I’ll Have Some Food with My Garam Masala

03Mar09

Good evening kidlets! How was your Tuesday? Mine has been great so far…if I ignore the fact that March needs to step up its game and get warm! This morning I arose after another night of tossing and turning. I had a horrible nightmare that someone had stolen my debit card and ID. In real life, I am paranoid about this. Even at bars I’ll constantly check my wallet to make sure no one has snatched anything.

At 9:15 a.m., I walked to the gym, tears swelling in my eyes. Does that happen to you when you get really cold and the wind is blowing? Anyway, I had a great workout and then headed home for a hot shower and brunch (it was 11:30 a.m. by the time I ate a real meal). Oats made a powerful return. Remember when I wrote that I’d put garam masala in my oats? I actually did. And I loved it.

moody oats: 1/2 C rolled oats, cinnamon, garam masala, half naner, Smucker's natural p.b.

moody oats: 1/2 C rolled oats, cinnamon, garam masala, half naner, Smucker's natural p.b.

Before purchasing garam masala, I thought it was just one spice. Turns out it’s a blend: cardamom, cinnamon, cloves, cumin, black pepper, coriander. The only spice in there that I wouldn’t think to add to oats is black pepper. Didn’t notice it.

After battling the cold again, I made it to English class. We got our midterms back; I got a 100! Hollaaaa. Then we got back our latest papers; I got an A! This was exactly what I needed because I’ve been feeling like a poopy student lately. VICO from 3-5 was a bore. In a lecture class of 400, we have group projects. This is infuriating for many reasons: it’s hard to find your other four groupmates in this mess, the projects are nonsense AND I did not come to college to pay for my grade to rely on others. I am thankful, however, because I don’t have the programs on my laptop that are necessary to make these projects, and my groupies do.

The snack I had between classes —grapes and a mini Clif Chocolate Brownie bar– held me over until I got home at 5. I started a snacklicious dinner. I had been dreaming of this all day:

Roasted Channa with plain ff yogurt

Roasted Channa with plain ff yogurt

Oh goodness me. I could eat bowls and bowls of this. I may be GasFace after that, but it’s so damn delicious! The cool yogurt was a perfect foil for the spicy chickpeas. While I was waiting for the next dinner component to come out of the oven, I snacked on two thin slices of tempeh with p.b. and apple butter. My camera devoured them as well, as I seem to have lost that picture.

I’ve been wanting to mix things up, but I couldn’t resist what my body was craving:

sweet potato with...garam masala and ketchup

sweet potato with...garam masala and ketchup

My friends, I’m sorry that I can’t escape the sweet potato. Maybe I’ll get burnt out on these? No, probably not. I did try to make spinach chips, but they got too hot and excited and melded to the tin foil. Oops.

To finish the snacklicious dinner, I had a No Pudge brownie. This product is genius. Two tablespoons of their mix, one tablespoon of yogurt, one minute in the micro and you get a chewy, chocolatey brownie. With Dark Chocolate Dreams icing, because I can’t have things just plain:

No Pudge yum

No Pudge yum

I highly recommend this product. OH MY GAWD. I’m listening to my fave, Lil Wayne, and in the song “Kush”Β he just said, “why these bitches on my dick like a glue stick?” The feminist in me should be appalled, but come on, that is hilarious!

I just finished writing a paper, and then a little later I am meeting Muffin for a sip and a chat. I’ll be returning home to read several pages of Arabian Jazz by Diana Abu-Jaber. Ready for five more?
Installment Three: Beauty Habits
1) After years of a bumpy forehead and wanting to cry with every new zit, I caved and became a Proactiv user. I’ve been using it since I was a freshman in high school, and I have no idea what I’d use instead.
2) I have this awesome tool, I think it’s called a blackhead extractor or something, but it has a loop on either end. When you put the loop over a pimple or blackhead, the goop oozes out. You should know that I am gross, and I find this endlessly satisfying.
3) My mother waxed my upper lip for the first time when I was about 12. However, she wouldn’t let me shave my legs until I was 13. I remember being viciously jealous of the girls who were allowed to shave in 6th grade.
4) In 8th grade I had a giant zit on my chin and had heard toothpaste was a good way to get rid of this. Do not use whitening toothpaste. I burned my skin and had a huge half-dollar sized raw patch on my face for what seemed like weeks.
5) Current couldn’t-live-without products: Maybelline Define-A-Lash mascara in brownish black, Juicy Couture Viva la Juicy, Bath & Body Works Anti-Bacterial Moisturizing Hand Lotion in Exotic Coconut and Strawberry Carmex.

Have a beautiful Tuesday night/ Wednesday morning! See ya’ll later!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

10 Responses to “I’ll Have Some Food with My Garam Masala”

  1. Yikes!! So sorry about the nightmare 😦

    Yep, that happens to my eyes too when I’m out in the cold – hate it.

    GasFace, HAHA!! Too funny πŸ˜€

    NEVER EVER apologize for eating sweet potatoes – I eat them every other day!!

    Enjoy your night out!!

  2. 2 Sarah

    mmm, yum, garam masala is delicious. i’ve never actually bought it — just googled the blend of spices and made it myself. it’s all my faves in one convenient location! i bet it would be amaaaaaazing in oats. and sweet potatoes never get old πŸ™‚
    congrats on all the good grades. and your beauty habits — omg i’m laughing out loud about #2!

  3. I totally hate when my eyes get all watery in the wind! Stupid cold weather, bleh!

    Fabulous job on the paper girly.

    Mmm, I must get some garam masala now! I would love to try it in my oats. And that chickpea/yogurt mix? HEAVEN! I’m saving this post for all the ideas! =)

    Seriously…I haven’t had SweetP’s in like more than 2 weeks, I think I’d rather have orange skin than miss out haha

    Ooo, enjoy your brownie!

  4. 4 jaime

    delicious eats girl! love the fact you put graham masala in your oats! hahaha you are so daring πŸ˜‰ have a lovely night xo

  5. HAHA gasface and lil’ wayne….are we soulmates, what!?!?

  6. 6 Sarah

    I might have to try the garam masala oats.

    Mom’s are so insane. Mine was the same way with the leg shaving, but she didn’t wax my upper lip. Why is one method/area of hair removal superior? Because I said so, that’s why.

  7. I really neeed to get some No Pudge Brownie mix. It looks so easy to make and so fudge and chocoaltity!

  8. 8 erin

    well dont i feel special to get my own post !!

    foooo real!

    the luna one sounds better to me. hah only cause its sweeter and i can eat dessert for breakfast
    money.

    AND i’m buying your damn cereal
    AND
    some no pudge.
    i never thought of making it in single servings
    did i mention youre a genius?!

    bah humbug. i’m stressing about what to major in in college right now.

    seriously i want to do journalism with a minor in public health
    but i also want to be a 3rd grade teacher later on in life once i settle down with a family! (after i write for a health mag, obviously)
    but my mom says i should incorporate business in SOMEhow because i’ll need it..

    oh wise one
    speak to me

  9. haha gasface! you crack me upppp. and i am obsessed with no pudge brownies too, AND ALWAYS topped with pb&co πŸ™‚

  10. Whenever I’m on campus and it’s cold & windy I seriously look like I’m crying!

    Look at you smarty pants – way to go on that A! That dinner deserves a standing HOLY YUM!! Fer realz gurl!

    Love your beauty installment my beaut – cheeseball alert!!


Leave a Reply

