure i’ll love them because you recommended themm! if i don’t ill still love ya..

    doesnt mister man’s dad do popcorn stuff? do i recall correctly??!!??

    <33333333 ahhhh!
    cant wait to move in with you and him.
    πŸ˜‰

    hope youre having a splendid saturday.
    love you shnoookums.

  12. ooooh overnight golean crunch … THE BEST!!!

    yay for summer dresses and no jackets! and thanks for sending the warm vibes the other day — we got up to 60 here, yay πŸ™‚

  13. snack plates are THE BEST. Sounds like a fun day!!

    Happy Sunday girly!

  14. I LOVE snack plates. I need to find a good breakfast version so I can just eat snack plates ALL DAY LONG.

    You’re gorge…you know that.

    Um…you could rent the movie…did I say that?

  15. mmm! love the snack platter! I love all the crunch and fun of it! sounds like you had a great night, and oh my freaking god. You are SO gorgeous! but I’m probably like the 1000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000th person to tell you that. how do you cope with all the drooling guys? lol.

  16. you are gorgeeeeeeee πŸ™‚ i love love love that dress so much! and all your snackies love ya girllllll


Leave a Reply

