Bravissimo to Bravo!

28Feb09

Hello beauties! Are your weekends awesome thus far? Mine has been luxurious and filled with outrageously delicious food. Let’s relive last night…

MamaJ, Popsicle and I went to Bravo! Cucina Italiana for dinner. We all started off with drinks for which I ordered the Kiona Riesling. It was delightfully sweet and light.

my wine, Mama's cosmo

my wine, Mama's cosmo

Soon enough, the bread basket arrived at our wobbly table. The table was wobbly, not us–just clarifying.

oil, focaccia, sourdough. OWNED the focaccia

oil, focaccia, sourdough. OWNED the focaccia

After enjoying two pieces of bread, Popsicle’s appetizer joined the table. I had no intentions of eating an appetizer, but hey, when in Rome:

Chicken, Spinach and Bacon Flatbread

Chicken, Spinach and Bacon Flatbread

Grilled chicken, creamy spinach, applewood smoked bacon with green onions, mozzarella and provolone. The burnt, herby flatbread was a perfect bed for the cheesy spinach, smokey bacon and meh chicken. Chicken really makes me gag, so I tried to avoid that. Despite its presence, this flatbread was incredible.

Whenever I go to Bravo!, I have to get their house chopped salad. It’s so simple that you could probably make it at home, but it just wouldn’t be the same.

Bravo chopped salad

Bravo chopped salad

 Chopped greens, red onion, cucumber, tomato, olives, feta and traditional Italian dressing. That was gone in under a minute, and I still had plenty of room for the big boy:

Pesto Tortelloni

Pesto Tortelloni

Fresh cheese and spinach-stuffed pasta tossed in our homemade basil-pine nut pesto sauce and topped with sundried tomatoes, red onions and  pine nuts. Having never tried this dish before, I was excited yet unsure of what to expect. Oh my, I was in heaven. I smiled with every bite and confessed my love for the dish almost immediately. The tortelloni were soft and the cheese and spinach within was creamy. The pesto sauce I could have eaten alone with a  spoon. The sundried tomatoes, sweet onions and pine nuts made for perfect companions. I finished and savored every last bite.

Mama J had a Bravo classic:

Pasta Bravo!

Pasta Bravo!

Our signature dish–rigatoni tossed with wood-grilled chicken and mushrooms in roasted red pepper cream sauce.

And Popsicle enjoyed:

Hickory Wood-Grilled Salmon

Hickory Wood-Grilled Salmon

With pan roasted green beans, crispy potatoes, lemon caper butter sauce and basil-pine nut pesto crumbs. I’ve never seen my dad order salmon before, and he adored this dish. Before he ordered it he said, “I gotta get those Omgega-3s.” Haha, oh Popsicle.

The outing was enjoyed by all as we laughed, ate and drank our way through the night. Bravo rarely disappoints, and after two pieces of bread, two pieces of flatbread, two glasses of wine, salad and pesto tortelloni, I was full to the brim with happiness.

I’ll be back later with a recap of the day. Love you all and have a swell Saturday!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

10 Responses to “Bravissimo to Bravo!”

  1. LOOOOVELY meal and time you had!!

    Happy Saturday, girrrrrrl!!! 🙂

  2. What a great night!

    Happy Saturday!

  3. 3 Sweet and Fit

    omgosh! everything looks so incredibly amazing! I am dying to take a bite of that flatbread and that pesto tortellini =)

  4. yummy italian food! sounds like a fun dinner!

  5. 5 erin

    wowowow.
    that food looks so enticing i just wish i were in the nati with you mama and pops.

    sigh.

    whats on the agenda for tomorrow woman!?
    thanks for the info on the boyfriend.
    it was necessary. i need to make sure he’s up to standard for you.. ya hear?

    where does he attend college?
    is he going to be able to provide for us when i live in the guest room of your house?

    oh the good life.
    my stomach is making weird rumbles. not sure if it wants me to feed it..orr….the opposite..

    oops!
    hey pepto bismal.

  6. 6 cleanveggiex3

    kailey that meal looks amazingly awesome 🙂
    love the pesto tortellini!!! mmm 🙂
    sounds like you had fun!
    have a great night!

  7. 7 jaime

    sooooo delicious. i am drooling over here!!!!!!!!!!!! xoxoxo

  8. tortellini, YUM! as an italian girl, that meal gets my seal of approval, i only wish i was there with you! =)

  9. that is a load of food and i’m salivating for ever piece of it! yumsters!

  10. Personally I would have been content eating every piece of bread but your dinner looks pretty good too 😉 Glad you had a great evening!


Leave a Reply

