The Freaks Come Out At Night

25Feb09

Good morning everyone! Allow me to tell a little tale…

For a Mardi Gras celebration, I decided to stay in, plopped in front of E! with my laptop in hand, snacking on Kashi TLC original 7 grain crackers with apple butter. I hadn’t been able to do this in weeks, so it felt like pure luxury. Staying in to rest seemed a better idea than going out and exhausting my body further. My goal was to be in bed by 1 a.m., and I was. By 1:30 I was out like a light.

At 2:30 a.m. I awoke in a daze, trapped in a land between consciousness and dreaming. My body still paralyzed with sleep, I wondered if what I had heard was a dream or reality. My heart was pounding with the force of an enthusiastic drummer, and I finally slipped into consciousness. What I had thought to be reality was true: someone was pounding on our front door uncontrollably. The body paced across the deck, his steps riddled with anger. I recognized that voice.

He repeated, “I’m not leaving until you come out here. I’ll be obnoxious all night if I have to.” It was my roommate’s worthless on-again-off-again boyfriend. He wanted to see her, but she for reasons Iwon’t reveal, she was unable to let him in.

Initially I was outraged that her ex was pounding on our door. And then I was terrified for her. I stayed up for a good hour to make sure he didn’t hurt her. When she eventually went outside I heard his forceful words being hissed into her face. I didn’t know what to expect, but I had my phone in hand if I suspected things had crossed the line from passionate anger to a crime of passion.

I know this is all rather serious, but it’s merely what happened last night and I can’t get it out of my head. I don’t know the words they exchanged. I don’t know if he left soon after she went outside. I don’t know if perhaps I truly did need to call someone. I’d never seen him behave that way before. I’m also 99.9% sure he was drunk. What would you have done in that situation?

This morning I have a killer headache from disrupted sleep and ferocious emotions. BUT, allow me to lighten the mood! I’m currently trying to fend off a nasty zit that’s decided to find a home in the middle of my face. Here’s my secret weapon:

yes, you're seeing that correctly

yes, you're seeing that correctly

That’s right; I use “hemorrhoidal cooling gel” to help get rid of problem zits. SnackFace can’t turn into a ZitFace, so I do what I gotta do. MamaJ taught me this trick, which she acquired from her years of modeling. If you think about it, it makes sense. It helps with red, inflamed things…of all sorts. Gag. Honestly though, this works. I have saved my face from many a scab and scar. I just put it on at night until it disappears, which is usually three days.

I’ll try to redeem myself with this next picture of the delicious breakfast I’m enjoying:

moody breakfast cookie

moody breakfast cookie

I’ve been meaning to make one for weeks, and I finally did! In the mix: 1/3C oats, 1/2 scoop 365 vanilla whey protein powda, 1 spoon of Smucker’s natural, splash water, half naner, few vegan chocolate chips. Accompanied by pineapple and coffee!

wonderfully chewy, nutty, slightly sweet

wonderfully chewy, nutty, slightly sweet

I’m ridiculous and didn’t use 1/2C. I’ll be hungry sooner rather than later. I do this when I test new oatmeal concoctions, I have no idea why.

Anyway, on tap today:
10-12 IART
12-1 Women’s Chorale
1-6 Home to work on assignments, eat, blog, eat
6-9 Review and Criticism
9-10 Tempo Tantrum’s practice
10-? I’m not sure if I have to write a review tonight; I hope not

I hope you’ve all made it through this wackadoodle post. Where else are you going to get in one post: crazed ex- boyfriend stories that are movie-worthy, hemorrhoidal zit advice and a breakfast cookie? Only here. Because I’m a bit of a loon. It’s all insane, but it’s all true life.

I love you all and thank you, thank you, thank you for reading! Have a wonderful Wednesday!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

14 Responses to “The Freaks Come Out At Night”

  1. Yikes!!!

    Hope you have a glorious Wednesday, girl!! Send me an email when you get a chance.

  2. ugh. its kind of up to your roommate to handle that. if she had been freaking out that he was there, i would yelled “you have 1 minute to leave or we’re calling the cops.” but she went out there to talk to him so… eh. you were right to stay up and make sure she was ok. he sounds like an asshole!!

  3. Hope you have a great Wednesday to make up for the chaoticness at your place last night. I probably would have done the same thing as you did, but your roomie definitely needs to be careful around that guy! I have never heard of using hemorrhoid cream to scare away zits but lemon juice on a q-tip works miracles and for really annoying ones taking asprin can reduce redness/swelling.

    • 4 snackface

      Oooh Bec, thanks for the lemon juice tip! I’m going to have to try that! Does it have to be real lemon juice?

  4. hey! ughh what a situation! i’m not sure what i would have done– probably just what you did! πŸ™‚ that bfast cookie looks soooo good!!!! i really want to try one.. haha and clever idea with the cream. xoxoxo muahh

  5. Ahhh what a scary night!! I don’t think I would have slept very well after that 😦

    Nice zit tip πŸ˜‰

  6. jeez, what a rude guy! he must have been drunk or something? but I think you did the right thing…
    yum yum, cookie for breakfast…hearty and sweet and nutritious!

  7. YIKES totally scary..what a douchebag. I would’ve done the same as you, I mean you were right to just keep an ear out and make sure she is ok rather than bursting out there, since he’s agressive obviously and it’s a good idea to steer clear. I hope she loses him, it’s so hard to watch someone in that type of abusive relationship!

  8. tagged ya in my last post! woooo πŸ™‚

  9. rough night but i think you handled it well. If it happens again, then it might be time to a serious intervention though. Happy wednesday!

  10. Eek! I think you handled the situation very well, I honestly don’t know what I would do.

    Fabulous B-fast cookie, I making one this week sometime =)

    Ooo, love that idea for zits. I haven’t been breaking out lately *knocks on wood* but I will try this next time.

  11. teehee you have such a funny/interesting blog title!! It is also very intruiging. πŸ˜› WOW that cream for zits right before a picture of tasty eats is a little too “pictorial” for me. hahaha

    Love your pics!

  12. Oh no! I’m so sorry that happened last night…so scary! Good for you though for looking out for your roomie.

    Love breakfast cookies! And the pineapple on top looks to die for!

  13. that dude is such a damn scoundrel.
    ew.
    crust bag
    loserface
    jerkoff.

    my b.
    ANNNNNNNNYWAY.
    thanks for the wishing well? uh.. okay erin. on my bikram. while i sweat ill think of you

    NICE ZIT TRICK.. i have one brewing riggghtt on my left side of my face.. oh its a biggie.
    and its a doozie.

    okay i thinkkk i have to pee. so i’m gonna go do that.

    next time
    kick the dude in the balls, be like “YOU’RE RUDE. I’M SLEEPING.”
    close the door, nod to your room mate. and resume the fetal position.


Leave a Reply

