Spoiled SnackFace

01Mar09

Happy Sunday kidlets! I have to say that I have been spoiled rotten this weekend. I have done nothing but enjoy my absolute favorite things with my favorite people, my family. It has been perfect (geez, not to sound TOO happy or anything), so let’s take a look at Saturday through the lens of food…

Yesterday morning I woke up at 10 a.m. and had a deadline to meet. The VegNews internship application materials needed to be emailed by March 1, so I took care of that immediately. This internship is an enormous leap, and I probably don’t have a snowball’s chance in hell, but why not? I don’t have anything to lose. After finishing that, I was starved and ready for a fake breakfast:

Yoplait Light Strawberry Shortcake, Fiber One, banana

Yoplait Light Strawberry Shortcake, Fiber One, banana

I say this is fake because I have no idea what makes Fiber One so fiberfull, and Yoplait Light’s second ingredient is HFCS! How do they get away with that? They have a huge breadth of consumers, and advertise in a way in which customers would think they’s be eating something healthy. This boggles my mind. Once I got past the aspartame aftertaste (yep, it’s in there too), I found it to be quite tasty.

I farted around on the computer a bit and then decided to get ready for the day (I think it was 1 or 2 by then). I got to drive my little broskie’s Pontiac G6, which is a smooth, easy ride. His music selection is also far better than mine, too. Anyway, his car carried me to Half Price Books, where I looked for a novel for English, which they did not have. I didn’t mind much because my next stop was a store that brings joy to me whenever I step foot inside: Whole Foods! Duh!

I spent almost an hour in there, debating between bars, talking myself out of soups of cans and tasing awesome samples (PB&Co’s Cinnamon Raisin Swirl on celery, chocolate chip cake stuff, few bread samples). I also purchased a $3.29 drink. Under normal circumstances I would never spend this much on a beverage. I am very, very happy I did though:

I would drink one of these every day if I could afford to do so

I would drink one of these every day if I could afford to do so

Not only is kombucha some miracle tea, it’s also phenomenal-tasting. This tasted like fizzy pickled ginger, but not too intense. That may not be your cup of tea, but I’d give it a go. It’s crisp, refreshing and trendy- so do it.

Here are the rest of my purchases:

I've tried most of those bars before; I have an issue stepping outside excellent flavors

I've tried most of those bars before; I have an issue stepping outside excellent flavors

Do you see those NINE items? They cost $21.11. I am thankful that I don’t have a Whole Foods readily available to me at school. The biggest culprit was the $5.49 garam masala, which I thought I saw that it was 2.49. I messed up. You’ll be seeing garam masala in everything, including my breakfast oats.

I made lunch after such an excursion:

Mortningstar Southwest veggie cake thing, celery, apple, cucumber, light chipotle ranch

Morningstar Southwest veggie cake thing, celery, apple, cucumber, light chipotle ranch

 The Morningstar cakes are delicious, and I don’t even like rice (the main ingredient). A slightly boring but slightly healthy lunch. I was heading out to meet MamaJ for some shopping, so I brought this bar along for a snack:

I agree with many bloggers- I don't like the name of the bar

I agree with many bloggers- I don't like the name of the bar

Never having tried this bar before, I was excited. The nutritionals didn’t look too shabby either.

Hello protein!

Hello protein!

I had no idea what the innards would look like, but they are perfectly soft and chewy:

You may not be able to see, but there are mini chocolate chips in there

You may not be able to see, but there are mini chocolate chips in there

This bar tasted like a soft Tootsie Roll, I’m not kidding. It was also pleasant to chew and didn’t give me lockjaw (like Kashi Rolls love to do). I’m a little freaked out that there is sugar alcohol in it, merely because I was under the impression that a bar that totes healthy packaging wouldn’t do so. I’m learning that I need to read labels more.

Anyway, that kept me content through an intense Forever 21 shopping trip! I was tagged for the spring palette, so you will see the purchases soon enough (two dresses and a bracelet, nothin big, but I LOVE them). Hours later, MamaJ and I headed to my second favorite restaurant:

Panera! Half greek salad, black bean soup, BOTH types of baguette!

Panera! Half greek salad, black bean soup, BOTH types of baguette!

I will eat Panera anytime one offers. I’m not big on their sammies (or anyone’s for that matter), but their salads and soups always please me. And the hunks of baguette? Heaven.

MamaJ and I then spent the night watching Changeling and Hamlet 2. Changeling, of course, was sad and moving, but I was surprised by Hamlet 2. It’s supposed to be silly and somewhat slapstick, so you have to take it for what it is from the get go. I laughed my ass off. If you like a little hint of raunchy with your sarcasm, give it a shot. Oh, and if satires of musicals get you going, Hamlet 2 will also be good for that. Nightime snacks (unpictured): Wheat Thins Lightly Cinnamon (YUM!), one Thin Mint (YUM!) and another HFCS-filled Yoplait Light Boston Cream Pie (ok, it was YUM! too).

I must jet off to get ready to head back to Athens now! I don’t want to look at all the homework I have to do. Out of sight, out of mind! There are only two weeks of classes and one week of finals, though. It will fly by.

I hope everyone had a glorious weekend and did exactly what they wanted to do. Happy March, by the way! Alright, I’m out- love you all!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

20 Responses to “Spoiled SnackFace”

  1. 1 Sarah

    fun fun weekend with the fam!

    love your snacky lunch. and wf is soooooooooooooooooo dangerous!!

    have a safe trip back!

  2. Lovely weekend you had!! Especially since you went to Whole Foods!!! My second home 🙂

    Stay mega-positive about that internship, girl!!! I’m rooting for you!!!!

    Safe travels back to school!!

  3. AWEEE there’s nothing better than a fun weekend with the fam. I miss mine tons!

    Good luck with the internship app! You’ve got nothin to lose! Is Garam Masala an Indian spice? If so, please teach me how to make a yummy Indian dish. Thanks! hahaha jk

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  4. Nice weekend! And I’m with you on the WFs, if I had one near me, it would be BAD NEWS BEARS! haha Have a great Sunday!

  5. any weekend with whole foods make my stomach very happy but my pocket very very unhappy! haha, I accidentally bought too much garam marsala too, and am pouring it over all my foods! When I steam my veggies, I always shake a lot over.
    I LOVE panera too! it’s one of the things (including whole foods) that I miss so much while I’m here briefly in singapore. they just DON’T have that real, chewy, chunky, dense baguette here. airy, light baguettes? no thank you!
    anyway, glad you’re having a lovely time!

  6. glad you had such a fantastic weekend 🙂
    great eats! that think thin bar looks so good!
    enjoy the rest of your night
    xxxxx

  7. when i found out that yoplait had HFCS in it I about cried!!! I don’t know how they get away with it either!!!! blasted!

    and love the snackies during the movie! i need to see both of those!

  8. 8 Bommy

    Kailey – happy march!
    best of luck with the internship and I would so damn broke if there was a whole foods near me. You’ve also just reminded me that i haven’t gone forever 21 shopping in so long. im feeling a withdrawal.
    Glad you had a great weekend!

  9. 9 Bommy

    btw, thanks so much for the advice you left.
    what’s your email address girlie?

  10. Horray for Whole Foods! Aren’t the prices ridiculous though? I just like to walk around and browse.

    I bought one of those drinks too! It wasn’t the same flavor but I can’t wait to try mine.

    I’m so jealous of your Forever 21 shopping trip! I’ve been wanting to go for a while now and I think I’m finally getting to go this weekend. I can’t wait to see all the spring colors!

  11. 12 Sweet and Fit

    omgosh! whole foods field trip – so jeal! you have such great self control – recently i avoid whole foods bc I overspend every time i go

  12. 13 erin

    you may be spoiled. but i dont hate it.

    annnnnnyway.
    dudde i watched changeling last night too!!!
    it was prettttyy good but so freaky. hahaha i almost.. no wait, i did. cry.

    hope youre safely back at school all snug as a bug in a rug.
    CHUG CHUG CHUG.

    oops.
    my b.

    k loveeee woman.

  13. hi hi.

    thanks for the comment.
    youll have to help me get
    my footing now that youre
    all legit and such! haha.

    also. in my perfect world i
    would be doing advertising/
    marketing for kashi at their
    la jolla location. oh my god!
    but yes. they do have an
    internship. but it starts in
    like april. and i have school
    until midmay. total bummer.
    i applied anyways. because
    im a wishful thinker. haha.
    good luck with the vegweb
    internship! what sort is it!?
    wish i had known about it.
    to be quite frank at this
    point id take ANY internship.

    sorry i ramble. haha. oops.

    e.

  14. 15 cleanveggiex3

    sounds like a fabulous day!!
    haha i love how you got past the taste of the aspartame. you crack me up.

    Im so indecisive at whole foods too! I can never decide what I want and then there is the price..LOVE the maple nut cliff bar though – its the best.

    have a great evening kailey 🙂

  15. LOVE your eats– panera looks so good! i like that think thin bar too 🙂 its very different. yay for wholefoods 🙂
    and girl– dont doubt yourself for a second about that internship– you are quite the talented lady!!!!!
    thanks for the sweet comment girl!

  16. good luck with the internship! i hope you get itttt ❤
    your foodies look so good from whole foods! i just had the strawberry kombucha today and it was amazingggg, i loved it! too bad theyre so expensive, i’d be right there next to you in the grocery store buyin htem every day 🙂

  17. 18 Ryan

    I need to try that flavor of Kombucha…so far strawberry is the best flavor I’ve had! I, too, wish they weren’t SO expensive!!!

  18. PDIZZ!!!! (Panera) I LOVE IT!!!!

    Fabulous choice of bars my dear!

  19. 20 Erin

    Another Erin here! 🙂
    I have wanted to see Hamlet 2 for the longest time…and you just confirmed that it’s a winner! Hello, Blockbuster? 😉


Leave a Reply

